paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26
        Next Page
drexelshafter Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months42 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg 2, Reloader B
Marker Setup: Black Dusted DM5
Fuse Bolt, Soon to be an Orange Bolt
Stock Board, Soon to be a Musashi 3
Psychoballistics Z-Drop
Nitro Duck Plamsa LP 68/4500
Halo B Z-Code w/ Rip Drive
Strengths: Rip Drive
Speed
Solid Construction
Odyssey Customer Service
Weaknesses: Battery Hog
Thick feed neck
Can't read black paintballs
Review: Got in my Halo B about five weeks ago. After putting it to good use, heres a pretty detailed overview.

USAGE

Before putting this bad boy to the test, I did have to do some sanding to the feed neck for it to fit my marker. Grab some 800 grit paper, and give a a good sanding. Don't go all out, or your gonna sand too much, and it won't fit snug. Done! Battery compartment door is a bit low profile, but no problem. Opened it up, threw in the 6 AA's.

*Side Note* Stop complaining about the weight! Yes, its six batteries. No, its not that freakin' heavy. Go lift some weights if you can't possibly support six AA batteries in your hopper, girly man.

Put the hopper on my DM5, gased it up, and went outside. Hopper lid doesn't look shabby at all. Whipped out my pod, slapped in 140 rounds of pink/blue Marbalizers. Wouldn't suggest putting in anymore paintballs then this amount, because it could possibly cause jamming. Here's where I checked out the Rip Drive. Manually, you can feed the balls right into the neck into the marker. Sweetness. This allows you not to use your batteries, a good thing when your at the chrono, or when your battteries are dead. You can also turn it counter-clockwise to have that bad boy fix any jams into the gun. Quality. So lets test this sucka out!

TESTING PERFORMANCE

Aiming at a tree, I let this bad boy rip! 140 rounds straight, prolly around 14-15 bps. Not one chop or hiccup. Smooth operation indeed. One straight rope of marbs. Nice!! Now time to bring it into a game situation.

GAME PERFORMANCE

Playing straight woodsball is where I used it first. It rained the day before, so it was a bit muddy. Running around one of the bends, and WHOOP!, fell face first right into a tree, the hopper hitting it as well. "Sh*t!!!!", I thought, I had to have broken it! But no, it only suffered a smal scratch!! And it was quite a hit, so that has to say something about the construction. Continuing on, the performance was great. Force feed was quality, no chops, and smooth shooting. What else can be said?


Conclusion: Yes, the Halo B will use a ton of batteries. Be smart about it, and go get rechargable ones. Bring some back-up AA's to the field, and your all set. People have complained it can't see black paintballs. Just don't be using them. The Halo B w/ Rip Drive is a great product, and if you do some quality searching, they can be had for $119. For that, it can't be beat.

BTW, how necessary is a Victory Board??? Ask yourself, "Do I really need to shoot 35BPS anyway?" Most of us can't break 20BPS legally. Spend your money elsewhere.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann_expert Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggs (evolution IIs) VLs of all types. Empire B (GRRRR) abouot any loader u can name.
Marker Setup: 2003 System X Vengeance Pro 2.0 and Halo B with Rip Drive and Z code
and
Tippmann with Ebolt, LP kit, Drop, 16" carbon fiber barrel and double trig
Strengths: Fast!!!! Tough as iron....and its great.
Weaknesses: HEAVY and ALOT of batteries....
Review: Well, i dont care who you are, you cant out shoot this. I can shoot 23 Bps and its doesnt misfeed, its the PERFECT loader well its the best ;)

And if u think u can...prove it. The shell on this thing is thick strong..its the same stuff as body kits for trucks and cars. Uses alot of batteries 6 AAs GRRR that's about...but i got rechargeable and they work perfect..only thing i don't really care for is the part u have to clean it before u play every weekend. but its the best....empire B isn't as good...the rip drive is pointless unless u run out of batteries even then its not that great...but hey if u do its their.
Conclusion: In conclusion this hopper is ALOT better then Empire B and better then the Egg...its fast, tough and its just MEAN. Don't let people tell u that eggs are better there not as fast or tough and they weigh the same...and if the batteries die on one...ur just screwed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nastyimpulse256 Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
9 volt Revi
Egg
Marker Setup: 04 Nasty Impulse
-stainless steal freak
-super fly bolt
-halo with rip drive
-E Blade Magnetic Trigger
-CCM feed neck
Strengths: Lighter than other high end loaders
Many colors to choose from
Fast
Rip Drive
Weaknesses: The lid was messed up because you could tap the lid and it would open.
Review: When I had my old Revolution II hopper i would always chop balls when i would walk my gun, but ever since i got the Halo i havent chopped a ball yet.

You can use either a 9 volt or 6 AA's

Rip Drive keeps you going when your batteries die.

May have to buy a new neck for your gun because the neck on the hopper is wider than most other hoppers
Conclusion: This is one of the best hoppers you can buy, and has many colors to choose from.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

matt900293928 Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo II close but not quite as good
Revy not foce fed
Reloader same as revy
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse, 68 4500 Centerflag, Q Lock Feedneck, Halo B with Rip
Strengths: Feeds fast ~ 22 bps
Strong Shells
Rather Quiet
Force feed
Weaknesses: Rarely jams but thats reasin for rip
6 AA batteries
Can't read dark paint
Review: The Halo is a great hopper. Next to the Q loader it is the fastest hopper on the market. I have used my HAlo for about 6 months and I have yet to break the shells. The eyes can't read dark paint, but I have rarely seen black paint. The six batteries get heavy and they are a pain to change, but they do last about 5-6 cases I have noticed.
Conclusion: If you have the money get a Halo and if you don't have rip in your Halo get it because it helps you stay in the game if your batteries die.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirsaechao Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 12 Volt
Marker Setup: Dye MaTrix LCD
Custom Product regulator
Custom Product drop forward
Custom Product on/off
Crossfire LPA 68/4500
Halo B with rip drive
Chipley Machine mid rise clamp
Dye Rhino tank cover
Strengths: Pro:
20+ bps
Look
Weaknesses: Cons:
Cost
Weight
6-AA battery
Review: I got the Halo B with rip drive to go with the speed of my MaTrix...This is probably one of the best upgrades to get on my gun...fast feed...I heard 20+...but the only problem I have is of course the weight...it takes 6-AA batteries...I got the Halo with a rip drive just in case if I need it...Another thing I found it without paintball in the hopper it is really loud...Some times it doesn't detect dark colored balls...
Conclusion: For $150...I think a egg with do just fine but Halo...who wouldn't want a Halo...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

anthonyericd Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
hmm nothing as nice as this besides empire b
Marker Setup: WTP Angel LED, DYE Boomstick, Halo B with Rip Drive, Pshyco Balistic drop, 68/5000 evil
Strengths: FAST
Accurate
20+bps
good looking
Weaknesses: Scratches very easily, doesnt stay on your elbow great sumtimes falls off, thats about it
Review: ALL i have to say is this is the best on the market and will still be the best for a long time, if u want a good hopper dont be afraid to buy it!!! Just think if u went out and bought an average hopper thats $60.00 your might as well go to national paintball and spend another 60 and get this great gun, because the average ones dont hold up as well as the Halo models.
Conclusion: go out and buy it if u have a high quality gun because you'll need it, i also reccomend an Empire B
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Bolbmiester Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: vision impulse, ndz delrin bolt, sst silk shot ndz hammer, r.i.p. valve, redesigned vert. maxflo, blade trig and pro grip.
Strengths: Very fast hopper
Weaknesses: Cant handle black shelled paintballs very well or even half black shell.
Review: I bought this hopper and i pretty much loved it. it is a very fast hopper, which i like and works even better on a paintball detection system such as vision so you can shoot faster without chopin and it keeps up with you.Plus, with rip drive, you have the advantage of easily clearing out a jam in the hopper, but a jam very very rarely occurs for me atleast.. The hopper is very strong too. It is made of a very storng plastic, so if you ever drop the hopper, your chances of it breaking are very slim. The hoper odes not need any upgrades because i think it is already wut it needs to be at 22 bps.
Conclusion: If you have a fast gun, you need a fast hopper and the halo is very fast so i recomend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LMNO 87 Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I work at Pev's @ AG Paintball, so naturally I have shot just about every gun/hopper. Big thanks to Stephen and Dale over at the Sterling Store. And Todd, Cody, TEAM FATE, The Waller's, Twins, The RAB'S, Quinn, Eric, Katie, Matt, Ziggy, Craig, Jay, Beth, Jimmy, Dan, Robin, Bob, Jimmy B, Puffy, Timbrook, Dustin, Ashley, over @ the field; And anybody I left out ya'll know who you are THANKS For Everything.
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse 000184, WAS Board, Full Freak Barrel Kit, Modified Intimidator Bolt pin, Custom cut Voodoo bolt, Warped Sportz trigger, NEW DESIGNZ (Chrome) Ball detents, Eye Cover, Talon Grip, 15* Vertical ASA, R.I.P. Valve, Smart Parts LPR treaded into a CP Chrome front cap, CP Pro-rail, AKA Sidewinder low pressure reg., Hybrid Grind on/off, I've balanced my guns internals to weigh 1142.12 grams, And other little impulse gun mods I've learned over the years.
Strengths: If anything breaks Odyssey sells parts from screws to motors to the jelew logos.
Weaknesses: Weight. Not even a weakness. But people notice it.
Review: The HALO B w/ Rip-Drive is heavy. But it's a small price for speed and quality. People always say "nobody shoots 22 balls a second, so why do you need a HALO B?" and I just say And this affects you how? Oh when I'm ripping a rope of paint your way and you can't move then my teammate bunkers you.....Right- HATERS.
Conclusion: If you what it go get it. It's fast and heavy, but reliable. If you want pure speed then it's a must.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dirtbiker88888 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, Eggs, Reloader B
Marker Setup: texas storm timmy halo b rip drive, 68/4500 crossfire fiber wrapped tank, dye rhino cover, psycho ballistics drop with on/off, A+ bolt, redz pepper stickz, ajustable ram cap by hybrid technologies
Strengths: Fast out of box no z board needed. Rip Drive
Weaknesses: Some what heavy.
Review: This is the fastest hopper in the world the Nice's ever. I love this hopper. this hopper does not compare to anything else except the competion reloader b. I will always stick with halo no matter what. i love halo's products. There product are the best and there service is awesome.
Conclusion: Buy this hopper now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DYE_PB44 Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
eggy 2, empire b
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle
HE bolt
Halo B w/ ripdrive
pmi HPA tank 68/4500
Strengths: Very fast
Very sexy
RipDrive is the best
Weaknesses: Cant read dark paint
Only holds 170-180 balls
Fat feed neck
Review: I love this hopper. I had a eggy 2 and i thought nothing was better tell i got this. This thing will keep up with anyone or any gun. The only problem i have had with this is that it doesnt hold alot of paint. Only like 170-180 rounds. I just dont like this because im a back player. The rip drive helps alot too, you dont have to turn your hopper on to crono, just a turn of the rip drive and your ready to go. And if it jams you can turn the ripdrive to clear it, but you probably wont have too many jams. One bad thing about it is its a ***** to clean out. My friend had paint in it and dropped it. The paint broke and i spent about a hour putting it back together.
Conclusion: if you want a fast hopper that can keep up with anything, go with the halo. If you have a couple more dollars get ripdrive. It makes every thing alittle easier to do.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 13th, 2005 at 9:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media