paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
OldDriver Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Halo, Apache Attack Loader, Cyclone, Eggy 2, Reloader B
Marker Setup: Speedball
Ion , Q-lock Feed neck, Hollow Point Bolt, SP360 QEV, Virtue Board, Virtue Laser Eyes and Pad, Freak JR Barrel, Halo V-35 with Rip, Foehn 2.5 Body, Scorpion Frame

Woodsball/Backup
A-5 w/ Flatline Barrel, E-grip(pre-WAS board), 6xchamber, colapseable stock and remote line on 24 oz CO2
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Halo B V35 with Rip drive

Bought this at my local Pro-shop for $119 when my Reloader B Suicide was giving me a fit (think the battery wires need to be replaced) and I had forgotten to pack the stock halo that is my back up at home (Wife told me to go shoot people and to leave her alone for a while, she had a cold.) Since it was cheaper than the Reloader B2 (Black) by about $30 it was a good choice (it was there, the right color blue and it was cheap).

Pros:
1. Fast, fast, fast, fast, ECT… Moreover, did I say fast? It kept up with my Virtue Board set at maximum rate of fire with the eyes off and only popped one ball (was shooting Marblizers). I do not think my marker will cycle any faster.
2. Six speed settings, so like the Reloader B2 the loader can be adjusted to what you need. Lower settings increase the battery life but when you want to show off a little, you can do it with no problems or if you just want to punish your kids a little at 35 paintballs a second or better, (my youngest is 18 so it is legal.)
3. Rip drive can certainly keep you in the game if your batteries go out (DOH!) plus it helps when all you want to do is chronograph your marker as you just leave the loader off and manually feed the paint or if you get jammed up with the paint.
4. Eyes vs. Sound, just turning it on and I don’t have to wait for a quiet moment to ensure a marker match or worry if I’m too close to someone else who is shooting and the loader getting jammed or popping a ball.

Cons:
1. Feed neck is HUGE! (Plus and a Minus) Did not have to sand it as I have an adjustable Feed neck but my reloader B has a smaller neck so swapping out requires hunting the Allen wrench set and doing adjustments but it should withstand a pounding.
2. Personal preference, I would like it better if it came with the twin 9-volt battery pack to reduce the weight. Not that you notice it much but it would be convenient to use all the same batteries with the marker and loader.
3. Being able to see the light to decide if it is off or not. Removed the hopper from the marker to fix a leak and the loader “sprayed” balls everywhere (DOH! Turn it over STUPID, and you will only loose a few balls).
4. Shell looks too good to put stickers on it to show the love for the other manufacturers involved in the marker.
Conclusion: Worth every penny if you have a Smartparts marker for speed unless, they settle the lawsuit over the pulse soon. The Magna loader or Pulse would be nice but the Magna RF chip does not work with SP Markers and the Pulse is down in the lawsuit. I do not count the jams I had as I found it to be my stalk for the Hollow Point bolt. I also cannot answer to battery usage as I only just got the loader. This loader should last me for a long time, as I am too fat, and / or too lazy to do any “Superman” dives behind bunkers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bronze Saturday, October 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity fed.
Marker Setup: Lasoya promaster, CP reg, CP on/off, CCM feedneck, sp 12" progressive. dye 45 sticky grips 3. ebay spike pin. Halo B with rip. 70/45 crossfire
Strengths: Rip drive, bps rate, lid locks into place the first time.
Weaknesses: Heavy. can kill batteries way faster then u think.
Review: had this halo b on my promaster for about 6 months now. First thing i noticed was the small plastic rip drive wheel. all on personal prefrence but i replace with a shocktech wheel. the weight of the hopper isn't that big of a deal, has some weight but you will barely notice with it. BATTERIES, these thing will eat batteries like no ones business. at max you'll get a case of paint out of a fresh set of batteries. I had this promblem the first game i played. Killed the batteries and was force to rip drive for 6 games. you gotta imagine at most u can manually feed your gun 8 bps, my gun can easily shoot double that. So to solve this promblem i invisted in a bone pack. Ill save that for another review, but it was worth the investment. cause rip drive will keep u in the game but won't keep up to your guns rate of fire.
Conclusion: well if ur marker doesnt shoot faster then 23bps its right for u. the rip drive does what it says, and for the money its a pretty nice hopper. now with the bone pack on it i can leave it on all day with no worries.

reason why im giving it an 8, Nothings perfect and batteries get eaten fast in it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballmachine Sunday, August 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader quantum no comparison
Marker Setup: 05 Spyder pilot acs halo w/ rip drive 20oz co2
Strengths: Speed, relibility, and price are the key strengths.
Weaknesses: None that I know of at this point.
Review: I bought it off ebay for around $60.00 and the battery button was broken. So I turn it on with a screwdriver ,which is no bid deal. I put a new empire shell on it last week because I dropped it. I had to take a sander to the the neck so it would fit in my feedneck. I have had it apart several times it and its not hard to put back together. My friends all want to borrow it win we go to tournaments.
Conclusion: Buy it if you need a good hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MvRk94 Tuesday, August 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader B2(not much difference), Empire reloader
Marker Setup: PMR
CP Bolt Cap
Hybrid Hedloc clamping feedneck
Halo w/ Rip Drive
Dye Throttle Air System 70/4500
Strengths: Fast
Rip Drive
Its a Halo.
Thick feedneck (can be weakness)
Weaknesses: LED Light
Lids not magnetic (Personal Preferrence)
Super thick feedneck ( can be a strength )
Review: First off the Halo is fast, on a drop test it can unload a hopper full in like 5 to 7 seconds.

The Rip Drive is a must, the last time I went to a field I ran out of batteries before it was half day. My extra batteries were dead too ( Ha I forgot to recharge them the night before) so I had to run on my Rip drive which was good, like about every 10 or more I had to turn it. Just turn it every time Your behind a bunker.

The LED light is sometimes a problem if your playing outdoors. Its annoying because when You have balls loaded up and You try to turn it on you cant see the Green light go on and same goes for it when turning the Halo off. Just try to cover your back plate when turning it on/off so you can see the light go on to tell if its on or off.

The lids not magnetic, maybe its a personal preference but its a pain sometimes just to bang on the lid to get it all the way in. I would like it much better if it was magnetic, easy to open and easy to close.

The feed neck is super thick, which is a good and bad. I took me a while to sand it down to fit my Hybrid. The good thing was I my Halo fit perfectly in my Hybrid feedneck.




Conclusion: Get it, you wont be dissapointed. Sand it down to your feednecks size and your set.
Upgrade Recommendations.
- Fast Feed lid
- Rechargeable batteries. Either six AA's or two 9 volts. ( it can take both )
- New board if you want
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alpha Sniper Thursday, August 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B (no rip drive)
Marker Setup: Custom Pro with milling of letters and cut off front grip.
A5-A2 grip adapted to a 98
Rocket cock II
Stiffi Barrel 16"
Vortex Mod
Cyclone feed system
Palmers stabilizer

Ion
Slilver Body kit
Virtue boarde
Polished frame
Stiffi 14"
Strengths: Reliable
Fast
Weaknesses: Heavy?
eats batteries
can be difficult to put together
Review: I have a Halo B and a Halo V35
They are both very nice. The V35 is quiet and incredibly fast. It is also convienient. to prewind the rip drive.

There isn't much to say about it. It is one of the best hoppers out there, up with the Reloader B and the Vlocity.
It is sweet to have enough power above your marker to shoot ropes of paint.
Conclusion: Simply get this or the above if you every want to get competitive in paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DriverJ Wednesday, August 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg II, Empire B2, Empire B, VLocity
Marker Setup: WGP Karnivor W/ E2 board and Orange Hardliner bolt, Macroline
PMI 88/4500 carbon fiber tank
Empire B2 Loader with Speedfeed
WGP Kaner Barrel Kit
Strengths: Shell is more durable than the EGG
fast feed rate
Rip Drive
Weaknesses: Eyes
Review: The Halo B W/ Rip Drive is awesome! Its not perfect but it is pretty great. The only real draw back in the Halo B is the use of eyes. The eyes get slightly dirty and the strengths are all immediately forgotten for the irritation of improper operation. Between the V35 Halo, Egg II / III or Empire B. I would say for the cost its not bad, but you are better off buying the sister product the Empire B for the sound activation which is a far superior system to the eyes.
Conclusion: If you are considering the Halo line of hoppers move past the Odyssey and get the Empire B sound activated, more bang for the same price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer_72 Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA LED
Quantum something-other
Gravity Feeds
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
PMI 48/3000 tank
Halo B w/ rip drive
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: OMG. I was concerned when i first saw the price of $120 but i got it on sale for $99. And to tell you the truth, I would of spent $130. this thing is awesome.

STRENGTHS:
Rip Drive
Feed Rate of 22 bps
Looks
Price (for preformance)

WEAKNESSES:
Big feed neck
Lid is a little tough to open(okay though)
6 AA's
Conclusion: Great hopper. All of the weakness are easy an easy fix like a speed feed or rechargable batteries or 20 minutes of sanding. No Big Deal. Deserves an 11.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 31st, 2007 at 5:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

weekendwarriors Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
egg ll, gravity feed
Marker Setup: ion, virtue board, qev, and eyes, stiffi barrel, smartparts drop, 32 degrees asa, q-lock feedneck, and carbon fiber bolt, halo b w/rip drive and speedfeed
Strengths: Fast
All around pretty nice
Weaknesses: Weight
Larger size compared to some others
Sucks up batteries
Review: This hopper is very nice, super fast, very nice upgrades, and reliable. I highly recommend getting a speed feed for it, even though its like 20 bucks for a piece of plastic it really makes a difference. I personally dont have an upgraded but ive used them before and almost all of them are extremely nice upgrades, but the v. board kinda pushes the balls to much and will break sometimes. This hopper is just an all around very nice hopper and i would recommend it for anyone trying to step up to the next level. On the other hand the halo b is a little bulky and some other hoppers can feed just as much and are much smaller like the velocity or the pulse, they are much slimmer for all of those people looking for a low profile mabe look into another hopper.
Conclusion: Very nice hopper, great upgrades, very fast, kinda big.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coolicarboy Saturday, July 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
eVLution 3
Marker Setup: Silver invert mini
3000 psi 48 cu tank
eVLution 3
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Rip drive
Weaknesses: Heavy
Price
Doesnt hold much paint
Battery change
Review: I know im gonna get disputed for this but Im gonna be honest on what really went on with this hopper . I did not like it at all. I only got to use it once before it totally broke down on me. My paintball shop told me that I should get a new hopper because my Halo was completely messed up. (they didnt even tell me what was wrong they just said that it completly broke.) All they said was that they would give me a free eVLution 3 and most of my money back. I was dissapointed because I thought the Halo was gonna be a great hopper and was looking forward to using it again, because the first time I used it it was great.
Conclusion: From my experiences I really expected more out of the halo b. When its working its great, but mine broke right away. If your going to get one I reccomend you make sure its working before you buy it. Since it was a great hopper for a day and since its a great hopper when its working ill give it a 6. I would give it a 10 if I had no problems with it.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 14th, 2007 at 8:20 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

pbBrett308 Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA
Halo B w/o Rip Drive
Various grav fed hoppers
Marker Setup: Spyder 06' Electra (soon to be DP Fusion)
Halo B hopper w/ Rip Drive
J&J Perfomance 16'' Ceramic Barrel
Speed feed for Halo B
Strengths: EXTREMELY fast. Balanced weight. Pretty quiet. DURABLE. Helpful customer service.
Weaknesses: Heavy and bulky. Feedneck is oversized BUT DON'T sand it down.
Review: Overall this hopper is great. I've had it for a little less than a month and am very satisfied with this hopper. I was wavering between this and the Evlution 3 and after using my friends Halo decided on this. I would recomend the Halo for guns capable of over 20+ bps.
which is pretty much every elecric gun on the market. Buy this hopper and you will be very satisfied.
-Durable poly cabonite shell won't break on hard landings.
-Halo can keep up with almost any gun
-Upgradable softwear for Z code or V35 boards (although Halos made after August 2001 come w/ Z code.)
-Rip drive and speed feed are must haves and are great help on the field.

DO NOT SAND DOWN FEEDNECK. It was made that way for a reason!!! If you're putting this much money into a hopper BUY A CLAMPING FEEDNECK!!!
Conclusion: This hopper is great and reliable. A bit on the heavy side this hopper will add some weight to even the lightest marker. A+++ BUY IT!!!

(I gave it a 9 because of the weight NOT because of performance.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media