paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
mR.Lone Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A Gravity LOL
Marker Setup: I have a Halo B Loader with Rip Drive, an ungraded CP Sling Trigger, and Draxxus 48/4500 HP Air Tank.
Strengths: Fast, light (if you use the right batteries), and very durable.
Weaknesses: None really, if you use cheap batteries it can get kind top heavy.
Review: This was the first electronic Hopper i have every used except for the viewloader quantum which doesnt evn qualify as an electronic loader. This Hopper can keep up with my redz ion and doed not misfeed. I have not had a problem with it yet, and the rip drive comes in very handy when you have a ball jam, or your battery dies in the middle of a game.
Conclusion: Great hopper for the price! Would reccomend to anybody who play speedball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ewag Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader B - Same shell but it is sound activated. I almost prefer the sound activation but it can feed to the sound of other guns.
Vlocity - Same operation, a vision system. The Vlocity is faster but any thing faster than 15 BPS is almost unnecesary.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Planet Eclipse QEV, Progressive Barrel, Promaster Grips, Unknown feedneck, New Designs On/Off
Halo B w/Rip
Crossfire 48/30
Strengths: Speed
Quiet Motor
Price
Custom Service
Company Back up on Product
Weaknesses: Weight
Vision
Size
Review: I first got my hopper brand new, but it came never opperated like it was brand new. The first thing i will talk about is Nation Paintball Supply's great customer service. I had to send my hopper in 3 times but every time I called to arrange the repair they were helpful and kind about it. Never once did I have a bad customer service representative.

Now on to performance (this is after sending it in 3 times for repair and it finally worker):
Strengths:
Speed - This hopper can keep up with just about anything. I have shot Ions, Wrath LTDs, and Promasters with this and not one could outshoot it. The down side is that for it to shoot at its maximum rate the drive cone must be under tension from the drive spring, this means it can only feed about a flat 15 BPS in a drop test.

Noise - This is one of the quitest hoppers I have ever heard. I have never once heard the noise from it in a game. It only feeds when your gun fires meaning it doesn't make a grinding noise similar to Vlocities.

Rip Drive - This thing has saved me in many jams(pun intended). If your hopper gets jammed all you have to do is turn it off spin the wheel a few times and turn it back on. If the rip wheel doesn't help the jam then your eyes are paint covered.

Price - This hopper is the cheapest of the high end hoppers. It is only about $100 brand new. No complaints there.

Company Back - NPS backs this product 100%. I had to send mine in 3 times and the fixed it for free each time. Their customer service is the most helpful I have ever had to deal with.

Now some of the Weaknesses:
Weight - This hopper isn't exactly light. I actually think that it might weigh more than my Ion. The weight is caused by the 6, yes 6, double A batteries that you have to use. That also causes some cost problems but it is pretty battery efficient.

Vision - The vision system itself is not necesarily weakness itself. It is the cleaning factor that is a pain. The first time is used it I had to use a bad batch of Diablo Heat and my gun and hopper were both blenders. It was a complete pain to take the hopper apart and clean the eyes and then reassembly was a pain to.

Size - This hopper is pretty big. Compared to my friend's Vlocity it is a monster. It's kind of hard to keep it tucked in behind bunkers when you try to be sneaky or try to snap shoot people. I have taken many hopper hits just because of the size of this hopper.
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper to anyone, new to the sport or not. Although it has its flaws, it has its many upsides. Now that mine works it works flawlessly. I have never encountered any problems since my first major one that took them few times to get right. I love this hopper and I think that anyone that gets it will too.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 15th, 2007 at 5:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blindside81091 Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire B ( borrowed a friends )
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse 07' Ego
Halo B w/ rip drive
Crossfire 45 / 4500
Strengths: Fast
Balanced
Reliable
Durable
Weaknesses: None really, batteries take a few minutes to replace, but who cares
Review: Ok, I began using the Halo B on my Ion. it worked great, but i needed to get a different feedneck, because hte stock ion one was to small, adn i didn't want to take out the o-rings. The hopper was light and could kepe up with an firing rate that i put my ion on. Then i upgraded to the PMR, and now a 07' Ego the hopper is great for any type of player, it is very reliable and can take alllllooottttttt of damage before you may need to get a new shell. Best hopper that ihaev used, the batterie life is great i have been using hte same batteries for almost 2 months and it's still working great. It operates on a belt system, and has eyes, but only 2 of them. This is still the best hopper that i have used.
Conclusion: You should deffinetly by this hopper, it is the best one out of most of them that i have used.

People say that the lid is hard to open.. but all you have to do is buy a speedfeed. if you don't want to spend like 20 bucks on a real speed feed, just go to lowes or a plumbing store, and buy a rubber garbage disposal cap.... It's only like 2 dollars and works better than the real speed feed at a fraction of the cost
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mason/Promaster Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA, Halo B, Revolution, Gravity Feed, Vlocity, Ricochet Rhino
Marker Setup: Stock PMR, Halo B, and System X Air Tank.
Strengths: -Fast,fast,fast
-Upgradable boards
-Good quality
-Cheaper high end hopper
Weaknesses: -Needs new board for insane speed
-A little pricy
-Nothing else
Review: OK so I went to my buddies house and he just bought a brand new Halo B w/rip and that thing tells in the name wut it does.(RIP) I used it and noticed it had the V-35 board but also used another guys at the local field that didnt have V-35 and it still ripped. They are a good quality and big named company backing it up. If you have around $150 then I'de say pick one up. Many people say your better off getting a Vlocity or something but I have one and its no better if not worse and I also have a stock Halo B and I use that most of the time.
Conclusion: Buy Buy Buy they rip and you will not be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hopglock Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Quantum-Horrible read my review
Gravity-its a gravity....
Marker Setup: Stock Ion
Q lock Feed neck
Halo B w/ rip-drive
Pure Energy 68/4500
Dye Rhino 07 Tank cover
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Battery efficient
cool looking
quiet
upgradable
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy
Expensive
Review: I just got this last week with an ion and a 68/4500 tank. When i got it i thought wow this looks really cool!. Getting the battery pack to fit in was a bit of a pain but doable. When I did drop tests with it the thing performed marvelously. It shot out a consistent stream of balls unlike other cheaper hoppers that do it in bursts of 5-6 *eggy*cough cough although it was a bit heavy If you cant hold 6 AA batteries more on your gun package you shouldn't be playing paintball. It holds 180 balls which is very nice. When i used the loader with my ion it kept up even at the 17 bps ROF! not once did the eyes catch a ball not being in the chamber ready to shoot.
Conclusion: Great hopper worth every penny. Don't get the V35 board version-waste of money shown to barely outperform the regular Halo B
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PeterZ Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet Apache (LED and LCD)
Viewloader Revolution
Gravity fed hoppers
Marker Setup: 06 Shocker SFT
07 PMR
Automag ULE
Automag Warped
Sniper 2
CCM SS-25
Tippmann A5
Strengths: - Shape/Design
- Feed Rate
- Rip drive
- Easy to find
- Many ups available
Weaknesses: - Weak plastic
- Lid Spring
- on/off
- Motor
- Hard to clean
- Pricey
- Ball count
- ball breaks
Review: In the past year and a half I have gone through FOUR Halo B's with Rip Drives.

This hopper has got to be the biggest contradiction of terms. For nearly every strength there lies a weakness. Most of the weakeness are "fatal" to the life of the hopper. The Halo B with Rip feeds fast and consistent most of the time. However, the hopper motor tends to burn out. 2 of mine have died. I believe this is due to the constant pressure put on the balls. The rip drive is a fine idea... but if you use it a bit when the hopper jams (and it WILL jam up a bunch) its weak spokes will tear and render the rip useless. There are many upgrades available to make this hopper better but then our cost goes up on what I already consider a hopper that is overpriced for what you get. Although the design of the Halo is proper and it is well sized and shaped, the plastic is not robust enough to keep being able to bang on it week after week. As a matter of fact, it is quite brittle. Just take it apart and replace the hopper lid and spring. 7 times out of 10 the lid spring chews the plastic around it so that it no longer can function and keep the lid open when reloading. The feed necks crack easily too. A more plyable plastic is preferable. More Halo shells have been broken by more people I know than anything. The on off is a terrible pain. You have to wait exactly a second and a half to turn it on right... you actually have to have timing to work this thing. Then to top it off, the switch cover will ALWAYS break. Just plain junky.
Conclusion: I dont understand why this thing is so popular or why I bought 4. When it is working it does work very well but it is a delicate hopper. You cannot really bang on this hopper the way areal ball plaer needs to. I really hope the Halo gets a full redesign... maybe incorporating some of the upgrades available for it in a new design. Further, I would hope they improve the plastic choice into something more flexible and plyable... just more durable, period. If they designed this hopper better then I would gladly pay 150 for it... so long as it lasted. However, it is highly unlikely. I give it a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballer51888 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader
Empire Reloader B
Marker Setup: Triolgy Cocker
Worr Blade E frame
Stiffi Barrel
Halo B w/ V35
Strengths: Very Reliable and VERY VERY FAST
Weaknesses: None!!!
Review: This is one of the best hopper out there!!! It is fast, reliable durable and more.....This hopper feeds 22+ BPS and if the batteries run out in the game you are still in luck with the rip drive you van manually feed 15 BPS..This hopper is around $90 on ebay and around $100 in a shop....buy one they are.GREAT HOPPERS!!!
Conclusion: Buy this hopper now!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPARTAN148 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: sp ion pro
halo b/with rip drive
pure energy 45/68 tank
sp firebolt
Strengths: Durable
Fast
Looks
Reliable
Quiet
Weaknesses: Prone to scratches
$$$
Review: Awesome hopper. its the same compared to the empire b just cheaper.it does get scratches but its really not a big deal when playing. jams are pretty easy to fix.great hopper i love it. the rip drive is a awesome feature.looks great. it is a little expensive but worth every penny
Conclusion: Its a great hopper i love it. rip drive is worth the money.get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adidasgolfer06 Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader evlution 3
viewloader vlocity
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Viewloader eVLution 3
2 WGP 50ci 3000psi tanks

Strengths: Looks
price
reloading
Weaknesses: Weight
seems to break alot
Review: i used this because my friend couldnt play so i borrowed it. The way the hopper looks on basically every gun is awesome, it flows with the body of everything. After using this i thought this is awesome i gotta get one. i looked on the internet and there only $100 so i was like "COOL" another good thing is how easy it is to reload. The hole is the same size as the pod so it fit perfect=no spilling. the only bad thing i could find was the weight of the hopper. its not heavy but when you compare it to a vlocity or a pulse WOW. another bad thing is they always seem to be broken. 2 of my friends have these and even with new batterys they have to keep turning them cuz the hoper turns off(they probably need new boards but both of them probably had only them for a month.
Conclusion: If you take into consideration price then i would get this hopper. if you have the money for a vlocity then definetly get it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

waxball88 Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA-not comparable, it is worse, but it is cheaper
Ricochet Apache- Cheap made, big, not like halo at all
Quantum-Not even close, it sucks
Many others- not even close
Marker Setup: Various
Strengths: Fast, Fast, Fast!
Reliable
Many more
Weaknesses: Time consuming to take apart
Feed necks break easily
Review: The hopper is very fast, compact and light. It never lets you down in a game. If the batteries fail then you can use the rip drive! They are enough for every marker. They look good. they also last relatively long. Only problem is if you don't have an adjustable feed neck it may conflict with your feedneck. Taking it apart to clean can take time, but you can always just stuff it with paper towels.

Get this product
Conclusion: Get it! Will never starve your marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media