paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26
                            
bbl337 Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
too many to name
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with teardrop 14" barrel with a revvy with Xboard
Strengths: fast
Weaknesses: can't use all types of paints
price
Review: My friend decided to let me use his gun a couple times, on more than one occasion. I used it, well, it's pretty nice. Just u can't use any paint that might have any traces of black or dark. Other than that, it's great. I would get the Empire Reloader B instead. The empire is the same price, not picky of paint, sound activated, and is just better. I give it a 7 cause it's real pricy and not as good as it should be for as much as it costs.
Conclusion: I give it a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 16th, 2004 at 1:49 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

AngelSpeed Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader 12V
Marker Setup: angel speed dust blue 18" graffitti barrel w/ halo B w/ rip drive 4500 max-flow nitro tank
Strengths: Extremely Fast loading
Weaknesses: Poor construction internaly
Review: I had the Halo B w/ rip drive for six months or so and all ready the small plastic piece on the cone that holds the spring in place to feed the balls BROKE!!! not good
Luckily it was after i had finished playing for the day. But it definitly is the fastest loader on the market!!!!
Conclusion: I would recommend this loader for one reason Speed!
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

freakimp77 Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revi w/ x-board
Marker Setup: 2003 Impulse Vision w/ vert reg, New designs blade trigger, strange stubby bolt, smart parts LPR, smart parts tape worm, 14in. freak system, phsycoballistics 6 in. bullet drop forward, dye sticky grips, New designs hammer and ram, new designs stainless pin, custom products low rise quick-disconnect clamp feed, Halo B w/ rip drive, Pure energy 68/3000 fiber wrap tank, dye tank cover
Strengths: very freakin fast
stays balanced good
Weaknesses: a little on the heavy side
takes alot of batteries
Review: there is no hopper faster or as balanced as this. the evolution 2 is backhevy and doesn't stay on well i love this hopper the 1st time i played w/ it. when i machine gun w/ this hopper there isn't a hopper that id rather have. this hopper is light enough 2 play front or back. the only weaknesses are it is a little on the heavy side and takes alot of batteries
Conclusion: buy it nothin faster or more balanced
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lite-u-up3 Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader B
Marker Setup: Black 2k2 impulse with...
ND blade trigger (red)
ND stubby bolt (white)
ND ti bolt pin
ND slick shot
ND 15* asa (black)
SP smart grips (red)
SP tapeworm (red)
SP on/off
Shocktech mini drop (black)
AKA sidewinder (red)
32* micro gauge 0-300 psi
Check It no rise clamp (red)
Rat Hole Hammer
Strengths: fast
well built
rip drive
Weaknesses: battery usage
battery door
lid (mine at least)
fat/wide
heavy
chopping
Review: I regret to inform you readers that the bad outweighs the good on this one. Let's start with good though.
This is a very hopper and it consistently feeds fast. Also the plastic is very sturdy and the hopper is well built. Lastly, the rip drive was kinda handly because it let me manually feed balls into the marker at the chrono without having to turn on the hopper and waste batteries.
The bad...
This hopper ate up the first round of batteries I put in it. I found that duracel (sp) works the best but it stills eats them up and takes 6 AA batteries. Good Goblins!! Yes 6. The battery door is a f**king b**ch to open and close and stuff and you need a screw driver to do it. (cussing for emphasis) Another bad aspect of this hopper is the lid only stays 3/4 of the way open because the lid spring is screwed up. However, I believe that I just recieved a crappy lid spring. It's also wide/fat and I've been hit twice in the hopper because of that. It's heavy as well. (A pound and half I belive it was.) To me this didn't matter greatly because most people tend to not think about the weight of thier gear when they're in a game. Lastly, it is a force feed hopper causing dopuble or triple feeding at times which causes chopping which causes me to become pissed off. To stop the chopping you either must get an eye or new ball detents.
Conclusion: In conclusion, if you want a fast hopper that's pretty light, and doesn't require strong detents or anything....GET AN EGGY 2!! This thing ain't worth.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

TeamRC_Lunchbox Friday, May 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader
Q-Loader
ViewLoader Quantum
Marker Setup: Stock Dragun "The One"
Nitro setting activated
Strengths: Fast... Really Fast!
Weaknesses: Size and weight.
Review: Excellent hopper for both the beginner and the seasoned pro. How fast is it? I was unable to out-shoot it with "The One" set on Nitro - 25 balls per second. Very clean, no nonsense set up and I didn't have any trouble with the button as some peeps have described. Even at 25 bps I had no breach breaks, barrel breaks, or jams in the hopper. There's been a lot of talk about the new circuit boards for this loader, but i have to say I'm pleased with mine right out of the box. Granted, with six AA batteries in it and loaded with paint, it's heavier and bulkier than the Q-Loader... Of course, it does hold twice the balls as the Q (220 balls for the Backman vs. 100 for the Q), and it's a lot easier to load lol... In all, this hooper will shoot as fast as you're gun will spit balls... Mine was blowing ropes and the only breaks I saw came from the balls colliding in mid air. Nuts, huh?
Conclusion: Well worth the cash and doesn't require all of the modifying and connecting that the Q-Loader requires. Excellent loader and it just doesn't get any faster... Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

kevrock707 Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12v Viewloader Revolution with X-board
Marker Setup: 2003 I.C.D. BKO
Vapor volumizer
Vapor bolt
Vapor valve
Shocktech long drop
H.A.L.O. B w/ripdrive
Dye BoomStick, Full Freak System
91/4500 A.C.I. Bulldog III HPA
Dye Stickies
Strengths: loading speed versus gun speed
Weaknesses: on/off button, paint capacity
Review: this loader is pretty awesome in the fact that you need one extremely fast gun to out shoot it. i would only say the only drawbacks are the on/ off button that can sometimes take a few tries to activate and the LED is hard to see in daylight, and the capacity of paint that it holds.
Conclusion: i would say that if you have the extra cash and have a fast gun, this is definitly for you, also because of the forced loading from the belt drive it helped to eliminate some blowback issues i had with my marker.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CarlosLN Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo II with Z board
Marker Setup: 2 DM4's one black with a long shocktech drop forward and custom products reg and one cobolt with a shocktech mini drop and custom products reg Dye Throttle 71
Strengths: Extremely fast 27+bps
Weaknesses: Heavy, poor capacity
Review: The Halo B is pretty neat it's fast and if you shoot like a madman down the lane like i do it will keep up with you (especially if you put the z-board in it) The downside is that the weight of it makes your gun feel somewhat awkward and this can be pretty irritating at times. With my Evo II my marker feels balanced and control isn't a problem my Halo B makes my marker very front heavy (thats where the 6 double A's are!) My only other complaint about the Halo B is it's capacity they really could have designed this better it holds a lot less paint that the Evo II and whenever i'm playing with it i can tell. If these problems were fixed i think this hopper would be a lot better and even more popular than it is right now.
Conclusion: Problems aside the Halo B is still a great hopper and i'm happy i own one. If they were to fix the problems i pointed out it would be even better than it is right now. I would say if you can outshoot your egg with a z board and like to shoot as fast as humanly possible go ahead and pick one up it'll get the job down just fine just make sure to get rechargable batteries
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irshpnkrckr Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares to a HALO
Marker Setup: -Blue AKALMP mini slotted Merlin
-Blue Zcoded ripped Halo B used once, less than 3weeks old
-Blue AKALMP mini front block
-Blue AKALMP cocking rod
-AKALMP delron lightning bolt
-AKALMP tornado valve
-AKALMP stationary hammer
-Black palmers micro rock
-Black AKALMP short sidewinder
-Black Planet Eclipse Eblade frame
-Black PBUK twist-lock feed
-Black 16" All American one piece barrel
-Black Kapp DZII w/kapp on/off
-Chrome solonoid manifold
-Chrome Palmers ram
Strengths: Fastest, SOOOO Durable, keeps pressure on the stack
Weaknesses: low capacity, weight(?)
Review: Best loader ever and everyone knows it. If you dont have the RIP drive, get it. Thats what sold me over the Zboarded egg. If any other force feed hopper breaks (egg batt door comes open, ball breaks in hopper, moter burns up, batts die, etc.) you're screwed. With the RIP drive you can stay in the game. When i first got mine, i used just the drive for a game. Still no chops. I love you Odyssey.
Conclusion: Everyone with a marker shooting 13+bps should probably use one. Weight isnt a big deal in your hopper, worry more about the weight of your gun.

PS. i dont give 10's because nothings perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

cockercane Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year43 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shakers
12v revolution w/ x board
Egg (just tested)
Marker Setup: Angel Force 4 Fly
Cobra trigger /w magnet mod
Cobra valve
Cobra v2.0 bolt
Cobra snatch grip & breach knob
Check it Unimount

'02 WGP STO Autococker
12" DYE boomstick
WGP hinge
ANS front pneumatics kit w/ QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
ANS GX phase II reg
15* ASA
Shocktech supa fly bolt
Kapp fx beaver tail
Sys X drop & on / off

Halo-B w/ rip V board
68ci. 3000psi. Crossfire hpa.
Strengths: Quiet
Well built, solid.
Fast
Weaknesses: Jams are a pain
On / off button too low profile
Review: I've read complaints about the halo having too much torque for the ball detents, causing multiple feeds per cycle. If you have a closed bolt gun like a 'cocker, don't worry, this hopper is perfect being that the bolt is only open when you pull the trigger.
EDIT 02-Sept-04:
I bought the Force Fly Angel 4 and this Halo works beautifully with it. I do not have victory board and it keeps up with the Angel with no double feeds to speak of yet. Once I get Victory... it'll be interesting to see if the AF4 Fly gets even faster. he he he he!
EDIT 19-MAR-05:
I made a mistake by not tightening my feedneck and the HALO flew off onto pavement and the lid broke off. Being unable to replace the needed part due to backorder, I had to use a friends Evolution (egg) hopper. I was amazed at how much slower the egg was, even with brand new batteries. Walking the trigger of my Angel seemed almost futile, it seemed like I was shooting one ball every three pulls. The Egg that I used had the Y board upgrade.

On / off button is straight forward, push once to turn on then push, hold (until the light turns red) and release to turn off. The button can be hard to work with wet or slimy gloves. I overfilled the hopper during a fight once and the motor turned off. (thats what the Z-code software is all about. Keeps motor, belt and electronics from burning up if the feed mech jams up Z code also shuts down if the eye is covered in filth) In that situation rip won't help you! you have to turn the hopper off, dump out some paint and turn it back on again. That's hard to do quickly if you can't feel the button through gloves and paintballs are whizzing past yer head.

QUICK FIX IDEA!
Remove the cotton off the end of a Q-tip, roll it into a ball and place it over the button (red dot) and use electrical tape to secure it in place. That gives the button a greater profile that's easier to feel and push with gloves on. That may also help protect the plastic "film" that covers the button, just use something soft like cotton.

The halo; unlike the viewloader revolution (12v), won't allow you to shake paintballs into the feed neck if the batteries die. That's where the rip drive comes in! Its like winding a clock to keep it working so you're not dead in the water. Thats a cool feature.

The halo differs from other hoppers due to the fact that the paintballs or "ball stack" in the feed tube is constantly held under spring tension (like shells in a regular gun clip) so as soon as the breach opens another paintball is forced; by spring tension, into the breach. No chopping! Fast? That's an understatement.

You have the choice of using either one 9v battery or six AA's. One 9v battery is much lighter but it bounces around in a gigantic void big enough to fit six AA's. The Odyssey website recommends six AA batteries. Using a 9v battery would severely hamper the speed of this hopper. Fresh batteries are a must, this hopper isn't such a battery hog if you unplug the battery harness in between playing.

This hopper is heavy, but that's no problem being that I'm actually a cyborg.
Conclusion: The engineers who designed this hopper really used their brains and made a great functioning product. H.A.L.O. (Highly Advanced Loader Operations) really lives up to it's name.
This hopper is the perfect combo with my 'cocker, although I'll never shoot fast enough to out run it (thats a good thing). I'm pleased I spent the money to get it and I haven't had any speed chops since. It's definitely worth the extra money for this loader because it will keep up with any future marker purchases that you make. The HALO was a little excessive for my 'Cocker but it was right there to throw atop my Angel soon as I got it. This loader works great on my Angel 4 fly as well with no double feeds.
EDIT 02-Sept-04:
I did a stupid flying commando dive / roll which broke the very bottom of the shell on the feed neck. I used super glue to fix it and its held up for weeks. Although covered by warranty, I understand that it's cheaper to buy a new shell than it is to ship it back to Odyssey for repair. You must send to them for warranty repairs.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 27th, 2006 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
43 Comments - Add Comment

Angel4boy Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution Hopper with Y-Board
Evolution Hopper with Z-Board
Revolution 9-Volt
Revolution 12-Volt
Ricochet Ak
Ricochet 2k
Marker Setup: Brand New Dust Blue Angel 4
Freak System with 12 inch Silver Front and Stainless Steel Back
68 ci. 4500 psi. Max-Flo System
Blue Halo B with rip Drive
Strengths: Fast, Doesnt Break Down, can unjam balls
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: This is the hopper to get. If you were thinking about getting an Evolution Loader forget about it. It cant keep up with the Halo B..The Halo B the best feed system in the world plus the back up Rip Drive and the Halo B is unstoppable..Lets say you are playing and your batteries die.. A little bit of turning on the Rip Drive and you have yourself a working Force Feed System. And if a ball gets jammed then just turn the Rip Drive The other way and it clears te ball.. So just go out and buy it because it will surely help you..it did for me when i played in tournaments....
Conclusion: I highly recommend that if you have a Halo then upgrade with the Rip and if you don't have a Halo then get one as soon as possible..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
31 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media