paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) / Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board)
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 260
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What is RipDrive?
RipDrive is a manual feed mechanism for HALO B. It replaces the mainshaft of the unit and allows manual-preloading of the drive spring.

Who is RipDrive for?
RipDrive was originally conceived for tournament players who *have* to be in the game. It is available to anyone that wants to have a backup system for if their force feed system goes down or their batteries die.

How RipDrive works:
By rotating the ripdrive located on the bottom of the loader, the player can feed multiple balls into the ballstack at a time, allowing them to keep playing (at full fire rate!). Depending on the height of your feedneck, you can pre-tension as many as 12-15 balls for firing.

Other Benefits:
When finished playing at the end of the day, rotating the RipDrive in reverse also allows you to easily unload the tensioned ball stack and empty your HALO B. It also allows you unjam bad paint. It can also be used to pre-load balls at the chrono without turning your loader on.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo B w/ RIP Drive (with or without V35 board) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
protoman912 Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
reloder bs pulse
vlocitys eggs
revys
Marker Setup: dye dm5
pm7
bko

cci phantom with clear parts
Strengths: Designs, durability speed durability is a majpor plus
Weaknesses: Weaght
some times if your firing down hill it doesnt feed
Review: i bought this awhile ago and originally had an egg. I wanted to try it out for a wile then right a review, this hopper has a way stronger feed neck and is way more durable then a egg. this hopper looks sleeker to. i know the egg 3 is out but the boards are wierd and its still got a thinner feed neck and is less durable. The pulse is ok to i ha vent really tested it out although i did test it with a dm7 and it was very nice. the thing i really noticed was the size its really big and takes away your view that's why i don't like it as much. reloders are almost the same thing accept they are more expensive and their board breaks to. i now have a vlocity and its a great hopper 2 it is very duarable and lighter then the halo.
Conclusion: Id get a vlocity
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 28th, 2007 at 7:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ego_Trip Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire B., eggy 2
Marker Setup: I Use a Gun metal Grey 06 Ego hybrid grips (Grey), eclipse shaft two peice barrel (gun metal Grey back silver dust tip) silver dust CCU kit, Halo B w/rip & angry board, dye throttle 68 cui 4500 psi air system, Dye Rhino Bottle cover.
Strengths: Good looking
Strong
Fast
Weaknesses: :
Mine doesn't like paint very well like to cause balls to jam
Review: The halo is a very good loader it was built strong enough for every player even those speed ball diving maniacs who are rough on there gear just look at the feed neck
the halo is also very very fast i cant out shoot it with my ego the halo also looks dead sexy that's all i got to say
Conclusion: If you have a marker that shoots fast get the halo b w/rip its hella nice

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scope401 Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader B, Suicide Shell, Critical Rip Drive.
And i just got a DXS Pulse.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 2005 (PM5)
Virtue Board
Strengths: No luck with halo +ripdrive. the best thing is it lasted 3 months.
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Board
Cleaning
Jamming
Review: This hopper cost me around $200.00 over the 2 and a half months i had it the feedneck broke twice. The board burned up once and i finally sold it and bought the new pulse when the shell started cracking from the feed neck of my brand new red shell. I had much more luck with my empire reloader B which i know is almost the same thing but it lasted about 4 years and i got rid to get a halo. opps my bad. the halo was the worst mistake i ever made i regret ever buying it. luckeley DXS could get me out of the halo mess and im much happier with my Pulse.
Conclusion: dont buy a halo even if your going to up grade to a v 35 board.
Just buy a pulse their much more durrable and mine has not broken yet ive jumped on the stupid thing and it has not broke. The pulse keeps up with my gun and the halo does not its that simple. im giving it a 4 because the halo did not do well with me.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pballjerk Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed, i guess you can say none other.
Marker Setup: ion, red dusted cp rake trigger,red dusted cp rail and on/off asa, dye ultralite-black dusted back and red dusted tip, redz cam lock, halo b with rip drive, and 5000psi evil tank
Strengths: Feed speed, looks, low profile, rip drive nice
Weaknesses: Not as fast as other hoppers out there, too many batteries.
Review: I got this hopper when i got my ion a year ago. I had never really had a hopper before that except a gravity feed on my 98 custom. I like my halo a lot. It looks cool, is pretty small, rip drive is conveniant, and it has a good name about it. The only bad thing is that you need 6 batteries to run it. That is too much in my mind. But that is a minor flaw, nothing huge. I give this hopper a 8.8 that rounds to a 9 because it deserves it and has never let me down.
Conclusion: Good speed, nice profile, too many batteries to run.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RyanS Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity hopper played a lot of scenario
Marker Setup: Stock ETek Ego
68/4500 hpa
Halo V35 victory with rip drive
Strengths: Speed
look
magnetic lid
consistent
quiet
Weaknesses: Cleaning is a pain
But it's a great hopper so unlikely you'll chop
Review: This is a great hopper with a victory board it can do 35bps!! that's flipping fast. The magnetic lid makes it a breeze to load/reload. It's great because when you open the lid it flops open like nothing and when you close it you can hear it close it has a very distinct nosie so you know it's not going to open and spill all your paint across the fild as your running and diving towards the snake. There is one problem I have with it. This is my first force hopper I have only used gravity hoppers before I got this one. So I was talking to the guy who sold me this (BADLANDS PAINTBALL) awsome store recommend it very helpful. I asked the guy what do I need to know to keep my halo working right. He says basicaly nothing except for you have to lubericate the drive belt or it will get dry and chopp paint. He recomenned to use a very light drop of DOW 33 he said DOW 33 is awsome and lasts a very long time. So I said ok. I got home tryed out my new ETEK EGO,Halo with rip drive/victory board and pure energy 68/4500 tank. It worked great but from some reason my gun chopped the last ball. I thought it was the hoppers fault.So I remebered what the guy had said about the belt drive having to by lubericated so I got the manual that came with it and it didn't really say anything about how to take the halo apart.And I don't want to do anything wrong to hurt the proformance of my halo. So I called the guy he said it chopped because the ball was the last one so it had room to move so it bounced and wasn't all the way in and chopped but all guns do this when your ripping at crazt fast speeds.
Conclusion: so after all that I would definitely recommend this hopper to anyone it awsome go buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 at 9:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderpilotuser Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy
Grav Fed
Empire B2
Marker Setup: Proto PMR
UL Frame
Virtue Eyes
CP Drop
CP ASA
Crossy 70/4500 stubby
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got this off of a site for $135.95.(its cheaper now) I opened it outta the box and i just took a good gander at it. boy was it a beauty. i installed the batteries but i tried to slide the cover back over and it wouldnt fit. You have to situate the wires a certain way or they wont fit. i got them in and started it up. press the red btton firmly then it flashed green 3 times then red 1 time. i didnt know what this meant until i read the manual.just for fun, i set it to mode 6 to see if it really loaded 35 bps or if it was crap. it loaded faster than a revvy ill tell you that. i put a pod full of reballs in it and let it go. since the reballs are diifrent size and texture, they jammed alot. it would drop like 45 then jam. i put a tube of DRAXXUS Gold through it and it loaded like a god. man the satisfying buzzing the thump thump thump. i tested it with a stop watch(not really) but i did time it in my head. it cleared a whole pod in less then 6 seconds. is that fast or what??????A good thing about this hopper is that you will have absolutely no trouble finding one. almost every online site sells them.Halo B w/ rip, Halo B Standard, Halo B w/rip and v35...you name it. you can walk into your local proshop and look around and find them.the only thing is, people buy these for the crap guns like spyder mechs, or pumps which i think is crazy.!!!!
Conclusion: An awesome hopper with many twists and turns(hahaha)...(get it?..twists and turns!!!!)oh well its good like i said but overpriced. its a hopper for goodness sake.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 25th, 2007 at 1:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikskater33 Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used an eggy, a revvy(doesnt even come close), and an extreme rage overdrive lol.
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Halo b W/ rip
PMI 68/4500
Strengths: Fast, nice looking, FAST, reputation
Weaknesses: I see none exept for the button is a little annoying
Review: I few weeks ago i got my halo in from actionvillage and i was like OMG I have a halo. first impressions were amazing, the thing just looks great. So immediately i pull out the battery pack and put some batteries in it. The first thing i did was do a drop test and it was so fast.
Anyway the next day my friend(who thinks hes cool becuz he has a spyder electra acs and thinks he can outshoot any hopper), calls me and asks me if he can try it out and see if he can outshoot it. So of course i laugh at him, i mean he is fast but not THAT fast. So i take it to him he unloads a whole hopper no breaks just ropes. he was mad.
Conclusion: Buy it it's amazing and worth the money over the eggy anyday.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
grav hoppers
Over Drive hopper
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with all necessary ups
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip
Scion HPA
Strengths: Speed
Durablility
Balance
Reliability
Weaknesses: Eats Batteries
Doesn't see dark shelled paint
Review: The Halo B is a name that comes up time and again when talking about top of the line hoppers. There are plenty of good reasons for this, which I will list below. I would like to point out that one of my greatest dislikes about some of the reviews I see are people just give the product a 10 because they bought it, and they want it to seem like its good when its really a piece. I will do my best to place an unbiased review.

Strengths:

Speed:The HaloB is one of the fastest markers on the market at this point, it can keep up with any marker you have, and I have never chopped paint using this hopper.

Noise: The hopper is incredibly quiet. Its completly silent until your ready to fire, then gives a low whir as it feeds 20+ BPS. When your firing your marker, its not even noticable that its feeding.

Balance: The layout of the Halo B, unlike the Eggs, is a very balanced one. The feedneck is in the center, you have the batteries at the front, and drive cone at the rear, balancing the weight. It sits very nicely on your marker.

Durability: People have talked about the shells breaking, I have never had a problem with this at all. Just holding the hopper you can tell that the thing is built to last. All parts are well manufactured and have yet to let me down.

Looks: Not that this is a huge deal, but seriously, we all like a hopper that looks as good as it feeds, the Halo B does an awesome job at this.

Profile: The Halo B has an incredibly low profile, with its feedneck and layout, one more thing to help with taking as few hopper shots as possible.

Lid: The lid is placed at an angle as to allow you to see how much paint is in your hopper, without having to lift or move it, so you know when you have to reload. The lid is also easy to open and close, making reloading that much easier. There is not a load "pop" when opening the lid telling everyone that your reloading. Its only happened to me a few times that the lid has popped open on my after a dive.

Rip Drive: A great addition for the extra price. If your run outta batteries in a game, you can still feed manually, keeping you in the game. If your hopper jams, spin it the opposite way, and it unjams the paint, great solution for the jamming problem.

Weaknesses

Battery life: The Halo B does eat through batteries quite vigorously, but not as badly as everyone makes it out to be. Ive played 3 hours straight, and put over 2000 round through the hopper, and didnt have to change my batteries once. Just be conscious to turn off the hopper when its not in use. When the red light is showing, change your batteries, it will not work at all on low battery.

Eyes: Eyes dont read black paint, or can have trouble reading paint with glitter in it. Simple solution, dont use black shelled paint. Most tournaments dont use black shelled paint because they know many teams use Halo's, so this is really not that great a deal.

Strong Drive cone: There are many complaints about the Halo B pushing balls through the ball detents, just buy good ball detents instead of crappy ones. It using this force to feed quickly, and yes it might be a little more than necessary, but Ive never had a problem on my shocker with it pushing through the ball detents.

Battery change: It is somewhat annoying to have to unscrew the lid to put that batteries back in, somewhat of an inconvienience.

Conclusion:
The Halo B has some problems with it, that many wish could be fixed. The eyes would have been better to be a break beam system instead of reflective so it could read any color of paint, that is the greatest flaw in this hopper. The only hopper that i think tops the Halo B is the Empire B, which I believe to be the best hopper on the market at this point. I am giving the Halo B with Rip drive a 9, because it strongly deserves it, the eyes are the only real thing that holds it back
Conclusion: The Halo B gets a 9 because it is one of the best markers out there, and one of the fastest. You really cant go wrong with this one. If you need a fast hopper, a Halo B or a Reloader B are definetly the way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nastytyphoon Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy 2 with y-board
halo b
quantum
Marker Setup: olive green dust system x nme le , ruby red halo-b with ripdrive , empire fuel 72/4500 pis low pressure tank ,12 inch freak barrel stainless steel back 05 all american front, was board included
Strengths: Speed
consistency
durability
looks
Weaknesses: Weight
battery consumption
Review: I use a halo-b w/ rip drive on all the markers i use when playing tourys or just goofing around. It is fast enough for my system x nme le and it looks good sitting on top of it to.
And now there getting more ups and more colors !!
Conclusion: If you have a fast gun i would recomend puting this on your marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bendore Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ummmmmm.... egg,Any other Halo, Vlocity,
Marker Setup: PMR
Empire Fuel 68/4500
Violocity Hopper
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Thick Feed neck needs to shaved down on ion feed neck"s
Jams suck
Heavey
Review: This a good hopper for any gun pretty much. On stock ion feed neck's they may need to be shaved down. If u don't buy a new feed neck. Its fast kinda hard to see the LED light in the sun. Its a little on the heavy side. Can't hold a lot of paint. I got 170 out of mine. But varys of what kind of paint u use.
Conclusion: Its okay
I reccomend the Vlocety
I sold Mine to a friend and made 82 bucks off of it lol
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (26):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media