paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt / Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt

Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Blackpoint Engineering

Buy Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt

Paintball A-5 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $38

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This new trick accessory from JCS is a red anodized aluminum power tube and front bolt. Replace the plastic components in the A-5 with our precision machined aircraft aluminum power tube. Enjoy our tight fitting front velocity screw design... securely holds that front velocity screw tight!
Product Availability 
The Blackpoint Engineering Red Hot Powertube and Front Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Tydo Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Powertube
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, WAS E Trigger, Cyclone Feed W. Squishy Paddles, JSC Red Hot Powertube, Ak-47 Shroud/mag/stock.
Strengths: -20% lighter than stock tube
-Metal is more durable...i guess?
Weaknesses: -LOUDER
-Waste If 40$
Review: Bought it, installed it, noticed abosolutely no difference except....the marker went from: pop, pop, pop TO BANG BANG BANG. Made me way easier to pick out and identify. Plus i chopped balls with it where i almost never have before. Good if you want the intimidation factor of a loud marker
Conclusion: Would NOT recomend this to anyone, totaly a waste unless somehow you broke your old powertube? In that case...re buy a stock one!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Elfasto Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing aftermarket, just the stock Tippmann Parts.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Smart Parts Progressive 20" barrel
Collapsable CAR Stock
Lapco offset sight rail
TASCO 4X32 scope
Strengths: Aluminum construction.
Hexagon bolt had much better fit tolerances than the stock bolt.
Weaknesses: Price vs. Benefit (none)
It made my marker sputter, fart around, chop balls, etc.
Review: I purchased this item in the belief that it would make my A5 a little bit better on air usage.

How wrong I was.

Right from the first shot, the marker would not chrono past 220, the cyclone feed would work erratically, it chopped a couple of balls right inside hopper (never did that with the stock parts), and for some reason it used more air than the stock powertube and bolt. Also the gas adjustment on the side of the powertube was looser than heck. It leaked more gas than my old 1980 Chevy 1/2 tonne.

The only plus is that the hexagon bolt that came with the powertube actually fits pretty good over the JCS and the stock powertube. Not as good as a Shocktek Delrin bolt with the extra o-ring, but much better than the stock bolt.
Conclusion: I'm giving this a 2 out of 10.
Reason: Price, and the fact that it made my up until now flawless A5 into a big nasty fart cannon.

To be totally fair, I'll give the bolt a 6, only because it fits the stock powertube very well.
The Powertube, a big FAT 0
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 4:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Monday, January 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock powertube
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger
Polished Internals
Lapco Snapshot Barrel .687
Pure Energy 68cu 4500 psi Compressed Air
Palmer's Stabilizer
SpecOps A-5A2 Stock
Kingman Java Remote Coil
TechT Vortex Mod
JCS Redhot Powertube/ Hexadecagonal bolt
Strengths: Strength, Durability, keeps velocity screw nice and snug.
Weaknesses: None, did not notice increase in noise.
Review: I got this when I found my stock powertube cracked after a day of play. I immediately ordered this for 30 bucks with R/T hole. I put it in and have seen no decrease or increase in accuracy, consistency or noise, but it has given me the peace of mind to know that yet another piece of my A-5 is sturdy and will last. I just need to get a metal cyclone housing, grip and cocking handle and I'm set. :)

It accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do, do NOT expect any increase in accuracy or performance, many front bolts and powertubes have been tested and do not operate better than stock. This product is really only for strength.

P.S. I do like the new front bolt that comes with it though. It is a bit snugger to the powertube (not snug, snugger) and the curved face of the front bolt might cradle paintballs more and decrease paint breakage.
Conclusion: I would recommend that you get this if you want to forestall any problems, or if your powertube cracks. It seems quite sturdy and I am satisfied with this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
A-5 QEV
Howitzer Bolt
JCS Red Hot Powertube
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: Lighter
Stronger
BRIGHT RED! thats pretty cool
Weaknesses: Pricey, especially in Canada
Review: Good replacement powertube for the A-5's stock plastic powertube. Bright Red colour adds colour to your internals. If used with the Howitzer bolt it looks awsome, really somthing to wow your friends with when you open the marker up. But as to it's performance, it is lighter, and keeps your velocity screw tight. This is great for people who have problems with their velocity screws loosening, as mine did.
On top of all this, with the howitzer bolt, your internals go from white to yellow to bright orange to bright red ..... looks awsome and peforms as advertised
Conclusion: Great way to upgrade your gun and peforms as advertised
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gcg-3432 Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock part
Marker Setup: hose, response trigger, apex barrel,
Strengths: A quality replacement
Weaknesses: PRICE
Doesn't do anything
Review: Some people say that it increases accuracy, I say no. I bought this only for a replacement of my old one because the plastic one cracked (fairly common). I was not looking for increased accuracy or noise. I got minimal of each. I had to pay like $35 for it. If you need it like me then you have to pay that price, I didn't want to ask tippmann if they had spare parts for sale because they would have a plastic one. The aluminum will last as long as the entire gun does.
Conclusion: Buy it only for a Replacement item not as an upgrade. Too much money and doesn't do enough.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Furby87 Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock power tube.
Marker Setup: A-5, JJ Performance 16", Pure Energy coiled remote line, Tasco red dot, Special Ops sight rail, Shocktech super fly mark 2 forward bolt, Redhot power tube, Tapco A5 6 position stock, Ricochet R-5
Strengths: Metal, looks cool.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This makes your gun louder, I think it is because the rear bolt is hitting metal instead of plastic. This will some insurance in beliving it wont break like the plastic. Its nice that its louder cause it makes people hit the ground. It makes the internals of your gun cooler too.
Conclusion: If you want some insurance that your gun wont break down then you should get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellomynameis Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock power tube
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with a lot of upgrades
Strengths: Maybe it would be last longer if it actually worked?
Weaknesses: It doesn't work...
Review: Ok so my stock power tube cracked so I got this power tube so it would last longer and not crack. I put it in and worked for about 10 shots, then it went full auto and uncocked. It would keep doing that until the next day when I could get another 10 shots out of it until it stopped again. The cyclone feed didn't work because there was almost do air getting in. I didn't know what was wrong so I went to the local shop and they put a stock power tube in and it worked perfectly.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend this product, just stick with the stock power tubes.

I give it a 2 because it might work for some people, but for mine it wasnt made exactly right.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

MustardLust Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A5 (black)
-Tippmann A5 Flatline Barrel
-Tippmann A5 E-Grip
-JCS Red Hot Power Tube
-OPSGEAR Collapsible AK47 Stock
Strengths: -Light
-LOUD!
Weaknesses: -None, its just a power tube
Review: With all of the other improvements to replacing a stock power tube known, there is one reason that I bought this that is not.

This thing is LOUD!

Everyone says that the key is to be quiet and stealthy and you will sneak up on your opponent. I disagree. I unload with this baby running through a flatline barrel and people duck. I'll let my dagger and saber get the kills, easy since the opposing teams don't move when my gun thunders.

This tube makes guns loud and intimidating. Period.
Conclusion: If intimidation is your key to winning, get this thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DEVILDOG5.56 Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
havent used any other products
Marker Setup: a-5
flatline barrel
responsse trigger
red hot power tube
Strengths: Adds sound (scares some ppl)
Fits nice
Increases fps
Weaknesses: None that i can see
Review: when i went to go get my gun chronographed my fps was like 320 or in that area. i tried everything to get the fps to field regulations (270) even took the velocity screw out and it was still like 300. I ended up having to cut the drive spring like 4 times and the fps just met 270. not saying that the increase in fps is a bad thing i thought it was awesome. it fits well and is better than the stock plastic one. It also makes it louder. i give this product a 10.
Conclusion: I would recomend this product to anyone. its cool
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Schatten529 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Power Tube
Marker Setup: Tippmann A 5
- JCS Red Hot Power Tube
- Madd Mann Spring Kit
Tippmann E Grip
- JCS Duel Trigger
Tippmann Flatline Barrel or J&J Ceramic Barrel (14 inch)
Core Remote Line connected to PMI 68ci 3000psi HPA
OpsGear folding G36 stock
Strengths: Velocity adjustment screw stays put
Looks Cool
Durable
Weaknesses: Increased noise level
Review: I bought this part early on when I was using CO2 on my A5 and didnít want to worry about my stock power tube cracking. Since then (and rather quickly thereafter) I upgraded to HPA. No matter what you run with this power tube it will still look cool (when you take it out), be more durable, and the nylon insert will hold the velocity adjustment screw in place (I havenít had to re-adjust my screw yet). The only downfall to this P/T is the increased noise. Bad if youíre a stealthy type but could add a little intimidation factor to the mix for medium/heavy gunners.

The real question is whether or not this P/T adds any additional benefit to the mix beyond those Iíve just mentioned for the price.

Increase in Accuracy?

I did some bench testing between the two power tubes (Red Hot & stock) and didnít find any difference in my accuracy. I even used both the stock and the new bolt that comes with the Red Hot Power Tube to make sure the bolt didnít affect anything. Everything else was kept the same: barrel, velocity, paint, etc. I canít say for certain that this power tube doesnít increase accuracy for some set upsÖbut it didnít do anything for mine.

Increase in Efficiency (air usage)?

I havenít done any scientific testing by any means, but I didnít find a noticeable increase in air usage efficiency. Again I kept everything the same except the power tubes while playing for a day. Both power tubes used about the same amount of air off my tank gauge while ripping through 500 balls. I only say about the same amount because the marks and needles on these gauges donít give precise pressure (within 100psi would probably be generous). As I mentioned above in the accuracy section; it didnít noticeably improve my efficiency but I wouldnít rule out it helping other set ups.
Conclusion: If you run and plan on running CO2 for some time you probably want this power tube. The best feature it has for the non-CO2 user is having your velocity adjustment screw stay put. You could also simply apply some of the silicone/rubber compound out there to your velo screw and use it with your stock power tube for the same result and save yourself some money. If I could do it all over Iíd probably buy the Red Hot Power Tube againÖbut itíd be after I bought other stuff first.

My rating isn't based on product quality but on price versus benefit.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media