paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit / Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit

Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Freak kit with stainless steel inserts
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Stainless Total Freak Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Blak Rawb Monday, February 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
kaner barrel
Marker Setup: full body e orracle, 45/45 crossfire and a 91/45 dye throttle air , nexus internals, kaner barrel, chipley custom machine back block., and an evolution 2 hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
none
Strengths: Looks good, light, changeable bores
Weaknesses: I mic-ed the bores, all were .001 under. 1 was .003 under
Review: I bought the barrell based on reviews on this page, and i saw the barrel, like the looks, and the quality of workmanship. i brought it home with some junk pj joker paint and it took me the .697 too shoot that stuff. shot darts, but doesnt like odd shaped balls. so i bought some smaller draxxus paint and it shoots them every which way, even when properly bored. it never seems to like the balls. yes...... it doesnt let balls roll out. but so far i havent found a paint that it likes to shoot fast, and straight which is kind of making me mad. dont get me wrong the barrel is awesome in quality. and shoots awesome on my trilogy autococker, but when i put it on my e orracle it shoots like just threw a fistfull of paint at somebody. i like the accuracy of the kaner better but cannot stand roll-outs. i really wish the inserts had a tapered front on them to make the ball sort of fit. but its alright, it works on slow rof guns like a charm.
Conclusion: Id buy an ultralight or kaner setup next time. i payed 170 for this thing and wasnt impressed at all, better than stock yess, would i buy it again. no. but this thing definately looks nice.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jpetty421 Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Shocker SFT w/ Vision and Nerve Board Installed, and High Efficiency Bolt Installed; All American 12" Barrel; Max Flo Inline HP 45ci/4500psi; and Empire Reloader B Hopper.
AND
Angel A4 w/ Full Stainless Freak Kit, w/ Stainless Back and 12" & 14" Fronts; Max Flo HP Inline 68ci/4500psi and Empire Reloader B Hopper. (Got Rid of Gun--Hated It)
Strengths: Good interchangeable options.
Weaknesses: Bad Milling=Sharp edges on inserts. Inserts would cut balls in barrel. Price
Review: It was a pain to change the insert and check every time you play. Also, if I took 5 paintballs out of a box, different balls would fit into different inserts! Plus getting the inserts out of the SS back was ridiculous. Did not improve accuracy as much as one would think, because different inserts would fit same ball, depending on how you put it into insert.
Conclusion: Overall, not worth $200 for the kit.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Brettbags Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, all american, freak jr
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, all sizes
Strengths: Eight inserts, good looking, different fronts and backs, accurate.
Weaknesses: Hard to shoot through breaks from my expierence, watch the bore you use.
Review: Good for all sized paintballs, bad for breaks, nice two piece setup with fronts and backs that you can change. Very expensive though. Cash definetly plays a big role here. It fits a lot of different markers too which is also a plus. You can keep the kit and just get a new back if you get a new gun.
Conclusion: It is a very good kit that shoots very nice, if you have the money its worth it, im sure its not the best kit available but its up there in the top 3.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5flyr Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular freak inserts, ultralite, boomstick, jj ceramic, flatlines, kaner
Marker Setup: all my guns have a 14" stainless freak kit /w the stainless steel back and an all american front
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything! even field paint
Strengths: Accurate /w all american front
Never have bore problems again
Durable
Weaknesses: Hahahahaha
Review: FIRST, LET'S GET ONE THING STRAIGHT: THE BARREL DOESN'T MATTER AS MUCH AS THE PAINT-BARREL MATCH. THIS IS WHY THE FREAK OWNS EVERYTHING OUT THERE! When i first got my 03 shocker, it came with an all american barrel, which was ungodly accurate, except that soon my field purchased paint with a large bore size and my barrel would constantly break paint. It was then that i decided to buy a freak. I looked at what was available and i decided that nothing but the best was going on my gun. That's why i bought the total stainless steel kit with a stainless steel back. The freak is a three piece barrel, which mean its three parts are a back (what screws into the gun), a front (what screws into the back), and inserts (little tubes with different bore sizes). If your paint is very big, simply pop in a larger insert. If it is smaller, pop in a small insert. Never break paint again. I have never broken a ball since i put the freak on my gun. ALTHOUGH IT'S EXPENSIVE, REMEMBER ONE THING: THIS IS THE LAST BARREL YOU'LL EVER HAVE TO BUY... OR EVEN WANT TO. Also, it is incredibly sick how accurate this barrel is with an all american front.
Conclusion: Do not buy this product, I might stop winning
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spencerTLXblu Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
14 inch Smart Parts Teardrop
14/16 inch Dye boomstick
Marker Setup: 2004 Kingman Spyder Fenix
Shocktech Supa-fly bolt
14 inch complete SS freak kit
Viewloader eVLution 2 w/ z-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
GAP, draxxus, diablo, PMI
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Looks
You can change bore size
Weaknesses: Price
Price
Price
Review: STRENGHTS:
To me i think this is the best barrel i have used especially on my fenix...this barrel has awsome accuracy and looks great...some people say that it is too heavy but if you have a blow-back marker like me, this barrel will actually take away some kick back. I love that no matter what size paint you get you will have the right size barrel...I used to have to make sure i got paintballs that were .689 bore but now it doesnt matter what size. Also on the field it is a huge confidence builder. This barrel turns heads more than most other barrels too...people always ask me how well it performs, the price, and if it works as good as it looks...In my opinion i love this barrel and its the only barrel i will use now

now onto the weaknesses:
Pretty much the only weakness i have come accross so far is the price. I am sure that after a lot of use an instert will wear out and need to be replaced and insterts are pretty expensive too. With really really crappy paint this barrel doesnt have awesome accuracy like it does with nice paint...my cousin used Blue Streaks in it one time and they werent goin as straight as when we were usin GAP.

overall:
I would reccomend this barrel to anyone that is willing to fork out $220 bucks for a barrel (it is well worth it)...this barrel looks great, feels great, sounds great, and performs extremely well (unless you are using wal-mart paint). The Stainless Steal inserts are much more durable than the aluminum insterts and last a lot longer. This barrel kit is very easy to take care of and comes with a nice hard plastic case.
Conclusion: AWSOME BARREL KIT! price a lil too much for some people other than that it looks, feels, sounds, and performs GREAT!!!!!BUY IT NOW IF YOU HAVE ENOUGH MONEY!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 25th, 2004 at 11:43 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

smartparts Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, Lucky 15, JJ tilt, AA, Carbon fiber, Evil pipe
Marker Setup: Ans gx-4 with oracle bolt, kapp back block, free flow qev, boomstick, freak kit, 68/45.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintball. Has all the inserts
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Doesnt dent easily
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This barrel is sick!!!!!! Sooooo light. Lighter then the boomstick that I have currently on my Gx-4. Though boomy maybe accurate it is mad heavy and freak is more accurate because the inserts let you use any size paint. Stainless is also stronger then the aluminum. So it doesnt dent.
Conclusion: Get this barrel system!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patriarch Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT two piece, tear drop (Testing the hammerhead barrel over the next year)
Marker Setup: Black Dust Angel Speed, Cradle with On/Off, CP locking feedneck, SS Freak Kit with AA Tip, Killer Gripz sightrail/pull knob/snatch grip/back plate, A4 board, 91/45 bulldog tank, Smoke Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any except really cheap, only had problems with Zap rec series paintballs.
Strengths: Stainless steel, amazing accuracy (best I've tried so far), great selection of bore sizes.
Weaknesses: Price, extra weight if using the stainless steel back.
Review: I've experienced some amazing feats of accuracy with this system in tournament play managing to hit players with a small burst (the entire string of balls hit) from almost clear across the field with only the top part of their hopper showing. I was amazed at this and also got a warning from a ref for overshooting. Though I think it must have been obvious it wasn't on purpose considering the how far away I was. Interestingly enough the opponent I eliminated wasn't impressed by the accuracy of my shots.

Considering the problems I've heard other people have with smart parts barrels in general I can only say I either have the only well made production model they have ever made or only those people with problems mention anything about this system. I can easily shoot through a barrel break (I have three different threaded backs for my kit) and have only broke a ball twice in this barrel on my Angel but my sensi was shut off both times as well and the paint wasn't all that great.

I'm sure this isn't the greatest system out there, they all have their strengths and weaknesses and I'm not sure if you really need the stainless steel back unless you put your marker through hell on the field! This barrel system as great as it is won't stop me from trying others to compare them.

All in all I am impressed with this system and would recommend it without any problems with one exception. I would suggest the AA tip not the Freak tip unless they have fixed the problems I have experienced with it. Specifically the Tear Drop porting tore up my squeege and rips off parts of my swab making it hard to clean.
Conclusion: Its durable and accurate. Price sucks!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pimp53 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe Kit
Kaner
Other Smart Parts barrels
Terminator, Whisper, Boomsticks, and many others.
Marker Setup: Black and yellow fade Species LCD Intimidator with Equilizer board and Bullet drop.

Flat black Evil Pimp all stock with Smart Parts clamping feed neck and FBM Stilletto drop.

Impulse w/Vision, Smart Parts clamping feed neck, Tapeworm, vert Max-Flo, and decked out to the max with Custom Products skull parts.

All guns run the stainless steel Freak barrel system with 12 or 10" All-American front
and my Ricochet Apache and Java 88/4500 hpa system.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I haven't had a problem with any so far.
Strengths: Versatility
Perfect ball to barrel matching
Higher tolerance than the aluminum inserts, more accurate
Weaknesses: Steep price
Review: This kit is very nice, i shoot a variety of balls and have not found a paint I couldn't match.
Accuracy is improved drastically over stock barrels and the versatility is pricelss.
I have 12" and 10" fronts and it is really nice to be able to switch them depending on what I need at that moment.
Conclusion: If you want to spend the extra money to never have to buy another barrel then this is perfect for you. stainless inserts are much togher and are made with a much higher tolerance. Buy this kit and you will have no worries abount paint matching.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jedunnigan Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American Back with a 12 inch All American Front
Marker Setup: 2003 Black Smart Parts Shocker
Vision
Smart Parts Turbocharger Bolt Kit
AKA 2 Liter Low Pressure Regulater
2004 Smart Parts High Pressure Inline Max Flo Regulator With 88ci 4500 Tank
Carbon Fiber Roller Blade trigger
New Desingz ASA
Smart Parts Low Pressure Gauge
Smart Parts Mini Flo Low Pressure Regulator
New Designz Stainless Steal Manifold
Total Stainless Steal Freak Kit with Stailess Steal Freak back and 12 inch All American front
New Designz Talon Grip
Smart Parts Q-Lock Feedneck (Comes stock on nerves)
Halo B with Victory Board
Microswitch Modification
SFT O-Ring Modification
Recommended
Paintballs:
You may use any size because you can change the size of the inserts. Although i highly recommend using paintballs that cost over $35 for a box of 2000 because anything less is probably not that great quality and may break easily. Also I dont recommend anything that has been in extreme temperatures (hot or cold).
Strengths: Paint to Bore match
Great accuraccy
Reduces chopping inside barrel
Weaknesses: On the expensive side
Review: I feel that this is one of the best if not the best barrel kits on the market. I really like how you can change the bore sizes to match the paint. After using this product I could see how much it helped the accuracy. Being made out of Stainless Steal you can see that the bore peices re very durable and long lasting and work very well in cold weather.
Conclusion: If you are in search for a new barrel kit I highly reccommend this one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Recore Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-All American
-Boss Progressive (stock barrel)
Marker Setup: -Black 02 Impulse
-SP Low Pressure Reg.
-ND Blade Trigger
-ND Slick Shot Ram
-ND Rat Hole Hammer
-ND Stubby Bolt
-ND Detents
-Adjustible Feed Neck
-Shocktech Medium Drop
-Dye Sticky 3's
-16 in. SS Freak Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: The barrel matches the paint.
Weaknesses: The Carrying case! Only cause it doesn't have enough slots.
Review: I have only used it 4 times and I think its the best barrel i ever use. But if your looking for more distance don't buy a 16 inch. I would recommend a 14 inch barrel! Make sure when your getting paint though that it's not all lop sided and deformed. This will decreases your accuracy by alot! but other then that its an awsome barrel!
Conclusion: I will recommend to anyone this product. The only problem I have found with it is if your using a lop sided or deformed paintball its not going to shoot as nice or strait. Also I wish there was more slots to carry other barrels. Conclusion - Good company, Good barrel!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media