paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator / Bob Long Alias Intimidator

Bob Long Alias Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Alias Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Alias Intimidator
[ View Photos (54) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 132
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Bob Long Alias Intimidator - Features: Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge, Bob Long 2K4 Board. LIFETIME LABOR WARRANTY
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Alias Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
aCID rEIGN Friday, March 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first timmy, I got it mid last month (with my own money, mind you), I've used many guns, look for my review of the Spyder Aggressor to see them. (Don't feel like writing them again :)
Marker Setup: Black/Red Sleeve Alias Timmy, black Empire ReloaderB, Crossfire 68/45 LP tank, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Hybrid eye covers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything stock on this marker is really good, but as you can see in my setup, I got a Shocktech bolt, and I might get a new barrel, and some other miscellaneous performance parts. New eye covers (problem later) and also some new detents (another minor problem)
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Quiet
Accuracy
No Kick
Consistency
Efficiency
Maneuverability
Ruggedness
Well Balanced
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Detents
Some problems with the eyes
Review: Overall this gun PWNS! couldn't ask for more, the only problems I had were the ball detents and the eyes. The eyes were always "thinking" there was a ball in the breach, so I had to constantly keep pressure on them with tape or something, I know this isn't a big deal, but what pissed me off was this is a nearly $2,000 dollar marker that doesn't work the way it should. I eventually got some new eye covers from Hybrid (Iron Cross ones) they look bad ass and fixed the problem. Also the detents are crap, very weak.
Conclusion: Awesome gun, minor eye and detent problems, other than that, THIS THING RIPS!
I'm gonna give it a 9 JUST because of the eyes and detents, I just think a high-end high-priced gun should perform well stock.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FLGatorPB Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2004 Bob Long Ailas Intimidator Black/Blue Fade. 2003 Tricked Cocker.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel. Ram Cap but not neccecary.
Strengths: Speed. Ease Of the Trigger. Efficent
Weaknesses: Frame little Odd Shaped.
Review: What can I say the marker is Bad A**. Bottom Line the Alias if FAST. You can adjust the Trigger to where you like. Mine you touch it and POP POP. Out of the Box. Put Some Fittings on and ASA. Grab the N2 Tank. Gas the Marker, Screw in a Good Cocker Barrel. Turn on the Hopper. Dump a Pod in. Tweek The Reg to Get The Velocity right. Fire Away. Its just that Simple. IT RIPPPPPPSSSSSS.
Conclusion: If you want a maker thats High End, Fast, Easy Maintiance, And NOT a Gas Hog. Buy Your Self an ALIAS. 2k5's Are Comming out and there basicly the same thing. But the Alias looks so much nicer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boblong85 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Angel, and other intimidators.Alias is the best ive shot so far.
Marker Setup: Bob Long Alias Intimidator
Stiffi 14' Barrel
Halo B Hopper
Cross Fire Tank
Speed Trigger(autococker)
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP or Stiffi Barrel(i didnt think the stiffi would be any good, but its actually a pretty good barrel to go with this gun.)
New Hopper(trust me, with how fast this gun is your going to need a faster hopper)Halo B
Its a great out of the box gun if not able to buy recommended upgrades.
Strengths: Great Accuarcy
Very Fast
Very Light
Weaknesses: There's really no weakness about this marker.
Review: The Alias Intimidator is a great marker. Lot of the other intimidators look better, but ive shot almost every one and this is the best. Its a very light gun even after upgrading it and I have no problem getting around. I could not believe how fast this gun was after adding a autococker speed trigger, i got up to 33 bps. The LCD screen is kind of confusing at first but you'll figure it out. It took me a while to figure out how to get it to different firing modes. This is a great gun and will guarantee you some kills out on the field.
Conclusion: I recommend everyone to buy this gun or at least test it. I promise you no disappointments.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pattawa Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Timmys
Freestyles
Marker Setup: SP ION
Strengths: A bob long
Price for the quality
Speed
Weight
Best Marker i ever shot!
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: I Was at my shop two days ago and i got to shoot some guns. this guy came out and let me shoot his alias which was really nice of him. It was the lightest marker i have ever held much lighter than proto matrix. It was so smooth and so fast. I want one so bad. The Stock trigger is the so nice the trigger pull is so small. THE NICEST MARKER FOR THE PRICE!!
Conclusion: If you have $1200 for a marker Go buy an alias
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 27th, 2005 at 6:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alias ripper Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
other timmys
Marker Setup: alias timmy carbon fiber tank,empire b checkk it,critical trigger,infamous board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, may be a infamous board
Strengths: Light,fast,small,good trigger,looks good,never breaks,accuracy
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: great looks,fast,never breaks,even works in the rain,good trigger,Hot gun everyone wants one so easy to trade with i wouldn't never trade it best gun i ever shot best timmy i tried out of 2k2,storm,lasoya,empire,alien series.Best timmy no prblems with it.good sloid gun.
Conclusion: I would get this gun in a heartbeat best timmy,good price get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 16th, 2005 at 4:51 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tiddley Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Alias Timmy w/ Dye UL 12" and 68/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell
Halo/REloader B
Strengths: Speed
comfort
weight
Weaknesses: Price I guess but if your looking in this range you know what to expect
Review: I used this Timmy over the weekend because the one i purchased never came(bought it used) so i had to borrow one. I have to ay this is the best feeling gun i have ever shot and it works like a dream. The frenzy interface is extremely easy to use and the Eyes work perfectly. I went through 3 cases this weekend and had no breaks at all(even when i had my halo off). It is so light and easy to snap with I think that with a 68/45 and Halo it still was lighter than anything i have ever used. Another thing is that it looks great, I was gettin looks for "my" timmy all weekend even at the Sunday tourny.
Conclusion: It is a great product and should be considered by anyone looking at highend guns especially for tournament play
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snake10 Thursday, February 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all high end elctros
Marker Setup: Alias timmy
st micro drop
halob rip

Rasta a4 fly
crosefire lp
evo 2 hopper
pipe barell

Brass eagle blade
pocket hopper
Strengths: Nice
Small
Fast
Light
Cool
Weaknesses: Uh
Review: So far I havent goten to play with hit butheres the other stuff

It is soo cool looking! It is such a fast gun! I can shoot left handed fast enough!(no im not left handed)
its so light you can walk it with one hand only!

Nice and small for the tight positions.

UPDATE!
If you are a front player dfintly this is the gun for you! It is not as good as my angel for back playing cus its not accurate. Turn down the debounce(mine was at 27) and your set to go.
Conclusion: If ya got the chance definetly get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 5th, 2005 at 2:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fox5100 Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months74 of 78 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker,Shocker,Toxic Matrix
Marker Setup: All stock with a unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Ram Cap not required at all.
Strengths: Accurate
Efficient
Easy maintenance
Consistent
Weaknesses: Horrible Manual
Barbs
Edit:(06/15/05) New Manual on www.pbnation.com
Review: Accuracy: The accuracy is outstanding, i was easly playing hopper ball because it didn't take alot of paint to get people out but that isnt fun. When i played in my first tourney ,with the marker, i was easly putting ball on ball. The whole tourney i didn't chop once and had a barrel break because of a leak that formed down the barrel. Go down to maintenance.

Weight: When i first got this marker it is about the lightest gun you can buy. The shocker is lighter but the weight distribution in the alias is better which makes it feel lighter.

Maintenance: This gun is very easy to work on. Not including the regulators there are 3 parts that move. Most of the orings are just tank orings so that they are very easy to find. Problem is that out of box the marker had a couple of bad orings. The ram cap, hpr, and reg housing had bad orings. Just looked like a bad batch, i dont know what kind of problems this would have caused because before i gassed it up i took the marker apart. When i called blast they sent me new orings and i received them a week later. I had orings of this size so i didn't have to wait but its nice that blast sent me replacements. The only bad thing about this marker is the barbs, if your new to this type of marker buy new ones because unless you want to cut your hose, which i do, you may break the barbs. Once those hoses are on the barbs they arnt coming off without a lot of force. Just cut the hose so that you dont rip apart half your marker. Hoses is not expensive and you shouldn't have to do this unless you have to remove your sleeve. The reason why i had to remove my sleeve is because during the tourney a leak down the barrel formed. To get to the orings on the sleeve you must remove the sleeve. To do this you must remove the hoses and unscrew the barbs. Everything up to this point was easy to do, take your time if you have to do this. Those sleeve orings are 013 even though the manual says 015. One of the orings is liped but an 013 fits fine. Also the manual says put the sleeve back in through the back do not do this it will tear up those new orings and you will have to do this again. Put it back in through the front trust me. As for ram bumbers they have been removed so that you dont have to replace them anymore.

Adjustability: Anything you would like to adjust you can the marker feels and shoots great out of the box. No need to adjust anything but you can if you want.

Efficiency: This marker easliy gets from 1800+ per 68ci 4500 tank. Dosn't get any better. Out of the box the gun get +-15 fps. Don't be dissapointed, once you get a couple of cases through the marker you should get +-3fps. If your not relube the regs.

Kick: There is a slight kick that can only be felt when your dry fireing. The reason is that the marker only weights 1.4 pounds. Yes the matrix dosnt kick but the thing is a rock of course it isn't going to move. During play you do not feel it.

Speed: Everyone wants to know this questions, how fast is it? The marker is capable of shooting a max of 25 bps. It is very fast, it is really easily for you slow guys to shoot 12-13 balls a second consistently. The important thing is consistent. I have shot the shocker and matrix and you can shoot fast but its really hard to get a rope going. You have no problem with this marker doing that. Most people will shot around the 15-16 bps, try running through that if its a rope, you won't. For you people with the older timmies that say they shoot 20bps sorry but those boards are wrong by a lot. The frenzy board has the most accurate bps counter on the market.

Manual: As far as the manual its complete junk. If something dosn't seem right in the manual call blast they will help you out. If your guessing you may run the risk of damaging the marker. I think this is the reason why most newbies that get it say it is unreliable because the manual is horrible and they are just guessing on how to work on it. Dont do this if you dont want to call blast take it to your local pro shop.
Edit:(6/15/05) Bob Long sure take a long time to make a manual but its a good one. You can get the alias manual at www.pbnation.com in there intimidator section.

Edit:(02/01/05) I just found out that now blast offers a ramp upgrade for all 2k4 and up markers. Don't know as of yet if its stock but if you send your frenzy board and 40 bucks you will get 3 modes of fire including ramp. Now this marker kills the competition in every area.
Conclusion: This gun is a great marker and i wouldn't buy any other marker. I give it a 9 not because of the oring problems, its an oring no big deal, its because of the manual. I think this is either greed or laziness. Every manufacture has a manual for there markers and there is no reason they could not hire a person for a week to make a manual. It dosn't cost that much to go to your local copy shop and make a thousand copies. If you get this marker you will be very happy, if we get enough people calling blast with questions then maybe they will release a new manual.

Edit:(6/15/05) With the new manual it makes it alot easier to work on your timmy. Just wish it didn't take so long for them to make one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 15th, 2005 at 5:15 pm PST
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

bob99 Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gz,cockers,bushys,etc
Marker Setup: 2k4 alias, 88/4500 carbon fiber tank, halo B w/ z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
adjustable ram cap
bolt
empire grips
Strengths: CRAZY fast!
sleek
air efficient....ish
light
shorter than other Timmy's
Weaknesses: the un-godly amount of paint you will use
pressure climbs
PRICE
Review: Overall this gun is SWEET. it can shoot a solid stream of paint with next to no effort and it is very light. HOWEVER if you use a high pressure tank on this gun you might run into some problems with the lpr. i had a problem where the lpr casing came loose during play cuz my tank out-put pressure.Also bob long will send you the 2k2 manual with the gun which can be a minor set back and i had my dwell set relatively high and made sure my eyes were working properly AND matched the paint size w/ my barrel size yet still ran into the occasional chop, but i think it was the bolt.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to any one with the cash cuz its worth evey penny.......allmost :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1ofkind Friday, January 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder <--- hahaha
Marker Setup: This marker pimps itself, all anyones needs is a air intake source and hose setup.
Oh and maybe a fmb trigger or carbon fiber if you got the serrious cash.
Recommended
Upgrades:
PBkingdom timmy detents, there black rather then see threw and last forever rather than 1 case.
Strengths: Accurate
Faster than fast
no chopping
simple maintenance
Easy to turn on
Girls love it!
Weaknesses: It can have its time of the month... you can guess what that means.
Review: I remember looking at the box, opening the lid and gazing at a master piece. This marker looks so beautiful it leaves you feeling shocked and disbelieved.

Setting it up made me a little nervous because I didn't know it was so simple. All you have to do it get the lpr around 75psi and go chrono. Out of the box its about 12+/- fps.
The only problem I had was strange chopping. After readjusting the ram I was going threw solid pods and seeing solid streams of paint flying. BTW thats what I ment by its time of the month, its good to monitor the lpr gage, and where the bolt sits in the cocked position it will become offset after 2 cases (LPR gage will change -10 everytime you gas up the alias).
Conclusion: Can't wait to play paintball... and OMG get used to being asked to trade.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media