paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha / PMI Piranha / PMI Piranha / PMI Piranha

PMI Piranha Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 80
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
They have created a tournament grade marker with precision. It is corrosion-resistant, made of aerospace grade aluminum, and has a self-lubricating ceramic finish on internal parts to prevent wear. It has a dovetail sight mount, built in power feed, and a verticle CO2 tank adaptor. The gun is equipped with an ultra light trigger that can shoot up to 7 shots per second!
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
EvilLuke Thursday, May 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various rentals, tippman 98 custom, spyder electra.
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha
below barrel expansion chamber, and foregrip expansin chamber
20 oz Co2
Rhino Ricochet electric hopper
medium pull bolt spring
16" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel and an expansion chamber(foregrip chambers are the best)
Strengths: Air efficancy
accurate
easy to clean
cheap
Weaknesses: Tank acceptor loosens easy
Long trigger pull but light
Review: First off this is the first marker I basically own. A freind gave it to me after a tournament and told me I could keep it untill I get my own. This is a very good beginner marker. I would recomend it to someone playing hyperball, scenario, woodsball, and speedball, but only speedball for fun, not recomended for tourneys. Overall this is a pretty good marker. it is accurate, it sips air, and it is very easy to clean. Once i was in a game and I broke multiple balls in a row because i was shooting too fast and i just popped out the delrin bolt and squegeed it clean then wiped the paint off the bolt on my cleaning cloth.(I only carry the cloth for field marker cleaning. Cheating is dumb and doesn't make you any better of a player) This gun has a little kick and is a little bit loud but is very good on gas and accuracy. I spent an entire day shooting about 2 cases of paint on one 20oz tank. The trigger pulls really easy but you have to pull it aways before it will shoot. I just use my middle finger on the lower loop of the trigger and can get about 8bps.
Conclusion: If you are a beginner looking for your own marker, this is one to get for cheap. you get your moneys worth. But since nothing is perfect and there is no 9.5 i give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XSiv Force Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: TL-R Sniper
16" barrel
20 oz. CO2
Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Powerfull
Easy to Field Strip
Weaknesses: Lack Of Expansion Chamber
No Foregrip
But Those Can Be Put On
Review: I bought this gun from a pro-shop for $2, It was a field gun, but the place burned down and the gun only had smoke damage. When I bought it, it would only shoot single shots but after some manipulation I got it to go semi-auto. The gun shoots extremly well with the stock 8" barrel it came with, I even tried the gun out with an MR-1 Barrel and it shot better. Its a really good back up gun for me and a great gun if you have a friend that does not have a gun and wants to go paintballing with ya.
Conclusion: Great gun for $2, Have put $15 into it and it shoots as well as my $150 gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jag6662 Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha
32 degree spring kit
armson 14" barrel
87ci N2 tank PMI, PMI 20oz, 9oz, 20 tank.
x chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
use N2
Strengths: Solid design
All metal.
Great for beginning in the game
Weaknesses: Bps. but this is an old design.
Review: this has been a great gun for getting into the game of paintball. i have not had to do anything to this gun, but change the o-ring on it.

I got this gun off a friend that does not play anymore, do to the fact that all his friends moved onto playing in the big tourneys.

Conclusion: Get this gun for a buddy or yourself. It will last.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spydergunboy Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: stock spyder xtra
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Kind of Quiet
Weaknesses: Chops a lot
Bad accuracy stock
Review: This is the gun that got me into the sport of paintball, so I guess it did something right.
At my local field they rent these out, and i didn't have my own gun yet, so i used it. I might have been the paint I was using (32* competition), bit it was chopping a lot. I figure it was probably the crummy barrel. When a ball broke, sometimes the next would go 30 feet straight up into the air. But all in all, it was ok.
Conclusion: If you really want it get it, but for about the same price you could get a good mech spyder.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 22nd, 2005 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nickyjpaintball Tuesday, January 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom

spyder victor
Marker Setup: pmi piranha with 11 smart parts all american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel because the stock barrel is real short and inaccurate
Strengths: People say they chop balls but ive hardly ever seen it happen

Easy to fix
Weaknesses: Plastic trigger

Leaks air once in a while.
Review: If you want a nice gun for the price a piranha is what you should get. I mean its very very easy to fix. Its a great gun for begginers. Ive never had many problems with this marker. It doesn't take a whole lot of co2. Its got a saftey that never fales
Conclusion: all in all i would get this gun for if you have a kid who would like to play the sport of paintball, or you dont want to spend 300 dollars on a paintball gun.

ITS NOT THE PAINTBALL GUN ITS THE PLAYER
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RiceBurner923 Thursday, July 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Spyder Pilot
Spyder Fenix
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
PMI 200 hopper
Demon 14" black barrel
Java 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
About everything there is
Strengths: Its cheap and sorta light
Weaknesses: Aiming is way off, unbalanced, eats a lot of co2, chops a lot
Review: I used this gun as a rental. This was the first ever paintball marker i have ever used, so i thought it was pretty good until my first game. The aiming was way off to start with; the balls would curve in whichever way it desired, and my friend's spyder pilot shot nice and straight. I understand that there is a hige price difference between this and the spyder pilot, but i think upgrading this barrel to seomthing better should fix that.

This gun is defenitely a rental potential gun. For under $100, this is worth getting if you're just starting out nice and slow. Even if this gun gets banged around to hard, it shouldnt be that hard to get over since its one of the cheapest guns out there.
Conclusion: If you're a noob, buying a gift, own a field and need rentals, or just need something to play with for a lil while this gun will do great. If you are a little more picky on the quality, then this would be a waste of time and money. Save your moolah and spend that $80 on a good electric hopper or get a used electro marker such as the older spyder models.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bondr0072 Saturday, June 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my hand throwing a paintball at someone.
Marker Setup: fly4 j.d. (thats all i have to say)
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new gun which is more than 20 bucks.
Strengths: will not break paintballs on people so it will not hurt them? very non threatening?
Weaknesses: EVERYTHING!!!!!!
Review: my friend has this gun which he bought in sum stupid package from like sports authority for about 90 bucks. i would say keep the 9oz from the pack, sell the crappy mask, and just blow up/ burn/ somehow totally destory the gun. it is very unaccurate, unconsistant, reeeeeely unbalanced, chops (but cant get over 4 or 5 bps), plastic, not durable, crappy internals, messed up feed neck, the list goes on and on. the 1st or 2nd time my friend used this on the field he ALL of his internal o-rings busted and he has to replace alot of crap, prolly spent more on a couple o-rings than on the full gun. this is the bottom of the barrel gun from piranha, but i do not even like any of em. i am usually an understanding person and try to see all the good aspects of a gun, but for this, i could not. DO NOT buy this gun! if you are looking at this for your first gun or sumthin and you dont want to spend alot, find somethign else. tippy 98c would be great. the 98c stock is ok, but it is VERY upgradable and so can do almost anything to that gun.
Conclusion: dont buy it. save up a little more money and get a tippy 98c or something else. this gun suks like a vacuum and thats alot! too bad they do not hav the rating of zero, one seemed a little too high for me.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

chewy_chewbaka Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
this is the only gun i've used before.
Marker Setup: View Loader VL200 hopper w/ 20oz Co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Larger Barrel
Strengths: Rate of Fire
Trigger Response
Most Everything
Weaknesses: Barrel
No front grip
Review: I used this gun as a rental my very first time paintballing and i have to say it worked great.
I had no problems with breakage until it started raining but that wasn't the gun's fault. This gun is very easy to clean. Unscrew a bold and everything just pops out. The trigger response was great. I was able to jump out and fire as many rounds as I wanted to as fast as I could without having to worry about breakage or jamming.
Conclusion: Over all it was a great, reliable gun and I had no problems.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diablo15 Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom is way better
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ 32 degrees terminator barrel, double trigger kit, PMI perfect drop, ACI sub-zero expansion chamber, and a red Dye sticky grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, expansion chamber, drop forward.
Strengths: comes equipped with double trigger
Stock Barrel is okay
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Not Durable
Mine broke after I used it 3 times
Only one Grip
Low quality
Review: Overall I thought this gun was just okay. It did have some good qualities, but it also had a few bad ones such as: the ball feed would always close by itself, it broke a lot of balls, it wasn't very durable, and it only had one grip. I think you should go out and find a better gun like I did.
Conclusion: I think you should forget about this gun and go spend your money on a tippmann 98 custom.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 29th, 2004 at 11:17 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

braka Friday, May 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha
PMI Low pressure ram
PMI .45 grip - no longer used
14" Teardrop
9oz CO2
RVA
Laser sight for the day I play nightball
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel - teardrop has worked very well
HPA or 16 oz CO2
Agitated hopper
Electro frame
Strengths: Price
(Metal) parts are durable
Gas efficient
Does not chopat 5 bps
Aftermarket parts
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Side feed and stock hopper
Review: This is a very solid gun for the price. I haven't used a tippman or any other spyder/clones so I can't compare it but all I've had to replace is the o-rings in two years. In my opinion it can shoot damn fast in semi mode with the stock hopper.. 5-6 bps is not a 20 bps angel but will suffice for any recball game. The side feed kinda sucks since you have to use and elbow and the stock barrel needs to be replaced... then again almost all guns need a replacement for their stock barrel.

Upgrades: First, needs a new barrel. Second, HPA tank for those cold days and to prevent cooldown during high ROF. A 16 oz or even 20 oz tank w/remote are good alternative, will save you $ on fills and holds more. An agitated hopper to increase paintballs fed to gun during high ROF. An electro-frame to take advantage of the new hopper.
Conclusion: Solid marker, lots of support. I recommend 100%.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media