paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off / Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off / Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off / Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off

Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 85
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
HitmanSVT Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first drop forward
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Check It Assault Block
Psychobalistics Drop Forward with on/off ASA
Kingman ACS Bolt
J&J Ceramic 14' Barrell
Ricochet AK Loader
Strengths: Looks Good
On/Off ASA Built In
Drilled for Spyder and Standard grips
Weaknesses: On/Off Valve Design
Spyder holes too short (see review)
Review: Overall I'm pleased with the drop forward. The problems I have with it are easily fixed so I still think I've got my moneys worth out of this product (or I will at least before I stop using it).

It looks good on my Spyder, it puts my tank right were I want it, it has the built in on/off which makes taking the tank off at the end of the day, or swapping between games much less irritating (and is much easier on the tank o-rings).

Plus it is drilled for both spyder grips (which are offset) and standard grips (which are straight). However this strength is also a weakness.....

Psychobalistics had the foresight to drill the drop forward for spyder offset grips, but if you look in the pictures you will find the spyder holes are recessed far into the drop forward, about 2/3-3/4 of the way to be exact. This wouldnt be a big deal, except spyder bottom line screws are a very odd metric size, and are all the same length. If you try to use your stock bottom line scres you will find they are too long, reaching the end of the threads in the grip well before they seat against the recessed holes in the drop.

I didnt think this was a big deal until I went to ACE hardware and spent an hour searching for screws that were the same type, but shorter. Turns out whatever spyder uses they are different than anything ACE or Westlake keeps in stock, and if a hardware store does not have it....good luck finding it.

There are several ways to solve this problem, one way is to get some washers, use the stock screws and use washers to make the screws set firmly agains the bottom of the drop rather than down in the recessed holes. This looks pretty ghetto, but it'll work just fine in a pinch.

Another way is to cut your stock grip screws down to fit, accoutning for the recesses in the drop. I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS.

In my case, I had already bought an adapter to turn my spyder offset bottom line into a standard straight pattern. I simply used the adapter and bought screws at the hardware store and everything worked out peachy.

As for the ASA valve. If you screw it open too far, the pin that actually depresses and opens the pin valve in your tank will push so far in that it will actually close the tank, starving your marker for air. This is a minor annoyance and once you realize not to crank the on/off knob too far into the on position the problem goes away.

I also had to use teflon tape on the gauge port because it leaked wihtout it. I like to put teflon tape on all those types of fittings though, so to me this was just standard procedure.
Conclusion: Overall I think this drop is a good deal compared to buying an on/of ASA and drop seperate. The minor design flaws are just that, minor. It does the job for me, and looks pretty good doing it. It's not perfict, but it is cheeper than the other options and I think it's well worth the cash.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 20th, 2007 at 11:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Abe-RR Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Trilogy Tactical
Psychobalistics Drop Forward
Empire Reloader
Strengths: ~Sturdy Construction
~On/off valve
Weaknesses: ~None
Review: Works great. The drop is about 4 inches forward and an inch and a half down. The on/off is a nice thing to have so you don't always have to take the tank off after playing. The only problem I had was the block-off on the other side of the ASA leaked. I unscrewed the block, wrapped it in teflon tape and screwed it back in. The leak is nothing more than a memory now.
Conclusion: Great product, does exactly what I bought it for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dosfiend 2 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I dont know
Marker Setup: Ion,with halo, progressive 16'', gold body kit, 47 3000 psi, s trigger
Strengths: It looks cool, durable
Weaknesses: Serious Valve problems
Review: So i bought this drop forward with the idea that it would work well. Turns out it wasnt wat i expected. The thing started leaking and it started to mess up my gun. My gun didnt fire and it acted as if it was out of air. This was very dissapointing and i sucked. I didnt have a positive experince with this drop forward and i doubt u will too.
Conclusion: Do not buy made from yak fur........
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Alex228 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder ASA
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/:
Palmer's Stabilizer
ANS Gauge
Spyder Fenix ESP Frame
CIP Trigger
Spyder Fenix Clamping Feedneck
Polished Internals
Modified Bolt
Rocket Valve
14in Teardrop Barrel
32* Spring Set
DOP Drop w/ on/off
Strengths: Long drop, sturdy
Weaknesses: Very leaky, paint erodes off because of oil.
Review: I originally bought this because it was such a nice long drop, it really made the marker very comfortable to use. This worked fine for a long time until I got a ESP frame. Apparently there was a tiny leak that would cause the pressure to drop after about 5 shots when fired in full auto. I never noticed this tiny leak with the stock trogger frame because I couldnt fire as quickly. Basicallly, to make this work for you you have to use ample TEFLON TAPE.

TEFLON TAPE this thing in every screw, the on/off screw(its kinda hard to get it in there but just be patient), the fitting, and there cover. Yes the little cover leaks ALOT so Teflon tape it like a mumy. I would recommen teflon taping this in the direction of the thread. That way it will not come off when you screw it in.

TEFLON TAPE THIS LIKE A MUMMY!!!!
Conclusion: Good drop if you TEFLON IT LIKE A MUMMY!!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smoke1988 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro, 32 degrees macroline, Psycho Ballistics drop w/ UAF, 12 volt revvy w/ X-board
Strengths: Great tank placement, looks pretty cool too
Weaknesses: On/off
Leaks
Review: I got this drop yesterday and put it on my marker along with a macroline kit from 32 degrees. It leaked right out of the box. A liitle teflon tap on the UAF and I was good to go.
Overall a decent product because of tank placement. The on/off is not the best in the world but nothing is perfect.
Conclusion: This drop is very big. 7 inches forward and 2.5 down. If you want to move your tank that much buy it but if not find a better on/off
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChubbyWookie Thursday, August 31st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: 1998 Spyder SE: 14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel, CiP Assault Block, Palmer Male Stabilizer, Madman LP valve, 32 Degress spring kit, AKA lighting bolt, Custom striker, Kingman Electronic Rocking Trigger Frame 2.0, Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off, Empire Reloader B.
Strengths: -Extra port for gauge
-Looks cool

Weaknesses: leaks
paint chips
moves bottle to far forward
Can't use tank with on/off
Review: Honestly im not to impressed with this product. First off the two ports on the ASA where oblong so I couldn't get a tight seal it would always leak, eventually I ended up having to use a Epoxy compound and permanetly cement my gauge and hose adapter in, not something I really wanted to do(maybe I just got a bad one). 2nd the paint easily chips on and its like the paint from the paintballs eats it away.?. Also in my opinion it moves the tank to far forward making the gun heavy up front, but thats just me. You also cant use a tank with a on/off valve, but thats why you got an ASA with a on/off. But I do have to say this drop forward does look pretty nifty.
Conclusion: It's Junk, the purpose for the drop forward is to balance the gun, which for me it did not do to well, also the oblong ports not cool big pain in the a$$. Paint chipped come on guys thats sad.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

asention2 Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann drop
32*
Marker Setup: tippy M98
GTA inline expansion chamber
JCS RVA
Psyco ballistics drop
12" tippmann Sniper barrel
star fire bolt
Strengths: Strong and durable, good on/off, nice finish, large drod, looks.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: When i bought this product i was indeed vary skeptical, however i went home and put it on immediately. So far, in my one year of use, this has been one of the best drops i,ve used. Over all i think this is a great product and i would recommend it to anyone interested in buying a drop. The on/off works great in my opinion, yes if you screw it in ALL the way it will plug the valve, so don't. This is an awesome product and i give it a ten because of over all quality.
Conclusion: See review.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A.K.A pb_butler Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Ion (brand new)
nothing yet

Tippmann 98C
16" Empire Twister barrel
Tippmann double trigger
20 oz tank
Strengths: - Moves the tank far forward
- reliable
- good quality
Weaknesses: - Need to use teflon tape out of the box to seal leaks, but no biggy
Review: This drop has a decent look, but it's solid. When I put it on my Tippy it leaked but all I had to do was apply teflon tape to the areas where there were screw ins that gas went through. This drop also moves your tank a considerable distance from your body, making it really easy to make your profile smaller and get closer to your marker.
Conclusion: Good drop, better looking ones out there but this is solid and gets the job done. 8 because it didn't work out of the box for me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

asianshooter Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
hybrid mini rail
Marker Setup: 32 degrees 14 whisper barrel ricochet apache hopper nwpp 15 degree spyder block new designz high preformance valve crossfire 70ci 4500psi tank and dye sticky grips 3

hybrid cocker
psycho balistics drop forward with on/off
14 inch stiffi
macroline kit
sto ram with qevs(makes it alot faster)
rat valve
Strengths: Tighter setup
Cool miling
Weaknesses: On/off sucks a$$ i think the smaller one doesnt accomodate all tanks
Review: I bought this because my old bottom line was all messed up and i also wanted to balance my marker a bit more. Yes it does its job by making a tighter setup the on and off is horrible. Well i guess you get wat you pay for i think it was $40 at my local shop. to fix the on/off problem i glued the knob to the on/off pin.
Conclusion: I wouldnt recomend it becuase it dosent really do its job without having to tweak it. Im thinking about buying the redz on/off and puting it on the drop and taking off the old 1. Its your choice.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trevorneil Saturday, July 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock drops.
Marker Setup: -Spyder Imagine 04
-T-board
-32 Degrees Spring Kit
-Magnetic Trigger Mod
-ACS Kingman-Delrin
-Smart Parts Progressive 14"
-Dye Sticky 3 ESP Grip
-Sweet Spot Trigger
-Crossfire 47ci 3000psi
-20oz co2 tank with smartparts on/off valve
-VL Tripod with X-board
-Macroline setup
-Polished internals
-modded stock bolt
-Halo B
-Trinity T-Lock Feed Neck
-Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward with on/off
-Modded Stock Valve
-Bob Long Torpedo Regulator

-Empire Event Goggles
Strengths: -Looks good
-Durable
-On/Off
-Balances gun
-Gauge port
Weaknesses: -None
Review: Well i bought this drop yesterday for 34.99 and was well worth it. My spyder is way more balance out with that heavy halo on it.I tryed my 20 oz tank with on/off and it made a bang i took off the tank and there goes my oring inside of my drop.i just replace the orings and no leaks. but i think if you turn on your tank first and then turn on the drop it might work out..


Update:It does work with on/off tanks you just have to turn on the drop first and then turn on the tank
Conclusion: I think this drop forward is really nice looking and does balance your gun out really well
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 at 1:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media