paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off / Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off / Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off / Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off

Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 85
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Stormbringer Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: coustom spider (built from scrach)- bob long millenium body w/
cip ault block
madman rocket valve
BL torpedo reg
16' SP AA ( barel borwed from TL+ for now )
dye stikes ( for e-frame)
e-frame of a imagine
cip sweet spot triger
BL cyclone 3 top cocking bolt ( polished to a mirror )
ricko apachie hoper
psyco balistics bullet drop w/ on/of
48ci 3K pure energy tank
(and more im shure im forgeting)

Havester---spyder tl+ w/
smart parts AA 2k3 barrel- 16inch
adco sure shot dot sight
ricochet AK hoper
Strengths: ?? it drops the tank foward?
Weaknesses: on/ of see below
Review: ok, I bought this, cause I figured a drop was a drop, and wouldn't realy mater which one, but I was sadly mistaken. it was like $30 for a this drop and a ASA with a on/off- so I figured I couldn't go wrong. for the life of me I cant get the on/off to function ( it wont turn off unless im in a game for some reason- grr) as anythin other than a standerd asa- and even then it's flakey on me.
Conclusion: well, im gona give it a 5, because only half of it performs as expected- but im surprised that someon could manage to make a on/off this bad and not notice during testing.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RDG Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32* Universal - Decent Product
Strengths: - Looks good
- Durable
- Useful (when it works)
Weaknesses: - Faulty valve design
- Horrible ASA design
Review: It seems what Psycho Ballistics did was take the design from some other bullet dropforward, adapted it, and used it thinking it would be a flawless design because the one they stole it from worked...

This WOULD be a good product. It is sturdy, very good looking, and the on/off will save you from buying on/off on your tanks.

However, it has a faulty, untested design. The valve that actives or deactivates your tank's valve (the on/off) is the worst part. It looks like they made it too long, and this has bad consequences. Sometimes, your gun will just run out of gas because the valve blocks off the output. The valve poses a safety hazard, as sometimes gas gets stuck behind it (do to the fact that one of the orings overlaps the output hole), and this gas will be stuck here, even after you take your tank off. The valve goes "pop" and explodes right out when this happens. I have found I can solve most of the problems with the valve by simple unscrewing the on/off screw, and sticking one or two 1 centimeter washers around the threading part. This prevents you from screwing the valve oring ahead of the output hole.

My next biggest gripe is the ASA. It is held on by two screws that don't actually screw into it, they just dig right into the aluminum about 1/2 a milimeter (there's slots to hold it vertically, though). This could caused your ASA to fall right off in the middle of a game, although I haven't had this happen. (And it probably never will, but I am still angry for this.) The screws also destroy the annodizing in the area they dig into.
Conclusion: Other than those problems, I have found this product to be pretty flawless (although they are pretty big problems). I think it deserves a higher rating than it gets.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

p8nter24 Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock drop forwards without a on/off
Marker Setup: compact deluxe, 32 degree carbon fiber 14", 32 degree six stage expansion chamber, new venturi bolt.
Dragun T.E.S stock
Strengths: balances gun out pretty good.
Looks fricken cool.
Weaknesses: bad customer service (read below)
Review: I get my new drop forward in the mail and it doesnt come with anyhting to attatch it to my trigger frame so i go to ace and figure somthing out. I am going to play some woods ball with some friends. I plug in my Co2 and there is a leak in the opposing side of the outlet. there was a small crack in the body were it meets the alen. I call the companie up and they want me to send it in. I just needed a new ASA i said. Instead of shiping me a five-ten dollar ASA they wanted me to pay 10 bucks to send them the thing. I ended up drilling out the crack and tapped in some new threads. I then used some two part epoxy to seal the new alen in.

The on off doesnt work at all.
Conclusion: Hope you get a good one that wont leak and dont be fooled by the on/off it doesnt work.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 26th, 2004 at 11:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ghost21 Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward, 32 Degrees Nyte Stick barrel, 20oz. Pure Energy C02.
Strengths: - Looks good
- Improves handling
Weaknesses: - On/Off doesn't work
- Pushing pin doesn't engage firing pin on some tanks.
Review: Strengths:

It looks GREAT and it GREATLY improves handling (at least with the 98c) on my marker. It balances out the weight and it makes it easy to handle and get them nice snap shots.

Weaknesses:

On/Off valve DOES NOT work and the gold pin/valve thing inside can fall out. But the WORST thing about this is... the gold pin inside it doesn't engage the C02 (on some tanks). I was all amped up for my second game today, and we all got out to the field. I shot my marker. About the 5th shot the C02 quit. I checked and checked, nothing worked. I sat out the entire game because this drop forward was not designed too well.

The gold pushing pin inside the drop forward DOES NOT WORK ON SOME C02 TANKS!!! I bought a Catalina tank, and it DID NOT work with it. It could have been that specific tank, but I doubt it. Again, Catalina tanks do not work with this drop forward!!! However, Pure Energy tanks work with it. Keep that in mind. I just got my Catalina exchanged for a Pure Energy, now it works like a charm (although the velocity on my marker is all over [280fps to 310 sometimes. anyone know whats wrong? the marker is virtually brand new. Private Message me if you know whats wrong.)
Conclusion: This drop forward looks great and improves handling with my marker, but unfortunatly the pushing pin in the drop forward doesn't work with some tanks. I'm giving it a 5/10 because it doesn't work with some tanks and the on/off doesn't work.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 4th, 2004 at 3:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

morbidgoth01 Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock drops
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
12 in. Progressive Barrel
ESP Trigger Frame
PMI Pure Energy Regulator
Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward
20 oz. Co2
Strengths: durable
on/off
Weaknesses: do i have to write something here?
Review: i have a long drop on my xtra, and it balances it out with the 20 oz pretty good, its not perfect, but its awesome.....the only problem ive had so far with this drop forward, is that the on/off isnt the greatest. if it was a bit better, it would rock.
Conclusion: Nice drop, but because its not perfect, it dont get a perfect
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fantazmigorical Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2K4 Impulse w/Vision, Vert Max Flow reg, Eclipse Blade Trigger
Strengths: It looks really nice on my marker and drops the tank a long ways
Weaknesses: The on/off is a piece of junk
Review: The drop its self is awsome. The only problem I have is with the on/off. My dad bought the Dead On drop forward that looks just like the PB one and he paid $40. I found this PB drop for $32 and thought I was getting a good deal. I got it put on my Impulse hooked up the air turn the drop on and I had no air pressure. I though my Reg was broke but then relized that the valve in the on/off what was pushing the pin on my take too far and restricting the air flow. Besides all that it doesnt even have any holes in it to release the pressure when you turn it off. Spend the extra $8 and get your self a Dead on drop. They work a lot better.
Conclusion: Its a piece of crap so I'll give it a 1, only because you cant give 0s
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used any other on/off drops.
Marker Setup: e99
sp 12" teardrop or equation 10" bizerk (w/ insterts)
aka lightning bolt & valve kit
cip assault block w/ guage
bob long torpedo
cip sweet spot trigger
psycho ballistics bullet drop
ans feedneck
empire reloader
crossfire 68/4500 tank w/ skinz loctite
Strengths: decent sized drop
on/off valve
has holes for inline & spyder trigger frames
Weaknesses: on/off valve not working? (see review)
Review: Bought this off my cousin for $25 but it looks barely used.

Sets the tank forward far enough to balance the marker quite nicely.

I had problems with the on/off valve. I'd turn it all the way out but the marker would not de-gas. May just be a problem with this specific drop, which i'll find out tonight when i inspect it. If it turns out to be something easily fixable, then i'll relfect that when i edit this review.
Conclusion: As a drop, it works very well. Once i figure out what's up with the on/off valve i'll give my final analysis.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

o ShowtimE o Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock drops on other markers
Marker Setup: 2k4 impy with verticle regulator, Was board, OTB 90* tirgger frame, universal low rise, 68cu/3000 psi crossfire tank, spycho ballistics drop, empire ReLoader
Strengths: nice distance of tank drop, good looks, light
Weaknesses: tank valve can hit it if used with c02
Review: this drop is awesome. It moves the tank 2.5 inches down and 7 out. They have a lot of color choices. They are very sturdy and can fit almost any gun. The on off is also very easy to turn. It really makes a difference in distributing the weight of a gun. It will balance it more. Its also very easy to install, and install your hoses and gauges into. It also has another port which is plugged with a screw to install a gauge if needed.
Conclusion: I would recommend this drop over anyother one on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jonny Bravo Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Rodeo drop, CIP Super Speedy
Marker Setup: Rodeo, Spudnuk'l LP bolt, 32* magnaport valve, polished striker, 14 inch J&J ceramic, Check It Surefit feed adapter, 32* springs (medium main, weak valve), Palmer's Male Stabilizer, CIP 15* assault block, PsychoBaliistics drop with on/off.
Strengths: Good design, on/off easy to use
Weaknesses: set screw is left loose in ASA
Review: I really like the looks of this product. It has nice lines and brings the tank forward and down to a good point on the marker. It comes in two varieties: medium and long. The on/off knob allows you to de-pressurize your marker without having to remove the tank. Also, because of the design of the product you can put your line on either the right of left side of the ASA.

This is also where the only weakness in the product lies. The set screw in the ASA (it came on the right side on mine) is not sealed in any way (no loc-tite, no teflon tape). It is screwed into the ASA already giving the illusion that is has been secured. When I installed my 90* fitting and line on the left and gassed up my marker I found out that there was no seal as air quickly leaked out. Once I applied loc-tite and re-gassed the marker, no leaks. I think PB should leave the set screw out of the ASA so there is no doubt that it is the consumer's choice where the line goes in and where it will be sealed.

<edit>I wanted to add one more thing to this review. Putting a 68/4500 or bigger tank on the PB medium bullet is VERY tight. If you've got this size tank, go with the long version of the bullet.</edit>
Conclusion: I really like the looks of the PB bullet drop. It puts the air source in a comfortable position in relation to the marker and offers on/off capabilities. I highly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 5th, 2004 at 9:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chris in va Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Xtra DF
Marker Setup: CCM Series 5 cocker
Spyder Xtra
Strengths: Very strong, on/off, drilled for Spyder and standard holes
Weaknesses: on/off a little tough to use, allen screws loosen, tank scratches drop
Review: I've had this on both markers. It works decently enough and is very sturdy. The on/off is a nice feature to have for us mere mortals with sub-$1000 guns.

It has a few issues though. When I got my HP tank, the fittings interfere with the drop right above the ASA. There's a nice gouge on it now. Also, the two allen screws that hold the ASA to the drop itself worked loose and the ASA scooted off at a bad time during a game. BLUE LOCTITE THOSE SCREWS!

Also the on/off is a little tough to use. The knob is slick and makes for a chore when turning off the air, especially if the marker still has pressure. Be sure not to unscrew the knob too far as IT WILL UNSCREW ALL THE WAY OFF. The plug not being used also needs to be wrapped in teflon tape to prevent leaks. No big deal though.

Another feature to know, the valve inside isn't held in by anything. With the tank off and the knob screwed all the way in, that valve will pop right out.
Conclusion: The Psycho Ballistics and Dead On drop are very...very similar in design. But, you'll notice a few differences with the Dead On that should be adopted to this design, namely the flat face right above the ASA so the tank can clear.

I think PB really needs to 'tweak' this drop some. Wouldn't be THAT hard to fix these issues.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media