paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
2nwyka Friday, August 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmanns,
Spyders,
Viewloader Triton II
Various other Spyder clones
Marker Setup: WGP '2K AutoCocker
-14" 7/8 JT Tactical barrel
-32* Black Macro
-Pro-fit 90s
-Crosman 4x15 scope
-Ninja 62/3000
-Viewloader Revvy X
-VL Clamping feed neck
-Engraved WGP Grips

VL Triton II
-12" Carbon-fiber barrel
-Custom paint job
-7/8" M4 Shroud
-M4 Gas-thru magazine
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably a foregrip,
New barrel
Strengths: Light
Nice trigger pull
Great on gas
Looks cool
Accurate
Weaknesses: Safety is not ergonomic
No foregrip
Cocking knob doesn't have beavertail
Review: Well, my friend got a pair of Piranhas at goodwill for $30, so he brought them to the field to test them. Here are the results of my test firing.

Accuracy:
I was very impressed by the accuracy of the stock barrel. It printed a 1-2" group over 10 balls at about 50 feet, so it will hit your target. However, if you chop a ball, the accuracy is done until you clean the barrel with a squeegee. 4/5

Weight:
Even with a full 20oz CO2 tank and a hopper, the marker was very light and pointed exceptionally well. I was able to fire one-handed without problems with recoil or weight.
5/5

Efficiency:
My friend played all day, using only about 10-12 ounces of CO2 (500 shots), and didn't chop a single ball. 5/5

Price:
Although I didn't buy the marker, my understanding is that it only costs about $80 bucks, so that puts it in the readily-accessible range for the newbie player or the woodsballer looking for a reliable backup marker. 5/5

Durability:
The whole thing is aluminum, which lends itself inately to good durability. The stock o-rings are a little soft, but everything else is very well made, including the gripframe.
4/5

Overall user-friendliness:
The thing I didn't like about the marker was the position and style of safety. To the rear of the trigger on the left side of the frame is a slide-style safety that requires considerable force to toggle back and forth. Being a lefty, this was an annoyance as I had to change hands in order to switch the safety. The cocking knob is a little dangerous, as it cycles similarly to an AutoCocker back block, and without provisions for a beavertail, it can be painful to smack yourself in the face with the bolt.
3/5

26/30
Conclusion: I would not recommend this to a tournament player, however I would recommend this to an experienced player looking for a good, fast, reliable backup marker. Overall, an excellent weapon!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sk8erboyT Saturday, October 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pirhana GTI
Marker Setup: Piranha R6, Roller Trigger, 21" spyder barrel,Halo B V35 w/ rip drive/Viewloader Force hopper, Extreme Rage 24 oz. CO2 tank, On/off ASA w/ dovetail drop forward, JT full head mask, JT paintball gloves, Empire Ground & Pound long sleeve chest protector, Empire Pro 06 Contact Infamous-Night paintball jersey, Empire Ground Pounder Slide Pants, NXE 2010 Elevation Harness 4+3+2 Aftermath Edition pod pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger, on/off ASA, new barrel, and new hopper
Strengths: Light, Durible, Inexpesive
Weaknesses: No fore grip,short barrel
Review: With a few upgrades this can be an amazing gun. I personaly love it. With a new barrel it is very accurate, it is very light weight so if u play all day your arms dont hurt, it has a double trigger, but the thing I don't like about that is that it sticks out a little far and is kinda hard to double trigger that is why I recommend a new trigger, overall a great gun so WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR!!! GO BUY IT!!!
Conclusion: Get this gun it is great and it comes at a very decent price in this case I would say you don't get what you pay for, YOU GET WAY MORE!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BcchsHarry Monday, August 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: -All stock parts.
-Extreme Rage Hopper.
-Pure Energy 9 oz. co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel.
Strengths: -Fairly accurate
-Light
-Cheap
-Reliable
-Tough
Weaknesses: -A tad loud
Review: August 17, 2009

I was surprised with the performance of this marker. I bought it on eBay, for only $45 US with everything I needed to start playing. I've used this marker, twice and I've been quite satisfied with it. Its fairly accurate from a certain distance. The r6 is cheap, but its reliable.
But. The one thing that I admire the most about this paintball gun, is its air efficiency. It doesn't waste co2 and I've gone 7-8 games without a refill. (Probably because I'm not the kind of person who likes to shoot as fast I can. I like to play smart and not waste any paint. Its design and internals are also simple which is a plus. I recommend it. :D
Conclusion: Don't hesitate to get this marker, because it won't disappoint you.

-BcchsHarry
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dodopaintballer Tuesday, June 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact

Marker Setup: piranha r6
VA
T-board
half backed
dye hyper 2
cp rail
dye asa
evo internals
cp barrel
magnaport valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
what i have
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Nothing really.
Review: I have my r6 pretty much fully upped. it was a project gun for me. it is deffinetly worth the money. i only paid 30 for mine. i put about 100 into it and it was deffinatly worth the money. it always works when i go to use it and it make a geat loner gun for your friends that dont have a gun to use.
Conclusion: there are better guns out there. but if youu buy this gun put a VA on a nice reg or expansion chamber and a nice asa on you will have a pretty decent gun that will work every time you go to use it. im giving it a 10 out of 10 because it is deff. worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

colinw Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well, I don't know about similar, but between my son and I we have: Ion(2), 98C, Spyder E99, R6, Stingary(2), PMI USP.
Marker Setup: Ion
-New Designz trigger
-New Designz QEV
-CP on/off ASA
-Warped Sportz Lucky 15 barrel kit
-Viewloader eVLution II loader

Recommended
Upgrades:
Doesn't really need any for what it is. If you want more, save up for a better marker.

Although, I do use a J&J Edge barrel kit with it when the Spyder is broken (which is most of the time) and that works quite well.
Strengths: Reliable
Low price
-(The complete package was $69 when I bought it.)
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Not much to grip on to on the front.
Review: When my son and I only had the 98C and the E99 (which chops and jams constantly), I wanted something inexpensive to keep around as a backup for the E99 and for friends without equipment to use, and the R6 package (which came a mask, hopper, and CO2 tank) has worked out very well.

The gun is very dependable. The only thing I've ever had to do other than oil it is replace the little rubber ball detent ($2 and 1 minute) about a year ago.
Lots and lots of different people of all ages have used this gun without complaint and all I ever do is put in a few drops of oil before each day of play (so, I like it).

The gun is very light which is good if you're spending all day at the park walking from field to field or in the woods.


Conclusion: Although the price for the package looks to be close to $100 now and has a 9oz tank (I think I got a 12oz), I still think the Player Pack is a great deal for the beginner on a budget or someone looking to keep an extra setup on hand for family and friends to use (after all, the more the merrier!).

If you only want to play speedball, you should probably save your money for something else. The R6 will work of course, but it is slow compared to a 'real' speedball marker.

I'm going to maxout the rating because I think 7.8 for what you get for the money is too low. Plus, I've been very happy with it's reliablity and the deal that I got.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 7th, 2007 at 5:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vs3 guy Friday, July 6th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Avenger 3, piranha eforce gsx, vs3
Marker Setup: Vs3, egg2, pure energy 72/3000 , pmi razzor barrel verc t-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Accurate, fast (for a semi)
Weaknesses: Chops paint, semi, cocking rod in the back
Review: This gun is bad. Its is somewhat accurate. it is not quiet. it is small. it does not fore-grip/x-chamber. it is hard to hold. it has a plastic bolt.it only comes in two colors.it is $40
mine is blue i hate it to deaths. it is realiable. and it is not worth it to get it upgraded. u can use it as a paint-pistol.
Conclusion: Do not get it, it stinks
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr Legend Sunday, July 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi piranha vtl
viewloader genesis

stock autococker with a bunch of aftermarket parts.
Marker Setup: pmi r6
-boss bolt
-flush cocking system
-lapco bigshot stainless steel barrel
-ricochet apache
-3000 psi 48 cu tank
-black ram air chamber (pointless, i know, but i dont like the dull silverish one it comes with.
- black pmi ext 2k3 dropforward and asa bottomline adapter
-eforce electronic trigger frame

soon to get
-aka sidewinder
-r6 vertical air adapter
-lighter hammer
-lapco snapshot
-boss blade trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
All you really need for any marker is a better barrel and some type of an electronic hopper.
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: If you like easy tinkering, then this is the gun for you. the simple design lets for easy swapping of parts. im really suprised this gun hasnt been rated higher. of all the guns ive used, i probably enjoy using this one the most.

i havnt shot it stock- the most stripped down ive had it was with the bigshot and revvy, but even then it shot better than most other guns ive used. alot of the money i spent for the upgrades i got were mostly cosmetic. most parts come fairly cheap at bosspaintballproducts.com .

ive chopped maybe 1 ball going through 2 boxes of paint so far, which is a pretty good track record if you ask me. the only reason it chopped was because of a user error. even if you do manage to chop, its pretty damn easy to clean out. piranhas have to be the easiest paintball gun ever to take apart.

for such a low price, you couldnt get a better deal. this gun is very underrated.
Conclusion: Id recommend this gun to anyone. with a few minor upgrades, it can be a powerhouse.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 1st, 2007 at 12:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

assault pb team Sunday, July 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder extra vl orion
Marker Setup: piranha r6 all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel, front handel
Strengths: Cheap, i got a packadge helm, tank, hopper, and gun, all for only 59.99
Weaknesses: No front handel
Review: Nice gun, really good beginner gun,

accuate, light, overall, good gun

i reccomend it to any1, the only reason im this is cuz it hast to be atleast 50 words

i know thats stupid, well get the gun, its worth it.

so get the gun,

a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a aa a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a aa a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a aa a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a
Conclusion: Cheap, and accarute
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xinkc Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
VL aggressor
Marker Setup: Pirahna R6
20 Oz. CO2
Stock barrel w/ 3" extender
Custom Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Fast
Moderatly accurate
Light
Rarely chops
Weaknesses: Loud
1 out of 3 or 4 balls will curve
Stock barrel sucks
Review: When i first got this gun it worked fine, soon after it started leaking CO2, i braught it down to my local paintball store and they explained to me that the O-Rings were very dry so he replaced the ones that needed to be and lubed them up and told me to lube them every other use and it has not leaked ANY Co2 since. 1 out of 3 or 4 balls will curve but unless your an idiot you wont shoot just 1 ball so you will hit your target with atleast half the balls. It does not get many shots off per second but you can still own someone with it.
Conclusion: Overall i would recommend this gun because it is cheap and easy to maintain. DEFINENTLY GET A NEW BARREL.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Axle Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha R6
12oz. Tank
Egg II Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Drop Foward/ASA
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to Maintain
Speed
Weaknesses: Trigger
Leaks if you dont take care of it
Loud
Accuracy
Review: PRICE- I got this on sale at actionvillage.com for $50. It is a very good gun for the price.

FEEL- I personally don't like the feel of the gun but i have heard other people like it. It needs a foregrip. The tank also gets in your way and is very annoying. I suggest a drop foward.

DURABILITY- This gun is very durable. I lost count of how many times it has got shot, dropped, or mishandled by stupid friends. When i first got the gun i didn't know you had to oil it and I had a huge leak.(out of EVERY place possible)

SPEED- The speed is advertised at 10+ bps. The trigger is very hard to walk and i cant get over 10bps. Overall that's pretty fast for a low-end mechanical.

ACCURACY- The stock barrel is not to good. 8 or 9 inches not much. I highly recommend a new barrel.

SOUND- Another reason why you would need a new barrel. It is really loud when firing.

LOOKS- I like the look of this gun. It has a nice,durable body with nice milling.

BALL CHOPPAGE- I have chopped about 8 balls out of 10, 000 paintball and they were all walmart brand paint.
Conclusion: I've had a couple problems here and there but if your looking for a cheap starter gun, the Piranha R6 is a definite YES.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 7:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media