paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
pbsoccer Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
i've used the tippmann 98 custom, but they're not similiar
Marker Setup: just the piranha r6, with all the stuff that came in my 100$ package, mask, cO2 tank, squege, hopper, all the necesities
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel would make it better
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Speed
-And light
Weaknesses: Chops like 1/500 balls
Review: the only thing that i don't like about it, is the verticle feed, it makes it a little bit difficult to aim. But it is a very good gun, for a very good price. If your aiming at it, your going to hit it. and is an all around good gun
Conclusion: I'd definatly reccomend this gun for beginers, but I would definatly not recomend it to somebody who wants to get really serious about the hobby, unless your just going to start with it
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 at 4:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drummerguy711 Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II: similar, possibly a bit better

Spyder Imagine E-Marker: not quite as reliable, but BPS is obviously better

Spyder Xtra: very good even as stock, i wish i had purchased this instead

Tippmann 98 Custom: quieter, extremely durable and reliable
Marker Setup: Piranha R6 (mechanical)

32 Degrees 16" Nytestikk

Extreme Rage 200-rd. gravity-fed hopper

9-oz. Pure Energy CO2 tank

Extreme Rage X-Ray 2.0 Thermal mask

Zap Tork paintballs (black/silver shell with pink fill) seem work best with this marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (my NyteStikk is a HUGE improvement)

Possibly a larger CO2 tank

The X-Ray mask that comes with it in the package fogs up horribly. Buy the thermal version for only $25, and your vision problems disappear.
Strengths: Price

Simplicity

Upgradeability

Weight

Reasonable accuracy
Weaknesses: Ball breakage

Volume

Velocity
Review: The Piranha R6 is the first and only marker I have ever owned. I recieved it as a Christmas gift in 2004 in the package that included a 200-round gravity hopper, a 9-oz. CO2 tank, an ER X-Ray mask (single lens, not thermal), and all the little things like squeegee, barrel plug, spring kit, etc.

The following month, I played paintball for the first time, at a woodsball field. The first two times I went paintballing, I had my stock barrel. The accuracy was okay, but distance was questionable. I then upgraded to a 16" NyteStikk barrel, made by 32 Degrees. It cost a mere $35, and helped a lot.

But back to the R6. It's quite simple, and it's easy to take apart and reassemble. This also makes it easy to add upgrades, but I question whether it's really worth it.

One thing, though, is that the gun broke a LOT of paintballs the first two times I went. Both were with the stock barrel, but I used different paint each time. Even when I fired slow single shots, some balls still broke.

1st trip: Zap Sport (green) with stock barrel. LOTS of breakage.

2nd trip: Brass Eagle Wild Streak (orange) with stock barrel. These things curved like crazy, but that was the paint's fault, not the gun. These broke, but not as much.

But the 3rd trip: Zap Tork (black/silver shell, pink fill) with 16" NyteStikk barrel. I fired 1000 of these things, and only ONE broke.

I don't think it was the barrel breaking the paint, but the crappy bolt. I don't feel like upgrading this gun any more, but since I found Zap Tork, it looks like I won't have to.
Conclusion: It's only really useful for getting a feel for the game of paintball. You're probably better off renting for your first time around. That way, you get to start on a higher-quality marker, and you don't get stuck with a mediocre one. Purchase something better afterward, like a Spyder Xtra. An Xtra is a bit more costly, but considering that it doesn't really need to be upgraded, you're better off getting that instead.

It's been okay using my R6, but I wish I hadn't spent all the money upgrading it and everything. It didn't really help it enough to bring it up to speed. I'm planning on selling it and buying a Tippmann A-5 in the future.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kranka Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
the spyder victor is the olney one I can think of...
Marker Setup: piranha R6, 200 round hopper, 16oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel , drop forward
Strengths: its lighter then other marker thats all I can think of it dose the job.
Weaknesses: Look at the reveiw
Review: I got the gun in march and looked very nice the feel of the gun was soled and light I liked the the looks to when I got home i oiled it i took out the pin and took the bold out it was plastic i thought it would be metal but when i shot it it was fine it wasent the most accurate gun i shot but it was fair the bot also came out when shooting so you could not shoot with your eye up close to the gun it also had a slanted drop forward it was harder to aim with the co2 up against my chest and not my shoulder well im tired so i will stop there.
Conclusion: It dose the job if you need the gun
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THe K FACTOR Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
vl prodigy egrip, gamface
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 dub trig, x chamber, rear velocity adjustor, lapco bigshot, EGRIP SOON TO COME!!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gas thru chamber, barrel
Strengths: CHEAP
LIght
Good for beginers
Weaknesses: Balls curve, leakage when you put co2 on, no chamber, friends make fun of you.
Review: I bought this gun as pack and it was my very first semiauto paintball gun. This is what happend to me, I bought this gun and i got really into paintball. All of my friends had 98s and other higher class guns than this. I GOT BLOWN OUT OF THE WATER. If you buy this gun thinking your going to get into paintball, be ready to upgrade fast. I got an A-5 aand i am very happy with it. For beginers this is my suggestion, go for the 98 power pack. It is an extra 60$ i think but it is definitly worth it. you won't have to upgrade for a long time. Boy i wish i would have done that, woulda saved me 115$. OH well.
Conclusion: I guess if your not planning to get into paintball and just shoot it in your backyard, this gun would be okay. I give it a 7 because the gun works. I just think that if you want to compete get a 98.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballer40S Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year27 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orion,The R6 is better
Marker Setup: Piranha R6
14in. Razzor Barrel
Empire Reload hopper
Pro2 Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Same as I have(look above)
Strengths: Size
Weight
Price
Air efficiency
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: First off, this is a great marker for begginers.Here is some more specific information:

PRICE:The price of this marker is great considering the durability and the accesories that come with it.The R6 Package comes with the marker, hopper,9oz. CO2 tank,barrel plug, owner's manual, extra spring, extra o-rings, and much more.

SIZE:This marker is very small so it is great if your looking to play tape or front.This gun is not for tournamnts,it is a rec-ball marker

FEEL:The grip frame is very comfortable.The trigger is very well spaced so you don't have to stretch your fingers.Although the grip frame is comfortable, it can get uncomfortable during long games.

ACCURACY:The accuracy of this gun with stock barrel is prettyy good.If you put on a different barrel,such as the Razor 14 inch barrel,it with improve the accuracy tramendously.So I reccomend a longer,better barrel

SPEED:This gun is capable of firing 10+ shots a second as advertised. This is pretty fast for non electo marker.But if you compare the speed to an autococker,the autococker will be much faster

AIR EFICIENCY:The air efficiency of this marker is extremely good.I can get 1500 off of a 9oz. tank.THAT IS AWAESOME!So bottomline,this gun doesn't waste air!
Conclusion: I would recomend buying this marker if you are into rec ball at your local field.Don't expect to compete in tournments with this gun when the people you are going against got autocockers.Although the player is the real competitor,not the gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gatorboy Tuesday, February 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used no guns like this.
Marker Setup: PirannhaR6 with camo paint job 20 oz co2 and view loader quantum
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber
Strengths: Cheap, light ,durable,doesn't chop balls.
Weaknesses: None I know of.
Review: I think it's a great gun I've shot at least 1,500 rounds of wild streak and it hasn't chopped one.I gave it a camo paint job and it looks cool!!It is also very easy to clean .
On top of all that I got it very cheap,$35.00 and that includes shipping.
Conclusion: All in All it is a graet gun .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GodofAnts Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor-basicly the same thing
Marker Setup: -R6
-9oz C02
-Extreme Rage hopper
-PMI Razzor barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-nothing really the gun has very decent stuff but if you want something get a Pmi Razzor barrel
Strengths: No elbow
Pretty accurate
Only 100 dollars!
Weaknesses: Safety brakes easy
Bad grip screws
Chops easy
It needs more cowbell
Review: Personaly this an okay gun at a good price but I would rather get a tippmann or a spyder. After 3 months my gun started to leak in the gun. It's a good gun don't get me wrong it was a good gun when I played with it the first time I played with it but some of my friends have this gun to and it get's messed up sometimes. A few weeks ago I put C02 into the gun and there was a really bad leak you could see the c02 coming out of the gun.
Conclusion: This is a pretty good gun but you should buy a tippmann or a spyder beacuse this product won't last very long.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cervantes3 Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra- heavier than R6
VL Triad- heavier also
Marker Setup: Piranha R6 (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel
trigger upgrade
maybe a expansion chamber
Strengths: VERY LIGHT!
shoots straight
good with most paintballs
Weaknesses: Bad trigger
Review: Used my first time ever playing paintball. We played 2v2 Piranhas vs Spyders and were equally matched. Shot pretty strait. Better if I used different paintballs. After shooting as really fast, the trigger jammed and i had to re-cock it. After that, it was fine. Overall good gun.(except trigger)
Conclusion: Shoots strait, good distance, very light, but has a bad trigger
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fizzeranker Tuesday, February 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like it
Marker Setup: Piranha r6 with 14' barrel, and a remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel will to good,remote,drop forward.
Strengths: Accurate, range is good, doesn't chop balls, not a gas hog, rear cocking knob.
Weaknesses: Vertical feed, no drop forward, and doesn't work good with auto hopper.
Review: This gun is fast,accurate,durable,reliable,long ranged,easy to clean and take apart,not a gas hog,and an easy gun to use.well if you about it PMI is a good gun. It is better then brass eagle, tippmann(maybe), spyder, and view loader.Now I have to talk about nothing because you need 50 words or less to complete review.Yawn!!!!! Why???? Why is there so much words needed to be typed. I'm a fast typer but it gets boring after you dont have anything to wright about.
Conclusion: This gun doesn't need a longer barrel but for better performance get one.Get a remote for the co2 tank.Put the red spring in there when you first get it(high velocity).But really just keep it the way it is for money savings play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

marine snipa Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder t-lx piranha is better
Marker Setup: pmi piranha r6 12" spyder fenix barrel empire reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" barrel or 16"
Strengths: Strong not very heavy smooth trigger pull doesn't chop much easy to clean
Weaknesses: Sight rail no point because it is a vertical feed neck is welded on
Review: this is a very nice gun for woods ball if your into speed ball i recomend an e grip but it is very light easy to clean hardly chops that much and like i said easy to clean!!! Field strip is very fast and not that many small parts to loose
Conclusion: Great beginner marker if you don't want to spend much money and want a good reliable marker that can upgrade some and can preform in woods ball and or speed ball if your a noob get this marker cause you can do lots with it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 17th, 2005 at 10:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media