paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
hcivic Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Triad
Marker Setup: Piranha R6 stock except for 20oz Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Drop Forward
Bolt
Strengths: Shoots smooth
Not loud but not quiet
looks nice
Weaknesses: Barrel
No expansion chamber
Cocking system
Review: This is a great gun. Its a great price. I got a gun, hopper, 9oz co2, squeege, barrel plug and parts kit for $99. This gun came with different velocity springs. I love the way the shoots. The only problem is that there is no ex chamber and the cocking knob locks if you cock it and shoot with know air. This gun is upgradible with about every part. Its a great buy.
Conclusion: I highly recomend the gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBJamesPB Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, A-5,pro carbine
Piranha GTI
Marauder =Crap
Marker Setup: Piranha R6
JJ ceramic barrel
Stock every thing else
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (stock one is ok but a new one is better)
It is rather consistent with out a reg or expansion chamber. But I am going to get one to use as a fore grip and just to add a little more consistency.
Strengths: Accuracy
doesn't chop
looks
cool price.
Weaknesses: none really
no fore grip
I will get a expansion chamber.
Review: I shot It when it was 45 degrees out, before I got my expansion chamber and it shot great. It did ice up after a while though that's why I got my expansion chamber. The stock barrel work pretty well, but the JJ ceramic is a lot better. It adds accuracy. I have a small garden shovel (about 8x5) stuck in the ground at 50 yards to shoot at. With the new barrel I was able to hit it about 5 out of 20 times from 50 yards the other shots were close. At 30 yards I could hit it every time so It has great accuracy. The R6 (like any Piranha) is easy to take apart. So I was able to oil it and store it as soon as i was done. The R6 wont chop! I fired it as fast as possible with stock hopper and didn't break a single ball. I played all day and it was like 45 degrees on the indoor field and I only broke one ball. It was a cheap ball though. I ran out of my marbleizers and that's when I broke one. I did shoot the crappy paint pretty well though. It only broke that one ball.
Conclusion: I like the gun, if you don't want to spend I lot of money but do want a reliable, accurate, and all around good marker then the R6 would be a great choice
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 6th, 2005 at 8:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballr Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
this was my first gun
Marker Setup: stock w/ a 20 oz tank, freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
needs a better barrel this one isnt very accurate when shooting high volocity
Strengths: Durability, i like the two finger trigger, shiny
Weaknesses: Needs new barrel the stock one chops sometimes very frequently
Review: Great gun once you put a new barrel on it. couldn't tell you how it does in a speed ball game never played in a speed ball game with it but im sure it wouldn't have disappointed me it never has before. i only played woods ball with it and it worked very well. it comes with 3 velocity adjusting springs i suggest using the blue one the middle velocity spring because you chop more ball when using the high velocity spring and its not even close to being as accurate.
Conclusion: Very good gun for beginners im sure gonna miss it its very reliable but since im starting a paintball team ive upgraded to a 2003 autococker and if u have the money u probably should to along the road its a awesome gun. but overall the r6 is a great beginner gun i strongly recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pattawa Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns
Sypders
Other Pirranha
Marker Setup: SP ION
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gas thru fore grip
barrel
hopper like a revvy
Strengths: Accuarate
doest chop
Fast
Weaknesses: No fore grip thats about it
Review: THis is a great starting gun and would be great for everyone starting paintball
I Really like when i was using it now i have a drallion and if u want to use a good gun when u are first playing paintball this is the gun u are looking for trust me!!
Its a Perfect starting gun for any player
Conclusion: Its a great gun go buy it and i think u will love it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 27th, 2005 at 6:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trock55 Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 - Stock Setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell
Strengths: Fast shooting gun, fairly accurate, not many problems.
Weaknesses: Ball breaks.
Review: I bought a Tippmann 98 Custom when my friends bought these. I have to say I was impressed with this gun. I did notice that 2 (out of 4) of the PMI Piranha R6's seemed to break several balls. It was easily cleaned and was back in business within seconds.
Conclusion: If you have the extra $50.00 buy the Tipmann, if not, this gun will easily compete with any low-end mechanical marker. I was impressed with the nice trigger pull and how quiet it was. Several ball breaks. Either was a barrell issue or maybe just cheap paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soccermiddy222 Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Rebel 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel, new spring
Strengths: Fast shots, Doesn't chop balls
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I got this marker at Dicks sporting goods on sale for $100( usually $120 but still good price). It came with a mask, a 9oz. co2 tank, a squeegee, barrel plug. I went home and shot 100 paintballs right away. It chopped none. I've shot about 2000 or more paintballs altogether and it has chopped maybe 6. If your friends say not to buy this gun ignore them. All my friends told me not to get it and the first time i played against them I beat them easily.
Conclusion: Great Gun! Doesn't chop balls. I'd recommend to anyone. A++++++++++
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scion Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C-Tested, probably more durable, accurate
PMI Black Maxx-Tested, less reliable, discontinued (I think)
Marker Setup: Piranha R6
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Strengths: Lightweight
Accurate
Durable
Reliable
Field Strip
Easy Maintenance
Weaknesses: Ugly
No beavertail
Review: This is a very good begginers gun and just a good deal. From my expierences it is extremely durable and reliable. Also, like most spyders and piranhas it is field strippable and easy to maintain. This gun is also pretty accurate, quiet, very light, and has a short trigger pull (for a mechanical gun).

On the other hand it is kind of ugly but that is not a big issue for those of us without much money. Also, the cocking knob will fly back and forth and might hit you. It doesn't have a beavertail and to my knowledge, you can't make it flush cocking (without cutting a lot of stuff).
Conclusion: Very good gun for price. I give it a 10 compared to other guns in the price range. Out of all guns it would be a lower rating but I've never shot anything more expensive then a Tippmann 98 or Game Face E-Rex.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 17th, 2004 at 1:42 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

IHScout75@aol Monday, October 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, Just the R6
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha R6 with custom built CAR15 Stock, Hand guard, Carry handle, Clip, Camo paint job, shotgun style sights, thumb adjuster, and a stainless steel remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
An expansion chamber would be nice for cold weather play, maybe a power hopper if you shoot fast. You might consider a barrel but it isn't necessary.
Strengths: Durable, Accurate, Light trigger pull, Black anodizing, Relatively low price and is readily available.
Weaknesses: Some chrome parts, weird Blue hammer O-ring. That's about all.
Review: I believe that an R6 is a good gun for anyone to have in their arsonal. It is very accurate and has a vast amount of aftermarket parts. I've shot 3,500+ paintballs out of it and it has yet to chop or break a single ball. It may dry-fire if you shoot EXTREMELY fast(9+ BPS). I primarily play woods ball so the first thing i did was a rattle-can paint job (Camo of Course!). After that, the disease spread and now my gun looks a little like an AR-15. I would have to say that this gun is capable of competing with some of the high end semi-autos that people pay way more for. Overall, an R6 is a good out of the box gun, but with a few upgrades and the right user, it can really become a force to be reckoned with.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone. I convinced three other guys to buy an R6 and they are very happy with the performance. The R6 is a good value and a very capable out of the box marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 25th, 2004 at 6:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

meowmix Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: pirahna r6
14 razzor barrel
soon to come electro frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
regulator
Strengths: Price
Good starter gun
There are lots of upgrades you can get
Weaknesses: No reg
Kinda crappy
Air efficiency
Review: When I got this gun I wasn't into the sport that much so I didn't really know to much about what is good and plus I didn't have that much money. When I got it the quality of the paint job was crappy and it was cracking. Since it has no reg on it, the air efficiency is really bad. I use a 20oz and i only get like 2-3 hoppers of paint through it until it runs out of air. About 3-4 months of use, the o-ring on the hammer broke.
Conclusion: This is a pretty good starter gun but once you get into the sport more you will want to get a better marker. I don't recommend getting this marker.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kingman_Rodeo Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Felon ,scrap that, compare it to a Blade!
Marker Setup: 16 oz Chrom-oly tank, Extreme Rage 200 rd hopper, Paradox MF-1 Barrel (black), Paradox MF-1 spring (Works better than any spring that comes with it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun
Strengths: Compact
Sleek
Very easy to field strip and clean
Minimum of oiling
Weaknesses: Chrome barrel, some chrome parts, Monstrosity of an air leak, cheap safety!
Review: I got this a few months ago in a package from Meijer's. Right out of the box this gun showed promise, and lots of it! I love everything about this gun, the minimum of oiling it takes, reliability. But the best feature of all is it's durability. Also you can run a squegee through all parts of the milled body, which is very covenient. I've found that if you put a few drops of oil in the back of the milled body then run a squegee through it you get a whole lot more grime than if it was dry. Also I think it needs no upgrading.

***I'll update if I find more out***

***Update***
9/1/04

Ok, I take back everything I said about this gun! Some stuff went wrong with it that I'd expect from a Brass Eagle. Here's a list of problems

* Broken safety (fell out of handle for no reason)
* ENORMOUS air leak (frost was coming out of the trigger,barrel,bolt, and loader)!
* Velocity spikes even with a regulator!

As a last word, I took perfect (no exaggeration)...... perfect care of it, and it crapped itself in the middle of a firefight costing me the game! For the love of god, if you have any self respect don't buy it!

I give it a 2 because I like Piranha guns, feh.
Conclusion: *Cough* !@#$% *cough*

Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 1st, 2004 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media