paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
paintbplaya Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
Marker Setup: I use the piranha r6 for most of my rec games, I haven't installed many accessories on .
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you want it to shoot more acurate then get about a 12' long barrel, and that's about it.
Strengths: Very light trigger, easy to get up and fire fast, doesn't waste co2.
Weaknesses: I would say the only weakness is the size of the barrel.
Review: This is my first paintball marker I have purchased, I have used a few other markers such as the tippman 98, and a tippman sniper. This is a great starting marker for new players and it doesn't require special attention that other high dollar markers need. It is great for rec ball and would not be a terrible back up gun for rookie matchs. This gun is great for the price and you will have a great time using it. If anything I would get a longer barrel to make the gun a little more accurate. The gun also doesn't burn co2 fast, I have a 20oz tank for it and I can get off about 1500 shots until the co2 is gone. If you do buy this gun or any other gun as a begginer I bought a co2 tank that is a little to big for me, I would recomend getting an 18oz. or less co2 so it will not be hard to get up fast. Also this gun very rarely chops balls I would say it will chop maybe 1 out of every 250 shots which is great! Overall this is a great gun for the price and it will not disappoint you! Happy paintballing!
Conclusion: I basically said it all in my review ^^^^^^^^
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyda_Man 711 Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Spyder MR1
VL Orion
Brass Eagle Avenger
Marker Setup: I use the Pirahna R6. I have NO upgrades for it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think a longer barrel would be nice for it.
Strengths: #1 It is VERY VERY light
#2 Very durable
Weaknesses: No Forward Grip making for cold hands :-(
Review: Overall I think that this gun is very good for the new player. I think this because the gun is affordable and it pretty good stock. Also you probably will not need a new paintjob because the thing is carbon fiber! Plus because it is light it can be taken over very rough terrain very easily.
Conclusion: I think yes you should buy it. But only on one condition if you want a cheap, durable and reliable gun. I havent found many upgrades so it os better as a starter gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

el perro Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot acs
Marker Setup: Pilot o5
custom products reg.
trinity front block
red z feed neck
smart parts progressive
roller trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fore grip
Maybe a barrel depends
Strengths: Accurate
Good begginer gun
Low maintenance
Parts don't fall off
Weaknesses: Back cocking
No fore-Grip
Review: Its a good gun except it needs the upgrades posted in there also will be much better w/ reg. so silent

Its a good gun except it needs the upgrades posted in there also will be much better w/ reg. so silent

Its a good gun except it needs the upgrades posted in there also will be much better w/ reg. so silent

Its a good gun except it needs the upgrades posted in there also will be much better w/ reg. so silent

Its a good gun except it needs the upgrades posted in there also will be much better w/ reg. so silent

Its a good gun except it needs the upgrades posted in there also will be much better w/ reg. so silent
Conclusion: Good begginer gun low maintenance and good backup gun
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zhelldog Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5-big improvement.
98 custom- not as good as the A5 but still fairly good.
Smart parts ion- teh roxxors.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
m4 stock
egrip with W.A.S board
PMI remote hose
Special ops C-series Blackcell barrel 16" with suppressor tip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Save a rock, throw an R6.
Strengths: Very affordable, runs off of co2 or HPA, and aeronomic.
Weaknesses: Chops like crazy
Inaccurate
No foregrip
Low ROF
Loud as hell
Review: This was the first gun that I used, and when I played for the first time I was very disappointed by how many paintballs i was chopping. The paintballs would curve every other shot. I didnt see the point in putting a double trigger on it since it is VERY low end and can only shoot about .5bps(jk). Aside from that I loved the aeronomic design of the gun and i was able to throw it about 50yards right onto the road were it was run over. I was going to throw a rock instead but the poor rock didnt deserve that so i chucked that worthless piece of crap gun right onto the freeway and laughed as it broke into a thousand pieces!
Conclusion: If you buy this gun, I feel sorry for you....just as i feel sorry for myself for being stupid enough to buy the gun.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hunter valenti Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Ion
Tippman 98 custom
Diablo mongoose rencarnation 2
Marker Setup: pirahna r6
upgraded barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Bad speed
Bad weight
Bad accuracy
Bad everything
Review: I thnk this is one of the worst guns on the market today besides a brass eagle.I currently have a smart parts shocker wich is probaly out of price range for most beggienrs.So i would reccomend a tippmann or spider.Now back to the gun.It has horable speed probaly like 3 bps..Also it breks alot.Mine has broke like 10 times already and its only been used for like a year.
Conclusion: Dont get this gun
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qwertyuiopo Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2 tippman 98's
paistol
ion
Marker Setup: ion
fire bolt
all american 14 inc barrel
empire b2
pure energy 48 ci 3000 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
every thing you can get it needs it
Strengths: Nothing
Weaknesses: Accurace
Speed
Always has a leak
No reg
Review: i got it as my first gun thought it was cool back then got better new guns found out that it is no good and i would not recomend it to anybody ipersonaly do not like it but it is a good beginner gun but you will not use it for a year ill bet.I would rather just get a good gun instead of getting two guns just do not buy this gun!
Conclusion: Do not get it it is not worth it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr-paintball Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Piranha R6 w/ rocket add on body kit
16" SP Linear barrel
Everything else stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Price
Not much of a C02 hog
Can fit a good amount of barrel treads
Weaknesses: Not the best accuracy
stock barrel
Review: this gun has a cool look to it, and a decent price to it. i first heard about this gun form my friend, who has been into paintball for about two years. at the time i didnt paintball so i knew nothing about it. he said that he tried it and that it was pretty good.

I agree with him, about 75 percent. the gun isnt as good as it looks. but it has a good punch to it wen it comes to speedball. its good for speedball because it pretty balanced, wen u have full co2 and paint. but its not very good at woodsball. wen i first took it out of the box, i shot off a couple of rounds. it worked great. but then during woodsball, i was shot in the end of my barrel, resulting in paint going into the bolt. that opens up alot more problems.

See, the thing is that the bolt is kinda small, so wen break paint, and it gets into the barrel. it will make the o-rings on the bolt swell up. i didnt know this at first until i took it down to a local shop. they said once there is paint in there u have to replace the orings. (but that only cost me about 10 bucks for a bad of like, 10 and oil.)


But 1 thing i did like about this is that u can field strip it nice and quick. u just pull ou t the pin and u can take the bolt and stuff out. so its easy to clean and maintain. i bought this at canadian tire for $100 on sale. (reg. 169.99) it came with mask, co2, sqeegee, barrel plug, and some parts like a low velocity spring, some o-rings, some other parts, adn the rocket add on body kit w/ forward hand grip. i think its a good begginer gun for its money.

The only upgrade i say is a new barrel. i went down to the an indoor course last night and it didnt shoot very strait. it curved about 3 feet after 50 feet. its not enough to really make u mad and hit the guy 6 feet beside him, but enough to barely misss him wen u needed to the most.

*EDIT*(19/12/07)
OK, ive had my second internal problem. It accualy happend 3 months or so ago, and i forgot to post. anywho, my problem was that when i screwed in my c02, it all came out, all over my gun! there goes that co2 tank, then i tried my 2nd. this time not all came out. enough stayed in for about 500 shots.

I was told by a local pball forum that it could be my cupseal. and to replace it. and that its happend to a few of the same models.
this isnt gunna cost a point, but almost...




Conclusion: In conclusion, i give this gun a good solid 8, because it doesnt have super great accuracy, but it has a good feel to it, and the price is pretty good too. i recomend only a new barrel, and u will be out there owning people left and right.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 19th, 2007 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mr1warrior Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none - first marker
Marker Setup: totally stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-definitely a barrel
-drop forward
-gas thru grip
Strengths: Cheap
Quality
Gas efficiency
Warranty service
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Vertical feed
No front grip
Review: The piranha r6 is a great gun for beginners or as a backup marker. It has good gas efficiency and the warranty hotline is very useful.

I got this gun from a local farm and fleet as a player pack for about $30 below normal (christmas sale). It came with a 9 oz Pure Energy, a VL 200 round hopper, plug, squegee, extra parts and an intuitive manual.

My friends told me about the r6 when I wanted to join them on the weekends. One of my friends is a player on a professional team with a sick A-5. He uses the r6 as a backup. So I asked for it for christmas and got it.

I actually didn't shoot the gun until five months later (too cold in Iowa winter) and hit an old drum on my property. About 20 rounds in the gun stopped shooting. I checked the feed and down the barrel - a ball wasn't chopped. Turns out the trigger was broke and wouldn't push the sear up. So I called the hotline on Monday (can't do it on the weekend) and told them what happened. The guy mentioned several things to do. Finally told me he'd send a trigger in the mail. About ten days later got the trigger, called him back and he took me through putting it together. Now it works fine. I play woodsball with a lot of school friends in a wooded area and am now thinking about buying an mr1. I can't aim right with the vertical feed on the r6.
-found out newer models come with a plastic grip on the ASA.
Conclusion: A great gun for the money. Pretty reliable for what you get, and if it isn't reliable, your warranty will cover almost anything for a year.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Assassin001 Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha R6
Full stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel, drop forward, electric hopper
Strengths: See Review.
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: Overall, this gun is decent for its cheap, cheap price of 90 dollars.

Strengths: It is pretty accurate for its stock barrel. Compared to guns like Ions it is decent.

Weaknesses:
OMG does this gun chop paint. everytime i use this gun it chops a ball every 1/ 60 balls.
it gets really aggarvating when you have to clean the barrel and the inside.

Conclusion: I would give this gun a 7 for its dececncy, but it chops paint really badly. so i give this gun a 4 out of 10
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

RyanS Sunday, February 4th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
my old viewloader genises surge df -better then this gun
Marker Setup: Stock ETek Ego
68/4500 hpa
Halo V35 victory with rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel.
Strengths: It shoots paintballs
not a gas hog
Weaknesses: Everything except for it shoots
Review: Well I used this gun at Heartland paintball field. Those were the only rental guns they had. Don't know why they couldn't have at least tippman 98. This gun is horrible. I'm surprised I was able to hit 5 guys. This gun is so inaccurate. You have to guess where the paintball was going to go. But one good thing about it is that it isn't a gas hog. And it's one tough gun. I ran out of ammo on the field. We were playing capture the flag one hit your out. So I was crawling around to try and find some ammo I was picking up paintballs from the ground they were all deformed they weren't even circles. I put them in the gun it fired them. But one chopped so I took the barrel took a stick and pushed the ball out of the barrel. I put the barrel back on and away I went. I ended up getting the flag and winning the game.
Conclusion: This gun is ok for a rental gun but if your thinking of buying a gun don't even bother with this gun it's not worth it.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media