paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
gonacious_d Thursday, February 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
blade
Marker Setup: autococker trilogy comp., halo tsa hopper, pure energy 72 cu 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new gun, longer barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Air hog, Chops balls, 8in barrel, Recock (see review)
Review: When I first got this marker i was really happy with it. My previous gun was a blade so i was happy with any thing. The first problem I noticed was the 8in barrel which made the gun inaccurate. Also after playing with it a few times it quit recocking itself. Now I have to recocock it after every shot fired. It also chops balls so i have to clean after every match. If you are looking for a cheap gun then buy it but remember you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: Dont Buy It!!! Spend A Few More Bucks And Get An Autococker Or Something!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintswords Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Viewloader Triton 2
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact Deluxe Java
14" Whisper Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Fairly Light
Stock Barrel is OK
Good Price
Looks
Weaknesses: Not very good with Co2
Not very Durable
Review: My friend bought this Piranha R6 and i have to say it looked pretty sweet. Not to long after he bought it it started leak Co2. All that had really happened to it was we dropped it once. While my other friend had bought a walmart gun and also dropped his and it was working fine.
Conclusion: Overall it is a pretty good gun for the price i don't know if our situation was just the gun we got, but since then it has been weird with Co2 and the problem continues.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Spyder Rodeo
Shocker 03 Vision
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with:
-HE Bolt,
-ShockTech gas thru grip,
-Shocktech feedneck,
-New Designs Roller Trigger
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip Drive
68/5000 Evil Scion HPA with Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
????
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Almost everything
Review: My friends brother bought this marker, most likely for the price. He played a couple games with us and all was good. Then after that everything went downhill. He got leaks fixed 3 times in one day at the field, luckily at no cost to him. Then now all his marker does it chop balls I dont even know why. He has more leaks and cant get it figured out, and my local pro shop guy either is having his hands full trying to fix all of these. If you are looking for something around this area I highly suggest the Victor. For the price it is the best gun on the market. I used mine for 4 years and never had one single problem. Now Im upgrading it and it shoots 14BPS with an e-trigger and new bolt. I dont even think this marker is worth upgrading, dont wast your money or time.
Conclusion: There are far better markers out there, this one is not built well at all. Look for a different product and save yourself the trouble.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WoodzBallHitMan Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders Brass Eagle junk
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
J&J 16' Full Tilt Ceramic
Vforce Profiler mask
Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
none worth it
Strengths: Good Trigger
Small
Weaknesses: Alot
leaks
inaccurate
Review: Well, to make my point, this gun is down right bad. Leaks alot, unreliable, and is super inaccurate and consistent. Came as a package deal, mask, tank, barrel cleaner, tools and springs. And for $80, you might as well save $20 more and get a Triumph XT. The barrel is 8' and doesn't do squat.
Conclusion: The only 'fun' I ever get out of this marker, is to hand it to my noob friends, and whip out my 98C and light them up. Better then Brass Eagle, not as good as a Spyder.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

llamar80 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: empire reloader, smart parts rifled barrel, crossfire 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
e force trigger, regulator and flush cocking knob,
Strengths: Accurate, light trigger, smooth shooting
Weaknesses: Chops from time to time but other than that none
Review: I like it its very tight for a beginners gun, it is very accurate for how cheap it was. have been playing with it for a while especially woods ball with the smart parts barrel i rock other players from distance with the accuracy. I got the whol kit with the x-ray mask and 9 oz. co2 tank. Definitely recommend a new barrel.
Conclusion: For begginers sweet gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gimlo Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
kingman spyder sonix and spyder victor 2
smart parts Ion
brass eagle raider
Marker Setup: r6
16 inch Dye xcel barrel
phat foregrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrrel
Strengths: Colors, quality
Weaknesses: The grip doesnt feel right and its kinda heavy
Review: this was the first gun I ever had, and it worked fine for about a year and a half then i got the foregrip and it worked for a couple weeks but it started leaking and its has been broken ever since.

This gun is good for beginners especially because it has all the other stuff you need to start playing. if you are going to get a foregrip make sure you know what you are doing or you have a professional do it for you.
Conclusion: This is an overall good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wayno Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha BL VF G3, Custom 98. Pirahna is my favorite. Lighter and cheaper than the Custom 98. Never a problem with Pirahnas.
Marker Setup: Piranha BL VF G3
PMI Expansion Chamber
Macro Line
14" J&J Ceramic Barell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber for colder climates or if you like to waste paint, larger barel.
Strengths: Inexpensive. Accurate. Reliable.
Weaknesses: Plastic fore-grip that will surely break apart eventually.
Review: My wife has the R6 Rocket pack from Canadian Tire, and we have a regular R6 with fore-grip as a backup. I use a Piranha BL VF G3 as my regular marker.

She loves the Pirahna because it's pretty light weight, and accurate for her. She hides like the little girl she is, in the back and has finally started showing herself and firing. And taking opponents out now I might add. And she is very heavy on the trigger and she has yet to chop any balls in the chamber. Nor has she had any problems with the market.

With the exception of her marker firing liquid and not re-cocking. However, that was only happening in the fall months (Northern Alberta). I thought of going to anti-siphon bottles, but decided against it. I switched her to a softer spring and tightened the velocity to help with re-cocks when it's cold out. As well, we put on her expansion chamber. She hasn't had a problem with it since.
Conclusion: If you are like me, and would rather play better, than spray more paint, you don't want an electronic marker. So for mechanical, a Pirahna is the way to go. We have three, and love them.

We never have problems with them, and they are very easy to maintain. And very inexpensive.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stixorz Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL orion
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO
JT Mask
47/3000 crossfire HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
fore grip
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: stock barrel sucks
[own opinion] No fore grip


Review: The r6 is a nice marker for beginners and it's a great mechanical gun and also it's very cheap in price. The stock barrel that comes on the r6 is really crappy and very short so i suggest getting a new barrel. out of expirience with the r6 it doesn't seem to chop that many balls, it does chop balls but not many. It's a pretty fast gun and the stock trigger is easy to work with. The weight is also really good, the piranha r6 is very light.
Conclusion: Out of the whole review i think the piranha r6 is a great gun for beginners and people who aren't really involved in paintball (tourney wise) and like to have small games with friends. It's pretty reliable but if you're going to make paintball your main hobbie i would advise you to buy an electric gun and not the r6
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 29th, 2006 at 10:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint Warrior Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: 12 oz. CO2
Stock Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fore grip
longer barrel
Strengths: Anti-chop system
accurate
Light
Weaknesses: Fore grip it needs one
shoots weak
Review: This gun has an anti chop system that is awesome the gun I had before sucked and chopped 50% of the balls so i am pleased with it. What i hate is no for fore grip it is kinda hard to hold. It use not alot of air I love that so i am very pleased. The stock barrel is not so good so i recomd a LONGER one.
Overall it is a great beginner gun.
Conclusion: Good gun i recommed it to any beginner
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint4Jesus Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
this has been my only gun.
Marker Setup: Pirhana R6 Stock Package
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel might be nice for accuracy
Strengths: Fairly Accurate
Not a Huge Chopper
Pretty Good Air Consistency
Weaknesses: Not good in breezy weather
One barrel break and its all down hill from there.
Review: When our church youth group first started paintballing, everyone either had a Brass Eagle, Tippman 98, or a some other piece of Wal-Mart crud. So one day when I took an out of town trip, I went to Scheels and I found this gun, $100 for the Stock Package. So i came back, we had a war, and they all got scared, they had never seen such paintball technology haha. But now im left in the dust, because they all have SPyder Pilots, Ion's, Autocockers, so im getting a new gun soon.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to beginners only, its easy to manage, not hard to clean, nice and simple.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media