paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Krunked310 Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6
Rentals
Marker Setup: Piranha R6 (2005)
Foregrip
CMI 14" True-Flight barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Change the barrel- a MUST!
Strengths: -Cheap price
-Decent marker for first timers
Weaknesses: -Weak ball detent
-Problems with trigger frame
-Bad placement of the bolt
Review: Strengths:
Like i mentioned above, this marker is great for first timers. Its affordable, i bought the player package (gun, hopper, full mask, 9 oz tank, and squegee) for $99 at Sports Chalet. If you are new to paintballing, i recommend getting a cheap gun to start with so you can learn about how it operates. Then if you decide to get more into paintballing, upgrade to a better marker.

Weaknesses:
-I seemed to have a problem with this gun everytime i went to the field. First of all the ball detent in the gun is really weak and flimsy. Basically this "holds" your ball in the barrel before it is fired. But once in a while when i pointed the gun down, a paint ball would roll out. Either that or when i fire, 2-3 balls would spit out. I looked inside the barrel, and saw that the detent was only a small piece of rubber.
-I also had problems with the trigger frame. In one game, 1 out of the 2 screws that held the trigger frame to the barrel came out. This would cause air to leak out of the frame, and the bolt would un-cock and misfire. I replaced the screws on the frame, and the next weekend it was leaking air again because it wasnt on tight enough.
-I also have a gripe about the location of the bolt. The bolt cocks back and every time you fire the bolt would spring back and forth. If you bring your marker up close to your eyesights like i do, then expect to get hit by the bolt.
Conclusion: The main reason im writing this review was mainly to average out the score. I see WAY too many 10/10 ratings for this marker. I had read a few of these before buying my gun and was a little dissapointed. If you are going to buy this marker, expect a decent starting gun. The little maintenence issues can be annoying, but you can also learn from it. I believe there are better starting guns out there as well, the most popular being the Spyder.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 at 2:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

George_matt Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first gun...
Marker Setup: -Piranha R6
-Smart Parts 14" Black Teardrop barrel
-9&16oz C02 Tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (I recomend Smart Parts Teardrop)
Strengths: -Cheap
-Good gun
-Upgradeable
Weaknesses: -You need to by a better barrel
Review: This gun is pretty good for the price. I Bought mine at Canadian Tire in a kit for $130! If you a beginer than this is a good gun Because you can upgrade later on down the road. Buy it, Good deal! The only problem I had was, whe I first got it my trigger wasen't working but I just put some battle lube in the bottem line, before I put the tank on and it worked fine!
Conclusion: Good gun, Good Price BUY IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbblitz 4 evr Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman a-5 its almost up ther
Marker Setup: i have a extreme rage 200 hopper with a co212 ounce tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barral the stock barral stinks get like a Razor 14 inch barrel
Strengths: Light
triger is good
accurate
Weaknesses: Drop back needs drop fooward
stock barrals and chamber
Review: The review of this can cant be sayed in any why the only thing i wouldent use this gun for is tourney and small courts it is exlenace with wood balll if u would like to play at a woodball place in chaigo il go to this web www.paintballblitz.com
Conclusion: If your a newbie this is your gun u can buy it at sports authorty 59$ with no hopper or tanks just find i pack ther about 19.99
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

postmortem Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Blade, Viewloader Orion (one and two hand versions)
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha R6 (Original)
Pure Energy 9oz. Tank
Extreme Rage Mask
Extreme Rage Hopper
Tactical Paintballs
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Force Hand grip
Strengths: Accuracy, Quiet Barrel (supplies less CO2 clouding after shots), Sight Mount, Slide Safety
Weaknesses: Tank O-Rings
Doesn't Come With Marker Oil
Plastic Foregrip
Review: I love the fact that this marker has a rear cocking knob. That allows for a sight mount. You can also put an electronic hand grip on it.

The accuracy is incredible. With Vapour paintballs, the worst of the worst, I was able to hit a 3 1/2" target from 75 feet away by aiming directly at it. With the holes in the end of the barrel, there is absolutely no CO2 cloud after each shot. Barrel cleaning is incredibly easy too. With a standard gravity hopper, you get a high rate of semi-auto fire. You can rapidly fire about 20 rounds with a standard hopper before you blow a paintball.

The tank O-Rings break easily so they require replacing often, unless you have marker oil, which the package does not come with.

This marker gets about 450 shots per 9oz. CO2 tank.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for use by all. The whole set comes with everything except oil and paintballs and costs $210 CAD. Buy the set. It also comes with a removable front hand grip, and silver marker armor.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

braxton94 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Tippmann 98 , Tippmann A-5, Brass Eagle Blade
Marker Setup: halo b hopper
16" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
hopper
barrel
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: O-rings, barrel, and hopper
Review: My friend let me his at Cobra command. The co2 ring busted and all the co2 came shooting out. I thought i broke the gun but relized it was an O-ring. i took it to the repair shop and the guy fixed it . i told my friend about it and he said it always does that so i'm like WTF. and he starts laughing.
Conclusion: This gun is ok i guess
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Southpaw6 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A rental Prananah
Marker Setup: Icon E
Expansion Chamber -marco line
Revvy
9oz C02 (yes im broke i need HPA)
12" Teardrop
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fore grip =)
bolt
Strengths: Cheap
Doesnt Chop (often)
Light!!!
Makes a cool sound
Air Effectient
Weaknesses: Not Sexy
Trigger
Lack of Foregrip
Review: You can get this for like 100 bucks, comes with a mask, tank, hopper, and the gun of course

It doesnt chop too much because of the trigger...see below

Its really light and you can get some good run throughs with it

I got about 1000 shots with a 9 oz tank with this baby

However:
It does NOT look that nice

The trigger, even though its a double trigger you can only use it as if it were a single because its so far away from the back you can maybe reach 5BPS if your good.
i did outshoot my old gravity feed hopper and chopped but thats not saying much

and of course theres not fore grip which makes it hard to play back but since its a mech gun u cant really close the lanes anyway....

all in all its a good gun
it does what its supposed to do
Conclusion: GOOD GUN for 100 bucks
Im gonna give it a 9 of 10 because of the fore grip and the trigger (or there lack of) but its one of the better gun in getting the most of ur money
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

carson6112 Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Actually i thought an tippman A-5 was close.
Marker Setup: I use all the stock stuff it came with (works great!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe just a bigger barell and a better hopper
Strengths: Accuracy and the velocity. and doesnt chop balls. easy on air. Very light!
Weaknesses: its a bit shiny And sometimes the hopper spills And there is no sight.
Review: I got this gun when i was a rookie in paintballing. I was a bit scared that the gun wasnt going to be as good as the rentals. But i was way wrong. The gun was PERFECT!! it shot 10+ balls per second and it was accurate! it comes with extra o rings and velocity springs. I am very happy with it!
Conclusion: It is just a perfect cheap gun i would reccomend it to any of my friends. I was suprised when i saw it shoot
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 7th, 2006 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fps_mike Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Spyder Sonix, both very close to this gun
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix, 14" green Smart Parts Progressive barrel, LAPCO feed neck, 12 & 9 oz C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel(any one will do, but Smart Parts are great!), front grip if there is any way for you to get one.
Strengths: Accuracy, with new barrel
Quiet, with new barrel
VERY Light!
VERY Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: No front grip, its not really that much of a hassle
Review: PROS

Accuracy: with a new barrel, this gun is very accurate and if you can aim at all and the target is within range, you can hit it easy. I'm quite the sniper with it, :P

Noise: with a new barrel, this gun is super quiet and if the barrel has porting it helps disperse the c02 cloud coming out the front of the barrel and its hard to see it at all.

Weight: This gun is uber light and its really sweet because you can hold the gun easily in whatever position you want and it won't move when you shoot (almost no recoil)

Maintenance: it is very easy to take apart this gun and clean it, it takes about 45 seconds to do, very quick and easy.

CONS

no front grip: as I said before it isnt too bad, but i guess it'd be easier to aim if it had something solid to hold on to instead of the bendy hose.
Conclusion: I would reccommend this gun to new players, and rec players. It is very good, especially for the price, easy to maintain and is everything you need to have some fun.
I'd give it an 8.5, but i'll give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntball1992 Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Upraded
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ stock, double trigger, 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Light
good for beginners
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: I got this gun the winter of 05, and it was awesome. It is very light and manuverable. The dissasembly pin is cool for wen it gets jammed in games. it is quick and easy to fix. The only thing i saw wrong was the accuracy. It was very inconsistent. If you get a longer barrel (like 14") it will work better
Conclusion: This is a great gun for those who just got into paintball and is very affordable and light. Just the accuracy is off, so i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nightshadepaint Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
used brass eagle stingray and the R6 would wipe it out instantly
Marker Setup: piranh R6, viewloader evolution 1 and 2 hopper, brass eagle 20 OZ CO2, veiwloader 2 1oornd podpack, stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eforce grip for faster firing
Strengths: Barely chops under good conditions. Can fire at an adequate speed 10bps
Weaknesses: In winter the o-rings on bolt go quicker than when it is warm
Review: Overall this is a very cool and awesome starter gun and i would recommend it to anyone who is just starting to play paintball. I really like using this gun because it is a very good gun. A lot of this is repetition because it is worth re-mentionion and this needs over 50 words.
Conclusion: This is the best starter gun a person could have because it barely chops and it is efficient on co2
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media