paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
chaos760 Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 (rental)
Marker Setup: pirahna R6,
14" barrel J & J ceramic 2pc
extreme rage 200 rd hopper
20 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel and if it didn't come with it a fore grip
Strengths: Light weight
great value
easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
No fore grip
Review: This is my first gun and I love it. This gun really is a great value for the price. I have played almost every weekend and this gun hasn't let me down. If you play outside in the cold like I do then you need to make sure that you have some marker oil on you. This gun likes to be well oiled. The only problem with this gun is that the barrel that comes with it is ok but there are more accurate and better out there. If you're like me and don't have alot of money and want a gun that's easy to take care of then get this one.
Conclusion: If you're new to paintball and don't have alot of money then buy this marker. You will not be let down. I'm giving this a 9 because there are better markers out there, but this is still a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dapaintballa222 Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo is similiar to the piranha r6 but the rodeo is better.
tippman 98 custom and piranha r6 are pretty much equal.
Marker Setup: piranha r6 stock package
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Shoots straight, doesn't chop, cheap, good for beginners.
Weaknesses: Doesnt have a drop forward and expansion chamber.
Review: Its an overall decent gun for beginners. 10+ bps. The barrel is not the best, but its good for the money. It chopped only once in 6 months. Marker works well and is reliable. Excellent for recreational use and target practice. Not good for speedball. Otherwise, the piranha r6 is a good cheap marker for any beginner.
Conclusion: Would recommend this marker for any beginner that doesnt want to spend alot of money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sgt. scotty Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Pirhana R6
Foregrip
Proto barrel
20 oz Co2 can
Recommended
Upgrades:
Empire reloader b
New Barrel
If it doesn't come with any type of foregrip or expansion chamber get one.
Strengths: Use Co2 effeciently.
Doesn't Chop.
It's fast. Speed and BPS.
Weaknesses: Sometimes has air leak.
Review: This is a solid gun. It's fast for a non electronic gun, and it doesn't waste air. I can get by for a whole day with a 20oz Co2 can. The gun doesn't chop. For me I shot 1,250 balls and didn't chop any. Buying a slower electronic hopper(doesn't go over 12 balls a second) would be a good hopper for the gun. Getting a new barrel for the gun would also be good.
Conclusion: Good gun, Fast Accurate and Doesn't Chop, And Shoots Efficiently.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartplayer2 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used many paintball guns but none have been close to what this is like
Marker Setup: rocket body kit, stock barell, 20oz co2 tank, front grip, extreme rage hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
i haven't gotten any upgrades (because i don't have enough money) but a longer barell and becaue it would be funny and scare people an E force trigger
Strengths: Light, small, looks cool
Weaknesses: Barrell to short, body kit is a nuisance
Review: I bought this gun when i started to paintball. i bought it because it came in a package with the gun with body kit, 9oz co2 tank, squeegee, mask and it was only $170 canadian i was going to get a tippman 98 custom but that costed to much $200 canadian for just the 98 but i'm glad i got this it shoots hard, fairly straight shots. but the body kit is a little nuisance and it makes it look like and alien gun and if you run out of ammo you can unscrew the barell and use it like a bayonet and poke people with it at close range
Conclusion: This gun is awsome i would recomend it to anyone who is a little tight on cash but there is still problems but nothings perfect
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thatslife Sunday, February 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra, spyder imagine, icon x
Marker Setup: r6, all stock, j&j ceramic 16'', and a revi
Recommended
Upgrades:
at least a revi, because you will chop alot with a gravity feed hopper, nothing else, exept a barrle otherwis just by and electro and youse this as your back up
Strengths: Lmall
Light
Easy to handle
Price
Weaknesses: Barrel
Bolt
Cocking rod (itll hit ya sometimes)
No reg or gas thru
Review: i play speed and wodsball

speedball-
not very fun because your just not goin fast enough to the other players
it's alittle hard to run and shoot
but otherwise it's great


woodsball-
PERFECT GUN, besides a tippman
just put a nice barrel on and your ready to go
Conclusion: Its a nice gun, for beginners, and especially for woodsball
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JimMooney23 Saturday, February 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TLX
Tippmann 98 Custom
WGP Autococker Trilogy Pro
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
12" Progressive Barrel
VL Revolution Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing SELL IT.
Strengths: Cheap price.
Fairly light.
Weaknesses: Chops 1 in 3 balls.
Inaccurate.
Barrels too short.
No Drop Forward.
Review: I bought this gun at Dicks Sporting Goods. Oh was this thing horrible. I bought some expensive paintballs to try the gun out. It was chopping all of them any kind I tried. There is no drop foward. You need to recock it often. THE STOCK BARREL IS 8 INCHES. It has no foregrip.
Conclusion: Do not buy it. Save up and extra $20 and get a Spyder Xtra.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

JTFATHEAD Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
TIPPMAN CUSTOM PRO
SPYDER EXTRA
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN CUSTOM PRO
Recommended
Upgrades:
MAYBE BARREL STOCK BARREL WOREKED FINE FOR ME
Strengths: Light
Barrell
Double Triggerr
Easy to take apart
Weaknesses: No Problems
Review: Great beginners gun i bought it used and had no problems with it great gun double trigger barrel lightweight. many kids who just began paintball asked me what kind of gun to buy i have reccommended this gun to about everyone who asked me and i will continue doing so

i need a new body if anybody knows where to get one please contact me at liljimbo820@aol.com
Conclusion: All around great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dan man Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have a Spyder and it is way better than this cheap gun.
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix pro with a J&J 14' Ceramic Barrel and a Delrin ACS Bolt
Pure energy 20oz tank
V-Force Armor
Java 200rd Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I only tested it so I don't know
Strengths: Accurate
Didn't chop
Cheap
Weaknesses: Not reliable, my friend had his for 3 months and it broke.
Review: My friend got one for his Birthday and he brought it paintballing with me at Woodstalk. It performed well. But about 3 months later and 2 more paintball trips later it broke, so he returned it and got a Tippmann 98 Custom. I thought that was a good move. He actually got a good gun.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun. It is a cheap gun that will break, even if you take good care of it.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 5:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Oddman912300 Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine, orion i think by jt,
Marker Setup: Main:Diablo Wrath LTD with 48/3000 pure energy HPA Halo TSA LTD loader
Back up :Piranah R6 with gravity feed extreme rage and 20ounce CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel since the stock is pretty short,
Strengths: Affordable, Great starter, Reliable, Doesn't freeze, Looks pretty cool
Weaknesses: Short barrel, kind of loud, only 10 balls per second, no forward grip,
Review: When i got this gun it was a new one. i got it for about 60 dollars. i al so got a 20 ounce co2 tank a 200 gravity hopper for all about 100 dollars or so.. i have had it for 3 years. it never jammed and never froze on me ( mabe since i shot in the summer but me friends orion froze in the summer with co2). This gun is great but the barrel is short so the accuracy is not too good when you shoot it from far away.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this to any beginners who don't have a lot of money, or is thinking of playing too see how it is like. i give it a nine since it is not the best piranha.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 10th, 2006 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Emorrison84 Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All of em'
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Sport Pump Autococker
14" CP 2 Piece Barrel
GxG 50 Round Hopper
Pure Energy 48/3000

Tippmann Pro/Lite
12" Lapco BigShot
VL Egg 3
Pure Energy 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Grips, Expansion Chamber (co2 users only)
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Lightweight
Looks Cool
Weaknesses: Air Leaks With co2
O-ring Issues
Review: The PMI Piranha R6 is a entry level paintball marker manufactured by PMI in 2004-2005. I received mine as a Christmas Gift in 2005. This Marker has been a constant work in progress and pain in the ass, but I still love it.

Out of the box, the R6 is a decent performer, and is extremely Air Efficient. I used to be able to pump out 900 paintballs before needing to refill my old 9oz co2. About a year after I got the R6, I made the switch to Compressed Air. This was a good move on my part, as all the air problems disappeared.

The Marker is extremely lightweight, and half of it is made of a polymer material. It's tough enough, to say the least. The internals are almost identical to a Spyder, and the operation of the marker is no different. The factory internals (Striker, Sear, Cup Seal, and Hammer to be exact) wore out on me after only 8 months of use, and yes, I took care of them. I was able to get my hands on a new set of internals that are still in service today.

When fired, the R6 makes a much quieter metallic noise with a smaller air burst sound, making it extremely quiet, unlike its Spyder counterparts, which make a loud "Crack" noise when fired. The R6 has a good punch on the ball when shot, and it sails through the air nicely.

The accuracy of the gun depends on the paint. The stock barrel is a larger bore (.693) and I use a 14" .689 barrel on it with most RPS Paintballs. The accuracy is good enough, and with some practice you'll be able to cause some damage. Another key thing, is when the marker is out of air, it doesn't make a loud "fart" sound, only a quiet air drain noise.

This marker really can't be upgraded to do a whole lot, and is really meant to just be used in rec-ball. A new barrel helps, and there is really no use for any further upgrades.

Now with this in mind, you may be thinking "Well this sounds pretty average." You're absolutely right. This gun isn't meant to match Higher-end markers, it's meant to shoot and nothing more. I wouldn't recommend taking on a group of enemy players with this unless you have a serious advantage, which with this gun you MAY not have. It will, however, turn a few heads nowadays, as Piranha Markers are thing of the past and it's fun to get that attention.
Conclusion: All in all, the PMI Piranha R6 is a decent marker, and in the right hands it gets the job done.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2011 at 3:42 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media