paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
MCGM Saturday, October 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippy 98 and A5
Spyder
PMI USP (It leaked too)
Marker Setup: Stock
16" J&J
Recommended
Upgrades:
The gun
Strengths: Ease of use
Attachments
Field Strip Pin (Cleaning and Lubricating)
PMI tech-support
Weaknesses: Construction
Air Leaks
Review: Aside from all the problems this gun did have some high points. First the price is good, if the gun worked as well as it should it would be a stellar gun. Also I need to note I've tried 2 different R6 Markers.

The first R6 seemed to work but my velocity sucked, I mean poor accuracy @ 80ft. Through troubleshooting with PMI, some of the best support I've had over the phone, it was narrowed down to a air leak. I tried all the steps suggested, new O-rings and some teflon tape, but the air leak seemed to get bigger. So I decided to take the marker back

I stuck with the R6 because of the reviews I read on this site so when I returned my marker I asked for the same model. From what I could hear my second R6 didn't have an air leak but the gun wouldn't fire, at this point I had enough and got my money back.

This gun will be getting a low mark from me BUT I think I was lucky enough to get 2 lemons, I would like to tip my hat to the PMI tech support though.

The gun is easy to use and to clean. Attachments are out there and more seem to be coming, I've seen stocks and a AK-47 banana clip air through grip. Most of the parts are Spyder so there easy to find.
Conclusion: If this gun held up to the reviews it would be a 10 out of 10. I think I got 2 lemon and if you get the chance to test the gun I would recommend it. The ease of use and the support on the gun are the only thing I can think to save its score.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yeti2424 Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann98 Custom
Sheridan P68SC
Lots of Rentals
Marker Setup: 2004 PMI Piranha R6
14" PMI Razzor Barrel
Dead on 8 stage Expansion Chamber
Shocktech Superfly Piranha Bolt
PMI Drop Forward
Ricochet G2K Hopper
Remote Air Supply
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" PMI Razzor Barrel
Dead on 8 stage Expansion Chamber
Shocktech Superfly Piranha Bolt
Remote Air Supply
Strengths: Easy maintenance field stripping
Very lightweight
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Lack of ASA adapter
Too much Silver Paint
Ball detent fails sometimes
Review: This is a really great gun for the price. I had been looking for quality marker that was under $150 for quite some time on the internet. I found the R6 online but never got around to ordering it. It ended up being on sale at Sports-Mart for $35. I immediately bought the PMI Razzor 14" barrel. After taking it our once I figured that it could be even better. So I ordered and expansion chamber and a new bolt. The gun now performs amazingly well. I recently went remote so the weight in my hand is next to nothing. The quick strip pin is amazing. I did not appreciate this entirely until I had to disassemble my brothers Bruzier Outlaw. With the R6 you only have to pull the pin and then all of the internals slide out to clean, lube, etc. The marker has many upgrades available and uses Spyder threading for the barrel. The only problems that I had with were the silver paint, which I sanded and painted black, and the non ASA threaded front. I had to buy an adapter just to put my expansion chamber on it which was was a hassle in itself finding it. If you store the maker with the internals inside the marker then the ball detent(the little rubber piece that keeps the balls from sliding forward because of gravity) tends to stay flat and not do its job. Therefore I just store the marker with the internals removed from the marker.
Conclusion: Overall though this is a great marker at a great price. I am keeping this marker until I decide to purchase a Tippmann A5. But until then I will be just fine. This is a very quality aluminum marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMadMan Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Victor II
Marker Setup: All Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel :: Somekind of Expansion chamber/foregrip
Strengths: Affordable :: durable :: light
Weaknesses: No foregrip :: rear cocking knob :: barrel :: not the prettiest gun
Review: Main Problems:
1. No Fore Grip: Nothing to hold on to, just buy one, easy fix!
2. Rear Cocking Knob: As you can tell by the picture, it has a rear cocking knob, just don't hold too close to mask or your goggles will suffer
3. It has a plain look, not very unique but this is a very minor problem

Main Strengths:
1. Affordable: This gun is pretty cheap, great for people who want to play with friends but don't want to spend a fortune
2. Durable: This is a durable gun, easy to maintain and hard to break! Again great for new players
3. Light: This gun dosn't weigh too much, you can run around and it won't hinder you

Upgrades:
1. Get a foregrip so it is easier to hold
2. A new barrel would also help this gun, the stock barrel is ok. I chopped around 3 balls out of 700. The gun stayed relativly accurate even after chopping, but a new barrel would be nice. Luckily there are tons of barrels avalible for Piranha guns
Conclusion: It is a fine gun, low cost and durable. Great for the new paintball player! The gun gets marked down because there are cheaper guns out there are preform like this gun and it dons't look so hot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

metallicafan155 Sunday, September 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None This Is My First Gun
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A New Barrel Recommend 14"
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Cool Looking
Doesn't Chop
Weaknesses: Loud
Barrel
Review: This Is A Great Gun If Your A Beginner. I Would Say That You Get A New Barrel IF you Want Maybe A Better Trigger That's up to you. But Defiantly Get A longer Barrel You Wont Regret It. It Comes With A One Year Warranty On All Parts But I Haven't Broken Anything Yet And I Hope I Don't.
Conclusion: If You Are A Beginner Get This Gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dontlike98c Tuesday, September 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have fired my dad's Viewloader Triad, but it is cheaper and not nearly as good as the R6. Also have played with some form of old Brass Eagle which was absolutely terrible, but I cannot remember which gun it was.
Marker Setup: Pirhana R6 with basic stock parts and plastic foregrip with extreme rage hopper + mask and PMI 9oz C02 tank. Have bought a Smart Parts Teardrop barrel but have not tested.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is completely ready to perform as is. I would recommend you get a foregrip right off, mine happened to come installed. A new barrel would probably be the only thing i would recommend if you want higher accuracy. You may also want a better trigger, as the stock one is hard to fire rapidly.
Strengths: - Pretty accurate
- Cheap
- Solid
- Light
- Reliable
Weaknesses: - Hard to fire fast
Review: I bought this gun knowing absolutely nothing about it about 3 months ago right before i went to play my first game. I paid $120 for a complete starter kit with pre-installed foregrip and had an absolute blast. My 9 oz tank lasted for about 380 shots and broke maybe 8. The gun can continue shooting accurately through a ball break.

I have played in three wars since i bought this and have not had any failures of any kind save for a bad C02 fill-up. The gun feels nice and solid, has a nice grip and looks great. Unlike all websites i have looked at, my gun is green anodized aluminum, which seemingly isn't made. :D

The gun comes with three velocity springs which are quite easy to install. i recommend that you install the red high-velocity spring or you may have problems with your balls not breaking on your opponents.
Conclusion: This is a very good gun for a beginner to novice paintballer who wants rock-solid reliability at a low cost. I would recommend this to anyone who has a limited budget but still wants that feeling of your opponent putting his hands in the air with a grudging "hit!"
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Piranha15 Friday, August 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom. Which is a little better than the R6.
Marker Setup: Piranha R6 stock everything.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A larger tank than a 9 oz. Maybe just maybe a new barrel.
Strengths: Accurrate, Fast, powerful, tough, doesn't chop balls.
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I bought the gun used and it had a gas leak. but that was nothing a little teflon tape and a new O-ring couldnt fix. it has range speed and accuracy but it is loud and there is no fore-grip. But i got a whole set for 80$$ and its working great. You can get 500-600 shots off a 9oz tank but a larger tank like a 16oz would be perfect. I just got a 16 oz tank it is perfect with a lot of shots but not to heavy.
Conclusion: Great gun get it its worth the money!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 2nd, 2005 at 8:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gage713 Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
syder pilot 05'
and my new gun the Spyder Electra ACS 05
Marker Setup: stock R6 with 9oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Fairly fast for nonelectric
Weaknesses: Barrel curves
Breaks balls
Doesnt recock sometimes
Shoots 2 balls at a time
Review: This isnt a bad gun but it does have some problems.The 9in barrel is to short and not very accurate, it doesn't always recock it self, and shot 2 balls at a time.This gun does shot fast, it has a short trigger pull. I out shoot my gravity feed hopper all the time. The gun also doesnt scratch very easy, I hit it on the ground all the time and it has no scratches.
Conclusion: This gun is an ok gun but save your money and get an electric gun instead of upgrading this one
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 8th, 2005 at 3:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Thra1l Saturday, August 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Model Stock
Tippmann 98 Cust. w/ 14 in hittmann barrel
Tippmann Sl-68 II Stock
Tippmann A-5 w/ & w/out flatline
Spyder Markers
Marker Setup: SL 68 II w/ a 12 oz. and 7 oz. tank and a 4X15 rifle scope, stock everything.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Revy hopper, and better barrel
Strengths: Works great for a while
Weaknesses: Plastic cup seal is a horrible design-metal of plastic seal!
Review: I just rented this gun but i used it for a couples day of renting, so here's my two cents. This gun has bad rate of fire, i hate shooting fast, but due to it's accuracy i need to go 3-5 shoot bursts to hit someone, and when the balls broke it made the marker nearly unuseable. But it's a good marker for a starter, it's moderately heavy duty (although tippmanns are more rugged), and it's not made specially for any position (sniper, heavy rifleman, etc.) so it's just all around marker.

Edit: because this marker is blow back the rail that sticks out the back can hit you in the mask if you're getting to close to the gun to aim.

Edit: Just got done taking a friends r6 apart and the geniuses at pmi use a plastic cup seal to seal against metal-works fine for a while but after she got liquid co2 from holding he gun down and shooting it it must have deformed slightly. Still think it isn't bad quality, just mediocre.
Conclusion: Not a bad gun when it works, but the cost to upgrade to a tipmman now adays is worth it (especially the us army ones).
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 28th, 2008 at 4:29 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hoodrich Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: pihrana r6 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel and expansion chamber
Strengths: Accurate and lightweight
Weaknesses: Loud stock barrel no drop foward
Review: Not a bad gun for begginers and intermediates pretty light looks cool but does not have a drop forward or expansion chamber but is cheap good for begginers with not much money very gas efficient and is able to be used with Nos great for woodsball tournaments and ok for speedball
Conclusion: Good price good gun so begginers go get it and still have money leftover for paintballs
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

usapatriot Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Avenger- Garbage dont buy one. As a matter of a fact dont buy any Brass Eagle markers.
Marker Setup: Pirahna R6
One 9oz. CO2 tank
Spring Kit (Medium Spring)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New Barell
-Expansion Chamber/ Or Foregrip at least
Strengths: -Fast
-Light
-Trigger
Weaknesses: -No foregrip
-No expansion chamber
Review: Its a nice gun for the price. There is a fair amount of upgrades for it and its light. It shoots fast and u may need an electro loader (the cheapest one $29.99). It conserves CO2 and is not very loud. Its also easy to adjust trigger pull. It also comes in various colors and does not look bad. You can get one for around $79.99 which is good considering its a pretty good gun.
Conclusion: Its good if your starting out in paintball as a rec player.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 23rd, 2005 at 8:48 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media