paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6 / PMI Piranha R6

PMI Piranha R6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha R6

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha R6
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 124
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Action:
Semi-auto grip frame
Powered by either CO2 or N2

Ammo:
.68 caliber PMI paintballs
(not included)

Barrel:
Interchangeable threaded
aluminum barrel with muzzle break.

Construction:
+ Removable polymer front grip
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace
grade aluminum with wear resistant
Teflon finish on all internal parts.

Receiver:
Vertical feed, closed receiver.

Grip Frame:
Semi-Auto with slide safety
and sear release slide.

Air System Adapter:
Bottomline adapter designed
to accept all PMI Pure Energy¨
gas systems.

Trigger Speed:
10+ shots per second.

Length:
18Ó
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha R6 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
def4 Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle (crap)
Marker Setup: Spider Rodeo
Trinity spring kit
14" CP barrel
CCM feed neck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Low pressure chamber.
Strengths: Cheap. Kept up with my friend's Auto Cocker, but that might just be him.
Weaknesses: No four grip and no low compression chamber.
Review: It is just a good gun for the mony. Breaks less balls than my friends Spider TLX and is pretty accurate. It has good grouping and is not a gas hog like Tippmans. I got the package for $65, but I have never seen it that cheap again. It usually hovers around $85 every where else. It is just an awsome beginner gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to any beginner or intermediate with a short budget.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 9th, 2006 at 5:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soccer_rox370 Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter, Spyder Extra, Spyder TLX, Spyder Imagine, Angel Fly( not really comparable, but a bottom-line marker none the less) Tippmann 98 and 98 Custom, Brass Eagle StingRay
Marker Setup: Pimped-out Piranha, Tippmann 98, 32 Degrees Rebel Vertical
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electro hopper
Electro grip
(or better yet, upgrade to a more advanced Piranha----GTI, SRT, etc.....)
Strengths: Light
Cheap
Decent accuracy
Non-glare paint job
Weaknesses: New O-rings needed out of box
Review: What can I say..... It's a nice little gun. It can't compare with tournament markers, but its my woodsball gun. The accuracy is ok. The gun arches the paint though, instead of shooting it straight. Thats why I recommend a new barrel. It should fix that problem.

People are typing in the other reviews, weakness section, that the gun doest have a drop forward or foregrip(note that these people are usually newbies). Who the heck cares? I sure dont. It doesn't affect performence any does it? With out a fore grip, the gun actually leaves less of me sticking out from behind my bunker. I can curl myself up tighter.

It's very efficient on C02.Depending on the weather, I can get about 600 shots off on a 9 ounce
Conclusion: Good gun. Room for improvement though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tempest/Delta Wednesday, June 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranah GTI
Piranah GTI eForce
Marker Setup: Tippman A5
-Flatline
-Low Pressure Kit
-Detonater Regulator

2 Piranah USPs as sidarms

Piranah R6
-Razzor Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
It needs an expansion chamber
Strengths: cheap, air effecient, easy to repair, easily upgradable. Oh, and cheap
Weaknesses: Needs an expansion chamber to really function
Review: I got this at a game a few months back when my Tippmann quit working on me. I've been very happy with it so far, and its made a great backup/loner marker. Its comes with a decent quality stock barrel, and becomes great with the addition of an expansion chamber and a razzor barrel.

All in all, makes a great starter gun, a great backup, and a great loner.
Conclusion: Worth the cost, and an awesome deal for the $90
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer13 Tuesday, May 31st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triad
Tippy 98
Marker Setup: VL Triad
VL 200 Round Hopper
J&J 14in Ceramic
Then stock stuff
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Fore-Grip
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: hard Field Stip
Breaks easily
Eats gas
Review: I do not like this gun. My friend has this and it breaks quite often. It does come with on of the better stock barrels (compared to Triad) Yet if does not have a fore grip which to me is a nessecity. The cocking knob is very annoying and can often mess up your shot. Its okay but because of the malfuncions it has to get a lower grade. Parts come loose. meaningless sight rail. Still need everything else to play because only a gun for begginers
Conclusion: Dont buy it for a little more buy a pack if you want a begginer gun. There are VL or Victor 2 and other cheap Spyders
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 2nd, 2005 at 7:23 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

clover8 Wednesday, May 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Rodeo
Victor II
Marker Setup: Bought it in the a kit it has stock barrel and a 9 oz Pure energy tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a new gun!
Expansion chamber
Barrel (definately if you are going to keep this gun)
Strengths: It shoots straight
doesn't use much CO2
Weaknesses: needs constant maintanance
needs new O rings after every match
shiny
Review: I have had two of these guns for almost a year now and one has worked fine but the other has given me constant trouble. I think that in general it is a good begginner gun but make sure that BEFORE YOU BUY ONE make sure it has a money back warranty because it might end up like the one i had and be a constant pain. I would reccomend a Victor II or an Eradicator as better begginner alternatives.
Conclusion: Get a VIctor II or eradicator because they are more reliable begginer guns.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

piranhar666 Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: piranha r6
expantion chamber
jt 14'' 2 piece
20oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
expantion chamber
Strengths: Good gun for the price has not broke down on me once .
Accurate.
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: Well I paid 160 for the hole package and plus 40 for expantion chamber. I play alot of paintball and I dont seem to want to upgrade to a better gun. I have had some small problems but it is very easy to take a part and lube. It's good on co2 and just a good gun so i give it a 10/10.
Conclusion: Great gun and good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TimberGhost0417 Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only used a brass eagle marauder. MY R6 IS WAY BETTER
Marker Setup: BLACK PMI R6, Palmers Stabilizer,Richochet 2k Hopper, 14" CMI Rifled Tru-Flight Barrel, 9oz tank + tank butt.

Recommended
Upgrades:
People, this is good to go as is. After you buy it and play, you'll want to keep using it.
Then you should get
Barrel
Regulator

and maybe an electro hopper
(I used my ricochet 2k all day without it turned on, no chops. just went to the website and found out there's an anti-chop bolt that comes with the r6, although I think it's they just made the marker really good because the bolt looks normal)
Strengths: 10bps
No adaptor for hopper = Low profile
Full-Metal body
No Chops
LIGHT trigger
Weaknesses: Need vertical adaptor for regulator
not for speedball
Non-electro trigger (all good though)
Review: Woodsballer that uses this like a rifle with a 9oz tank and no drop-forward.

For the price, it was the best.

GOOD STUFF FIRST

#1 put hopper on marker WITHOUT an adaptor which makes it low profile.
#2 10bps trigger, EXTREMELY LIGHT TRIGGER not a mouse clicker but for a semi-auto
#3 When you shoot 10bps, you get NO CHOPS with a NON-electro hopper due to #1
#4 Upgradable with low cost spyder/spyder clone parts
#5 It uses ALL the air in the tank Doesn't fart when it runs out of air, it just doesn't re-cock.
#6 9oz PMI Tank . I fill up 2 times a day. Sometimes the 2nd fill is two games before I go home. I shoot about 1,300 paintballs give or take 100 everytime I play with no regulator or expansion chamber.
#7 Mine came with two springs to adjust my velocity
#8 Sometimes you gotta rush with one hand on your marker, this balances great and shoots great one-handed letting your 10bps own everyone or keep you safe atleast.
#9 Hose is ready for Palmers Regulator, don't need a new one.

BAD STUFF NOW

#1 Requires vertical adaptor for expansion chamber or regulator
******unless you have a Palmers regulator. They make one that works for this, 1/8 connection. This is the Palmers direct.
****** I purchased a MALE palmers regulator and it you not only need to purchase a vertical adaptor, you still need to use the standard to metrix adaptor as well. Looks cool though. HOWEVER, the hose does NOT need to be replaced.
I actually like it this way because my piranha r6 is black with the silver stuff like the hose, sight rail and also the bottomline asa so it matches. Also, you don't have to hold the regulator if you don't want to since the standard to metrix adaptor is not wide and you can hold it the same way as you did with the hose on it by holding the gun instead of the hose or regulator.
#2 The cocking rod hits your face sometimes. Out of about 3,000 shots, I got hit in the face about 5 times. More like two seperate times but 2-3 hits every incident.
******You can get a flush cocking bolt that pmi puts in their higher end markers, i looked for it, but after playing with this marker twice for 8 hours each time, I don't need it because it's not a problem.
#3 you can't shoot a stream, one ball behind the other. This is mainly because you're hand moves while you shoot with two fingers. If you use one finger, you shoot WAY more accurately. You can figure this out without a marker. Just take your hand and pretend your pulling the trigger. WIth TWO fingers, your wrist will move. With ONE finger, your wrist DOES NOT move which means you're marker won't move as much or at all.
*****maybe you can do one ball behind another, I'll have to try using one finger instead of two next time
Since it's not an electro trigger, you can't walk your trigger. However, I used it to play at a speedball field today and everyone kept saying how fast it shoots. One person even asked if I did a trigger job to it, and I gladly said nope it's the stock trigger with no mods. I got a remanufactured R6 though so maybe the spring was changed. Remanufactured for my marker means all brand new internals, and I don't even see a scratch on the outside so I don't see how it's used. 1 year warranty!!! No problems at all though.

WARNING: DO NOT BLAME FPS VELOCITY INCONSISTENCY on this marker, it's the co2's fault. I'm getting a regulator. All air tanks have regulators so you can just buy that straight up, but I want my 9 oz co2 tank because of the size so I'm getting a regulator on the marker.
Conclusion: Buy the PMI Gti, it's EXACTLY like this but you don't need a vertical adaptor for the expansion chamber, regulator or gas-thru or even remote hose. The gti is also all one color, while the r6 has some chrome parts. The Chrome looks NICE though.

I bought the R6 because it looks EXACTLy like the gti but without the gas-thru grip. I figured I'd purchase my own regulator instead and save money. Now I found out that the R6 needs a vertical adaptor for expansion chambers, while the GTI doesn't. They are the same look, same gun. Just those two small differences.

Other than that, if you're just starting out, want something that shoots really fast, is really realiable, doesn't need upgrades other than the barrel and regulator. For the regulator, if you use an air tank it will have a regulator on it. I use co2 because I like the 9oz tank so I'm getting a palmers regulator for my R6 since it fits the hose hole that the r6 has.
BUY IT NOW BUY IT NOW BUY IT NOW

***** put a Palmers Stabilizer on this marker, it's SWEET. Although you need an adaptor for the marker, the hose is good to go. If you purchase the GTI, you don't need the adaptor but you do need a new hose for a palmers.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 at 1:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadeye332 Tuesday, May 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c...Piranha hasn't used as much CO2 as Tippmann did. Tippmann was a little more accurate, but the Piranha has yet to have any problems whatsoever.
Marker Setup: Piranha R6, 9 oz CO2, Stock hopper, PMI Razzor 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy a new barrel. Stock barrel is decent, but if you intend to be able to actually tell people that the R6 is good, you'll need a new barrel
Strengths: -Very Reliable
-Does not waste CO2
-Balls don't break
-Good price
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel could be replaced
-Vertical Loader
-Range is lacking
Review: This was the first paintball gun that I actually purchased. The scenario was that either I paid for the gun I wanted, or I didn't get a paintball gun. I thought that this was just going to be a POS when I saw all of my other friends' guns, but once I started playing I realized that they were pretty much the same (except for one of my friend's Tippmann 98c with a Flatline). This gun is not meant to be the best gun ever made, but it will get the job done.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you have a limited amount of money, but if you have more I would suggest going up to the next level and buying a Tippmann. Most of the stock options are fine; I don't see the need of a new electronic hopper, its just louder and alerts everybody to where you are.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adam_hayward Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Basic Piranha
The R6 is a solid built gun.
Marker Setup: 20 oz tank
16" Progressive
Rage mask
Dye gloves
Recommended
Upgrades:
Foregrip-not neccesary but does help
Barrel-progressives work well
Depends on what model but an upgraded bolt-i bought mine at a tourny
Strengths: Built solid, doesn't chop, good aim
Weaknesses: If it is stock i chop alot of ball stops
Review: The R6 is a very good gun. I can compete with a lot of good players. It has relativly good aim but you should upgrade the bolt to a deleron are metal bolt. If you are just starting out or have been playing for a while the R6 is a good investment because it is easy to maintain
and it performs pretty good.
Conclusion: This product is very good the only downfall i know of is the bolt. Thats the only problem i see.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yankeefan Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the tippman 98 custom (better then the R6) and the Spyder Xtra (about the same quality as the R6).
Marker Setup: I use the R6 and I have no accessories for it yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A drop forward and a new barrel.
Strengths: Doesn't use much co2, hardly ever chops balls, fires fast.
Weaknesses: No drop forward, barrel is not very accurate (shiny too).
Review: When I first tried out my R6 at my friend's house I was a little disappointed with the low accuracy of the barrel. The balls would curve a lot when I shot, but later it stopped curving so much. A friend then let me use a $40 barrel he had, but that just made it worse (I don't think the barrel was made for a piranha). Later that week I went to an outdoor paintball course. It was only about 45 degrees outside, and it was raining, but I was impressed with how well the gun shot. The gun only chopped 1 ball out of 1,300 I used that day! My 20 ounce co2 tank lasted me about 1,500 shots before I had to refill it!
The biggest problem with the gun is the barrel (not much surprise there). My friend said he could see it from a long ways away.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for $60 bucks, but definitely go out and buy a new barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media