paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Cyborg 2004 / MACDev Cyborg 2004 / MACDev Cyborg 2004 / MACDev Cyborg 2004

MACDev Cyborg 2004 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Cyborg 2004

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Cyborg 2004
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $980

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Super fast cycling speeds up to a true 30bps
lightweight construction (1.05kg with barrel)
stick trigger w/ 3 point adjustment
cyber ABS system to eliminate chopping
fully rebuildable LP ram, no tools needed
cocker barrel threads
04 gladiator inline reg
super low pressure operation - 200psi operating and 50psi cocking
self lubricating 2 piece bolt with quick strip pull pin
frame and body machined from solid billet 6k grade aluminum
Product Availability 
The MACDev Cyborg 2004 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bluesboyk3 Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 2005 - comparable to the borg except lighter, but not as efficient.
Timmy 2002 - didn't have very good exp with one.
Marker Setup: 05 silver ego with black parts - M7 board and 14" Stiffi.
Macdev Cyborg 2005 - NOX board, PBK trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Board
Strengths: Efficient, decent weight, fast, smooth, no tool field strip, easy maintenance, easy operation
Weaknesses: Weight and balance. look - preference
Review: I heard so many good stuff about the borg and for the most part, it's true. It's fast, efficient, easy to maintain - only 1 hose. I can get a case with my 68/4500. I got mine with dual ball detent. Good quality parts, Macdev matchstick, Glad (mine didn;t come with one, put my CP in there). Simple operation with one LED. You can disable eyes on the stock board relatively easy.
Everything in the gun is solid and feels like you're holding a high quality product.
Shoots very smoothly and fast. I put a NOX board in there and it rips.

BAD:
the frame is really heavy. I found that the bulk of the weight is in the frame so it's not really balanced IMO (diff. user may have diff. opinion). My point is that the weight is not distributed evenly on the gun. Looks boxy but it sure does turn heads at the field.
Trigger is stiff, changed it with NDZ delrin scythe. Now it's a wonder to shoot.
Conclusion: Good bang for the buck. Priced like a middle end gun but it's actually performs like a high end gun. When it first came out, it's somewhere in the 900-1000 usd range so that tells you something about it. The weight need some getting use to and that's why i switched to the ego. It is as fast but a lot lighter and balanced.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Acuraboom Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker and Ion
Marker Setup: MacDev Cyborg, Conquest 68ci 4500psi, Matchstick 8pc barrel kit, No-rise feedneck, 25 gram board switch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, some people prefer a lighter switch.
Strengths: -Fast as your fingers
-Well made, rock solid design
-Quiet
-Consistency
-Accuracy
-Feel
Weaknesses: -The grip internals can be a little tricky to reassemble
-Tool kit is expensive
Review: I have been using this marker for about a year now and I love it. The only mod that I did was to install a lighter switch and a new feedneck. This marker works well for all types of paintball. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a fast dependable marker.
Conclusion: If you want tournament grade and have a little more cash to spend skip the ion and buy a marker that needs no modifications.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer1069 Saturday, April 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viking, Ions, Wrath, Shocker, and a tricked out Free Flow Matrix.
Marker Setup: Back/Yellow MacDev Cyborg w/ 14" Black/Yellow CP Barrel, CCM Low Rise Clamping Feedneck, Black CP Shorty Reg, PBK Delrin Trigger, Yellow CP on/off, Smoke Halo B, and a Dye 70/45 stubby nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B/ Empire Reloader B, New Trigger, On/Off, and A Clamping Feedneck.
Strengths: It is Very Accurate, Very Fast, Light, Easy To Clean, Really Efficient, and Sexy.
Weaknesses: It dosen't come with an on/off or clamping feedneck.
Review: Ok I have been using this gun for about 6 months now and i haven't had a single problem with it. The Matchstik barrel is really accurate... i just recently got a CP because I wanted something that would make my gun look sexier ad still keep the accuracy of the matchstik..... This gun shoot's ropes with ease, the stock trigger is pretty good, but you can get better ones...This thing is really efficient... I get 1700 shots off of my 70/4500. Which is pretty good considering the tank is rated for 1100 shots... I don't recommend puttin an evolution hopper on them... i tried that and it couldn't hardley keep up, the new Z board for them might make it fast enough, i'm not sure since i haven't tried a z board but i recomment a halo B or Empire Reloader B because they keep up with it for sure... WHen i was using this thing stock I was playin with guys that had egos and shockers and all them fancy guns and it kept up fine in speed and accuracy. It is definatly as good as all them thousand dollar guns. Not knockin the more expensive guns, because they are awesome and sexy as well.
Conclusion: If you are considering one don't hesitate... GET IT!!! These are awesome guns, the only thing it really needs is a clamping feedneck and an on/off. I only paid $500 for mine which was a steal, but there down to $600 something now which is pretty good. I"m giving it a 9 becasue of the feedneck and the on/off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

inpayne Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys
Ions
DM 4/5/6
Ego 5/6
Pretty much every high end gun out there.
Marker Setup: Macdev Cyborg 04
CCM Feedneck
Sonic Board
Empire Reloader B
45/45 Crossy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Doesn't really need anything

Feedneck if you don't like the old one.
Trigger if you don't like it.
Board probably the only thing that could do something to make it preform better.
Strengths: Very little kick.
Very nice out of box.
Very fast!
Light
Great Efficiency
Weaknesses: Very little upgrades, but it doesn't need them at all!
Review: The Macdev Cyborg is a very nice gun right out of the box. I did not get it new so i know how a few of the things are on it stock. One of the first things you notice is that it is very fast and very light.
It also has an insanely low amount of kick when set up right as well. Also the price aint bad for such a nice marker!
This gun also has awesome efficiency, i got about 1200 balls out of a 45/45 tank today off a hot fill. In about 45 degree weather, I could have Probably gotten 1500 balls if it was warmer out.
Plus if you ever have a problem you could always ask Kai on pbn, he knows pretty much everything about cyborgs.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone that asked me if its nice. Its light, very little kick, very efficient, and is very fast, even if the milling aint the fanciest. Also a great company with great support. I give it a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 26th, 2006 at 8:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drift or die86 Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bonebrake viking, various timmys, matrix style markers, shockers, race gun, angels, NME, etc
Marker Setup: JR ninja cyborg with lava parts, NOX, sonic claw, sonic bolt, sonic grips, sonic eye covers, sonic trigger, check-it uni mount, ND 45 45 adj, 14inch matchstik, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck, tadao/nox, grips
Strengths: Effecientcy, reliability, speed, weight, ease of maintainence, lack of kick, PRICE
Weaknesses: Looks
Review: I love this gun. It is fast and the trigger can be set just the way i like it, long and smooth. I also have kai to essentially maintains the gun for me THANKS KAI! Anyway, i love small tanks and not having to fill my tank all to often and this gun gets amazing effecientcy, it rivals the viking, but is lighter then any unmilled or half milled viking and is far easier to maintain. My personal cyborg looks good with the lava parts and the all black body, but many of the other regular borgs i have come across are not very good looking, they look rather plain. The gun also comes witht he best regulators on the market. The gun is also very easy to use with the stock board and maintain. The ram is easilly accesable. The gun is also easy to use and has great consistantcy.

And i will mention it now, you can get an 04/05 cyborg for about 500 dollarrs now.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for 980 dollars, and now you can get them for 500-600. I am affraid i can only give it a 9 becuase it does not rival my vikings. But it is very deserving of this 9. Buy one of these today, or wait for the 06 to come out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

curly2k3 Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Multiple Boblong Intimidators
Smart Parts Shockers
Smart Parts Impulses
Angels
DM3's 4's 5's and Protos
Just about everything out there, no really I'm serious
Marker Setup: Black to Blue Mac Dev Cyborg
BP lowrider feedneck
Kila V2 Detents
Air America Armageddon Air
Halo B with Z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detents
Grips
Clamper
I guess Tadao and a new trigger would help
Strengths: Bloody fast!
Accurate
Light
Sexy
Rare
Fast
Simple
and oh yeah, FAST!
Weaknesses: Stock detents
No clamper stock
old angel grips
No 15 bps tourny cap
Review: One thing to keep in mind while reading my review is that these testing and results from the gun were being done while in the guns first tourny and day on the field:>>>

All I can say about this gun in one work is: Jackpot!
this gun has blown every expectation out of the water in every single aspect of the marker. I will go thru each section and analyze:

Accuracy: Wholy smokes, with the standard 14 inch mac dev matchstick this thing shoots lazer beams, ball after ball stacked right on top of each other.

Effiency:I was getting about 2100 shots per 4300psi on my Armageddon running it at 475 psi into the gun shooting it consistantly at 285 fps

Consistancy:I went to the chrono the first day of owning it after getting it back from Kila Products and over the chrono it shot the following, 284,285,285,284,285,286,285 Damn thats nice! i support the Gladiator 100% now, I thought my CP was good

Speed:With the dip switches set at 17 bps, lowest it can go, I started to walk the trigger, now the trigger isn't the greatest with the filtering on but when you turn it off and put it to the lowest sensitivity and 31 bps... Wholy Crap this gun can rip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Simplicity:One of the areas where this gun shines the most, it is soooo easy to clean paint off of and to lube, it should be banned because of its simplicity for X ball

Electronics: Really good except for the fact that there is no 15 bps tourny cap, this gun is illeagal if you get caught shooting over 15 bps in a tourny, which believe me is easy to do, 17 is way to simple to reach with it, be careful no to get pulled unless you buy an aftermarket board to save your self

Feel: :D, thats my face while holding it, better than anything on the market today

Reliablity:Have yet to have any simptum of a problem, flawless

Overall impression, this is the best gun on the market today, I have owned or shot almost everything out today and I can honestly say this is my favorite of them all. With a PBK delrin trigger, Tadao M5, and Kila Detents this is unstopable.
Conclusion: Great Gun, I wouldn't however recomend buying one, then mine wouldn't be as rare.
but seriously, but it and I garentee you won't regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 19th, 2005 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Gripy Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2K4, IR3
Marker Setup: Cyborg Black/blue fade
Halo B
68/4500 Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck (clamping, low rise)
Maybe ramping board if your into that
Strengths: Light, accurate, effecient, fast, looks.
Weaknesses: Feed neck (look at review), reg adjusting(read review)
Review: ****STRENGTHS****
I took the gun out and right out of the box i was getting +-3-5 and this is with out the regs being broken in. This is light compared to other high-ends (only 2.2 Lbs). Trigger is very light (at least for my preferences). the eyes worked very well as did the barrel, i was using OK paint and i didn't get any chops or barrel breaks. It is very easy to clean compared to other high-end guns, the ram will only go it one way, so you can't put it in upside down or back wards. This gun is very effienct out of box, i got around 600 shots off of 1000 psi, so my psi droped from 2500 to 1500, from a 68CI tank. I got ball on ball accuracy at 20 ft and 4-5 in spread at 50ft.(This was in a controled windless environment)

****WEAKNESS****
The only weakness is the feedneck, that is it makes my halo sit a bit too high for my liking and it also takes a bit of sanding your halo to get it to fit the feedneck, but this it totaly preferce. the other weakness that i mentioned above was the reg. The in its self is very good but you must be careful in adjusting it, very small turns will raise the pressure by a lot, and also remember on the 04 gladiators you must screw out the reg screw to raise the pressure and screw in to lower, this is for the HRp, the Lpr is fine u screw in to raise and out to lower, also vist the Mac Dev section in this fourms to ask any questions. Be careful with the regs cause if you set the HPR to high of a pressure you can blow your gauge(I did), meaning it will not work, but the gun will work with out.(this is not recomended or smart to not use a gauge)
Conclusion: This gun is a very good buy for the current price of 600$, so its a high-end gun at a mid-end price. if you have the money get the sonic cyborg. it is the same as the normal cyborg except a bit better.(not sure by how much cause i never shot it) once you get this you'll want nothing else.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 5th, 2005 at 5:15 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

the_ramones Saturday, August 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy, Impulse
Marker Setup: N/A
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new reg. Some people have problems with it.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Good With Air
Easy to Use
No Kick
Stcok 2 peice barrel
Weaknesses: Hard to Fine tune
So its hard to get parts
Review: MAIN*
My friend just traded his Naughty Doggs Timmy For this gun at a local shop. I think This was his smartest thing to do. This gun is ready to use out of the box for a new player and can be fine tuned by an expert.
Shooting*
We got the gun, air'd it up and... it ripped. Fast as he11 and dead accurate with the matchstick. Shooting 4 hoppers worth of paint we decided that his new gun was better than his timmy. This Gun as no kick and is very light, just 2.2 pounds with the matchstick. A greta gun to pick in its price range
Conclusion: I reccomd this gun over every in its price range, Defiant, NME, they dont even compare...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IceMan1300 Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've owned an Ion,B2k3,And a freestyle
Marker Setup: Cyborg
CCM No Rise
Nox Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck

Either a new Microswitch on the board, Or buying a new board (Tadao/Nox)
Strengths: Very Efficient
Pretty light
Fast
Good stock parts
Low on kick
Weaknesses: Stock board isnt too great

Stock Feedneck isnt adjustable

Stock Trigger switch is heavy
Review: This is a great gun, Especially for the price Paintballkingdom is selling them at. When it first came, I was suprised of the nice carrying case it comes with. I prefer this over the last high end gun i had (Freestyle). I Havnt really tested how many shots i Get off my 68/3000 but I was getting a lot more then i did on my freestyle. Out of the box its fast but the Stock microswitch is heavy, You can get a new trigger to make the switch inverted, Or just buy a new switch and solder it on there. But everybody has their own opinion, try shooting one at your local field, you wont be disappointed.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price, Would reccomend it to anyone looking for a new gun

I'll give it a 9 because nothing is perfect , And some things can be changed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 16th, 2005 at 8:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

666pureEVIL666 Saturday, August 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first high end marker
Marker Setup: cyborg,68ci/4500psi crossfire tank,zboarded egg, dead on drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
I guess the rest of the machstick barrel system
Strengths: Really easy to clean
Nice trigger
Great eyes
Great manual
Great reg
Nice barrel
Weaknesses: Doesnt come with a duckbill or something like that
Back heavy
Review: this is a really good marker. it comes with a gladiator regulator and it is probabaly the best i've ever seen. there was zero dropoff and amazingly easy to dis assemble.just like the whole marker. this is some of the easyest matianence ever imho. after play just pull out the bolt wipe it down(its self lubricating)and pop it back in. the ram only needs to be serviced every 20,000 shots.the trigger is amazingly light and very responsive.i have slow fingers but this is so easy to rip on its un-describable.the eyes are fantastic.i never got one chop or anything. they are located at the bottom of the breech so it ensures a full ball drop. i must say this has the best manual i've ever read.ever.it tells you exactly what to do in detail.unless your really weak you shouldnt get thrown off by the recoil cause ther is slim to none. effacny is great i got like close to a case off give or take like 200 balls.and if you haVE an egg, the feedneck fits it soo tight without shaving it down a bit its like you have a clamping feedneck. i could tilt it upside down with a full lload of paint and it didnt come off.the matchstick barrel is dead on.the best stock barrel i've ever used.on the negatives it doesnt com with like a duckbill or somethin like that. i personally dont care cause i was gonna buy a drop anyways.it is kinda backheavy especally with an egg but that really doesnt affect me at all.unless your really weak you shouldnt get thrown off by the recoil cause ther is slim to none.
Conclusion: I think this is the best marker out there for your money cause of all its strenghts.I am gonna give it a 9.5 out of ten because its a little back heavy so i am gonna round up and give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media