paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E

JT Excellerator 3.5E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Excellerator 3.5E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Excellerator 3.5E
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 7.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
JT®’s Excellerator 3.5™ E-Grip and Excellerator 3.5™ Manual Grip have been designed for the beginner paintball enthusiast! We use only the most advanced materials available to make our markers. Exclusively designed by our JT® Team for all levels of playing, Every 3.5 semi-automatic marker has a Double Trigger, Quick Strip Pin, Vertical FeedPort, Volumizer, Expansion Chamber, Integrated Sight Rail and Die Cast Aluminum Grip Frame. Giving you the tools you need and the quality you expect.
Product Availability 
The JT Excellerator 3.5E is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
GhostChain Saturday, June 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electra 09, tippmann 98 custom, tippmann A5
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5E with a smart parts barrel, gravity fed hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Electric Trigger
Capible of Fast shooting
No diode(ability to use Co2)
Weaknesses: Crap Barrel
Review: Well, I found this gun on kijiji for only $100 and it seemed like an awesome deal. Let me tell you, it WAS. The only problem there was with it was that it had a little lint on the rammer, so all I did was clean the gun, then it was fine. It shoots nice, what I find is that cheap paintballs shoot throught the gun better than the more expensive paintballs for some reason, the cheap paintballs have less chops and jams. If you lube up all the necissary parts, the gun shoots PERFECT. The major problem for me is that theres too many spots you need to put orings onto, but hey, it makes it shoot great, so, no problem. I would reccomend at least a 16 oz Co2 tank because I have a 9 oz, and it makes the shots curve a little because of the lack of air. The only reason this gun can use Co2 is because it has no diode and it IS an electric gun, which is kinda interesting. This gun is perfect for noobies like me, and I paintball every weekend so my less than a month experince is really like 2 months. So the only problems are: O rings, non straight shooting with a 9 oz, and thats pretty much it.
Conclusion: This gun is GREAT, get it, plus the limited edition gold finish, epic.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dover Sunday, August 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
It's a sear tripper: F1 / F2 Illustrator, Spyder, Tippman, etc.
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, sixteen (16) markers and counting:
DYE DM4 (dust black)
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
4 WGP Autocockers (2 E-Cockers)
3 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
eh, it comes upped by JT as is
Strengths: sear tripper (simple), gold is Limited Edition
Weaknesses: Similar to every other sear tripper
Review: screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
screw Flanders screw Flanders
Conclusion: If you like JT and gold guns, buy this ! ! !
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

neilt6 Monday, September 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippman Pro Carbine (Loud and slow, but way more reliable)
-Tippman 98 Custom (Again, more reliable)
-Tippman Custom Pro (Better in every aspect except maybe gas efficiency)
-BT-4 Combat (Just better in every aspect)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion (US Version)
Viewloader eVLution 3 Hopper (Z-Board)
Draxxus 48cu 3000psi HPA
NXe 4 Pod + Remote Pod Pack

>>>Old Setup<<<
JT Excellerator 3.5E
Viewloader VL200
J&J Ceramic 14"
20oz CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different marker all together.
Strengths: -E-Trigger comes stock
-Cycles fast
-Cheap through suppliers
-Easily stripped
-Build quality
-High effieciency
Weaknesses: -Discontinued
-Stutters like crazy
-Chops a lot
-Ball detent sometimes lets 2-3 balls through
Review: When I first got this gun, I thought it was awesome! The build quality was definatly there, it had an E-Trigger, it shot fast, and it got nearly 500 shots from a 9oz cylinder! Overall a great first gun to free me from Tippman rentals! Or so I thought... My problems started to arise the first time I actually went out paintballing... This thing stutters like crazy!!! I'm talking every 10 shots or so it stutters! I'd never realized it before then since it happens after it's been chilled by the CO2! Then came the chops! Every single match was rewarded with at least one chop leaving me to disassemble and clean the WHOLE thing out at the field in an attempt to get my accuracy back! And I'm not talking gravity hopper chops either, I'm talking explode-on-shot chops! This thing honestly felt like a rental gun, in fact, the rentals were shooting BETTER with the fields crappy rec balls!!! Convinced I could fix it I slapped on a J&J Ceramic barrel only to find the gun could no longer sustain 280FPS for even 240, rather it hovered around 230FPS. It should be noted that I had been disassembling it for cleaning/reoiling after every use so maintanance is not the problem here. Then it happened... After about 6500 rounds of paint, parts of the striker system started to fall apart, the guide and endcap mushroomed, the valve distorted, and my velocity started to slip into the lower 200s. It's stutterings became every 2nd to 3rd shot. I was since told that the sear was the cause of the stuttering as it was in many spyder clones, and that it's just the nature of the beast. I've since replaced it with a Smart Parts Ion and plan on selling it to someone I don't know. It got me into the game, and I'd still recommend it to new players for it's price (I paid $150 for a complete starter kit with tank and mask and everything), but the shear amount of maintanance this thing requires just so that it can break anyway is fenomonal. :( I'd put it on a consignment wall, but all of my local proshops refuse to even look at it the moment they hear the word "Excellerator". I wouldn't recommend buying any upgrades for it as you'll just loose them when it breaks down, just use it stock.
Conclusion: It made a good starter gun and it got me in the habit of cleaning and reoiling every match, but it just plain didn't last. If you can put up with the stutters, chops, and double feeds then it'll get you into the game, just don't expect it to last once you get there. I give it a 4 since it's got freakishly good gas effieciency (According to my field), it's got a good trigger on it, and it'd probably make a good backup gun.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_super_sheep Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i haven't used any other products like this one
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5 e grip with custom made bolt, hand crafted trigger and 20 oz co2, stock barrel and VL 200 gravity fed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barel and hopper with some air
Strengths: The strenths are good rate of fire for starter guns
Nice trigger(mines better)
Egrip!!
Weaknesses: Forgot to say price in strenth
Bad Barrel
Loud
Review: i recently purchased this gun for 100 with all the crap it says up there. it was a fairly good gun but then i saw a file and thought, hmm.... file metal trigger and bolt, bordisim, FUN!!! so i took a file to the trigger and bolt and now it works awesome. the bolt when i shaved it made it more muffled(don't ask me how) and with the new trigger i can easily outrun the 8 bps so im getting a new gun but thats the only reason cuz this gun rules



its a little hevy cuz its made outa 95% metal(grip covers are plastic) but thats good cuz you can easily do your own custom mods to it, like me. this gun shoots pretty good. i only had 2 or 3 chops in -10C(i don't live in usa) with paint from candian tire(its crappy)

overall this gun is pretty good but i think im missing somehing........................
oh yeah, the bareel it comes stock with is pretty good but if you wanna do some real paintball like tourny or something i recomend a progressive or teardrop barrel from smartparts. need a faster hopper if you want to shot fast and noot chop

Conclusion: good gun.....

performance:8
value:9.5
cosmetics: 7.36 (HAHA)
specification (higher score means u don't need to upgrade): 7

over all:8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

fernando8877 Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other Spyder electronic markers.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro, Tapco M4 stock, Bossman M16 mag kit, BT 14" Tactical barrel w/ rails & silencer, M16 carry handle, V-Force Vantage Pro mask, OpsGear gloves, UTG Tactical PB vest, 72/3000 tank, and remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much, except for the Spyder barrels.
Strengths: Its looks, but thats about it. Has a few Spyder upgrades that can be used.
Weaknesses: No matter what upgrade you get, it'll let you down.
Review: I got this marker in a trade along with a cheap Viewloader electric hopper and 48/3000 tank. I'm basically going to part it out on pbnation and here on pbreview. I like the looks of it and its not to heavy, but other then that not much else. Well, lets see what else this marker is good for..........hmmm. I can upgrade an older Spyder with some of the parts from this marker.
Conclusion: Don't get this marker for the simple fact that its not reliable in game play and it'll brake down everytime. And only gets a 3 for the looks only......
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

tippy_fan Monday, October 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JTexcellerator 6.0
Tippmann 98 C
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5E
12" Progressive Barrel System
Custom Blade Trigger
20 oz. C02
Veiwloader 200
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just a Better Barrel
Better Drop Forward (old one goes down not forward)
Good Electric Hopper (revy is good)
HPA Tank
Strengths: VERY good trigger
accurate even with the stock barrel
feels well made
cheap (price!)
Weaknesses: Heavy
Loud
No firing modes ( 3 shot burst, auto etc. )
Review: WOW! what a great gun.

First off let me say that I got this gun from a friend for $100, it came with a progressive barrel and a hopper. On the gun it says only use Brass Eagle C02, I didn't argue with it but i'd like to try some other kind of c02 and see if it really makes a difference, i'm pretty sure it wont blow up or anything.
The accuracy on this gun is surprisingly good with the short (8") stock barrel (plus it looks good) but a new barrel is a must if you want to face any kind of true competition (This gun will take any spyder threaded barrels).
I got this gun for a hundred bucks as i said earlier. At this price what were my alternatives? I could have bought a spyder sonix but i didn't feel it was as good as this gun. I also could have gotten a peice of cr@p (also known as brass eagle) but that cant even be considered a gun in today's regs and electronics.
One thing I loved about this gun was the feel. When you picked up the Excellerator 3.5E it didn't feel like a plastic peice of crap, it felt like a well built paintball gun. Its solid metal so no worry about rec play damage.
like i said it felt good because of the metal but because of the metal this gun is also damned heavy. You are literally dragging a full blown tank into the field which is good and bad. The bad, its heavy. The good, you couldn't brake it if you wanted to.
I love that this is a gun that is electronic. I can go up to the guys with autocockers and say "hey look i have lots of neato buttons to push just like you!" Although this is true I often wish there were some true firing modes on this gun like full auto or burst but no such luck.
Another thing is the ROF, this is a dirt cheap gun and at 8 bps you will almost never feel outgunned. Some people may say "I have a spyder that can shoot 30 bps" well i say i have fingers that can shoot 8 bps so it don't matter
The center feed is right in the way of the sight rail so i don't really know why they put that there but i guess you still got one.
I can field strip this thing in about 30 seconds flat. I never heard anybody say that before
The trigger is very... different. Don't automatically assume its bad, its different in a good way. Its different because its not so light but it just feels great to pull.
Grab an electric hopper some time cause this gun will need one.
Consistency is pretty horrible at around +/- 12 but that's not to bad for a beginner gun. HPA would probably help alot.
Some things others want to know.

Q: why is the expansion chamber loose?
A: I honestly don't know but don't worry it will tighten when the c02 is on

Q: i'm having problems with the velocity of my gun
A: buy a springs kit for a spyder gun

Q:why is this gun so great?
A:it was meant to be
Conclusion: This gun is great for the average joe baller because its cheap, easy to tinker with, electric so you can finally join the electro only club and look great. I could say its good for beginners (and it is) but that would scare away experienced players whom i would recommend this as a backup. I could list why it is perfect for other things to but that would take to long so simply go and buy one. NOW. Your not gone yet i can still see you. GO!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 at 1:32 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pbfastshooter31 Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder's
Some icon guns
Marker Setup: Stock , out of the box jt Excellartor 3.5E
Evolution 2 hopper
Pure enrgy compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper
Diffrent barrel
Strengths: Pretty fast
Looks sharp
Weaknesses: None really , excpt it chops paint like crazy if you dont have a good hopper
Review: This is a pretty good beginer gun , and i didnt really have any problems with it (but i only had it for a day ). I think the biggest thing was how it chops paint. Evry time i tried to shoot a little faster i would have to stop and clean it because it would always chop paintballs. After i put my evloution 2 hopper on it wasnt much of a problem.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun expctly if your a beginer , i give it a 9 because with out a decant hopper it will chop alot of paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sanchezh Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5 E-Grip
14" Spyder Barrel Ultra Blitz
16oz Pure Energy C02
Tippmann SSL-200 Electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel and An Electronic hopper 12v
Strengths: Accuracy and Very Fast
Weaknesses: Only chopped 2 paintballs,that was before electronic hopper.
Review: Its a simple gun to use and the safety feature that it has. The accuracy of the gun and speed is great. It doesnt chop many painballs. You will have alot of fun with this gun. The gun is cheap to purchase right now if you find it, It sells for about $80. I payed more for it, But its worth It.
Conclusion: Its a very great gun for beginners. This gun is accurate, shoots pretty fast. Only up grades that it needs is a longer barrel and a electronic hopper 12v. You wont be dissapointed. If you could find this gun at any store that sells paintball guns, Buy It!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

copperfront Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine...feels alot like this gun
Marker Setup: Jt Excellerator e-grip 3.5, drop forward, 16" teardrop custom barrel, 3000 psi tank, evolutionII hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, like a teardrop or a barrel ranging from 40 to 50 bucks. also a hopper if you shoot at a high rof (rate of fire)
Strengths: supports a medium ROF, quite accurate for stock, easy manouvering
Weaknesses: a little heavy, chops paint sometimes, need to replace O-rings ALOT
Review: very good gun! great for begginers to novice players. it is awsome for any paintball enthousiast.it is very accurate with stock settings. ive used this gun for a year now and i must say it is a very very nice gun to own! the only problem is that it chops sometimes but that can be fixed with new hopper. it is a very good intermediate gun if you put like 200 bucks into mods for it. it is also great for learning to do your first mods on. with new barrel and new hopper, i would rate it a 9.5 but just stock probably an 8.5. very nice and cheap. get some for you freinds if you got the money! :D have fun with it!
Conclusion: Get this gun! It is very nice!
Stock: great for begginers/novice
100 bucks on barrel and new hopper: great for novice/intermediate
200+ bucks on barrel, hopper, tank, drop mod, and other little mods: Excellent for more advanced players intermediate/expert
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zdmechanic Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Excellerator 3.0 and 4.0
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5e with Jt one piece 14" barrel, 32 Degrees 6 Stage Expansion Chamber and Trinity Spyder Front Block Assault w Gauge & LPC
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, maybe an anti-chop bolt, expansion chamber. (if planning on using co2)
Strengths: Simple construction, easy to get parts for (spyder compatible), pretty durable.
Weaknesses: Bolt setup
Review: I bought this gun to use as a fun gun, something i could throw different parts on and upgrade. Off the bat the gun was good, although i bought it form ebay, so it was slightly used and under-cleaned.

The main weakness this gun has is the top pin that connects the bolt and hammer. The pin is blown back for re-cock, and when it does it hits the inside of the gun. this caused the rear part of the pin slot to bevel a little, and it pinches the bolt when i try to remove it. Certainly NOT good, because then you have to litterally hammer the bolt out, which totally removes it's quick-dissasemble feature.

Other than that one weakness, the gun is a great baseline gun and fun to add different parts to/customize.
Conclusion: The weakness i explained would keep me from using this gun as a primary marker, but if it's taken care of somehow before it becomes a problem, then this gun would fair well against other low-end markers. Unfortunetly, i give it an 8 simply for the problem i described.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media