paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E / JT Excellerator 3.5E

JT Excellerator 3.5E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Excellerator 3.5E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Excellerator 3.5E
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 7.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
JT®’s Excellerator 3.5™ E-Grip and Excellerator 3.5™ Manual Grip have been designed for the beginner paintball enthusiast! We use only the most advanced materials available to make our markers. Exclusively designed by our JT® Team for all levels of playing, Every 3.5 semi-automatic marker has a Double Trigger, Quick Strip Pin, Vertical FeedPort, Volumizer, Expansion Chamber, Integrated Sight Rail and Die Cast Aluminum Grip Frame. Giving you the tools you need and the quality you expect.
Product Availability 
The JT Excellerator 3.5E is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Street_Balla_21 Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
electras,victors,tlx's
Marker Setup: 04 Superstock with mad ups
Halo B
68 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything
Strengths: it amused me:D
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: Weight--heavy
Looks--not to pretty
Barrel--really small
Bolt--chops
Board--too slow 8bps max
Feedneck-wont fit that much and barely fits a grav for some reason
Frame-sorta comfortable
Trigger-amusing but really sucks
Foregrip--is loose no matter what!!!!!!!
Accuracy--low
Consistancy--horrible
Speed-seriously i shoot alot faster wiht a mech cause i can shoot more than 8bps
Price--too high
Conclusion: DON'T BUY THIS MARKER IT TOTALLY SUCK!!!!!! i give it a 2 cause it amuses me how much it sucks
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pb_4_life Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom-more durable
ION-WAY Better
Marker Setup: ION, 14" Teardrop, Pure Energy 48cu 3000psi, Empire reloader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, a reloader or revy and HPA
Strengths: Price
Simple
Weaknesses: A bit fussy at times
Review: I got this marker in a package from my friends dad for $50 canadian, It came with the gun, a 9oz, VL200, Sqeegee, a JT mask and a barrel plug. This was my first gun and I was very happy to get it, I had it for two years and I have to admit that I had a number of problems with it, but I'm actually glad I did because it was a great learning experience for me and I can now maintain, repair and clean almost any stacked-tube mech marker. Alot of the problems I had with it were very simple, If your marker isn't recocking, clean and grease it.
If it double-fires (or multi-fires) check the o-ring on the hammer, it has to be the right size , make sure the bolt is in the right way, there should be a small notch on the left side to allow the bolt to pass ove the ball detent, if it isn't facing left, the hole that allows air into the bolt will be facing upwards and the air will have nowhere to go and the gun will keep firing until you stop it. This causes damge to your bolt and hammer. Another problem could be that your hammer is stripped, this will cause the gun to fire a number of times before the sear can catch of the hammer, this can be fixed by doing a small amount of machining on the hammer. If it chops, get a new hopper ( a reloader or revy is all you need) and consider switching to HPA.
The rof on this marker is decent for a begginer level gun, the stock barrel is crap, you'll need to spend some money on a new barrel, a J&J will do fine.
If you're having problems with your 3.5e post a comment and I can likely help you.
Conclusion: I can't thank JT enough for how much this gun tought me, I would recommend this marker to any begginer, if you maintain it well it will reward you with great performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 21st, 2006 at 1:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer550 Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
lots of low end mechanical markers
Marker Setup: JT Excelerator 3.5E, revy hopper about to get an ion tho need an upgrade
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barral stok one is ok but not all that great
Strengths: Cheep, trigger, reliability, ROF is nice
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: This is a great gun the price has gone down because you can only get it used now. I can get about 11 bps out so i like it, but it does have its weaknesses its accuracy is fine when you shooting at about 15-20 yards away but anything further is up to chance. This gun is really reliable i know when i pull the trigger its going to fire and the accuracy isn't that big of an issue for me because im an aggressive player and most my shots are within 15 yards i have no problems. The gun will sometimes chop a ball but not to often. maintenance is easy on this gun totally field strip able easy just clean put it back together and your good to go takes about 5 min.
Conclusion: All in all I really like this gun and there are more strengths then weaknesses if you are a beginning player get this gun and if your an intermediate player only use it if your usually up close and personal with the enemy
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Max Gordon Thursday, March 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Imagine.
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator no upgrades Yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bigger Barrell.
New Hopper
Strengths: Easy accessibility for cleaning
Weaknesses: Short Barrell
Not to fast
Review: A good marker, Definitely recomend a Bigger barrell. At First the Trigger pull was slower but I took off the sideplates and there are two screws side by side. I fiddled with those and the trigger became closer the the gun which allowed faster triggerpull. better for speedball also good bushball gun.
Conclusion: Good gun for a good price. I Definitely recomend buying it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Front Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy

Marker 2:
JT Acclerator W/E-Grip 3.5
14in. Smartparts Progressive
12 Volt Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. NEW BARREL
2.Electronic Hopper
3.Nitro. Tank
4. Delrin Anti-Chop Bolt
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to maintain
Small/Light
Weaknesses: Chops at high ROF's
Velocity adjuster breaks easily
Review: For a beginners marker this is a good choice. Straight out of the box this needs upgrades as do all low end markers. However as you get better, you definitely need to upgrade to a better marker. Also it is Spyder threaded.

+CHEAP
This marker is cheap. For a package on EBay you can get the Marker, Squeegee, Hopper, Basic cleaning/repair kit, 9oz. tank, and mask for 70$.

+EASY TO MAINTAIN
This marker is very basic to maintain. After a day of play, you can clean your whole marker in about 20 Mins.

+SMALL/LIGHT
This is a small and light marker that presents a low profile. However it does have a big feed neck, so the hopper does stick up just a little, but not much.

-CHOPS AT HIGH ROF'S
BEWARE! At high ROF's(Anything above 10) this turns into a blender. You have been warned!

-VELOCITY ADJUSTER BREAKS EASILY
After prolonged use the threads on the velocity adjuster were stripped so that it seemed like they were never there. I had to totally re-thread the whole thing.


Conclusion: For a beginners marker this is a good start. It works with all grades of apint, and is very forgiving. However it does need upgrades right out of the box.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tysend Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
throwing paintballs
Marker Setup: 2005 ACI Blind Rage
Black Revolution
88/4500 Pure Energy air

Used to be:
JT Exellerator 3.5
Black Revolution
12 ounce C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything - not a thing on this gun works well if it works at all
Strengths: Very cheap.
Weaknesses: Everything .
Review: The first time I tried out this gun I checked the velocity and it was about 370 so I adjusted it as far as it would go and it only went down to around 350. I thought that this wouldn't matter much cause I could just clip the spring so when I did that and finally got it workin again it it was choppin paint and the balls were flying all over the place. The other times that I used it always broke down so I sold it and got an ACI Blind Rage. The Blind Rage never breaks down and is extremely fast and accurate. The Exellerator is the worst and most frustrating gun I have ever used.
Conclusion: DO NOT BUY THIS GUN. you may think that you are getting a good deal because of the price but you should just keep saving and get something way better.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TerrorTrooper Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (Second Marker)
Eclipse Ego (current Marker)
Zeus G2+ (Back up/scenario marker)
Marker Setup: Eclipse Ego (Blue to Silver Fade)
JT Proteus Clear.
VL Evolution 2 (Y Board)
+ Zeus G2 as a backup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a cheap electronic hopper like a revvi.
possibly a gun bag.
Not much else available in the UK
Strengths: Reliable.
Build Quality.
Ease of Cleaning.
Decent Battery Life.
Weaknesses: Lack of Trigger Adjustment.
Trigger pull quite long and heavy for Electro gat.
Review: Well, although i have also reviewed an Ego, Zeus & Ion on here, this was my first marker and i havent seen JT markers on here before, so i will review it now, even though i no longer have it.
This review is pretty honest as i have come a long way since i got this marker, i now own an Ego and play tourney, also, walk ons/Big games (for the woodsballer in me..)

The story behind my purchase.
For many years ive been using rental Tippmans, Infernos, and other popular site rentals, and myself and my mates have been using pumps that run on 12g sparklets.
Only last year i found the great paintball community in its full glory and found somewhere i can get both CO2 & HPA. So, time to get something Decent.

I bought this marker in a Kit with a VL200 hopper, JT N-vadar mask, 12 Oz CO2 (or rather i got 2 kits for the price of 1) second made a great Xmas gift for my best m8.
Aslo, 2 more of my mates went half & half and got a 2 for 1 kit for themselves too, so we had 4 of em.

On Opening the Package :-
it came in a plastic, hermetically sealed casing that needs to be cut to open with a knife
or big scissors. this isnt a major problem, but it means you have no where to safely store your marker and prevent damage, if you have an expensive kit bag, then it wouldnt be a problem, but many use normal sports holdalls and i wrap my marker in a towel
whenever its not in use. a Gun bag wouldnt go amis either.
First of all, i was impressed with this marker. The build quality felt good, it was easy to strip, and was a great marker for me to learn on.
it came with a small ammount of gun oil, and some spare O rings and some tools.

Stripping/Cleaning :-
I never had any real complications with this marker with stripping & cleaning, its generally a low maintenence gun, unless you have a break and get your bolt covered in paint, it doesnt need stripping often, although i do anyway.
All 4 of our JT Excellerator 3.5's were a breeze to look after. and we never had any
major faults with them. The 3.5 is a superbly great gun for beginners
on a budget, and who dont want to be outgunned too soon.
My only complaint about stripping, is the battery tends to put some pressure on the board when inserted, but this hasnt resulted in any faults.
In many cheaper markers, the trigger has a lot of side play, the trigger on the 3.5 is nice and sturdy, its also metal, it does have quite a long pull for an e-grip though.
the bolt and pin are easy to remove, so is the pin on the velocity adjuster cap.
but their sturdy enough not to be accidently worked loose and lost.

Looks/Feel :- The General build quality of this marker feels good, and it looks pretty
good too, the milling & paint isnt anything fancy, but its qood quality, my only gripe is with the stock barrel, our guns are all black, and the barrels are silver chromed
as stock, i think it looks out of place, but thats a personal prefference.
The profile of this marker is rather high, the feedneck on it is big, and the same chromed alloy design as the trigger and barrel.

Performance :-
Allthough this gun has a gas through foregrip, it isnt an LPR, this is a high pressure marker, it has fairly decent efficiency though, from a 4 Oz Airsource
cannister, it gets 200 shots easily, whitch is pretty good.
When these markers are run on HPA, there consistency is adequate,
generally +/- 5 FPS over the chrono. Also, if you want to run it off CO2, it
has a built in Volumiser so theres no real need for an anti syphon tube.
Basicly you can stick any air or CO2 on it and it will work fine.
Accuracy, As i stated, i wasnt happy with the chrome look of the barrel, but
performance wise, it was decent, for accuracy and grouping, it easily
ouperforms my stock Ion barrel, and it isnt that fussy on paint. it shoots big
bore paint fine also, and i had no problems with the detents. the only breaks i
had were with REALLY cheap & REALLY nasty Brass Eagle Wild streak Paint.
(This is the worst of the cheap paint ive ever shot, it does have a decent fill, but
its got a waxy, greasy shell..) and when you do get a break, 9 times out of 10 you can keep shooting through it without any burps, failed recocking or jams.
The range of this gun at 280 FPS is on a Par with any other marker.
As for speed, it does have a rather comfortable double trigger that you can walk, but
you cant walk it very fast, With a revvy however, you can quite happily chuck out aproximately 5 BPS, but try and push it much further than that, you may get a chop or 2.
but generally, this gun will chuck out enough paint to keep you in any fight.
This marker has a Mechanical safety, it also has an electronic safety too that you press, your LED will turn red, and it wont engage the solenoid. this double safety is a handy feature, especially for when im rec balling with my m8s down the farm.
My only gripe was the on/off button was a little hard to press, with gloves on, next to impossible.
it also had a low battery LED whitch i thought was a nice touch for a cheap gun.

i actually had the chance to shoot a protium, one of JT's "suposidly" better markers, and to be honest, i preffered the Excellerator 3.5 E-Grip over it any day.

These guns have been tried and tested at a big game, i was using an Ion, while 2 of my m8s were using JT's after 1 or 2 leak problems on the Ion, i was having "Drop off" while walking the trigger, my m8s with the JT's had a trouble free day.
For a bit of rec ball, unless i wanted fast firepower, id take the JT over the Ion.
Conclusion: This gun was Cheap, Reliable, Easy to use, strip & clean. Its no hand cannon, but its more than adequate for the beginner or occasional rec player, the only reason i sold mine was to get a new hopper for my Ego.

if your on a tight budget & want to get into the rec scene, this is the marker for you. its not quite fast enough if your looking to get into the tourney scene.
In retrospect, i wish id kept it as it would make an excellent lender to new players hoping to take up paintball as a hobby.

Note :- to this day, 2 of my 4 mates are still using the JT and they swear by it.
(they are heavilly outgunned by my Ego though, but thats expected)

i will give this gun a 9 as me and it spent some serious quality time together..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TheLastBrunnenG Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-R and Xtra, Tippmann 98 and A5, JT TAC-5, more...
Marker Setup: 1. Black Kingman Spyder Rodeo, CMI Tru-flight 14" barrel, custom sight offset, 30mm Red Dot sight, delrin LP bolt, New Designz Hi Performance LP valve and pin, ANS feedneck, sold this rig a while back.
2. JT Tac-5, 12" J&J Ceramic barrel, 30mm NcStar Red Dot Sight, sold this one too.
3. Now using a stock Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Selling it.
2. Barrel and bolt.
Strengths: Feels tough and solid. Good stock trigger and feedneck.
Weaknesses: Board capped at 7BPS. Weighs a ton.
Review: Owned this for about a week, just long enough to test it a few times. Sold it before I hit the field with it, thankfully. The lowdown:

BARREL - Short stock barrel. Looks mean on the outside, poor interior finish.

FOREGRIP / VOLUMIZER - Functional. Smooth exterior finish can make the expansion chamber / foregrip hard to grip.

DROP / ASA - Drop is fine, but ASA is set so far back on the drop that it negates the effect of having a drop forward at all.

TRIGGER / FRAME - Double trigger is nice with a decent pull. Grip is hard but workable. I'm almost certain the board is recycled from Viewloader's VL Prodigy E-Grip (VL and JT are owned by the same company). Meaning, no matter how fast you pull you aren't getting above 7 BPS. The actual fire rate is likely 10+ BPS, but when you hit 7 it stops responding until 1 second has passed. Semi only, no burst or auto.

BODY - Fugly color, decent milling with an integrated sightrail. The body is bulky and makes the marker weigh a ton. Feels like aiming a cinder block. Feedneck is nice.

INTERNALS - Standard JT top-cocking assembly. Workable but nothing fancy. Chops too often in testing.

OVERALL - Poor detailing and an ungainly body detract from an already bottom-line e-marker.
Conclusion: Not recommended. If you absolutely have to have an e-marker on the cheap, there are better alternatives like the Spyder Imagine or Piranha E-force Ravage / GTI / GSX.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Savant Deviance Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Pro Carbine, Spyder Aggressor

All of these guns are low end, beginner set-up markers. As such, I was expecting the Excellerator to be at least as good as these. I was not dissappointed.
Marker Setup: 3.5 Excellerator, stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel. Although the stock is fairly accurate, and is the best stock barrel I've seen on a low-end marker, a 14 or 16 inch wouldn't hurt. JT uses Spyder threads, so finding a barrel isn't hard at all.

Electronic Hopper. If you do get one, make sure it's top of the line. Even if you aren't able to go full auto, one of those E-hoppers that says 8 bps is NOT going to feed 8 bps.
Strengths: Excellent as stock, awesome quick strip.
Weaknesses: Weight slightly cumbersome. Chops balls if you shoot too quickly w/o revvy.
Review: I've used this gun in several conditions. In the summer, I've used it in the sun, and in the rain, no problems, as expected. In the winter, you'll get slight slowdown on your chrono, but that's mostly because of CO2 expansion rate. For the price, and you HAVE to love a price of $70 for a package deal w/ mask, 9 oz, squeegee, marker, wrenches and extra O-rings, it performed way better than what I expected. It can be a bit heavy, but I play with 12 oz tanks or smaller so no biggie. Under pressure, it will chop balls, but as long as you're firing at a reasonable rate, you'll have no problems. (That's helped me with the problem of wasting paint :D)

A big selling point on this gun is the quick strip feature. I can COMPLETELY take it apart (down to just the empty metal frame and volumizer) in about two minutes or less. Putting it together is just as easy. So finding a problem with the gun/ cleaning after a match is very easy. The velocity screw is also simple to use and will stay put.

The gear that came with the marker was all crap. Brass Eagle tank (valve malfunctioned the second time I played with it) and a very flimsy mask that I'm leery of playing in.

However, the squeegee (plastic pull thru) works loads better than any of my friends' cloth squeegees, and the wrenches are all fine.
Conclusion: Buy it if you're low on money and want a solid marker to play with. It does not go full auto, but that doesn't bother me at all, as I couldn't afford the paint anyways. A few upgrades and you have a highly competetive marker at an affordable price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Destroyer 105 Tuesday, November 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann custom 98, VL Genesis Surge 2
Marker Setup: JT 3.5 exellarator e-grip(black)
Barrel: stock
Hopper: 12v Revvy
Gas: 20oz Pure energy Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast electronic hopper: VL 12v Revolution
Barrel: Proggressive 14inch
Strengths: Gun has a good ROF and range to rival Tippmann A5's
Weaknesses: .Accuracy could be better! Fire around 1000 balls per 20oz of Co2
Review: The gun is made out of a durable anodized aluminium body with an intergrated sight rail (not that is much use the feed port is in the way.). With a full hopper and gas attached the gun is fair weight but balanced thanks to the drop forward bottom-line and the lightweight design of the Revvy hopper. I used the gun at about 280fps and it shot fine although the balls tended to curl right at the end, that didn,t really matter unless you were taking longe range shots. The ROF is fast, approx 10bps i only chopped 1 ball per 100 shot with the revvy hopper. The outside temp was about 20 celsius. The accuracy was good until about80foot when the balls flew about the target a bit, like to the left and right so this gave the impression it was more of a close range tourny gun not a woodsballer gun.
Conclusion: The 3.5 exellarator is a power longe range gun with a decent ROF the only problems are an electric hopper is essential and that the barrel isn't the best around but good for a stock. A decent value for money begginer marker well worth it :-)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media