paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Game Face SKUL Mask / Game Face SKUL Mask / Game Face SKUL Mask

Game Face SKUL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Game Face

Buy Game Face SKUL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Game Face SKUL Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 34
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The two most prominent features of the renowned SKUL goggle ystem are hte one-piece molded design and the remarkable image clarity provided by the high quality lens. This system features anti-fog, and anti-scratch lenses, one piece molded construction, and slanted vents. The mak is flexible enough to discourage paintballs from breaking on impact, while ridges in the design provide a rigidity needed for proper protection. With solid protection for the forehead, temples, eyes, ears, chin and mouth, the SKUL combines an aggressive look with a reasonable price tag.
Product Availability 
The Game Face SKUL Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
justin_kenney68 Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing that compairs to this
Marker Setup: spyder xtra
electric c.a.m.d frame
20 ounce pure energy
vl200 loader
Strengths: It looks cool
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok...where to start on this mask... first of all it looks kinda cool i guess but that is its only pro the cons outweigh the pros by soo much even if the mask is used by detroit thunder it still shouldnt cost 20 bucks make it more like 5 but anyway teh mask fogs like its goin outta style. ok quick story i went out to paint ball with my church just a week ago and i was all fired up to just unload on someone...noone at my chuch had played before and we where up aganst another church who had never even seen a paint ball gun...so i figured it would be easy boy was i wrong these goggles where brand new and i had never used them but they said anti fogg so i figured what teh heck right
well i started playing and about 30 seconds later i couldnt see 3 feet in fron tof my face because it was soo darn foggy!!!!! so i got out like 1 min into the game because i could not see anything
Conclusion: It foggs so bad dont even buy it buy that new grill mask or a dye i hear they are better
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chazmatazz Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proteus 2, Pro Flex, Intermittent other masks (raven, scott, Rage)
Marker Setup: 05 Sonic Cyborg, 5 pc matchstick, 68/45 crossfire, CP on/off, "Ladyborg" (silver/pink fade) 1 of 10 on the planet and it's actually been blessed by a priest with holy water.
Strengths: Looks
comfort
design
cost
fit
Weaknesses: Foam padding is lackluster
Review: I've had my fair share of masks in the 14 years I've been playing paintball. By far the most comfortable one i've owned was my proteus. Seeing as I wasn't the only one at my local field who had one, I went in search of a unique mask, and settled on a Raven, which became slightly popular as well, and then the Vents came out...and soon everyone had either a set of Cylus, Vents or E-vents, so I bought the Skul mask in white. Everyone asks me how much I paid for them and where I bought them, I'll tell them how much (30$ CAN) but I sure as hell wont tell em where. Anyways, it's seen it's fair share of game time, and it's held up just fine the entire time. And since I'm the only guy at our park who owns a pair of these goggles, that sets me apart as well, and to me that's more important than jumping on the bandwagon and looking like a carbon copy of everyone else.
This mask looks BAD-A$$ too, and gives a certain intimidation advantage to those newer players who buy their Kingman gun/tank/hopper/mask combo sets. And you can't beat the price...
The fact that this mask is a 1 piece design made of soft rubber is a godsend, I've taken my share of head and face shots, and without actually giving out a percentage, it's saved me from the dead box quite a few times. There were even times I was sure the ball broke, and when I reached up to touch, there wasnt a drop of paint or shell anywhere.
Now for those players who complain about getting shot while wearing these masks and it "slapping" against your face and leaving red marks and such, don't be such Pu$$ies. It's a helluva lot better than getting shot in the cheek without anything there to stop the ball. And besides, if you can't take the occasional hurt, don't play paintball. Find some other hobby to suit pansies like...model airplanes or stamp collecting.
Conclusion: It's probably the best bang for your buck as far as goggles go. You can't beat the 20-30$ price for such an innovative mask. It does everything Gameface claims it does, and it makes you look like some psycho undead maniac while doing it. Oh, and for those whining about visors, just buy the JT visor, it'll fit on the Skul, but it'll totally throw the look off
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Larry.Omen Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never Needed another Product
Marker Setup: Dragun TES
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
CP Flame Drop
Spyder FASTA
Strengths: Bounce
Easy to Clean
Flexible, so balls don't break easy
Looks Good
Weaknesses: No Visor
Kinda cheap lining around the eyes, came off after a few weeks.
Review: Strengths: I have had this mask for over three years, and I've never had a reason to get another one. The flexible material make it both comfortable and durable in all cases. I never have a problem cleaning it and removing the lense is a breeze. In play, it performs flawlessly, I never have to re-adjust and sometimes I get lucky with a ball bounce off the flexible body of the mask.

Weaknesses: The non-visor problem isn't really a big issue with me, I've never worn sunglasses a day in my life. However The lining around the eyes is kind of annoying in the fact that I have to glue it back on every now and then. (very difficult task considering it is a foam padding.)
Conclusion: Overall great product that will last a good long time. I don't know if they are available anymore, but if you can find one and are looking for a long term investment: definately go for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjg92 Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I don't know the name of it, but a rental mask at DFW Adventure Park. It was OK I guess, but a tad uncomfortable.
Marker Setup: Sypder Xtra with 14" Teardrop barrel and trigger modification.
Gravity fed 200 round hopper.
Strengths: Comfy.
Bounces balls.
Nice lense, no fog for the most part.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: Tricky if you wear glasses.
Removing the lense isn't the easiest thing ever.
Review: I bought this at an academy about a year ago. At first I just wanted a cheap mask to get me started, with a few special features in mind (anti-fog and flexible). I was immediately impressed by this mask, it was comfy.
The next time I went out to play I forget this mask and used a rental mask, which was not nearly as nice as this mask. The next time I remembered it, and I've been happy with it ever since. I can always see my sides, as well as right in front of me, clearly. Sometimes it fogs the tiniest bit, and sometimes when paint gets on it you'll get frustrated, but cleaning it off is easy.
I can't vouch for the bounce factor, mainly because I've never been hit anywhere bouncy. It seems ever time I get hit in the face it's in the goggles. I can certainly believe this mask would bounce balls though, because (especially around the cheek area) its very flexible.
My dad and I have modded the mask a little bit. Basically we built in a little neck protector deal. I was glad because next time I played I got bonus balled in the neck.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to pretty much everyone low on money or who just dosen't want to spend it all on a mask. There isn't any reason to spend a buttload of money on a mask if you can get a perfectly good mask for $25 unless you're aiming for a super low profile or really cool looks (this mask looks nice, but it's not exactly jaw-dropping). I'm giving this a ten, because it's the best I've used and I don't see how it gets much better than this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heartsetafire Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT, proto rental masks
Marker Setup: Vexor Eye for now with everything stock. just add a loader and tank with air
Strengths: Cheap, good, does it jobs and people at Gameface
Weaknesses: Not really scratch proof. never bounce of a paintball yet.
Review: Hhmm... first of all i never knew why people would want to get additional lense and where to get
more lenses. So now having a mask on my own i would know why.
I got this mask wee long long time ago and it is a big improvement.
I have only tried 2 other masks which is JT and proto. I tried them while playing in those
rental fields. And we have to rent them. As usual i wear glasses. And using the rental masks it
is terrible, it is like wearing a horse blinds which can see straight and my glasses dun fit
into the mask. And rental mask SMELLS ! yuck...
So anyway thanks to the people at gameface for being able to ship to me these skul masks.
Order a few for my friends too.
So first things first. Packaging is always great from gameface. all nicely packed and in good
condition when arrive from USA. I am from Malaysia.
And fitting it on it is loose. I have to pratically go over the entire rubber band to fit to my
small Asian head i am only 175cm tall 75kg. Must be built for big people the mask.
Anyway nothing about it the clips hold tight with strips of tacky rubber running along the band
so it never slips. I never did any modification to the mask to fit my head.

Second thing about the quality of the product is that the sponges which runs in the inside,
it is glued on and the position is a bit off from the plastic. Some of the sponge are just
hanging mid air. hope gameface can look into this.

Then to test it out with my glass. I am wearing a rudy project kabrio. It is quite a big specs
with flip up black lense. And guess what IT FITS RIGHT IN with more space to move too.
And the vision it is great ! the website says it shows 270 degree. So this is indoor test.

So here i am head ready to head out to the field knowing from other forums and reviews that
the lense which comes with anti fog will initially fog up. And i play speedball with this mask
and yes after 3 minutes of running around and diving under the hot sun IT FOG! but upon
closer inspection it is not the lense that fog up, it is my glasses that fog up.

So for 3 month of every weekend game i washed and use it and never once it fog up. I played
in jungle field too and it never fog up also. So it is true and live up to its name. FYI
previous rental masks fogs up all the time.

Now the anti scratch material. Well i do not know up to which pressure or impact the lense is
scratch proof. I tested it on the first day i got the mask with a sharp pen knife, i gently
scrath the sides of the lense with a small Z. Till today the mark Z is still here. And just
last weekend game in jungle field i dropped if on the ground front first and there were two
deep scratches on it. Luckily it is just above the nose and still good visibility from it too.
Guess the anti scratch mentioned is only for paintball impacts only.
So far those are the only scratches i see on the lense. I have taken a few direct hits on the
lense and no scratches on it even using a cloth to wipe off the shell and paint between games.

Ok next the bounce factor. Well serious all hits to my mask break. Maybe the other guys
marker was not chrono properly. However one point to share though, i got hit on the neck just
yesterday. However i THINK it scrape the bottom of the mask and sort of like roll down. SO my
scar is abour 2 inch down my throat. I guess a bit of the bounce factor do work here.

Another thing is the vents. They are a bit too big. Every time i get hit on the face, the tiny
bits of the pellet shells can come in and hit my skin. 2 times i got direct hit and two time
the shell flew in and create small cuts on my face and it stinks. And i got paint all over my
face too when that happens. And the paintball oil it tastes sweet i vowed for that because i
tasted them before.

And the flex of the mask is great it is a comfort to wear it.
Other than that this mask is a real good deal, it does it job and it is comfortable and it is
cheap.
Conclusion: if you are a beginner TAKE IT. it serves the purpose. dun worry it will protect you. It is comfortable and it is fog FREE ! Plus you get to taste different types of paint
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrbacon Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT elite - not as comfortable as the Skul
Proteus- More comfortable, but inconvenient with glasses
Marker Setup: Ego,d.a.r.t. bolt, Freak kit, Crossfire 68/4500
Turtled e-orracle, freeflow internals, palmers micro rock, CP Grip regulator
Strengths: Looks nice
Comfortable
Fits easily over glasses
Price
Weaknesses: No visor
Lens is hard to remove
Review: I personally like this mask. Comfortable, looks nice (I have the Carbon fiber print one), does the job it is supposed to do. I have a difficult time finding a good mask that will fit over my glasses (before you start bombarding me with "this mask works for me" responses remember that different sized heads and glasses affect fit). The Skul's only weakness in my eyes is the lack of a visor.
Conclusion: A good mask, does the job it is intended to do. Decent price, and works well with glasses.
I recomend this product and give it a slightly above average review. Had it come with a visior it would have scored a 7 or 8
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

roy_mafioso Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite , Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impule with Black Heart Board
Freak barrel 16 "
4500 PSI Pure Energy Tank
Halo B with Rip Drive and Victory Board
Strengths: Very Cheap
Anti Fog
Weaknesses: Non visor
Very dificult to find lens
Review: This mask has been great, far exceeds anything I have personally used from Scott, and a few other masks.

Never had any sort of fogging issues,

Has outstanding coverage of the face, keeps all those place you dont want to be hit covered extremely well

Cheap price, this is a key thing, cause just cause everyone else seems to be sponsored and can afford a Prodeus, doesnt mean that us normal folk want to drop that kinda cash on a mask.
Conclusion: Great product. My first choice for low cost masks. Go buy it. It's around $20.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 8th, 2006 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrndayPaintball Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagles, JTs
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
ACS Venturi Bolt
Smart Parts Progressive 14'' Barrel
Ricochet Apache LED Hopper
Strengths: Awesome Lookin
Lightweight
Almost never fogs
Weaknesses: Upward slits make paint go in mouth if it busts on mask
Review: Ok overall, i love this mask!!!its cool looking, never fogs up, easy to clean, and does pretty good for protection. The only downsides are that the slits in it go upward, so if you get hit in the area around your mouth, it sprays paint all in your mouth(this happened to me). Other than that, this mask is awesome. Go buy one!!
Conclusion: Go buy one, it is awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pigpen1116 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3M, evil detonator, evil pneumatics, aim rods, ND on/off asa, ND rail.
Halo - B
Pure Energy 68-3k tank
Strengths: Cheap
Good visiblity
Stays on head well
Weaknesses: Not much jaw protection
Review: Overall this is a decent entry level mask. It is very cheap and effective. There is no anti fog option which is ok for me. There is good visibility (not excellent) and it stays put on your head. There is not much jaw protection and there is no visor. I would recommend getting something with more visibility.
Conclusion: Good and sturdy product which has served me well for years.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drvannostrin Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot CAMO electronic with CAMD
Spyder Delrin ACS bolt
CCM no-rise feed neck w/quick connect
Evo II hopper with Z Board
DYE Sticky grips 3 (black)
Red dot laser sight (custom threaded into front of expansion chamber)
Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA tank
Smart Parts rifled barrel 14"
Strengths: Comfortable
Intimidating
Cool factor
Different from any thing out there.
Weaknesses: Only one.

Fogs up in extremely cold weather (about 25 degrees)
Review: I wore this mask for a full 8 hours on a Saturday afternoon and was very pleased with the bounces I was getting. Most people have not seen a SKUL mask and especially the SKUL 3D. I had to let at least a dozen guys know where I bought it. (Which was directly from Game Face's website) and what I paid for it.

I found that the vents that are cut into the mask lend themselves nicely to integrating my VOX headset wires. You can even tell I have a two way installed in my mask.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this mask to anybody who wants to stand out a be different from the rest of the crowd. This mask has it all. Looks, performance, Style all rolled into an affordable price.

All of the other masks look alike and I really dont like looking like an insect, which is the case with almost everything else out there. Some of the new designs are really ugly to look at and when you thin about it, the masks whole purpose it to protect you, which a ten dollar mask will do.

Spending upwards of a hundred dollars with just give you an overpriced mask, wheras the SKUL 3D cost as much as the entry level masks at the local sporting goods store.

Since I wasnt able to choose the rating I wanted, which is a 9.5, I decided to give the mask a solid 9, only because you can block the holes below the lens to keep it from fogging up at all, which should be a snap in option for extreme cold weather players.


Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 17th, 2005 at 7:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media