paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85

ATS AT85 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ATS

Buy ATS AT85

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ATS AT85
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $599

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi or full auto gun that can shoot up to 12 rounds per second. It holds 85 rounds regulary, but with an adaptor that allows a hopper to hook into the magazine it can hold a lot more.
Product Availability 
The ATS AT85 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
SPARTAN-II Sunday, July 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals
Marker Setup: Tactical AT-85 with Red Dot Scope.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A gas through CAR Stock is a must for this marker because it provides you with an easy and comfortable route for your remote line to leave your gun into your HPA or Co2 (note that you have to have a remote line for a gas through stock). I also reccommend that if you order this from ATS that you mention you want a straight Air Source Adaptor (ASA) rather than an angled one (trust me it is much more comfortable and it can get rather costly if you decide to change it later on where if you get it when you order the gun, I think it is only $10 dollars more).
Strengths: ACCURRACY! This is the most accurrate gun I have ever seen! Also realism is incredible.
Weaknesses: Buy HPA. This gun is very tough to run well on Co2.
Review: Where to begin. This gun is my prime choice in a marker because it is soo much different than any of the competition out there. I'm not saying Tippmans or Angels arent cool or anything, It's just the satisfaction you get from changing the selector from safety to semi or full auto with the flick of a switch and sighting (or scoping) in on your prey and hearing your teammates yell "HIT THE DECK!" or "TAKE COVER!" The next Key factor is magazines and forward loaders, Hoppers anyone? You wont find one on an AT-85 unless you don't mind having a hopper and want to have extra ammunition and buy a hopper adaptor clip which inserts right where a normal magazine does except it sits more on the side rather than the top giving you less of a chance of being hit in the hopper still.Next up is accurracy. I can honestly say I dont know any gun out there that can match up to the accurracy of an ATS gun. This bad boy can shoot at 4 to 6 inch groupings at 25 meters. To me that comes in pretty handy when taking the role of a sniper.Now if this doesn't get you drooling already then there are only a few other things I can tell you that will; ball breakage 0/6000 for all ATS guns which basically means throw away your squeegee. Non-electric full auto, you heard me right throw away your batteries while your at it. Finally, Loudness, yes I said loudness and it's a good thing and only fellow ATS owners can know he satisfaction of your enemies running away from you while your opening a can of whoop@55 on their sorry buhtays.
Conclusion: All around, the AT-85 is a very reliable gun, and being an owner of one I know just how good this baby is, so therefore I give it a perfect *10*. Just remember, if you treat it right meaning dont bash it up and abuse it, it will treat you right as well. Now that I'm through with my review you better have another browser window pulled up ordering an ATS gun as your reading this. If not, lets hope you don't meet an ATS toting player on the field or you will wish you had taken my advice and spent the money and bought one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 13th, 2003 at 8:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ST.Rage Thursday, June 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Tippeman, Spyder, Automag, Brute
Marker Setup: AT-85
M16 carry handle
four extra foreloaders
M4 CAR stock
gas thru adpater from funsupply.com
32 degrees Coiled Remote
ACI quick Disconnect
Angel A.I.R. 4500 psi 88ci HPA tank
Flurry Tactical vest with 4in1
sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gas thru adapter and CAR stock
Extra fore loaders or else the VL magazine.
Strengths: Extremely accurate.
Intimidating
Loud
The ability to switch to full auto on the fly.
Light
Weaknesses: Parts are expensive
requires some maintenence
low carrying capacity
Loud (not good for sneaky players)

Review: I just used my AT-85 at the Oklahoma D-Day Scenario game last weekend and I was getting hits that were amazing me. I would fire and think to myself "there is now way I hit him" and then suddenly up would go the marker and he would walk off the field. This happened again and again. Players were constantly coming up to me and asking how I liked it, how much it costed, what is it etc etc etc. When I was running around in the hot Oklahoma sun I was really happy with the weight. I was using my autococker in the morning since my squads mission needed more stealth, But when the afternoon cam around and Wisconsin Death Trip was cut loose I switched to my AT-85 and ruled the airfield. I noticed a big difference with the weight then since my cocker is kinda a pig. Do not I repeat do not overfill the foreloaders. It becomes extremely hard to get the balls to fall into the magazine. I think they should have made the foreloaders opening a little bigger. The range is incredible. I think ATS is kinda ripping people off with their prices though. Not so much on the base model of the AT-85 but with the accessories. I purchased a carry handle from an airsoft store for $50 compared to ATS's $150 pricetag. I also purchased an M4 stock on Ebay for $25 and a gas thru adapter from funsupply.com for $35 w/ shipping. ATS charges $100 for those two parts and refuse to sell the gas thru adapter separately if u already have an M4 stock. A real M4 CAR stock works just fine. www.funsupply.com are the guys who make the gas thru adapter. You will have to email the guy asking for the part but he will sell it to ya no problem.
Conclusion: If u can get past the ATS high priced accessories it is an awesome marker! I love mine. If you don't mind some basic maintenence u will love yours. I give it a 9 due to the high prices.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kutulu Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL+ (compare? OK, they both shoot paint.)
Viper M1 (Getting there, but AT-85 is way better)
Marker Setup: ATS AT-85 Tactical with Leapers 3-9x40mm scope w/mount, 23' AT-16 barrel, Harris bipod, ATS modified trigger assembly, PSG-1-style sniper grip, CAR stock with remote to 3000psi Maxflow or 13ci HPA tank w/stock from ATS
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, you could go all out and turn your gun into a sniper rifle with all the upgrades I have, or do just about anything you want to it to suit your style of play. Oh, and get the modified trigger assembly. It's only like $25, and it's the best non-electric trigger I've ever felt.
Strengths: Durability
Versatility
Reliability
Innovativeness
Accuracy
Intimidation (notice this is last on the list)
Weaknesses: Complexity
Uniqueness
Review: This gun is truly a piece of work. There is literally nothing like it on the paintball market as I am writing this review. Even as countless Armotech-clones fill the milsim/scenario market, they are just Spyder and Tippmann copies, dressed up to look like M-4's. The first thing you notice about this gun is that it looks scary, but that is the least important thing about it. This is a review of the 85's performance, not its appearance, so here goes: Since my mantra as far as all of my equipment goes is "Durability, Versatility, Reliability," I'll handle those aspects of the gun first.

Durability: This thing's made out of high-impact plastic, which I believe is an innovation in itself for paintball. I don't know of any other guns made of this kind of quality, lightweight plastic. And the gun is much lighter as a result. The bottom line is: The gun will not break if you abuse it a little, which you shouldn't, if you can help it, of course.

Versatility: Well, you saw the list of what I did to mine! It's true that there aren't many aftermarket accessories for the '85, but most of these accessories of which we speak are redundant teflon/delrin/venturi/super-bolts, all of which are claimed to be superior by their manufacturers. ATS just gets everything right the first time with their guns. And the line of ATS accessories is plenty enough for me. You can even buy new receivers to convert the gun to AT-4, 10, or 16 models! As you can see above, my gun is an AT-85 "Tactical" or "Tactical-85," which is the model that comes with a flat-top rail and removable tactical carry handle (a la M-16), which also affords you access to the plethora of M-16/AR-15 accessories that can be found in today's gun market.

Reliability: This is the most important. The gun has to work for you when you need it to, which is always, and the AT-85 does. If this gun screws up on you, it's your fault. Trust me; it's happened to me before. Enough about that.

Innovativeness: This gun has more unique innovations than a Maxim machine gun. It's basically completely unique. The operating system is incomparable to anything on the paintball market today. It's operating system is actually more closely related to gas-operated, select-fire assault rifles than paintball guns. On top of that, the magazine-fed system prevents you from ever chopping a paintball, provided your magazine is properly indexed, and is also a miniature warp-feed-type thing. There's just too much to list here, just go to their website or save yourself the trouble and buy one.

Accuracy: Oh yes. This is THE most important performance aspect for me personally. I am always in pursuit of greater accuracy, and this gun has it. This is due to it's extremely good bolt and the bolt's operation, as well as the unisizer (any paint size fits perfectly, no inserts, no barrel changing, period), and the high-quality ATS barrel. This thing shoots like my brother's autococker with freak system.

Intimidation: It's beautiful. And it's loud. I love to shoot this thing on full auto. If you want to hear it, there's a recording of it on the website as well.

OK, now the weaknesses.

Complexity: Yes. This thing will confuse even experienced paintball players. Just get used to the fact that you're going to blow out like ten guide plates, so buy extras when you order the gun! (OK, so I exaggerated, but those things are easy to blow out!) Just never dry fire the gun without a magazine, OK?

Uniqueness: OK, so this can be a good thing, but it really cuts down on the normal customization options you have for your gun. Fortunately, ATS supplies some pretty good customization options, but the path of the AT-85 owner is a lonely one.
Conclusion: I don't give many tens. Today, I give one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2004 at 1:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

modernbackwoods Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
thre are no other markers like this one
Marker Setup: at 85 with car stock, vl mag, 12v revolution loader, 91 ci hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
no upgrades needed but i would get the vl mag and a regular mag to fit all styles of play
Strengths: extreamly accurate. shoots layers not groups

no batteries to run down or worry about
Weaknesses: not for new player. you must maintain it to get the best performance.
Review: I got mine off of e-bay for a good price but now that I have it I would have paid twice msrp for it. It is great for scenario games and open play even though you may have to block the switch from full-auto. The vl mag is great for those who use alot of paint, but the regular mag really completes the look.
Conclusion: This marker is worth every penny you spend. I does take a few hours to completely understand everything you need to know about it but the video helps a lot. Thats right video not a 4 page manuel, these guy didnt mess around. The out of box accuracy alone is worth the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

[CWB]warmachine Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only product that i can think of thats similar is a tippman a5 with an electroni trigger and i perfer the at85 to it because i dont need any electronics or batteries
Marker Setup: stock at 85 with a 47ci crossfire steel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a bottomline if you have an angled asa
Strengths: the fact that there is no loader blocking you vision and the auto fire feature
Weaknesses: steep learning curve and can be complicated to get running
Review: very impressed with this gun it reduced my amount of paint useage and i found it very effivient on air i got an averrage on 500 shots with a 47 ci tank i like the idea of having to change pre loaded clips and mags it adds a new dimennision to the game. and it is a real haed turner on the field and it loud so it gets poeples attention. i alos like not aving the loader especially when you play gun shot eliminations because it reduces you porfile
Conclusion: i would highly reccomend this gun for someone who want something different and who likes the not having a loader in the line of sight.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RocketDSM Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like this before
Marker Setup: Centerflag 88/4500 HP Tank, Straight ASA, VL Magazine (modded)
Recommended
Upgrades:
CAR Stock, VL Magazine, Straight ASA
Strengths: Intimidation, Unique
Weaknesses: Weight, Parts
Review: This is one awesome gun. But it definitely limits what roles you can play on the field. For over ten years I've been playing sniper or pistol-packer. This gun does not allow for stealthy operations. It is LOUD, and you will be known on the field after the first time you open up. I got lots of extra looks and became a target on the field. I've only played with it once and my accuracy was very poor. I found some of my balls were dimpled still in the case, so I think that may have been paint rather than the gun. Especially since most everyone else raves over the accuracy of this gun. I modded the VL magazine to accept balls from the front loader also. About halfway through the day I found a few bent pins in my magazine. I think they bent from balls jamming in magazine rather than being mis-indexed...this is because I never dropped the clip all day long until then, so how can it become un-indexed? My own fault for trying to modify the gun from stock. It was nice having almost 300 balls on gun, but not worth busting a mag for. The base color of the gun was great for blending in to foliage, which I didn't expect. It is a bit large if you like to low-crawl across fields.
Conclusion: Overall, I wouldn't want any other gun for a full size marker in the modern arena. After living on a pump "rifle" for ten years, this was a great second gun. I recommend it to everyone, but don't be disillusioned on what this gun is.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SOFD_DELTA Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann C98 sniper with response trigger
Marker Setup: ats85 with gasthru stock and remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
more magazines and maybe a stock+exp chamber (if you use co2)
Strengths: Accuracy (extreme accuracy up to 150ft good upto about 200ft)
ROF the full auto option is cool 12bps is just right
No hopper uses magazines an gives it a cool realistic feel and look
light makes a model 98 stock seem heavy
cool look
reliable and rarely needs repairs
Weaknesses: few upgrades, kinda loud (but with a silencer the sound is no real problem but i like the sound makes it realistic)
Conclusion: BUY ONE GO BUY IT NOW WHY HAVE YOU BAOUGHT ONE YET seriously this is like a milsim version of an autococker in my opinion and is worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jumbo Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom cocker, spider, tippmans, phantom
Marker Setup: ATS AT-85 with shortened factory trigger pull, allen paintball 45 grip, smartparts maxflow 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gun must be run on compressed air, and get a 45 grip, shortened pull trigger made by ATS
Strengths: I choose the ATS AT-85 because it is known for its accuracy. Which I have found to be as good as a custom cocker I played with. It is very light and has no hopper. It works very well if the directions are followed in the video and instruction booklet. The gun has some very specific sequences that must be followed or it will not work correctly. I wrote down all the sequences of turning the gun off and on until I had them memorized. If you follow the instructions the gun will work flawlessly. If you don't you will bent the pins that feed the balls and you will spend the next 30 minutes fixing them. I like the gun the more I play with it. It is becoming very easy to shot fast and accuratelly. The gun is very well made and I'm very happy with it.
Weaknesses: This is not a paint spraying gun unless you purchase the loader attachment. I don't use more than 500 balls a day so it suits me fine. If you can't follow directions and aren't willing to take the time to watch the video and read the book don't buy this gun. You will not have any fun and you will ruin it. If you spend the time you will be very happy. The gun has a distictive sound, almost a bark. I think it is caused by the barrel. The sound hasn't bothered me. Only problem I had with the gun is the first time I played I squeezed the clip at the location of the indexer (it is a round plastic peice on the outside of the clip used to index the clip and it actually turns everytime the gun is fired) and I bent some clip pins because it couldn't turn. I figured it out and haven't had a lick of trouble since.
Conclusion: Not a gun for everyone but It is perfect for my type of play. I spent my first 3 years playing with a phantom pump gun. So I wanted something that was as accurate in a small light package. I have been very pleased so far. My only annoyance with the gun is everyone wants to know about it. I spend all day showing how the clip works. I wish more people would buy one. I really like to use it against guns costing 3 times as much and wining. No batteries is cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eyes Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months34 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Name a semi-action blow-back, semi-action closed bolt/full auto open-bolt, full auto closed-bolt/custom alien crap and I've probably shot it.
Marker Setup: Stingray II: www.stinggroup.addr.com Everything and then some. (plus it's magic!)
Back up gun:
ATS AT-85, bottomline addon and tourny trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ummmmm......Lot's of clips (forward loader), bottom line is snazzy.
Strengths: Mechanical awesomness.
Weaknesses: Ummmmm........
Review: We'll start with the fireing system:
semi/full auto (12bps is handy and fun to say) and.....ready for the cool part?.....NO FREAK'N BATTERIES! Select fire switch at easy reach for your thumb, no annoying dip switches to flip with an allen wrench whilest you're being shot at. The semi auto is very formitable too, I have used this in a speed ball tourny and it can hold down anything (the wonderful accuracy has a great deal to do with this but more on that later) This is all done by a NASA engineered three way which is impossible to describe.

Accuracy:
So many speed ball players have fallen to the use of the Freak barrel system, based on the known fact that "If everyone has it, therefore; it must be cool." (That, and they're too lazy to find paint that matches their barrel. A fun thing to do with your Stingray II to pass the time.)
This fact also goes with the "I have to have an Impulse/Angel/'Cocker/E-mag to win" mentality.
Anyway.....
Buy a freak system and you have bought half the gun. The barrel has an ingenious devise in the base of the barrel that when the ball is chambered (this is a closed bolt system which really means nothing, but it's also fun to say and makes 'cocker owners cry) it adjusts to the shape of the ball. This is due to some spiffy urethane rings.....that's about the best way to describe them.

Loading:
"How does a gun without a hopper load?"
Well I'll tell you O'Curious One. It has a POCKET WARP FEED! Lower profile and feeds just as fast. It's a bloody clip. "Does it use air?" No! It's chain driven mechanism feeds the balls from the clip UP (defying gravity here) and into the gun with every shot.

"Sounds Complicated, doesn't it jam more than a neglected 'cocker?"
Nonsese poopy pants. All the parts are engineered to the highest degree of accuracy (Von Braun engineers teamed up with NASA and Swiss watchmakers to design this thing) making it impossible to jam due to the guns mechanics. The only way to jam it is to grasp the feed disk thingy on the right side of the clip (AT owners know what I'm talking about here and have probably done it) while the gun is shooting. In return the gun will start mashing the half way fed ball into pulp.

To answer some other questions; Yes, the gun is made of plastic. This has been for some reason labled as a bad move by players on the gun manufactures part. This line of thinking right up there with "My gun has to have batteries to be intimidating." The ATS AT-85's body is made of the same material that Glock makes their pistols. To break it, the head Dude at ATS, Rob, cranked the gun up to 490 feet per second and went full auto balistic about two inches away on the thinest part of the body (reciever, where the mag is loaded) of another AT. After about thirtyish rounds the part broke. But ofcouse, if someone shot you from that far away going that fast, you'd have more problems then just your gun breaking.

Oh, and on regulation of velocity. Most people will brag at a tourny about +- 3fps on their chrono. I chronoed mine at a tourny at 298.....for the WHOLE day. Without any shoot down. Needless to say, the refs checked me after each round, and still nothing moved. This was on my $120 Pure Energy nitro tank. This beat out the others' Max Flo's/ADG Flatlines/Angel AIR's/ and Armageddon tanks ALL of which, I might add, are well over 300 bucks new.

The BadAss factor: on a scale of 1-10= 4,000,000.
This brings us to the next aspect of this beauty: Uniqueness.
Nobody has this gun. People take pictures of me with it, while they don't give the $2,000 Angels a second glance.

One more thing....

It's loud and scary....and black and awesome
Conclusion: BUY ONE!

Now you fool! Why are you still reading this?!?! Go! And lay wast unto your friends' world and feast upon the bones of their children!


(Scenario games RULE!)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 1st, 2012 at 11:08 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

+aPe RuNnEr Friday, July 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: custom 98 flatline, x chamber, double trigger, M16 stock, remote, 12v hopper
in less then 3 weeks will have a impluse with a **** load of upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
get nitro, not to good with Co2 in the winter
Strengths: this is a very good gun, accurate, shoots fast, and can be used as auto, probably could preform up with high class semis and electros. also it is very durable. it has the 25 round clip with chain pull threw, with the 75 round hopper that goes as a handle under the barrel, so there is no need for a big bulky hopper, but you can still put one on which is very cool.
Weaknesses: This is NOT, I SAY NOT a newby friendly gun at all. my friend got this as his frist paintball gun (well he is also an idiot) he put paint in it that was baking out in the sun and shot it, which the paint ball got stuck between in the bolt. also seeing how you cant cock it back can cause problems which i dont like how it cocks by it self.
Conclusion: very very good gun if you know what your doing, if not stay away and get a tippmann or spyder
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media