paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85

ATS AT85 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ATS

Buy ATS AT85

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ATS AT85
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $599

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi or full auto gun that can shoot up to 12 rounds per second. It holds 85 rounds regulary, but with an adaptor that allows a hopper to hook into the magazine it can hold a lot more.
Product Availability 
The ATS AT85 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Lavahead Tuesday, June 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c and 2001 Autococker
Marker Setup: 2001 Autococker w/CP barrel, Tippmann 98c w/Flatline, AT-85, PMI 88ci 4500psi Nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Contact ATS for CAR stock or bottomline kit
Strengths: -Nearly impossible to chop balls due to chain feed
-Very accurate, with unisizer you can use any paintball, even mixed in same batch, with good accuracy
-Lightweight, balanced well
-Has full auto, but it can rarely be used
-Lowers profile significantly, due to hopper on the side or no hopper at all
-Manual and video are VERY detailed and useful, manual is like 50 pages, not the usual 6
Weaknesses: -A bit of an air hog, uses quite a bit
-This gun HATES co2, you should really run HPA or at least co2 from a remote (so the bottle is vertical, which is most important)
-Not many upgrades, just replacement parts or conversions to other models (AT-10, AT-4, AT-16), due to the gun's uniqueness
-Very complex, don't try to fix it without a table, the manual, and watching the video it comes with
-Non-standard grip doesn't allow for things like drop forwards
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun. It can easily keep up with nearly anything out there. And since it's nearly impossible to chop a ball, you won't need to clean out your barrel as much as the other guys. This gun is very accurate, although I don't think it's as good as my Autococker, but it's pretty close. The fact that you can hit the field without a hopper sticking up is neat too. And the manual is great, as well as the video on taking care of the gun. Just don't use the gun without watching the video first! The only problems I have are that I can't put a drop forward on it, so I have to use a remote or a very small tank (48 ci variety). This can be a pain since it's a bit of an air hog. Finally, this gun doesn't run good on co2, due to it's internal regulator. I would suggest switching to compressed air (I would suggest that anyways), but if that's just too expensive at the moment, run co2 from a remote to keep the liquid out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:36 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sir_PYro Sunday, June 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tracer (close relative to AT markers), 2k2 autococker, Spyder (TL Plus and classic), and automag
Marker Setup: AT-85 with Hopper adapter, Modified trigger, Bottom line, 12v Revvi, and 68 ci 3000psi Bulldog II tank
Spyder Classic with Die Excel Barrel, cyclone bolt, and crappy 9oz BE CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper adapter
Bottom line or remote
Modified trigger
.45 grip
Strengths: Well the best thing I can think of is the look on peoples faces when they see it for the first time. Trust me, every one will be asking what it is, were you got it, and how much it was.
Accuracy is one of the strong points of this marker. I can line up an old street light in the sites an hit it almost every time.
Mantaining this marker in not as bad as you might think. Other then oiling it you only have to clean it every 5,000 rounds or once a month. I must say, that is better then my spyder.
This marker can fire fast in both semmi and full auto with out any chance of chopping a ball. The one time I did have a ball brake in it was becouse of the paint (the 'good' BE crap) and it still worked well as a long range shotgun.
Full auto is nice though most fealds say you cant use it. It 2 - 3 ound burst you might get away with it.
Stock, this marker is ready to go and hold it's own with high end electroes and autocockers.
Weaknesses: LOUD! When you dry fire, it sounds like a M-16! Though this is not always a bad thing.... But still every one knows were you are.
Imput presure must stay over 700 PSI to prevent damage. This is the worst thing about this marker.
An electro marker has a better trigger then this one, some one that knows what they are doing can probably make it close though.
You can't do all the cool stuf to these markers like most. They are made out of high impact plastic.
The grip is not the best out there. A .45 would be a lot better.
It's a bit long.
Teck suport can be a little slow.
Conclusion: New, they are a bit pricy. But right now ATS is selling re-furbished AT seares markers for $450. I like mine a lot and think it was a good buy. I think this marker deservers a 9.5 but not quite a 10. But sence 9.5 rounds to 10 and even crappy BE markers sometimes get 10's Im going to give it one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Groo Thursday, June 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Trracer Pump (bolt and hammer are almost the same!)
Vector, VM68s
Marker Setup: ATS AT-85 HPA - All stock
Sheridan VM-68 EXC - 16" Armson Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing except for the hopper adaptor clip & remote or/and bottom line.
Strengths: Accurate - Very! even with dimpled paint!!
Distance - holy crap, this gun shoots far!
Noise - 1 loud MF...I love loud guns... Mine received the name "The Cannon"
Ballbreaks - rarely (3000 rounds, 1 ball break - easy fix, lightly coat the inside of the magazine with rifle oil inside)
Weight - very light
Feedrate - Fast, I unloaded a magazine in alike 2 seconds - even semi is fast!
If you bend a few pins, just bend them back into place with your thumb!
Maintenance isn't that hard - Just keep that manual near you... You don't really touch much on there.
Very consistent
And people won't stop asking questions about it!
Weaknesses: Expensive, easy to break, front loader kinda sucks (port needs to be open more-I think the newer version has that done already, not sure)
Most fields won't let you play in full auto (luckly there is a screw hole to turn off full auto) But you don't really need it! :)
Conclusion: I wouldn't reccomend this gun for the beginner. But if you take apart guns all the time and you want something fun, get this one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Autocockers
Marker Setup: ATS AT-85 with gas through stock, 23 and 16 inch barrels, bipod, and red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
GO HPA!!!! stay away from CO2
Strengths: *Loud - some consider this bad, but it's really intimating
*Accurate
*Stock parts are top notch
*No expensive upgrades necessary
*Inexpensive for what you get
*Competent, Knowledgeable tech support (not some lackey)
*Hopper less design
*Conversation piece on the field (you will get tired of people asking about it)
*Doesn't break paint
*Best used with Mid - Front players
*ROF 14bps
Weaknesses: *Tech support kinda slow
*Must keep it lubricated
*Good luck finding parts near by
*Clips are a little flimsy and you'll bend some pins at first
Conclusion: Best purchase I ever made. With my spyder I was hitting about 3-6 people a day on the rec field I play at. With my 85, I hit on average about 14, and I still use the same amount of paint. The Tippmann A-5 comes in close in comparison to this, but you need a lot of upgrades to get it to even close. If you've been reading reviews and thinking about getting it, stop reading and buy the damn thing, you'll be glad you did.
NOTE: This is a gun for the mechanically inclined. It's like a swiss watch NO JOKE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIPPMANN 98 with FLATLINE Barrel.
Marker Setup: Remote Coil and N2, red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a red dot sight and TS1300v magazine with a feed tube on the side.
Strengths: Good accuracy: Very close to my TIPPMANN Flatline
Good distant: Not as far as the TIPPMANN Flatline, well it is close combat gun
Good ROF: Much better than TIPPMANN Flatline
Never jam: I used some cheap paints (ZAP pro) for testing; it still worked like a champ in full auto. The barrel looked like new after firing 800 round of ZAP pro.
Finally, it is light and compact, especially with a remote coil and a red dot sight, you can get anyone on your way.
Weaknesses: Not a single thing.
Conclusion: It is a well engineered maker with a unique design. It cost a little bit more than the normal maker, but with the good performance and the full automatic, it is totally worth every single penny. It is a high maintenance marker, but with the instruction and the video tape provided by the manufactory, it wonít be a problem at all. Well, it makes you will feel much closer to your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ATS Only , nothing less!
Marker Setup: I'm currently runnig it stock with a 68ci 4500psi Crossfire Nitro tank, Ricochet 2K Electronic Hopper with the hopper clip adapter. In the future it will be remote with an M4 stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None . Just get a nice size nitro tank for a nice long enjoyable game, without having to refill every other game. This tank can lasts over 1200 with no problem. I have a regulator but don't even use it.
Strengths: Good? Its GREEEAT!!! The Newer model built are AWESOME.. They have a couple important upgraded features on the Unisizer which allows you to shoot pretty much any size ball WITH NO PROBLEMS!!! The accuracy is spectacular! you won't believe it until you shot it. Haven't broken a ball yet , I put that on my ATS AT85. I use only RPS paintballs , I love the "Marballizer" and "Big Ball"
Weaknesses: Bad? This gun is sick. The only bad thing is probably using the forward loader clip, since it only carries 60 -65 balls. To fix that just get a hopper clip and problem solved. The other problem would be me giving away all this good info and people going and getting one of these guns and using them against me. J/K
Conclusion: This gun is an all out CHAMP! Straight outta the box. No barrel , or trigger changes needed. It is the tightest looking thing out in most PB fields 908%% of the time. I get hit up by at least 8- 10 people every time ask me WHAT THE HELL IS THAT THING! That sh*t is sweet. One guy actually asked me on the field is that a paintball gun? I look at weird , telling him what else do think it would be on a paintball field. About being loud, that's bull , to me at least. Maybe the upgrades fixed that problem , I never had the old version, but other than that it sounds beautiful , gives the team a little more balls when your on their side, lets not worry about the opponent. I just lube it after ever game, takes me 15 minutes. I love this gun and do recommend it to others, who don't mind watchin the video 3 times like me and takin the gun apart to lube ever so often. I wish I could give it a higher rating. Get one and find out for yourself. You'll thank me later.
Good Luck Paint Ballin!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dp44109 Friday, April 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers are different assortments
Marker Setup: At-85 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
hopper clip if you use alot of paint and are a front line player.
Strengths: The AT-85 is extremely accuarte which is it's best asset. the sight is great it is like a real gun. It's loud which is good and bad. Clip feed makes sure you never break a ball. Looks great, reloads fast, it's semi ROF is equal to that of a stock cocker, extremely light, if you keep it maintained properly you will love this badboy.
Weaknesses: The clip is easy to mess up but is easy to fix. You will bend pins and maybe nock off the chain and you will have to fix sometimes and it is kind of long even with a 47 ci tank.
Conclusion: Great gun, performance like a cocker, orignality, shoots great out of the box. Don't listen to the people who say it breaks alot if it breaks its cause of you not knowing what you are doing not the gun. Don't run Co2. Keep it well maintained and enjoy!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mvn48576806 Tuesday, December 4th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a mini-mag, and a shocker s/f. I love the mag for it's durability, you can play and throw in the closet and come back two months later and wow. It shoots fine. Shocker is very accurate but expensive. Plus you go through a lot of paint.
Marker Setup: Currently using a AT85 on a remote with the M4 stock. Using a 47ci nitro tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Run Nitro it is a must for this gun!
Strengths: This gun rocks. Hands down the only gun that can shoot this good out of box is ...??? There are no other guns that shoot this good out of box for the money. I paid 500 for the gun and another 150 for the remote and nitro. That's cheap compared to my old setups. Gun has a very low profile. I got hit less after i got this gun. That's a fact.
Weaknesses: You can only carry 85 rounds at a time. But if you buy the extra holders you can reload for action quickly. (the spare foward mags only cost about $12. cheap!)
Conclusion: Hands down a great gun. If you are a rec player who wants the longest shooting gun for a fair price this is it. Plus because of the guns low profile others can't hit you hopper, they must get a clean shot or google you. But if they are about to google you then you deserve to be out. hehe
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: As many before said, this gun is very accurate. During practice shots others with their guns can't do as well as I can do with mine. That's of course subjective, but when we switch guns I can't do with theirs what they can do with mine.
It is very light which makes aiming much easier (you don't get tired carrying the gun). It has great look and feel. The feeding mechamism doesn't obstruct your view, which again, makes aiming much easier.
Select fire is just awesome, you can switch with your thumb pretty much while aiming and shooting (sometimes it is good to switch fire mode during the game - saves paint). Single mode itself is good enough to keep up with high end guns on commercial fields.
Not the quickest maybe but very good and helpful customer service. These guys are engineers, not salesmen, so they won't get back to you immediately (sometimes actually they do) but when it happens your helper will be very competent. Great manual and video showing how to take care of the gun.
Even if the gun with part and maintenance isn't cheap, it also places below really high end guns, delivering really comparable or outstanding performance.
Unisizer (the soft plastic ball detent) does a great job matching to any size painballs. It is kind of like a self-adjusting "freak" barrel.
Stock barrel is top notch. In general you don't need to spend extra $$ on after market parts as everything the gun comes with works great.
Weaknesses: Relatively expensive to maintain. Magazine mechaism is very delicate. Doesn't get damaged by itself, but at the beginning you'll be error prone and eventually bend pins. Once this happens you're out of the game for the day (unless you have a spare). Forget about field fixing it unless you've got proper tools and a table with a clean cloth ;)
Velocity adjustment is a pain in the butt. After you chrono, you have to take the magazine out, shoot the remaining paintball, and then insert your adjusment tool into the barrel. The good news is that most of the time you'll be doing it only once at the beginning of the game.
There is a danger that this gun will become your hobby. ;)
Conclusion: I bought this gun a month and a half ago as a third gun (after Tippmann ProLite and Tippmann 98 custom with addons) and have been playing every week since. I was looking for something very accurate. I wouldn't call my style of playing a sniping, but it does involve not shooting a lot of paint with a lot of manuvering, flanking, etc. Turns out that I got a perfect gun to match my style. Even with the auto enabled I use twice as less paint as my friends with higher end semis. I often get twice as many kills too.

This gun requires to be taken care of. If you expect accuracy and consistency you have to keep it clean and properly lubricated. None of this "run hot water through it and forget about it stuff". So prepare to have time for it. Since it is - like somebody here said, as a swiss watch - you'll have fun if you like playing with mechanical stuff. Otherwise you may consider getting a different gun.

The bottom line is, if you are prepared for maintenance, this gun will "pay you back" and you will not be dissappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, July 13th, 2001
Strengths: This is a great gun, first of all it is the best out of the box performance I've seen, next the flip swith for semi to full auto is really awesome, next the stock barrel on the gun is great, the gun also has a low profile without you haveing to spend $200 on a warp feed, and finally it has the best instruction manual I know of, it came with a movie explaining basic maintance and how to strip the gun totally apart next the book, which was about 50 pages long showed you every detail of the gun so when you strip it you know what to put were.
Weaknesses: There are only three things I see wrong with the gun, first there is that there really arent alot of upgrades for the gun but if you ask me I dont think you need anymore upgrades then what they have, next there is the problem of useing a the gun with the forward loader if you plan on shooting more than 10 shots you have to tilt the gun upward but this problem can be easily solved just by buying the clip that works with a hopper, and I see a problem with how loud the gun is if you ever heard how loud a rental gun is at a field thats how loud this one is. I was reading the other reviews and I saw someone who complained that because he didnt maintance his gun before 1500 ball his gun broke well he should know that all guns should be maintanced before and after ever use, even in that means just oiling the gun. I also read people say not to get the gun for CO2, and I agree with them because as with ever high end marker you dont want to use CO2 anyway, it damages all guns over time no matter which one it is.
Conclusion: I would say that this is the best gun out there for it's price with it's only competition being a tippmann model 98. this gun can become your best friend, with about 200 in upgrades you can have everone at the field jealous of your tricked out AT85. If you got the money buy it, in my opnion it is the best gun out there, even better than a angel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media