paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85 / ATS AT85

ATS AT85 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ATS

Buy ATS AT85

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ATS AT85
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $599

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi or full auto gun that can shoot up to 12 rounds per second. It holds 85 rounds regulary, but with an adaptor that allows a hopper to hook into the magazine it can hold a lot more.
Product Availability 
The ATS AT85 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Unregistered User Tuesday, April 24th, 2001
Strengths: The first and last word in scenario/milsim paintball. Nothing is nearly as good. This gun is select fire via the flip of a switch. It holds 65 round forward loaders and 25 round clips. That means you can have 85 rounds on the gun at one time and carry 65 round clips with you. The hopper clip allows you to put a hopper on it but it is not neccesary except it extreme conditions. This gun is the most accurate paintball gun available period. I own two Autocockers, a Shocker a Tippmann 98/flatline, several others and have shot or played games with just about every other gun on the market, including Angels. None of them can compete. It is true that paint is the primary factor in determining accuracy and that no paintball gun will be accurate without very good paint, but this gun is as accurate as can be with minimal defference to paint. You can literally place ball upon ball right on top of one another from 20 yards. It's remarkable. The sound is great, the weight is amazing, it is lighter than any other gun on the market, and the sights are incredibly accurate. The service is also very good. Not the speediest but not bad. And they are very reasonable. I cannot say enough good things about this gun. It is worth EVERY PENNY.
Weaknesses: well I didn't mean to go on so long about the good aspects luckily there isn't much that's bad. This is not a gun for the tinkerer. It is a very complex system that is reliable once set up and maintained well. Be advised, the slightest bit of new gun curiosity can change your experience from heaven to hell. There is nothing more frustrating than getting goo from this gun after you've seen what it's capable of. It's usually set up correctly from the factory just READ THE DIRECTIONS oil often and enjoy. If you open it just remember I told you so.
Conclusion: If you like to be in the woods, this is the gun for you. Sniper, stalker, kamakazi, whatever this gun is great. I can't wait to see what they ome up with next.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 22nd, 2001
Strengths: After months of internal debate, I broke down and bought an AT-85. I'm glad that I did, because this gun is b#d#ss. It hits whatever I shoot at and it sounds like an Uzi. It also raises eyebrows wherever I take it. People always ask me to show it to them and to fire it on full auto. I can switch from semi to full auto on the fly, which is great.
Weaknesses: I haven't had any problems with, but from all of the reviews and forums that I've seen, there are many things to consider about this gun. It is possible to bend the pins inside the clip, it requires detailed maintenance every 500 or so shots, and I feel the need to be gentle so I don't break anything. What I'm trying to say is that even though I haven't had a single problem, I am paranoid that I am going to break it. I don't know why, since it feels sturdy and it has performed flawlessly so far. I guess the mechanics of the clip-feed spook me a little.

Oh yeah, I have an HPA version, but I hear the CO2 versions are more problematic. But that's not the gun's fault. Also, don't get this gun if you're a beginner, since the maintenance requires discipline and a little experience.
Conclusion: I love this gun. I have two clips: the standard clip and the Viewloader clip. I hook up the Viewloader clip most of the time, since I can carry 200 rounds with it. However, the standard clip is nice to have, so when I crawl through the brush I don't have a hopper in my way and I'm harder to see, especially with my D2 Tracker on. That's okay though, since the point of upgrades is to improve the performance, and this gun needs no improvement. For less than $500, this gun gives me unparralled accuracy and the capability of full auto with the flick of a switch. Plus, the chain-drive clip makes misfeeds and ball-breakage a non-concern. I have never broken a ball with this gun. I would recommend the AT85 before I would recommend any other gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This is the best gun I have ever seen out of the box in my life. I started with this gun as my first and I have played with it ever since. I have never had a ball break except for my first time out on the field where my barrel plug was black and so is the barrel so I didn't notice it, so I shot and hit the opposite team with the barrel plug and a whole bunch of paint in the front of the barrel. Great instructional booklet and video that will show you everything to do to it except for the way to play with it. Impossible to short stroke or break a ball in the chamber unless you screw up your 70$ dollar clip yourself. Easy to rush with on full auto or to snipe unless you need to be silenced, but it's still funny to watch everyone duck when they hear this loud booming sound as if someone brought a m-16 on the field. The absolute #1 accuracy I have ever expierenced, and believe me I've shot alot of guns including a lot of pumps where the AT-85R still performs better in and you also have the ability for full auto and dont have to cock every shot. If you run on nitro you are out there out ranging and out shooting all the players in cold and wet areas. With the hopper on the side I have had people say they thought there were two players behind the bunker I was in since they saw the hopper beside my gun.
Weaknesses: DO NOT RUN CO2 on this gun unless you always have great weather conditions. Nitrogen makes the game with it a whole lot funner. No field stripping (although you dont really ever need too) and hard to change the velocity with in barrel velocity adjuster. Very very very very loud, once you shoot the whole field knows where you are. No lobbing because of its accuracy so its hard to shoot over brush or a bunker. Quite wide so it is hard to hide behind trees but also your hopper isn't up in the air while ur barrel isn't so that's an advantage.
Conclusion: No upgrades needed, as I said on the top it is a perfect gun out of the box except I would recommend a 2nd regulator to attach to your ASA. I personally believe this gun is worth every penny I bought it for, I have had it for 2 years now and havent had a ball break or troubles with it and runs like the day I got it in the mail. How can it compare to any other guns, there is nothing similar to this gun, it's one of a kind except for its brothers the AT-10, AT-4, and AT-16. I recommend it to all the players who have atleast had a gun once before and dont mind an hour or so of cleaning afterwards. Also you should have some backup money too, dont use all the money you have on this gun because replacement parts are expensive and there is no over the counter parts except maybe for the bottomline.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This thing looks like a gun, and sounds like a gun. It is used for military and tactical training. Has a wicked sound when shot. I have only broken a ball ONE time using this gun, but it was cracked before it was shot, so I dont really count it. There is no overhead hopper to get in your way, so you can add a scope, or a m-16 type carrying handle. At first it seems that you cant upgrade this gun much, but that is incorrect, I have seen wicked mods that can be done
Weaknesses: If you want a gun you can abuse and not maintain, this is not the gun for you. It is a precision instrument, and can easily be messed up. Not a good cold weather gun if using CO2 (but what CO2 gun is?) You have to get to know this gun before you feel confident using it. The sound is louder than usual guns, which some might consider bad. If you dont use a hopper, you have to tilt the gun back to fill the magazine, (I find this an annoyance when in full auto because this thing can go empty in seconds :)
another bugger for me was the price was sort of steep (but worth it)
Conclusion: I LOVE this gun, it is well designed and you will have no problems if you familiarize yourself with its operation. It is not necessary to upgrade anything because the original parts are well designed and they cause no real problems. Parts are expensive for this one, and only a few places have parts. If your gun needs fixing you'll most likely have to send it in to ATS. Overall the gun is worth every cent I paid for it. This gun will outpreform most others if you take care of it. There is no other gun that even looks as cool as this one either.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 19th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Awesome!! The ability to switch to Full-Auto instantly! You don't have to open the grip and hit switches like bushmaster or EM-1. This is a great marker for an intermediate to advanced player, I say this because of the care you have to put into maintaining this marker. The "low-profile" is a must have also, no hopper sticking out of your bunker. When you see my hopper, my barrel is right besides it and i'm firing at you. I play with the hopper attachment, so i'm not limited to 65 balls. You can even shoot at even upside down for about 5-6 shots because it's fed by the chain not gravity like most markers. I've also have not broken any balls using All-Star balls. This marker is very accurate and has long range.
Weaknesses: It HATES liquid co2. CO2 Sucks with this marker unless you have an expansion chamber, anti-siphon on tank, and secondary regulator. Remote kit is a plus. Even running Nitro or Compressed air you should still have a secondary regulator. Don't use cheap paint! If you use good paint, you'll never break balls! Velocity adjustment is down barrel, if you have ball in the chamber, you must take barrel off to adjust velocity. No local vendors, you must purchase extra guide plates, oil, and regulator kit(when ordering minimum of $20) from ATS. Clips are pretty costly also, about $70, if you get a close range clip hit from a ball, you might get a crack. Very little aftermarket products. You can get a universal .45 grip and add a drop forward but what's about it. No barrels other than ATS manufacturers'.
Conclusion: The price is up there $500. But if you're looking for a mid-range marker, that's about the price of a bushmaster, autococker, spyder EM-1, or automag. This marker is great out of the box using compressed air, but, you should get a 2nd regulator. If you plan to run CO2, having a expansion chamber, 2nd reg, and anti-siphon will save you headaches from liquid freezing internal parts. A 12V viewloader is perfect accessory for the clip fed mags, no blank shots. It's low profile hopper is great for close courters. Because it's belt fed, you can shoot in awkward positions, even upsidedown (4-5 rounds). Extra Clips are very expensive $70. Order many guide plates, oil, and backup reg kit. I give it an 8 because you can't get the parts anywhere else but ATS. The service is also great! Rob Lussier at ATS is the GURU there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 19th, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun can achieve 14bps, I timed it myself. It can also maintain its accuracy(VERY ACCURATE!!!!) at that rate of fire. The hopperless design is very nice, and you can carry extra forends in your existing harness. The gun has never broken a single ball in the 10 cases I have put thru it.
Weaknesses: ATS claims you need to lube the gun every 500 balls. This is very true. I damaged my gun after about 1500 balls and because these are not popular guns, there are NO parts available over the counter. they all come from ats. You not only have to buuy the gun, you have to keep a small inventory of spare parts available. This gun needs HPA, period!!!! You cannot play this gun to its full potential without it.
Conclusion: This gun is a true innovation in paintball. The only time I broke balls is when I got dirt in my barrel, and when I did break paint, the gun was useless. You get a huge rate of fire without fear of chopping a single ball, the design of the gun makes that impossible and the accuracy is phenomenal. It's very hard to say whether the gun is worth the money, because you can't use it all day non stop like I can my spyder or Autococker. It has few aftermarket upgrades because it doesn't need a single one. The amount of maintainence, coupled with the lack of readily available parts makes me rate this gun a 7 and not recommend this gun as a primary gun, just as a really cool back up
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 18th, 2000
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: this is truely an inovative marker, i love the rate of fire one can accive and the sleek hopper-less design. the chain drive system is one of a kind.AND IT SOUNDS COOL!!!, but thats second :-).
Weaknesses: the downsides to this are few, but obviously they are there.
one thing is that you really should use nitro because co2 can freeze the internals and screw up your insides. also, the sleek hopperless design i already mentioned also isnt without problems, you dont get more than a hero's supply of ammo, plus while quick to change the clips take a while to load.
Conclusion: in conclusion. i think that the at-85 is truely one of the greatest guns i have ever fired, i think it stands pretty well on its own, regaurdless of fancy upgrades, this gun is a work horse, it is quite expensive but you pay alot you get a great gun. your buying quality. as far as it could compare to other guns like it, thats just the best part, there is nothing like it...
i would recomend this gun to almost anyone, except my opponent!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 16th, 2000
Strengths: This is a one of a kind marker. No other paintgun looks like it or works like it. The marker is fed through a magazine attached to the bottom (simulates a real weapon) and works sort of like a conveyor belt.
When working properly, this gun ROCKS. 12+ balls per second on full auto and highly accurate. Semi-auto is even more accurate and both modes can really 'reach out and touch someone'. For long games, a hopper attached to the marker is best in order to carry a sufficient amount of paint. Nitro/compressed air seems to be the better option though Co2 works with care in the setup. The marker is also well made and as another reviewer mentioned, it does not need mods other than maybe a dot sight because of the out-of-the-box potency. Good/fresh paint is key.
This is a great looking select fire marker with better accuracy then most. It has a good Rate OF Fire and rarely breaks paint when properly setup. It is loud which is great for intimidation purposes or realizm.
Weaknesses: I do not recommend this marker as a FIRST paintgun. Specifically if you will use Co2 and have varying climates. The cold and high heat wreak havoc on Co2 and will cause problems with the marker. I play in this type of weather and have had to purchase extra accessories in order to play decently. Remotes, X-chambers, and regulators would be some of the mods needed to play in the cold or extreme heat with Co2. I have heard that nitro works very well but can't vouch for it since I only use Co2. The AT85 needs to be well cared for which isn't a BAD thing but won't appeal to those who want to play and then throw the marker in a closet. Maintenance is necessary. With the Co2 setup, I have had days where the marker worked very well, and others where I have had to switch to my backups because of feed problems or co2/weather related problems. Good paint is also needed.
It is loud so sniper style players may not appreciate it though the accuracy is excellent.
Conclusion: Out of the box, this marker can kick butt. Having the hopper version is great when using decent amounts of paint. Upgrading or 'tricking out' is not necessary other than maybe a dot sight. The only upgrades might be if you want to use Co2 with the least amounts of problems (remote/X-chamber/regulator). Accuracy is top notch and it has very good distance. Look and feel are excellent. As i said before, the marker is well made with exception of the magazine which seems a bit flimsy compared to the marker itself.
Definately worth the cost of $450-$550 as long as it is well kept. It is a one-of-a-kind marker.
ROF will keep up with most if not all Electros, accuracy is on par if not better than a Cocker or pump, range is better than most markers.
I would recommend this marker to anyone who is not afraid of taking their markers apart and who has the availability of a backup if needed.
Because of the possible problems you may encounter. I do not recommend this as your only marker.
I also do not recommend it to those who do not like the 'cleanup and maintenance' part of paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, September 26th, 2000
Strengths: Whats good? Lets see Out of the box you hold a gun that performs like a swiss watch. No upgrades are needed barrel or otherwise. If CO2 is used though use a remote or an antisiphon inline reg. It is select fire and in full auto will spill out arount 13 rounds per second. On top of this it has accuracy I have seen in no other gun. 25 rounds put in a 5 inch grouping at 20 yards in full auto firing in 3 round bursts. Not Bad. Plus you have a gun that gets looks from everyone on the field. Literally everyone from angel users to renters they all want to know what the heck it is. Couple all that with it being under $500.
Weaknesses: I didn't find anything wrong with this gun that I didn't do to it myself. I bought it used and without a manual. BIG MISTAKE! This gun is not for the non mechancily inclined. It requires regular teardowns and specific greasings. Also you can't use cheap paint in it. RPS Premium and marbalizer work the best. As I said in the pros this gun is a precision watch and as such timing is it's heart. Irregularities in cheap paint, dirt, poor maintance, or even not following the gas up preceedures will make for a short day on the field. Oh forget field teardowns. You need a clean area, about an hours time, and several tools for it.
Conclusion: The at-85 was the gun for me once if got the info to maintain it. I use it every week and love. I love out shooting, I love the intimidation, and I love the looks (both of the gun and from people seeing it). But I do not recommend this gun to anyone not willing to put the time into maintaining it. Once the specific proceedures for gassing and cleaning are gotten used to they become 2nd nature. One other thing to note This gun is LOUD. Go somewhere else if you want a quiet sneaky gun. That only adds to my love of it though. There is nothing like the looks of fear I get when I open her up ond the painting starts. This is a wonderful gun though and I heartily recommend it to anyone looking for something unique but are willing to put the effort into learning it inside and out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media