paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask

Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Scott USA

Buy Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Using information gathered over the years, Scott has created the ultimate goggle system. The best lens, face foam, mask, strap and now the best visor make up the HotShot. The best part is it seals the eye port without sacrificing fit and comfort. Over Glasses is not a problem. The newly designed Cool Lite facemask is second to none. It is lightweight, cool and allows the player to talk and hear easily. This system also comes with the all new Cool Lite visor offering style, fit and a 3-position adjuster.
Product Availability 
The Scott USA Hotshot Thermal Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
NickBizzar Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Profiler
Dye Invision I3 Pro
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Ion
Q-Lock
Virtue Eyes
Progressive Barrel
Hybrid Grips
CP Rake Trigger
XSV Rail
360 QEV
S.P. On off
and T-board to come
Strengths: Comfortable/kinda
Weaknesses: Big and Bulky, fog easy
Review: Well this review isn't going to be long, this is a good product if you are new to the sport and you don't have much money and you don't want to buy a mask anytime soon.


This mask is pretty comfortable for being only like a 15 dollar mask. Recomended if you have 15 dollars. The downside to this mask is that it's very big and bulky, I go with the viser off so that helps a little, but it's still really bulky. Wide on my head.

I've tried on invision, invision I3 Pro, and V-Force profilers. I love the V-Force Profilers the best. They have a comfortable fit and they're not a huge target. Recomended if you have that much money.
Conclusion: Buy if you have 15 dollars and need goggles. Otherwise save for better goggles.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 9th, 2007 at 6:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dye4metal Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invisions, Vforce Profilers
Marker Setup: 2k2 Timmy w/ Tadao+
2k4 B2K 4 sale with mad ups
Strengths: 1. Dont Break
Weaknesses: 1.Fog
2.Strap Sucks
3. Flimsy
4.Get Paint in mouth
Review: I got these with my power pack. now that i play speedball alot and breath heavy and stuff these goggles are always fogging up so bad. and everytime i run around with tehm theyd fall down. it was just a mess with them. the worked but not efficently at all. itd have to be a hot day where they wouldnt really fog. and still they would. They get a 5 just because i had them for 2 years.
Conclusion: They worked. but they always fell down and fogged. It was time to move on.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slaminator3323 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce provantage, I like it a little better.
Marker Setup: Ion
Red NDZ on/off and feedneck
Lightening bolt
CP two piece
NDZ Saw trigger
Strengths: Doesn't fog
Its pretty cheap, good covering.
Weaknesses: None really. It's hard to take the lense out.
Review: Well this was my first mask, and for the time I used it, it was pretty nice to me. Never fogged gave good coverage on my the front and sides of my head. Pretty comfortable. One of my only complaints is that it was hard to get the lense out.
Conclusion: I say get a vforce provantage over this same price just a little better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

butterz Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V force profiler (way better)
Marker Setup: icd promaster
macdev 05' legion air 68/4500
empire reloader b
dye lock lids
Strengths: Thermal lens
Double lens
Weaknesses: Hard shell
lens are a bugger to take out and clean
Review: A couple years back when i bought my 98c my parents bought me these goggles to go with it. at first i liked them very much, the double lens thermal was a plus. after quite a few games and mask breaks it sucked when it came to cleaning the lens. you have to take the whole goggle system apart and then seperate the lens from the head strap.
Conclusion: This is a great goggle system for people in rec. ball or just play once in a while with friends. if you play speed ball a lot and are in tournaments i recommend a v-force profiler or a jt proflex to help with bounces
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chupacabra Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Game Face SKUL mask -anti-fog, yeah right. No comparison.
Marker Setup: Enigma E-2 (EXR) stock w/ CO2 gauge & 16" SmartParts Progressive Barrel
Strengths: Cost
WILL NOT FOG
Detachable parts
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Sweat-box
Review: Got these in a package deal with my marker and have been using them exclusively ever since. Have not found a need to use anything else. They are terrific.

I've used these goggles for over 3 years and have never had any problems with them.

Fogging is nonexistent. Even now, after all the wear and tear, scratches, etc. they only fog a little at the top during night games or really humid days, nothing to obscure vision, though. This is attributed to the dual lens system with inner thermal coated and outer lens sealed with foam in the middle.

These are pretty comfortable regardless if you wear glasses or not. They're great for those long scenario games. The foam is pretty thick and it will last forever (like I said, 3 years and still going).

The mask, goggles and visor are all detachable so if you feel the need to remove the visor or face protector (for you airsofters) you're set. Also makes for easy cleanup.

The only negative thing I have to say about them is they are a sweat-box. The foam absorbs sweat and they don't have very sufficient circulation for cooling. I sweat a lot anyway, so after a few hours it'll be to the point of having to squeeze out the excess from the foam like a sponge.
Conclusion: I wholly recommend these goggles. They are the first and best goggles I've used. I will continue to use them for paintball until they fall apart (which by the looks of it will be a long way down the road).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Auzzie-Phoenix Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
JT mask, unknown paint bullet helmet (yes, the helmet was meant for paint tipped bullets used in tactical training)
Marker Setup: Tippmann m98
16" smartparts progressive ceramic
btpaintball sealed bolt system
laser sight w/ pressure switch
Strengths: Decently comfortable
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: does NOT fit over glasses
doesn't cover lower part of cheek/jaw
heat
Review: This is a decent mask in the low budget range. I have used this mask to play, and it is decently comfortable to wear. The lenses don't fog very much. I would still recommend a light coating of anti-fog for the inner lens. This mask follows in the footsteps of the majority of masks and ski goggles that claim they fit over glasses. This is one of the key weakpoints for this mask. The fact is that yes, you can fit glasses under the mask, but the experience is going to be very uncomfortable. When you take the mask off, your glasses go with it. This problem would be solved if even 1/4 of an inch or more was to be added for clearance at the sides of the goggle portion of the mask. The coverage area is decent, but a little lacking on the lower jaw portion.

The only real complaint that I can pose with this mask, however is heat. The mask gets warm very quickly, and on hot days it causes your face to sweat quite a bit, despite the ventilation it has. Meaning that once you start to sweat, it's going to get in your eyes. This can lead to a very uncomfortable situation making it very tempting to remove the mask so that you can wipe the sweat away from your eyes, as well as to rub your eyes to relieve some of the discomfort.

Scott would benefit from making a few small modifications to this mask. However, all minor problems aside, the mask fits very well when not wearing glasses, and is fairly comfortable provided that it's not very hot when you play. If you bought the m98 power pack, then the price was obviously pretty good (free inside power pack). The amount of fogging is fairly negligible. You should be able to play all day with this mask and not have any problems with fogging issues.

As mentioned in previous reviews and in the above text, the coverage of the jaw area is lacking a little but does provide adequate protection, especially if you're playing woodsball where the surrounding cover can pick up the slack where the mask leaves off.
Conclusion: I recommend this mask for recreational and woodsball play, especially if you're on a budget. The protection it provides is fairly adequate, and heat shouldn't be a major factor in cooler weather or in shaded areas as long as the outdoor temperatures aren't scorching. It would be nice if the mask actually fit over glasses a bit better, but contact lenses eliminate that problem. Fogging of the inner lens is negligible and doesn't really become a problem. The amount of fogging that you encounter is actually very little, and shouldn't be a deterring factor for purchasing/using this mask.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ronbunkerz#2 Tuesday, July 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
NVader, kingman goggles
Marker Setup: black smart parts ion, with 48/3k crossfire hpa w/ black empire cover, stock barrel (best stock barrel ever), egg 2 w/ y-board
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: None
Review: I didnt use these goggles in a game but i wore them around the field when i was reffing. I liked these goggles but not as much as my nVader. They are far better than the kingman goggles tho. I love these goggles. I am thinkin' of gettin the V-Force profiler next month.
Conclusion: Get this if u want a cheap but durable goggle system.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

delta39 Sunday, July 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: M4 MOD:
Tippmann 98 Custom
14 inch operator barrel
Small M4 handguard
3 possition carbine stock
M4 Carry Handel
Ricochet G2K Hopper
M16 Silencer Sling

Sniper MOD:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
3 pos carbine stock
Universal Bipod
Simmons reddot scope
Customized feed system

Other:
Remote
Tac Vest (w/ pack)
Knee/Elbow Pads
Urban Camo Jumpsuit
4-1 Harness
Thigh Rig: Dump Pack
20 oz & 12 oz CO2 tanks

BDU:
Tshirt
military-issue woodland camo cargos

Most importantly:
SCOTT Hostshot Thermal Mask
Strengths: Durable, glasses-compatable (i don't wear glasses, though), fog-resistant
Weaknesses: A small challange to clean, especially if paint gets inside mask
Review: Pretty decent mask, very good all-around. I got it w/ my tippmann 98c a few years back, and i still use it today. Once I was desperate enough to use it on my ski/snowboard trip- i used just the lense part and they....worked lol.

The sides press a bit too much into my head though...idk if it will for other people. once I was laying prone and some dude comes up at 10 feet and nails me in the side of the head. i heard bells ringing for 5 minutes.

It gets nasty to clean if the paint gets inside the lense, but I figured out how to strip the lense off the lense frame but it takes time.

Has yet to fog up on me, but it has at certain points.
Conclusion: Very decent mask for a beginner, i strongly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PaintballHQ Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Strengths: It is good for for protecting your face
The thermal goggles dont fog up
Weaknesses: Its not as cool looking as masks like V-Force
Review: I got this mask with a Tippmann 98 Power Pack, and it was a great deal. The thermal goggles have never fogged up before, so that was an nice extra little thing to have. The V-Force is a cooler looking mask, but this one is great. There are no problems with it, but putting it together might be a hassle if its been warped by being in a box too long.
Conclusion: The mask is great, but I would have gotten the V-Force if my Power Pack didnt come with a mask already.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 17th, 2005 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quietmouse Saturday, April 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
profiler,morph,vantage
Marker Setup: 98c
jj ceramic
20 oz co2
Strengths: A starting mask for newbies
Weaknesses: Plastic
Falls apart
Fogs very easily
Not durable at all
Review: I got this mask with the tippamann 98c package deal and I hated it the first time I got it. First, I couldn't figure how to put it together and when I did I had none left. The first day I played with my new gun I tried this mask out and it did fine the first 3 games and then it just fogged and fogged and fogged. I put pretty much a whole thing of 409 on it because I don't have the other stuff and it only helped one game and then I just gave up.
Conclusion: Whoever gave this a 10 doesn't play alot or they just don't know anything
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media