paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Sonic LPR Kit / MACDev Sonic LPR Kit / MACDev Sonic LPR Kit / MACDev Sonic LPR Kit / MACDev Sonic LPR Kit

MACDev Sonic LPR Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Sonic LPR Kit

Paintball Bushmaster Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Sonic LPR Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $85

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Compact - 1/3 the size of a standard reg, Prevents spiking and damage to solenoid, Allen key adjustment, Drops operating pressure to as low as 225psi, and High flow, reliability and consistency.

Product Availability 
The MACDev Sonic LPR Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Compulsion Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock LPR. MacDev is better
Marker Setup: 2004 Bushmaster PDS
T2 Trayless Kit
AKA Sidewinder
Egg 2 or Q-Loader (q when playing woodsball)
SmartParts Freak kit with Apex tip
MacDev Sonic LPR
Hybrid Grenade Grips
Q-Lock Ion Clamping Feedneck
PMI 68/5000 tank
Vaporworks 2004 Chaos Board
Lapco Stock (when playing woodsball)
Strengths: Performance
Looks
Weaknesses: None
Review: The later 2003+ bushies don't have the same problems with regulators that some of the earlier ones did. However, once most things on your gun are upgraded, this LPR will give you a little more performance.

The Sonic is more consistant than the stock LPR, especially at higher rates of fire.

I also like the way it looks.

There is a screw-on cover to prevent accidental adjustment of the LPR. You can also adjust the lpr (in some cases) with your fingers alone, no need to try to find your allen wrench.
Conclusion: Looks good, works good. I don't normally give 10s, but I have to in this case.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IraqiFreedomVet Monday, June 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: '03 Bushie w/ PDS
'04 MacDev Gladiator HPR
'04 MacDev Sonic LPR w/ Ram Gauge
'04 MacDev Sonic RED valve
MacDev micro gauge
Zenitram 15 degree ASA
Bonebrake quick disconnect wiring harness
14' CP classic one piece
Apache
92/45 Crossfire LP
Strengths: Looks good. Easy to install. Easy to adjust.
Weaknesses: A little pricey, but well worth it.
Review: This is a great low pressure regulator. My velocity has become a lot more consistent using this. The gauge is great to see exactly what your low pressure is set to. The screw on cap makes the LPR extremely easy to adjust without any tools. The Sonic has also contributed to quieting down my gun.
Conclusion: For bushmasters a must buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

steelbushy Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock LPR
Marker Setup: BM2k s/n 7905
Sonic LPR, Sonic ASA, Sonic Grip, Gadiator Reg, Vapor Bolt, Vapor Valve, Tantrum Chao Chip, Max Flow 68/4500, Freak Kit with 10 in front, Lapco Big Shot and Auto Sprint, 12v Rev with impeller , Tantrum bolt PIn
Strengths: Easy to adjust. Fast recharge rate. Comes with a gauge to adjust LP
Weaknesses: none
Review: Man this thing rocks. I can adjust my LP in less than a 30 sec. I set it 3 month ago and never had to adj it unless I took it apart to clean it. Is real compact. (doesn't stick out real far from the receiver. So it look cleaner.)
Conclusion: If you want to set your LPR and forget about it unless you clean it. I would buy this LPR.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

simon woodstock Monday, February 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock lpr.
looked ugly and was hard to adjust. I finally broke down and got the lpr and RED valve. performed better than I expected.
Marker Setup: b2k. Gladiator, sonic lpr, RED valve, sonic frame, dz 2, sonic asa, SP ss AA
Strengths: amazing consistency, in conjunction w/ the glad and RED valve i shoot perfect strings over the chrono. 256 256 256 256, yup that's 4 in a row.
it looks sweet
very easy to adjust.
you know you're not damaging your gun by over pressurizing because you can check the lpr pressure whenever you want.
never get accused by a store of over pressurizing.
Weaknesses: ??
Conclusion: great. i love all the sonic products I own. not because of the name, but because they work great and I can always get help from them.

If you want performance AND aesthetics, buy this for your bushy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 8th, 2001
Strengths: Nice low profile. Easy precise adjustment resulting in much better performance, especially with a better valve (I have the Vapor valve, it's great). Really helps with consistancy. Gas consumption does not seem to be affected. My operating pressure has gone way down with the help of this set-up and some Sonic parts.
Weaknesses: A friend and I both got these guage at the same time, and both went to set our ram pressure at the field at the same time. Read the instuctions and really grease the hell out of the ram guage o-rings before installing it, we didn't put enough grease on and we both chopped an o-ring on the ram guage which became lodged in our solinoid manifolds on both of our guns, requiring disassembly to remove. So just make sure to grease the ram guage real well and while installing it make sure you turn it as it goes in and don't just slam it home and tighten.

Also, the little hole in the front lets some dirt in, so if you play where it's dusty or in really fine sand you may want to cover it. I'm not real sure you'd ever get enough in there to cause problems, but I just thought I'd mention it.

Price is kinda steep, but it does do wonders for consistancy and performance.
Conclusion: I can honestly reccommend it to any B2K or Defiant owners out there, if your team has alot of these guns, you might be able to split the cost of the kit if you're lucky.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, August 24th, 2001
Strengths: It works as advertised. I had been having leak related issues w/ my B2K. My stock LPR was occasionally giving my gun waay too much pressure, and it was leaking all the time. I would charge the gun, it would leak. Fire a few shots, the leak would stop. Fire a few more, the leak would start. It was very annoying, especially to me. I hate even the littlest problem w/ my paintball guns. This fixed the leak problem, and keeps the internal pressure very, very steady. As a result of that, velocity is much more consistent.

It is so much easier to adjust this LPR than the stock LPR. Quick little twitch of an allen wrench, and you've got the velocity dialed in. The lower profile of this LPR is nice too, it makes the gun look a little cleaner.

The gauge...what a godsend. I hated the old methods of adjusting my LP - "dial up the LP until the gun leaks, then dial it back until it stops, give it another half turn, blah, blah". I've almost sacrificed chickens try to get it to work! This gauge took all of the guessing out of the situation. Screwed the gauge in, and you know EXACTLY what the pressure is...very handy.

Also, the whole setup was a cinch to install - took me about a minute, and that was only because it was so hard to get my old LPR off of the gun.
Weaknesses: The price. It is a little pricey, but if you are having leaking issues with your gun (assuming they are LPR related) this WILL stop them. The usefullness and quality of this product offsets the price issue in my opinion.
Conclusion: It's worth the price, even though it is expensive, and I would recommend this to anyone that was having issues with their gun, or wanted to stabilize the velocity of their gun a little bit more. I'm very impressed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 13th, 2001
Strengths: Everything they say about this is correct. When I installed the LPR, I also put in the RED valve. The spikes went away, the marker is real steady now. The pressure dropped and the occasional leaks after rapid fire went away. The gauge is really nice to adjust the pressure. I also like the fact that the LPR doesn't stick out as far and is easy to adjust with an allen wrench.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is that a lot of people are out of stock on this LPR. The service there is great too!
Conclusion: I think it is worth the cost. The marker seems more accurate and I know from the chrono it is a lot more stable. I was able to lower the high pressure too. Plus I don't have the leaks from the 4-way valve like I used to after rapid firing. So for me, I got alot of bang for the buck. I would recommend it to anybody.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:22 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 21st, 2001
Strengths: The thing is great, helped cut the velocity spikes by half. Also nice to be able to know what pressure the LPR is set for and be able to change it according to climte and altitude (I play at 1 mile high, Denver). Sonic now makes an air adaptor that act as a valve chamber. Like the ones you see one Spyders and Cockers. It allows you to use what ever inline reg you want. Im using Sonic's Gladiator inline reg. Very high flow, with a reg seat that will not crap out on you like air America's do. The combination of Sonic parts on my Defiant has put my velocity to +\- 2fps. I set my gun at 298 at tournaments and never get a hot gun. Oh Yeah, and check out their air systems Mac Attack or the new Conquest (the one i'm using) super high flow.
Weaknesses: Not a damn thing wrong with any thing Mac Development makes. I even have a Sonic Cocker, sweetest cocker i've owned (out of like 15).

Check em out http://www.macdev.net
Conclusion: Conclusion:

Buy this stuff(censored version of what I really said), it rocks
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media