paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker

Brass Eagle Rainmaker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Rainmaker

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Rainmaker
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
An electronically controlled semi automatic firing
sequence allows this marker to fire
up to 13 shots per second.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Rainmaker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
TruenoAE86 Thursday, November 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker Sport
Eblade Autococker
Any other old school electropneumatic
Marker Setup: 98 Rainmaker
Bushmaster NoX board
Mouse clicker switch
Shocktech LPR
Smart Parts MaxFlow reg
Modded KAPP Drop as reg mount
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board or TLALOC chip
New barrel
Mad Marty's mods
Mac mount
Strengths: No chopping due to design
It's a brass eagle
Weaknesses: Heavy
Hard to find parts
Slow with stock board
It's a brass eagle
Review: By today's standards, the Rainmaker is completely outclassed. I run with one only because of the novelty of the other players looks' when you tell them it's a Brass Eagle. I'm in paintball to have fun, not to win. It's very fast when upgraded however. You can probably get 18 BPS out of it with an aftermarket board and a new trigger frame from a Proto Matrix or a Timmy or something. I personally still use a stock single trigger frame, albeit with a mouse switch since I melted the stock one. But even though the specs and the weight may not be impressive, it is a milestone for Brass Eagle. The rainmaker has a lot of charisma even though it may not be very well built (epoxied feedneck, ziptied solenoid etc.), it is probably the last good marker that Brass Eagle made. They absolutely murdered their reputation after releasing such plastic abominations such as the Blade, the Striker, the Marauder, and the T-storm. They even spoiled classics such as the Talon and the Stingray by making them out of the shatter-prone clear plastic. BE changed their target market after the Rainmaker, which in turn started the bashing of the company by all the "Agg' players. Well, I guess they were in for it but the Rainmaker marks the end of an era for Brass Eagle, and indeed paintball itself.
Conclusion: Well, if you're looking for a gun that's very interesting and performs somewhat well, then get a Rainmaker. If you're looking for a cheap electro to get you started, then a Rainmaker fits the bill. If you're looking for the most Agg Gun out there, then don't get a Rainmaker, and if you're looking for the best speedball gun out there, then definitely don't get the Rainmaker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Anteater1717 Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
many high end electro's
Marker Setup: a-5 with stuff on it
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: Accurate, pretty fast, unique, one of the only two good brass eagles ever made
Weaknesses: Nothing a little hard to disassemble, loud if you think thats a weakness
Review: Hello you ignorant little children today you get a history lesson.
Long ago back in 1998 way before you were born there was a company named brass eagle they were a new and wonderful company.

They needed a high grade electronic marker but instead of going by the book they made something new and magnificent. They dubbed their creation the brass eagle rain maker the marker was fast quick and accurate and easily modified. It was the best thing brass eagle has ever made to date. And that is why I love it.

But soon brass eagle only focused on profits and became evil it started selling poorly made blades to Wal-Mart. Soon the transformation was complete they sold only guns of poor quality and bad aesthetics.

You see children this is not your average brass seagull this is an eagle. It was made when the company actually had herd of quality control and metal parts. It is everything a marker should be and a little more. So before you make a fool of your self screaming itís a mal manufactured brass eagle such as a blade or a samurai remember this is a high grade electronic not a cheep pump. Also try it before you decide you hate it.

Ok enough with the education for the 10 year olds who hate all brass eagles. This is the holy grail of paintball guns. I love this beast it is accurate fast and upgraded it can play with the best. It can consistently hover from 285-290 all day. Loud but that just makes It all the better. I have only shot my friends but keep in mind I have shot his tons of times and even played with his. The first part of this review is for the 10 year olds who donít know anything and simply make fools of them selves by slapping the keyboard. For anyone who owns and respects one my apologies for letting you read that.

p.s. works well on nitro or co2. if god owns a paintball gun this is it.
Conclusion: If you have shot one you know why itís the best. If you just like to make a fool of your self making fun of wonderful guns just make fun of your ion buddies. Please try it before you shun it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 20th, 2007 at 12:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmfman Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle blade
Baseball bat
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 (main gun)
Response Trigger
DOP Rear Velocity Adjuster
DOP bolt
Double Blade trigger
Maddman spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun that isnt brass eagle
Strengths: Nothing that i can think of
Weaknesses: A $300 gun the same quality as an $70 from another brand
ugly
Review: I bought this gun off someone for $30 and had in for a month, it is crap! you have to maintain it way more then almost any other gun i have tried, it is unaccurate, you can get a black maxx for a third the price which is 10 times as good as this piece of crap
Conclusion: Do not but this gun, it is a trap for people who have no paintball experience and think that because it is expensive that it is good!!! do NOT ever buy this gun, i cannot stress it enough
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

shiro Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
shocker 4x4
Marker Setup: -heavily modded mech tippmann 98 custom
-odyssey torid x
-modded 99 rainmaker
-aci maverick
-sidekick semi
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
mad marty mods
back block
mac mount
aftermarket high pressure reg and lpr
trigger frame
tlalco chip
Strengths: -Electro pneumatic
-Upgradable
-Unique
-Cheap (got mine for $65)
Weaknesses: Slow stock rate of fire.
Crappy stock reg.
Stock trigger frame sucks.
Review: This is a great marker from brass eagle. It was truly amazing back when it came out being an affortable tournament level marker. With some modding it can be good even todays standards. With some work and a few aftermarkert parts you get one up to 16 bps and have a very small profile.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for a tinker or modder.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hippiepower Thursday, January 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
HAHA
maybe a blade, tho the blade chopped a little less........
Marker Setup: Proto matrix 06 blue/black fade
Dye ultralight barrel back
16' stiffi tip
Ultralight grip frame
Orange bolt
Low pressure bolt cap
Halo B w/ rip and victory board
Crossfire 70/45k
Recommended
Upgrades:
uhhhh
its not worth upgrading
Strengths: ARRRGGG it be the best anchor the seven sees ave ever seen
Weaknesses: Heavy, slow (even compared to my a-5 E)
Breaks
Ugly
Loud
Review: Hehe, i got this for $20 off ebay for kicks, and its not even worth it for kicks, it has this big ugly grip thing in the front and my fast fingers, (19 on semi-auto w/ my proto) couldnt get past 10 on this trigger pull. I chronoed it once with the dye reg my proto came stock w/ ( i get +/- 2 with that) and i still got +/- 6.
Conclusion: Well, if you really think about it......you would be spending $300 on a brass eagle, and you could just get an ion
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

FockerJ9 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2k, mags and cockers of all shapes and sizes
Marker Setup: main: stock rainmaker w/ select fire (i would upgrade but i hate to ruin a classic)
revvy with xboard, pmi pure energy 68ci 3000 psi fiber wrapped
backup:spyder imagine w/ tornado valve, rocking trigger frame, pmi regulator, dead-on on/off drop with system x micro gauge, bandit nylatron bolt, and a modified Rhino hopper
backup backup:talon smoke w/ tank adapter, avenger pistol with 10 rnd clip and 12 gram changer/4 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, keep it stock to preserve the beauty
Strengths: Consistent, super cheap, accurate, loud, simple, uber rugged
Weaknesses: Dumb plastic hose barbs break off easily, replace with brass ones
Review: ok, lets start with the recieving of the rainmaker, 100 bucks on ebay, 15 dollars S&H
115 dollars, the same price as my Syder Imagine, so ill use it as a basis for comparison

this marker is consistent stock, with a built in reg. which is a very decent stock reg. as opposed to my imagine, which has a cheap X-chamber stock.
this marker is fairly time-consuming to break down, as opposed to my imagine which can be broke down in like a minute
this marker is a fully electronic marker, meaning it utilizes a solenoid to open the air valve, as opposed to my imagine, which utilizes mechanical force and air pressure exhaust to open the air valve, while a little more complex and delicate, it allows for higher ROFs using LP and better consistency
this marker is rugged, it has a closed bolt which means no debris or other stuff will get n your bolt and scratch the surface, as opposed to the imagine which has two open sides in which debris can mondo whomp your internals
OPERATION OF MARKER ON CO2...THE ULTIMATE NEW GUY TEST MUST SEE!
ive been using both markers for awhile now, and ive been in the game a long time, and as every1 knows, most players start with a basic blowback marker with co2 tanks on them, so i see it fit to tell u new guys looking for a gun just how go0d this marker performs on go0d ole cheap co2
Rainmaker: while it works much better on n2 than co2, as most guns do, i was surprised to see a small decline of performance when i switched from my 68ci tank to a standard 20 oz. tank, while firing semi auto the paint remained fairly accurate and consistent with a few balls going on the fritz (dropping short, going too far, or doing a swirly thing)
when on full auto with co2. well, the results werent as great as on semi, maybe its because of the lower pressure co2 is under or something, but the rainmaker had about 3 out of 5 balls on full auto going off target from 30 yards, on semi about 1-2 out of 5
Imagine: the imagine can be pretty picky about its air, it loves N2 but it will work decent on co2 as well
for this test i took off the reg i have on my imagine and put on the stock X chamber and stock barrel (oh boy) i knew what would happen cuz i played with a many a blowback stock my first years
on semi auto co2 in the imagine is, eh, not so great, i was shooting wildly with my imagines stock barrel so i decided to add in a thunderpig truflite to the experiment, (a 9 dollar value, plus 6 S&H) I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS BARREL AS AN IMMEDIATE UPGRADE TO ANY BLOWBACK PRICED 200 AND UNDER
with the 9" truflite equipped on my imagine, i went back to the range
this test was much better, out of about 7 rounds 3-4 would hit the 2 foot tupperware lid at 30 yards, which is not bad at all, on full auto i had to lay down some paint to hit the target a few times, not too great if u play on a budget like me

OVERVIEW: SEE BELOW
Conclusion: for the price the rainmaker is the best choice for any1 wanting to start paintball with a 100 dollar budget, it runs great on co2, is low matienence, is upgradeable, (i wouldnt reccomend ruining this piece of art) is super rugged, (heavy, closed bolt, protective shroud) and super accurate with the stock barrel (made by worrgames i think, high quality barrel nontheless) and it will NOT dissapoint you on the field or in the woods
based on markers in its price range, and even its cateory, this marker is definately top of the line 10 10 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 12:58 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

mad dawg Thursday, September 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e99 avant (cant compare)
ion (really a sweet gun)
02 shocker
Marker Setup: Rainmaker, with galeforce board, taso lonballer barrel, and evolution 2 with zoard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel new board and fast hopper. i know the egg is supposed to feed 18 bps but at warpig they mesured it closer to 13, so i got the z board. also since most of these are older
you may want to replace the ram hose.
Strengths: Fast , accurate, good range, almost never chops paint.
Very cheap if you can find one.
Weaknesses: Heavy, hard to find. stock board is a little slow
Review: Ok first off before this gun I was using an e99 avant with an acs bolt. not a bad gun, then one day I was looking on ebay and I saw one of these for $60.00.I decided to get it as a back up !!! well when it got here I fired 2 shots, and decided right then this was to be my primary gun. Later on one of my buddies shows up with an ion, wich is a great gun. We took them out to the range for some test shots, ill be darned if i wasnt outshooting him by at least 10 feet. Next time out was at a game, three of my buddies went out and bought ions!!!! i thought i was royally #@$%^&!!, but to my surprise, I held my own and we where pretty evenly matched ,although the ion has a much higher rate of fire (17 bps, while mine tops at 14).I have never had any problems other than the old ram tubes leeking . I replaced them with some auto cocker tubes and havent had a problem since
Conclusion: For $60.00 bucks you cant beat it . Thats a hell of alot cheaper than an ion, plus how many people do you know that have one? I say if you can find one buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Marius423 Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers (same workings as an e-cocker. Sorry some people do not want to accept this)
Im not saying its better, im just saying they are the same in operation.
Marker Setup: 99 Rainmaker - Serial #6169
Tlaloc chip (Totally adjustable chip for the stock board, Modes, ROF, dwell are all programmable.)
Gutted and capped Reg housing,
Automag 15* asa
Sto LPR
Evil Detonator
Rainman229 Mac Mount
Mad Marty Trigger kit.
EVO II
20 OZ co2 with anti Siphon. (Yes it works perfect with an anti siphon tank)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock, this marker isnt that bad. Its not the best but not horrible. The first thing you should get is the Tlaloc chip. www.rainman229.com. After that I would say get your stock regs gutted and capped, then add the Lpr and Hpr. With those upgrades youll be shooting very nicely. Also you may want to get Mad Marty's mods, they can push the RM to places you never thought it could go. And a new barrel couldnt hurt, but not necessary.
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: Not in production anymore

Review: Very sturdy
With the mods above it has a sweet ROF, smooth operation, and very reliable.

Stock the marker isnt bad at all, though it would definatly benefit from some upgrades.

Stock trigger is a bit heavy, but to make it lighter, all you need to do is get rid of the stock push button switch behind the trigger and replace it with a nice roller switch from radio shack.

Get some DOW33 or shocker lube and use it on the internals and bolt. The RM will then cycle faster, smoother, and have less kick. I did this with mine after using basic gun oil, and the difference is amazing!

I bought this on ebay a while back and played around with it with friends. I had a blast, but it couldnt hold up to the higher end markers they had. So with the mods i got done to it, the marker works 10x better and definatly was worth every penny.

Conclusion: Definatly worth the price on ebay. And with some TLC, you can have a blast with it. Hell at the IAO this year, the RMOG (rainmaker owners group) took first place using just rainmakers.

If you have a RM and want some mods done to it or just want to see what can be done. Check out WWW.Rainman229.com. He is awesome at milling, anno, and special RM parts that will totally improve the marker.

I give it an 8 because stock, it leaves room for improvement. But with the right mods, its as awesome as anything else out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

turtler1701 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns & Spyders & BE & other guns, none compare
Marker Setup: -Avalon Combat, 16 inch whisper barrel
-Ricochet Apache Electronic Hopper
-old BE stingray 2 i modded the heck out of
-Rainmaker, 14 inch progressive barrel, LPR chamber, WGP regulator, new board, xtreme rage grips, new internals, ect.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger and board (the two stock ones are SLOOW), but can be fixed really cheap
regulator
Strengths: Cheap!
Comparable to guns costing 2,3,4 times as much
cheapupgrades
great stock barrel
Weaknesses: LOUD
leaks sometimes
stock trigger and board stink
heavy
gas hog
Review: I was interested in buying a quality gun for a low price since im broke, so i looked around for a rainmaker. I ended up trading my old tippmann 98 and my old spyder eframe for an upgraded one, and I have to say this thing is amazing. Besides a few drawbacks, it was way more accurate than anything ive shot before, and ive shot many guns. it is a gas hog stock, though, and if your tank isnt very full it wont work right. Never chopped a ball with it, and ive been playing in the freezing new england weather since ive gotten it with crummy paint thats been sitting in my closet for a while. it does shoot slow, and the trigger pull is really long, but light,and can be fixed for litle to no cost (you can do it yourself, just go to www.rainmakerog.com for mods). some people think it sucks for the sole reason its made by BE (alothough i personally love some BE guns like this one and the stingray, and the olderpumps)
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun if your broke like me and want an awesome gun, or just feel like laughing at people who spend $500+ on a gun thats as good as your $100 gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mr.z fury Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
auto cocker
Marker Setup: Rain maker hammer mod -stainless steel bolt link -diamond labs trigger with adjust-gale force board-bad mojo werk's mac mount- mini mag uert adapter-palmer pursuit air regulator- smoking nun fat ass fitting hose- dye sticky grip's-stock main reg gutted and capped-stainless braided hose-custom drop forward- quick exhaust vale-aka lightning bolt-safety switch .
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aka lightning bolt palmer pursuit air regulator new board .
Strengths: Cheap and better then a auto cocker .
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: Best `marker that BE ever made . this marker is pretty good it's cap 13 but if you up grade's you can get 15bps or even 18bps i can get 18 bps out of my rain maker but this is better then a auto cocker .

it never break's paint .

you can use co2 on it which is good .

they stoped making these marker because they didn't sell to good back then.

i use a gale force board on my which give's me full auto which an't bad .

the rain maker use a solenoid which is why i say the rain maker is better because timing rod .

trigger pull an't bad but i've seen better .
i wouldn't use nitro on this it's to danger's just use co2 .
Conclusion: This marker suck's at stock so if you get it upgrade .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media