paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker

Brass Eagle Rainmaker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Rainmaker

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Rainmaker
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
An electronically controlled semi automatic firing
sequence allows this marker to fire
up to 13 shots per second.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Rainmaker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
bag of luck Sunday, August 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autocockers, angels, my micromag, timmies, tribals
Marker Setup: stock... but i have done mods myself... polish and cut the ram, re-routed hoses, reloacted the battery. i have 88 cu 3k pure energy and a haloB
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel maybe, new hi and low pressure regs, new circuit board, a quick loader
Strengths: very fast
has lots of potential
very well built
price- got mine for $100
Weaknesses: ugly(can be good or bad)
loud(can be good or bad)
Review: gun shoots fast and far. has excellent range, stock barrel is very nice, well built... the only thing i feel isnt well built is the shroud, which is built alright for a shroud. the pneumatics are held to the ram with zip ties and the battery velcro..... a $25 fix. dont stereotype the rainmaker, it is a great gun that has alot of potential, and the user can customize it themself quite a bit without having to spend any money or little money. believe me, i have spent close to $850 to $900 on my micromag, and i sit and wonder to myself why i didnt just buy the rainmaker in the first place. circuit board sucks, but thats replacable and reasonably priced. stock reg has shoot down. i dont care what anybody else says, i bought mine from actionvillage, and i paid $110 all together. i have had no leaks, no problems whatsoever besides shooting too fast for the regs to keep up.
Conclusion: awesome gun... get one if possible, upgrades are cheap if you cant do them yourself, very competant gun can keep up with any of the guns i have used.... shoots better than my micromag. i am basing my testing on december play outside in 31* temps with old paint, so i cant wait to try it out in this nicer wether, i got a car and no job so i dont play as much as id like


absolutely no gun in this price range comes close to speed, durability, or overall performance. must buy for its quality and price
the person who reviewed below me- i dont know how u can discriminate, you sit and play with your little tippmann 98....... comparing a rainmaker to the tippmann is like comparing a Ferrari to a beat up station wagon... big difference, rainmaker being the ferrari
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 17th, 2003 at 8:55 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

littledevilbmx Thursday, June 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares to the Rainmaker, in it's price range
Marker Setup: Semi Rainmaker, double trigger, 88/45 nitro, sp drop, egg, dye stickies, palmer stab, verticle adapter, adjustable lpr
Recommended
Upgrades:
you definately need at least a 12v revy and an ajustable lpr is cheap but very effective
Strengths: Cheap- bought it for $200 last year
Fast- 9bps in semi easily
Unique
Cocker threaded
Weaknesses: Heavy-
Less efficient than my other guns
Local stores wont have certain parts
Review: This is a great marker for anyone. It is better than anything under $300. It has no external moving parts so you can't get dirt in it. There is a bolt cover that slides off for field stripping. This is the fastest gun to field strip, it literally takes 3 seconds. THe Rainmaker owners group is the best I've ever been to
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you don't wont to spend alot, but still want alot of performance
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

awesmr Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The closest thing i've seen is probably a EM-1. But truly comes closer to a dumbed down electric cocker
Marker Setup: 2k1 shocktech a/c
delrin supafly bolt
rat 3:16 and maddman rocket valve
DYE Slide Trigger Frame
Ergo Reg
14" DYE SS
evoII
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a Thunderboard LCD, Barrel, Bolt, QEV's
Strengths: IT's very sturdy seem's like it's able to take a lot
Weaknesses: Very little aftermarket following
Review: The Rainmaker is believe it or not a rather good marker. The body is constructed of aluminum w/ some parts being die cast. The stock board that comes w/ the RM is alot lagging in the speed department 9cps but getting the thunderboard will get you up to the mid to upper teens. If you lose parts it is easy to fabricate parts for. The valve and bolt are of course not up to par with some of the marker's most of us are used to dealing with but they are far from the worst also.

I get about 1250 shots out of a 32oz tank so efficiency is about like that of a shocker.

It's cocker threaded so it's not hard at all to find an aftermarket barrel.

This marker is LOUD. Did i mention loud. The closest thing i can compare it to is 22 pistol or a 410 (not quite as loud as the 410 but pretty darn loud for a pneumatic marker.)
Conclusion: This marker was a nice surprise from BE. It's sturdy construction and easy to fix problems make this marker fun to tinker and play with. For the price and fun it give's i give it a 7. Because no marker is perfect.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballermmc Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers, ANGELS, Automags, Cheap Electros, Black Draguns, Spyders....This gun blows the cheaper ones all away!
Marker Setup: I JUST got it and i havent put anything on it yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel, but the stock one is pretty awesome for stock barrels.
Strengths: Accuracy <p> SPEED <p> Easy Maitenence <p> Look below if you want all of it.....
Weaknesses: How dare you look in this section.....
Review: I went one game with this thing and it fires as well* as any autococker. This gun is soooo friggin accurate.....3 in. x 3 in. target from 110 feet easy...Extremely easy to maintain! Just pop the bolt cover off and slide it out! Works better than field strip pins (you won't lose them!). It's fast....Not as fast as an Impy but it makes up for it with accuracy. <p> This gun easily competes with custom autocockers/impys/angels/etc. It could be upgraded to be extremely awesome, and it's a fraction of the price....It's a shame Brass Eagle discontinued this marker....
Conclusion: It's great.....Get it if you can if you don't wanna pay 500+ for a tourny lvl gun....I got mine off ebay and you can get them for like 200 bucks or so...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:20 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Requiem Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
many autocockers, timmy, emag...The rainy has comparable performance but a heck of a lot cheaper.
Marker Setup: Oh man. You'd be hard-pressed to find a list this long from someone with a no-stock parts cocker...
-98 Rainmaker
-Maddman cocker spring set
-'cocker trigger shoe
-Kiolia Grip special (reverse-oriented, dig that Zgrip!)
-Thunderboard LCD
-Lightened carrier
-Smoking nun air assist
-Lapco vert. adaptor
-Rainman Backblock
-Toxi performance rail drop
-Ki ram cap
-mouse trigger switch mod
-Air America Vigilante
-Macroline setup
-'cocker sledge
-PMI s-piece Razzor 14" w/ stainless back
-Hardwarz high-flow fitting kit
-CMI gauge
-Custom Latch mod
-thunder bolt

(all of above acquired for under $450)

(coming soon:)
-STO cocker valve
-'cocker valve adaptor
-Mad Marty mods 2,3, 5
-Hellbore spring bias mod
-Kapp on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
see above...but most notably the HF kit, the marty mods, and aftermarket regs. If you're into high fire rates, those'll be necessary, and you'll want to look into an aftermarket board.
Strengths: -fast
-can't chop
-no blowback
-'cocker threaded
-unique
-field strip fast
Weaknesses: -plus or minus, it's really loud
-pretty heavy
-stock boards are capped
Review: A tinker's dream! You can do tons of stuff to this marker without spending very much money, using parts that are for other guns.
How does it perform? Well, for one thing, it's fast! My board can go up to 18 bps. Also, it can't chop. The bolt doesn't move with enough pressure to break a ball, and it'll usually hit a ball, then open again without firing to let it drop. It's a short gun, too. With my 14" barrel on it, it's shorter from the trigger guard forward than my spyder with a 10.5" barrel on it. It's also unique.
Few people will be able to identify yours after you've had some fun with modding it...is it a shocker? is it a cocker? who knows! Also, it's cheap to be had right now. Now for one that some find a plus and others a minus: it's appallingly loud. It sounds like a REAL gun. Sorry, nobody including Brass Eagle has any idea why, and getting the quietest barrel in the world won't help you. A design thing, apparently. Personally I'm the most intimidated by a gun if A) I can't hear it at all, or B) it sounds like it's shooting at me from 5 feet away. Either works. Some games, don't be surprised to draw all the fire while your teammates clean up the ones that are distracted! It is a pretty heavy gun, though, and carrying it around all the time is not the greatest. I'd be leery of pulling a 24-hour-scenario with this one.
Also, now is a pretty good time to get one because the dedicated group of rainy owners at the owner's group forum are cooking up a lot of good upgrades right now, including back blocks to get rid of the stock regulators on the back, and an adaptor so you can use high-flowing cocker valves for running it at lower pressures. Yep, this thing can be run pretty low with the right setup. Also, it's very slightly possible that there may be an aftermarket body for it, with a triple tube design like an angel.

This thing can also be modded up the wazoo...the owner's group is http://rainmaker.flipty.com/ --if you don't believe me go and look through the gallery. There is really good support group for any problems at the above owner's group forum-- I'm Kiolia there and almost everywhere else for that matter.

The only thing to watch out for is that there aren't any new ones, so the ones available are kinda old and might need some TLC. A little patience might be need to get it running.
Conclusion: I'd say pick one up while you can, even if only to mess with. You might fall in love. Mine is my primary gun, and I play rookie division tourneys right now. It can compete if you can. You'll pay half the money that timmy-boy did and you'll get awesome performance for it. This has gotta be the best thing ever to come out of Brass Eagle, ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Spartan 2 Sunday, March 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, spyder flash, piranha, blade 2 , talon PGP, shocker, and lots more.
Marker Setup: Had 97' cocker, and one of the newest of the rainmakers. Also have a Piranha VTL for sale now.
Soon to come in 1-2 weeks, Evil omen with (grean)pipe barrel system, (green)CP lightning Drop foward, PMI Thor second regulator, dye izon scope(green), and No rise feed neck(black). Evilution 2 loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is great stock, but it can be tricked further to be better then jujst about any gun out there today. First upgraded I reccommend is a blade trigger kit, front block, After market reg, and a BMW bolt. and thats just to start off.
Strengths: Great gun, takes cocker barrels, bolt is easier to get to then a autococker, very fast, unique looking, loades of mods, Great stock barrel(designed by WDP). only breaks if it's your falt.
Weaknesses: It's loud, but who cares, I think it sound coll!
Conclusion: Very good gun for the price. I would not reccommend to a noobie, but maybe as a second gun or a project gun. But also great as a primary. With a price range to-day, for a stock new rainmaker beeing $100-$150 it's 100 times better then a spyder!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
48 Comments - Add Comment

KnightSchneider Saturday, February 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
haven't shot or owned any products like the Rainmaker.

autocockers are similar...but definately ain't the same.

Marker Setup: 1451 '99 RM

-BMW bolt
-BMW trigger kit
-'98 unlimited ROF board with 6v mod
-BMW mac mount
-gutted HP reg, and capped LP reg
-STO HP reg w/ gauge ports
-Lapco 2 hole ASA
-Micro rock LPR
-High-flow hose kit
-soon to be back block
-Dye stickies
-Lapco drop
-14" Dye Ultralight
-Mad Marty's 1-5 mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mad Marty's 1-5 mods.
New board.
BMW trigger kit.
mac mount and vert ASA.
new regs (gut and cap the stock ones - or get a back block)
Strengths: The design has lots of potential that Brass Eagle failed to capitalize on.

Easily modded.

Cheaply modded.

Really fast.

Decently reliable when you know how to take care of them.

Low blowback.
Weaknesses: It is kind of hard to find some the upgrades (AKA Tornado valves).

Loud - doesn't matter too much to me, but this bothers some.

They aren't very good stock - B. Eagle uses zip ties to hold stuff together instead of going the extra inch to put some good parts on it.
Conclusion: Stock they are decent guns...not so fast (with the 9bps cap on the '99 1451 semi only RM's).

Once you put some upgrades on it, it will be a very nice gun...plus you will probably be the only one on the field with one....and it feels good to take out people with Angel's and Excalibur's with a Brass Eagle product.

seeing as how this review is for a stock Rainmaker I'm giving it a 9/10...because BE really could have made a much better gun without too much more effort.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 6th, 2004 at 1:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stray bullet Wednesday, January 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Test fired an Autococker
Marker Setup: Carrier
I drilled holes in the carrier to reduce the its mass hopefully to reduce the recoil. Put a stainless steel insert for the bolt link. To reduce the play that causes damage to the body and eleminated the "tink" noise.

Hose Kit
No more leaks. Higher flow.

1/2" Clippard Ram
Reduced the recoil and lowered gas consumption.

Turned Valve Stem
The stock diameter of the stem was reduced by half to increase air flow resulting in a lower shooting pressures.

Lighter Valve Spring
Obvious reasons.

Derlin Bolt
Lighter, reduced friction and greater air flow. Yes made it myself.


Mad Marty's Striker Mod
Reduced friction and scraping noise, eleminated shooting "delay," increased gas effeciency, increased bps, increased marker life and no more burning oil smell.

So I put the gas supply on and have to do a little tweaking and overall I'm pleased. Cycles fast and the velocity is tight for C02. 286-292. I take it down to the local shop and ask them what they think. The employees shoot it and with raised eyebrows they admit it's "ok." Having never shot a Autococker before I tell them I want my Rainmaker to stand toe to toe with one. Gofer pulls his AC off the wall and offers me the opprotunity to shoot my first AC. I'm was really surprised that the recoil was far in excess of what my Rainmaker produced. The best way the describe the recoil of the RM is like flicking a light rubber band off you finger. At this point I'm extremely happy and hand Gofer his marker back with a smile on my face. Not wanting to insult a friend I don't compare the recoil but genunely act surprised. They then tell me that the RM has no anti-chop bolt and it will be a problem. I pick up a buisness card off the desk and put it on the neck and rapid fire with out so much as moving the card. I just smile and say "no problem" more raised eyebrows.
Recommended
Upgrades:
See above
Strengths: Very light recoil.
Inexpensive. Picked mine up for $99.
Easly modded and cheap to do so.
Good design but smeared by cheap Brass Eagle accountants who shouldnt have been able modify a design to save a couple bucks. Easly fixed
You can send it to Mad Marty's and he will fix everything for under $100. You can spend that on after marker parts easly so a nice upgrade. It will work with out them but the difference is night and day.
Weaknesses: Needs work out of the box.
See above
Conclusion: If you can pick one up for $100 do it and for an additional $100 on mods you will have an awesome marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Michael C. Wednesday, January 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Autococker, A-5, 98 Cust., 2k1 Angel, EVERYTHING>(Just about)
Marker Setup: Two late '00 Model 1451 Rainmakers,
#1, Ergo Reg-Vertical Adapter. Kapp Drop. Freak w/two inserts.

RM#2, STOCK.

VIsion Impulse, Freak. 114/3000 ACI Bulldog Ajustable

'98 Cocker. Mostly Stock/48/3K
Recommended
Upgrades:
DROP FORWARD. To really counter the weight of the gun you need a huge drop. (Go on ebay and get you a big nice drop for 6 bucks, they're great.)
You don't need a fore-grip, but if you get one, it really helps the looks.
You also might wanna go to radioshack get you a .99 power switch and a 9V Batt. Box. (So you can play with out that crappy BE shroud.
Strengths: Awesome accuracy. NO blowback. Stock barrel is great, copy of a jacko infinity. Trigger is fast but you can make it faster by putting in another trigger stop. This gun smokes my '98 cocker and my friends '03. Once you get used to the gun you can own everyone. GREAT gun. Got my 1st one for 99 bucks. My friend thought it was cool so he bought one b4 they sold out, he hated it because he didn't fix the valve on the mac, so I bought it from him for 50 bucks. (Muhahahahaha) Performs 120000000%% better on n2 than cheap old c02, but if that's all you have, get an anti-siphon.

All in all this gun creams just about anything within 500$ of its price. GET ONE WHILE YOU STILL CAN.
Weaknesses: Stock this gun leaks Horribly. Mac is held on by 2 pull ties, trig doesn't have a power switch (EASY FIX). No foregrip (Big deal..?) It's made by the company 'cocker owners like to dis most. But if you know what you're doing this is the way to go.
Conclusion: 10/10. Get one if you can. Don't pay over $400! You might get a bad one and start dissing brass eagle.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:51 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

arpbt4 Friday, January 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
umm... the mechanical design of this gun is differant than most but if i had to say, probably a shocker, cocker, and intimidater
Marker Setup: 1451 rainmaker
68ci3000psi compressed air/nitro (its same thing)
smartparts allamerican barrel
shocktech dropforward
wgp ergo reg
more to come once i earn more money
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel if ya want....
no required, but i do recommend a regulator
nitro...every gun is better on it (except for SmartParts guns)
Macmount
madmarty mods
bmw bolt
aka tornado valve....(if u can find one pick one up)
Strengths: gas hog??? yea right...i get more shots with this gun than my friends custom 01' cocker.....which is very customised
Weaknesses: loud when stock, but new bolt/ new valve/ new barrel and your set
not much else except for the annoying as hell front pneumatics...i dont know why this guy didnt make this gun with a mount for the solenoid valve...but u can pick one up for 20-40 bucks...so i donbt mind
Conclusion: i love this gun....mine runs at about 400psi...about that of a cocker...little less
once i get a aka valve it will be 200psi or less...about that of a shocker or impy
I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS GUN!!....good luck gettin one tho...nowadays they run for about 550dollars (pb gear was selling them for 100, but they soldout a LONGGGG time ago)..... i really hate to see this gun at less than a 9, so im giving it a 10 to get the average back up
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media