paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker / Brass Eagle Rainmaker

Brass Eagle Rainmaker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Rainmaker

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Rainmaker
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
An electronically controlled semi automatic firing
sequence allows this marker to fire
up to 13 shots per second.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Rainmaker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, March 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Rainmaker w/ 16" CP Barrel, 12v Revolution, Gas-thru stock, Microline remote hose, Vertical Foregrip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel although the stock barrel is not bad.
Maybe a new regulator.
Strengths: Up to 14 bps! Inexpensive. Metal construction, durable, doesnt break balls EVER! Semi-consistant velocity. Works pretty godd with only the stock barrel, although a barrel upgrade is recommended. Light trigger pull, vertical paintball loading for more bps. standard .45 grip with cool finger grooves. Looks great ( alot better than in the promo picture! ). Quick access to the vital internals( the foregrip slides off without any tools for quick field stripping. The bolt cover comes right off and allows you to remove the bolt and run a straight squeegee right through it.
Weaknesses: Zip ties hold on the MAC valve. Trigger can be a little too touchy at times. That is about it.
Conclusion: Great electro! Gives some more expensive guns a run for their money. I give this gun 9 out of 10! Great gun! I reccomend this gun for everyone, not just for beginners.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Em1, and SP Impulse.
Marker Setup: 98 RM,Km2 board , Delrin bolt, GDD backblock, MPP mac Mount and trigger kit, Lapco autospirit barrel, Boa Concealer, Palmers stab, dye stickies, 88/4500 PSI N2, hi flow kit, and fade anno red to orange, milled.
Recommended
Upgrades:
mac mount, and hi flow kit. Reg upgrades are always nice, but not necesary if using nitro, but runs ok on Co2
Strengths: Fast, upgradeable, dependable, and fun to use just because it used to be a Brass eagle marker. ;-) Never chops, I have never chopped a ball. I have broken three in the barrel, ever! I have over two years on this gun, and it has yet to fail me.
Weaknesses: Loud, not for the faint of heart, if you don't want to win...don't get this marker.:-D
also needs a little tweaking to get into competition form. gets dissed by ignorant people, because of the manufacturer. The one thing that needs to be upgraded is the reg, that is the number one upgrade, that and a barrel, (if using the 98 barrel) and you are set, the rest is just icing on the cake. The stock 99+ barrel is good, it is a jacko infinity barrel, with cocker threading.
Conclusion: excellent choice. Rocks most anything else out there, I was offered a vision impulse in trade, I declined. That may tell you something about it.
buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
M98, Spyder Compact 2000, Pirahna, Spyder Shutter w/ELCD Frame: None of these can keep up with a Rainmaker.
Angel, Spyder EM-1, Tribal Addicted, 2k Autococker: All MUCH better than the Rainmaker
Marker Setup: Tribal Addicted: Stock except for an Air America Vigilante and a Drop Forward.
2k Autococker: Stock except for a CP Pro Barrel and Drop Forward.
Runa all my Markers with Compressed Air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mad Marty's Internal clean ups and mods ($50). A derlin bolt ($22-25). An aftermarket Regulator ($55). Cap and gut the rear reg ($5), Either a 98 RM Board or a Gale Force board ($35-$100). SS LP Hose kit ($20). New barrel ($50). Mac Mount ($20-25). SS Link Pin ($10). Hopper Power ($5). As you can see a lot to get it up to even an EM-1. At the low end it's over $250 just to get it close to an EM-1. New EM-1's are going for $250 with a barrel that is much better than the RM.
Strengths: Very solid and dependable when maintained correctly. Can be used in wet, dirty muddy conditions without to much worry of messing the marker up. Basic idea is sound and dependable.
Weaknesses: There are a few good people out there making some custom parts but prices are not all that great. Most of the stuff is not annodized, so you have to get that done yourself. After buying a RM and even doing the bare upgrades to get it to shoot consistent over the chrono, (Cap and gut the rear reg, New Regulator, Derlin Bolt), you could have bought an EM-1 or a nice Tribal from Air Soldier and have a MUCH better marker. Then when you add the cost of parts to get it to perform as well as most of the electro's out there, you could buy an EM-1, Bushy, Impulse, almost up to an Intimidator. And those are all markers that look like all the parts belong together. When your done with the RM, it looks like an unfinished Tinkerer's project. Don't get me wrong, the RM will perform well, it just will not have a professional look to the complete package. Just my thoughts on it.
Conclusion: The RM performs well with a few mods. With all the ones I've listed, it will be a great performing marker. If you must have a RM, then by all means get one. But if value and finish are important, then look away from this marker and buy something else. The up front cost may be more, but once you get the RM up to close to even an EM-1, you could have bought a NICE marker. Enjoy.

Steve
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Strengths: Again, another update on my reviews below. Please read them for context.

Rainmakers have got to be the best value in paintball, bar none. I see all these people buying Spyders/Draguns with electro-grip frames and saying that they're better than Rainmakers. Let me remind you that a Rainmaker is similar in operation to Impulses and Bushmasters and in a different class than open-bolt blowbacks with electro grips.

Have you ever heard of a Rainmaker chopping balls? Yeah? Then you obviously didn't hear it from a person who owns one. I've yet to chop ONE ball in its lifetime of more than 16 cases. I find that when a ball jams, the bolt will nudge it into place, retract and fire it on the next cycle. Failing that, you can remove the bolt cover and bolt in under two seconds, squeegee from the BACK TO THE FRONT and be ready again in under five seconds.

No aftermarket support? Wrong again. The Rainmaker Owners Group (rainmaker.flipty.com) can connect you with an active community of top notch machinists who make PLENTY of aftermarket components that not only enhance performance, but cosmetics as well. Not satisfied? They also routinely perform custom fabrications for owners who want something entirely different at very reasonable prices.

Is it heavy? Hardly. The Rainmaker weights about four pounds making it somewhat heavy...if you're an anemic 10 year old. The lightest markers weighing half as much...save you only about...2 pounds. Consider how many markers weigh 2 pounds, then consider how much more they cost. You'll quickly discover why the Rainmaker should be the value conscious buyer's first choice.

Read the reviews online at paintballravi.com, warpig.com or anywhere else for that matter. Read reviews by recognized members of the paintball community. Everyone either rates it above average or better. I don't know what's worse, the fradulent reviews written by retarded 9-year olds, or the brainless idiots who believe them.

Spend your money on paintballs and field fees and improve your skills. You'll simply outclass your opponents who have bought into the equipment hype and subsequently don't have enough money left for paint.

---

Rainmaker: $300 (MSRP -- you know you can find them MUCH cheaper)

Field fees: $25

The look on a cross-eyed mama's boy toting a $2000 marker when you snap shoot him from 25 feet away with a Brass Eagle: priceless.
Weaknesses: Ill-received brand name. While this isn't the fault of the marker, it reflects upon it anyway.

Minor implementation issues. There are some corners that had to be cut to make an electropneumatic marker for the masses. While there are PLENTY of aftermarket fixes for these, the stock versions are lacking in some areas.
Conclusion: Spend the money you saved on paint. You'll EARN the respect of your peers when you get impossible eliminations because they underestimated you soley on the basis of your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None similar, I own a 2 Spyders, a JT 4.0 and a Brass Eagle Avenger
Marker Setup: I have not upgraded this marker yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None Yet
Strengths: Very accurate with a high rate of fire. I can zoom with this marker. Some people claim its heavy but I have not noticed this. I havent broken any balls yet.
Weaknesses: I always try to be honest and and open minded with a product. I do not condemn Brass Eagle Products in general but try them first. I have had to do a lot of work on this gun. The first day the bolt stuck and the front shroud fell off. I still cannot get this piece to stay on. It arrived with some type of wear on the bottom of the shroud like someone used a grinder to make it fit. I do not like the velcro tie to hold the battery in. My trigger button in the grip has stuck 3 times. Taking this apart and fixing it is very time consuming and aggravating. This absolutely cannot be done on the field. Getting any type of customer service from Brass Eagle has been a nightmare
Conclusion: Like i said I try a product before i review it. Brass Eagle normally makes decent products for the beginner. I started off with a Talon and fell in love with Paintball. I then went to a Stingray and then to the markers I use now. I feel this can be a great marker if Brass Eagle will honor their products and customers with help if you need it. I believe that you stand a 50/50 chance of getting a great gun or a clunker with the rainmaker. A friend of mine has had none of these problems with his Rainmaker. Based on this I will give it a 5 because you may get a great marker or a lemon.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, shocker, bushmaster2k
Marker Setup: Eclipse cocker w/ sp freak barrel and 68ci 4500psi raptor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, some work on the front end...get it so that you aren't using twist ties to hold the whole thing together.
Strengths: The price. This is a top performance gun, available for less than a power feed automag.
The trigger...again, as I said about the bushmaster, about as fast as you can expect out of any gun. The pull is light and easy, can have the slop taken out of it with very little effort, and can be set (with a little bit of work) to have no extra play on it whatsoever.
Weaknesses: The only major downfall to the rainmaker is that it is made by Brass Eagle. Brass Eagle, for some reason, has an incredibly bad reputation in the paintball world. While I feel that they give people markers, who wouldn't normally have them (talon, samuri etc.), people still insist on suggesting that these lower end guns 'suck', not that they are simply worth what you are paying for them.
The rainmaker, considered the first 'low end' electro, made the mistake of being horribly ugly, and horribly heavy....not anywhere near 'sexy' enough to compete with the lines of an angel or shocker. The gun is also quite loud, no matter WHAT barrel you put on it.
Finally, you would think that BE would have secured the front end with something more than twist ties. Once you remove that shroud, what you find under it is a touch scary in its amatuerishness.
Aftermarket parts are NOT readily available, and in fact are quite difficult to find.
There are very, very, VERY few shops that actually know how to work on these guns, so unless you are fairly technically handy, this gun is a poor, poor choice.
Conclusion: Brass Eagle has always seemed to stick by the motto 'you get what you pay for'. Thats pretty much true of the rainmaker as well. For performance will it compete with stock cockers, mags, and other guns in the 300 and under cost rage? Absolutely...I would wager to say its as good as any of those. Going strictly on performance will it compete with angels, shockers, bushmasters, matrixes, and other assorted 'mid to high end' electros? Probably not. I've seen rainmakers with a lot of work done to them, and while they're nice, they still don't have the 'zest' of the high end electros.
If what you want is the feel of the fastest possible electro trigger, and you don't want to spend the $500+ most of those guns cost, the rainmaker is a great choice...just be prepared to have difficulty finding aftermarket parts and techs to do anything on it.
Again, great gun for the cost. If someone asked me what gun to spend 300 bucks on, this would be one of the ones I recommend.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Adrenaline Angel - rage
2000 cocker (totally rebuilt)
various other mechanical guns (spyders, raptors, etc.)
Marker Setup: 2000 cocker with KAPP Y2K gas block, ACM ram - chrome, Palmer Rock Regulator, Shocktech Bomb 3-way, low pressure Vigilante, ACM drop forward,Shocktech beavertail and cocking rod, 32 Degrees SS hammer kit, KAPP Y2K razor backblock, WGP hinged trigger frame, KAPP Y2K bolt, boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
For the Rainmaker, I recommend that you rebuilt the stock regulators. Using HPA, you are hard pressed to get shootdown with a rainmaker. The more likely occurrance is that the gun will just simply not shoot until the pressure in the regs recharges to operating pressure.(this takes less than 1 second usually) Also, if you were to get a new valve, your gas flow would also increase. Moreover, if you play with a tank on gun setup, I highly recommend that you get a nice drop forward. I am currently using a KAPP Drop Zone cradle. This will help to distibute the weight of the Rainmaker, making it more manageable.
Strengths: This gun is reliable and has decent range and accuracy. You can tag a guy with an angel outside of his effective range with a Rainmaker. The stock barrel is also very good. It is short, which makes sighting down the barrel harder, but the step honing and the porting really helps. I've also found that with a good coating of barrel wax or RainX, the stock barrel shoots through breaks, which are rare, very well. For one thing, the stock barrel cleans itself much better than a boomstick. The bolt design is also very efficient. People talk about their Matrices and other electros, saying how accurate they are, but they often over look the Rainmaker. Like the Matrix, the Rainmaker is simulated closed bolt. When ready to fire, the bolt is back. When fired, the bolt closes and remains closed for six milliseconds, during which time the valve opens into the bolt firing a paintball. This gives the Rainmaker surprising range and accuracy. It sure outshoots any other electro I've seen except the Shocker, and it will give a cocker a run for its money in the departments of accuracy and range.
Weaknesses: The Rainmaker comes with some less than desireable materials holding the front pneumatics together. The zip ties and plastic air fittings are cheesy, but they work!
Conclusion: When looking for a competition level gun don't overlook the Rainmaker. Don't let those losers that bash Brass Eagle sway your opinion. The Rainmaker is a qualtiy gun. Even out of the box, it will outshoot an angel, maybe not in speed, but in accuracy and range, and it gives cockers and shockers a hard time. I know what I'm talking about. I own a tricked out cocker that I modified myself with $1000 plus, I've played with my friend's shocker, and with my cousin's angel. Believe me, the Rainmaker has no problem keeping up with any of these markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon -> Other pump(??? I Forget) -> Blacknight -> Spider -> Model 98 -> Autococker
Marker Setup: 1450 Rainmaker (Black Ice reg, adjustable trigger, higher flow (machined new internal holes, made low pressure chamber where reg used to be, splash anodized it myself), 16 All American barrel, 12 v rev, still running on Co2 though, various sights
Recommended
Upgrades:
All the above, DONE BY A COMPETENT MACHINIST (I only trusted myself), also the derlin bolt, and perhaps a new low pressure reg (autococker reg)
Strengths: Fast as the best, you can do a lot of modifications to it, accurate, grabs attention. I don't care what people say about BE this marker is well worth the money.
Weaknesses: For some people it is to heavy. One major thing is that the gun is very tempermental, if you aren't willing to baby it a little of the field it would perform as well as it could on the field.
Conclusion: Look at the prices, then look at the performance, the conclusion should be natural and eloquent. Also for machinists looking to build a marker the way they want it I would definitely reccomend this one, endless possiblities
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LokiOs Thursday, January 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first electronic gun I have ever used.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, regulator (gut the stock reg), drop forward, mac mount, relocate the battery to the hopper, delrin bolt, etc....
Strengths: I LOVED this gun. There are SO many upgrades that can be done to this gun, it is unbelievable. It will always draw attention, and it always preforms. The people over at the rainmakers owners group are like a big family. They will always help out, and they treat everyone with respect. It is alos really fun to tag people with a Brass Eagle marker :)
Weaknesses: It does require a lot of upkeep.
Conclusion: I have played paintball on and off for 8 years now, and this is the best gun I have ever used, (I do NOT have the money for the more expensive guns like the angels, atc...). I would recommend this gun for anyone that wants an electronic gun that is going to satnd out at the field. It is no longer the cheapest electro on the market, but it is one of the most unique. It does require quite a bit of maintenance, it is NOT a plug and play gun, (that is one of the reason I got rid of it). And no matter what everbody else says if you treat this gun right, and do a little work, it can keep up with the best guns out there, with no problems at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Modle '98 Custom
Spyder Compact 2 in 1 Java edition
Marker Setup: Spyder compact 2 in 1 Java edition.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic trigger kit.
Strengths: Very acurate. I don't care what anyone says about brass eagle. I thought I would never say this about a brass eagle gun but after playing against it, but it is a good gun. I was playing against this one guy who was using a used rainmaker, when this guy on my team got shot and I was the only person on my team left, and the guy with the rainmaker came and shot me in the hopper and started shooting on the run and he was shooting in the same place everytime after he stopped running. If there is only one good gun brass eagle makes (seems like it to me anyways) it's the rainmaker.
Weaknesses: Too heavy. That is it.
Conclusion: If you want to get a good gun that is electronic and you don't have enough for an angel, this is the gun for you. Nice R.O.F. Very accurate. 7 out of 10 times the rainmaker will shoot in the same place.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media