paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman

Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 41
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Halo TSA, LCD has sound activation that agitates on the sound of your marker.

Features:

Lean left, paddle spins right
Lean right, paddle spins left
Two 9V or 8 AAA battery operation
Set Timer function
Shot Counter
Motor Duration (range: 3 to 15)
Sensitivity Threshold (range: 5 to-95)
Bolt Style Selection (open/closed)
Motor Speed selection - 3 options
Timeout adjustment (range: 5 to-50)
Capacity 180 paintballs.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Frontman is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Carrion Fields Wednesday, July 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, Egg
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II (Go on, Laugh. Everyone does.)
Delrin ACS Bolt
15* Assault Block
Six-Stage Expansion Chamber
Spyder Bottomline Regulator w/ Macro Line
Halo TSA Frontman
Strengths: Works great for most average markers.
Durable as all heck.
Lots of neat LCD functions.
Weaknesses: LCD is easy to mess up.
Lid pops open wayyyy too easy.
Eyes pop off.
Review: I'm pretty new to the game, but I actually love this hopper. I've tried the Evo II(without Z-Board) and the Revvy, and this does just as well for me. I will have to get something different for the Electra '05 I'm getting, but this will work for a start. I can get about 15 BPS out of it, which is about as much as my Victor II can get with the spring kit in it.

Strengths:
- Durable as all get-out. I've never had a concern or worry about the shell or the feedneck breaking on me. I've banged it against trees, dropped it on the ground and all that and it works great still.
-All the features on the LCD are pretty cool, but most of them really are not all that important or necessary.
-Low-profile front makes the paintballs bounce off, which really ticks off the people I play with now, because I'll run with it way out front just to do that.

Weaknesses:
-I've gotten water in the LCD before, as I was stoopid and washed it out to get paint out of the inside (I had some awful balls when I first started and well, it got very ugly when they chopped in my gun, not the hopper). BUT, and this is a great BUT. The water inside hasn't effected anything that I can tell, no streaks or screwy circuits.
-The lid seems to pop open way too easy, I fixed it easy with some magnets, but it's still an annoyance when you first get it. Lost a few hoppers full of paint like that.
-The shot counter, I didn't notice it before the water accident, but since nothing else seems to be out of whack, doesn't work right on mine. I've gone through a case of paint and the shot counter will tell me I've shot only like, two or three-hundred rounds. BULLKRAP!!!
Conclusion: All in All, this is a wonderful hopper for the price, for anyone who wants something better than a Revvy or Empire. On Par with the egg, but with a Z-board, the halo frontman can't compete. I've never had a problem with customer assistance or help with this company and I trust them. Great product and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants something different.

I give it a 9, only because VERY seldom is anything perfect and this thing does have a few flaws. But still a great little hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Cbar Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
regular hoppers
Marker Setup: 2005 Autococker Trilogy/Competition w/Evil Driver, Crossfire 3K, Black Magic 2K Bolt, Halo TSA LCD Frontman
Strengths: Quiet, easy on batteries, tough, a must have upgrade.
Weaknesses: None that I've encountered.
Review: The halo fontman was a great investment. Its fast, reliable, silent and its paddle design allows it to keep the paint moving without it breaking like force feedloaders. I find it to be easy to use and light on battery useage. The low profile has been a definite help in those close encounters, not to mention this thing looks fantasic. No one should have to shoot above 14-15 balls a second, so I'd prefer this to the Halo B which weighs more and has a larger profile.
Conclusion: Althogether I'm glad I purchased it, any one without a electric hopper should get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Birdsofprey#21 Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL REV w/ x board
Marker Setup: sp imp, aradus barrel, halo tsa frontman hopper, java 4500psi 68ci air tank
Strengths: Small profile= less hopper hits, tilt sound activated= better feeding
Weaknesses: weak LCD screens, shell breaks easy,
Review: the hopper is ok but it is by far not the best.
my LCD screen broke and shattered my first game with it when sombody shot me when i was walking to the dead box & they hit my hopper on the screen and it stopped working and the screen litteraly shattered.
my hopper was in a bag with the rest of my pb stuff it didn't get smashed or anything and when i pulled out to use it the shell was broke in 2 places
Conclusion: Don't get this hopper!!!
Get a rev, evo, or halo b.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DyE4aReAsOn153 Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL revelotion 1
Marker Setup: tipmann 98 costom w/ response trigger/halo frontman tsa/14in empire twister
Strengths: Tilt sound activation
Pretty fast
Price
Weaknesses: The screen was a confusing but i got a freind to help me out with
Review: i think this is a great hopper for$60 its relible but DONT play with the lcd screen in the rain my freind made that mistake and it got screwed over big time and the hopper could be a little faster but its only $60 i cant really complain over all i like this hopper i only gave it an eight because i thought the screen was a little confusing and it could be a little faster.
Conclusion: Yes i recommend this product
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

surfinsk8r Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 Volt Revolution - Much faster than revvy
Halo Egg - Much more cheaper than egg, decent egg is too exspensive for me
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with Response Trigger
20 oz co2
stock barrel
Odyssey Halo TSA LED Loader
Strengths: Speed
Power
Works When You Need It
Quiet
Weaknesses: Look can be improved, and ball capacity
Review: O Snap I just found out I don't actually own this, but the LED version, I hear it is just as good. This hopper is great! Some Losers decide to give this thing a bad rating just cause they "easily" broke theirs. Ok, feedneck needs a bit of reinforcing for the player that runs into trees often. To solve this problem, get a friggin mask that lets you see right and left! Wow, People these days expect things to work after you hit them with a friggin hammer. At 15 balls per second, this thing rocks! By The Way, for those of you short on the buck should purchase this thing on ebay, like I did, and get it for $41! yah, shipping is $11 but the same guy sells these things that cheap. Any hopper that isn't constantly going, and gets 15 balls per second deserves a 10 out of 10.
I own a Tippmann 98 Custom with a Response Trigger so keep in mind that this hopper goes faster than my hopper so I don't have to worry about it chopping paint!
Conclusion: Buy it on Ebay, I am cheap so $110 is way out of my league, so buy it on ebay for half price!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 28th, 2005 at 3:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dal302 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
Marker Setup: Piranha GTI E-Force, 32 degrees quiet riot 14in barrel, halo B...
Strengths: Tilt sound activation
Weaknesses: Some of the settings are annoying to figure out.
Review: I lost both the halo stickers right away, not that that matters. And my display screen got water in it somehow the first day I used it, so a large streak right down the middle of it formed, making it difficult to read what was on the screen. I don't know if this happens often, but I wouldn't recomend playing with it in even the slightest bit of rain. It didn't fit well into my feedneck, it was to small, moved around alot. Onetime it was turned on, but it wouldn't do anything. I would pull the trigger, and it wouldn't feed. Nothing happened at all. I turned the hopper off then back on, and it started to work again.

I think it's cool how if it's tilted one way it will change direction to make sure that it always feeds properly. Some of the settings are cool too, such as the game timer. It feeds pretty fast, at 14 plus balls per second. If the moter speed was turned up to high it would occasionally break paint inside the hopper. But thats my fault for turning it up to high lol. I did not have to many problems with this hopper, and the bulk of them were when I first got it.
Conclusion: I think that this is a good hopper. People who don't play to often will be impressed with all the buttons. Though some of the functions don't actually seem very usefull. The tilt sound activation is cool, and it feeds pretty fast. It's not overly durable, so don't throw it against a tree or anything. And keep it away from water. Oh and lid will open very easilly, and not always when you want it to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Daryn Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
egg
viewloader (doesnt even compare)
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 2K4
16" chrome Smart Parts Progressive
Smoke Halo TSA LCD
Dye Sticky 3 E-Grips
new feedneck
Strengths: Light
Solid
Quick
Leans
Weaknesses: Weak neck
Magnet came out
Review: Pros:

I just received my TSA and on my Spyder, which is soon to be my backup gun, it feeds nicely and i never chop a ball. the rhythm of the feed motor actually helps me keep my rhythm when i walk the trigger (dont ask). the shot counter is pretty accurate, maybe off 1 or 2 balls sometimes, but who seriously needs that anyways (other than for personal excitement? i dont know) the outer shell is sturdy and can take a beating. i also like all of the options and thats exactly why i got it. i like the fact that i can adjust the spin speed depending on my battery set-up and my marker. i currently have it set on medium to preserve some battery life (the manual says that doing this can double the life, but that seems like a stretch). the cover is magnetic! i was surprised at how strong the magnets were. no more losing paint, hopefully. also, the lean right and left paddle direction change is awesome. i had the marker totally sideways and it was still feeding. great reason to buy it.

i'll be sure to update this when i have more experience with it.

Cons:

This is pretty minor but when i opened the hopper cover, one of the magnets didnt stay stuck in its original spot. the strength of the magnet actually pulled the cover magnet out and it always sticks to its opposite. i can probably fix this, but it doesnt cause any problems for me. cover doesnt flip open or anything. sometimes its just a pain trying to re-align the magnet with the original hole to close the cover. another thing that concerned me was that the feedneck feels somewhat flimsy. hopefully this doesnt pose an issue for me in the future. the day my hopper flies off is the day i will be pissed. the feedneck i added should hold it on, but the rest is up to the hopper's neck.
Conclusion: recommend this to anyone shooting in the 13-15bps range. whoever said it feeds 20bps is crazy. it does well for my Spyder and it should do fine for my Automag. its a solid product but like everything else, it does have a few weaknesses. i have a ton of friends that use this hopper and love it. aside from its cons, its a great hopper. never get a chop, ever.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 at 8:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Northman017 Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 12V Revy, and Empire Reloader
Marker Setup: Mongoose 2 with Regulator, Upgraded bolt, and other slight modifications
Strengths: -Good feed rate
-display can be helpfull
-lid is kept sealed by magnets, nifty!
Weaknesses: -Very fragil
-annoying to clean
-If display gets wet it's done for
Review: I first borrowed my friends Halo hopper for one game and it seemed alright. So I bought my own which ended up being a nightmare. The hopper would not stay on the gun, and I have a clamping feed neck. It popped off once and broke the battery connection terminal. Another time the feed neck actually snapped and my hopper fell off and spilled paint everywhere. I was at a game when this happened so I HAD to repair it with super glue and duct tape to continue playing which voided the warranty. the materiel the hopper itself is made out of is far too fragile.
Conclusion: I would not recomend anyone buy this unless you have money to buy a new one every game you go to. The shell matirel WILL break after continued use and because of the smooth plastic, the hopper is hard to keep on the gun, even with a clamping feed neck. LOOK ELSEWHERE!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

wenyadh Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revolution: Little slower
HALO B: much faster
Marker Setup: ill state later
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: GOOD

-One of the fastest non belt driven loaders out there
-LCD has some good features
-Keeps up with all mech's and electro's shooting bursts up to 15 BPS
-Tilt sensor activation is pretty cool
-fairly quiet
-feeds properly
-narrow front end will help to deflect balls
-smaller profile
-shell is fairly strong

BAD

-feedneck seems a bit weak and could easily be broken if put it under too much stress
-Only 3 colors
-2 batteries (9 vlts)
-halo stickers fall off (not very big deal)
Conclusion: I would say go for it if you want some extra features that the LCD has to offer like a shot counter etc and a lil bit of more speed and options then other loaders.
However if you dont need the speed and dont want LCD features go with an empire reloader or a revy for a little bit cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

musicguy Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet Apache, HALO B, Empire Reloader
Marker Setup: Psycho ballistics Silver Bullet LCD, 32 Degrees 16"Terminator, 32 Degrees 6 piece spring kit, HALO TSA Frontman LCD
Strengths: Very light, stealthy looking, very quiet, easy to use setup
Weaknesses: Sometimes takes a lot of noise to trigger it
Review: Alright I love this loader. Very light for how big it is. This loader will not slow you down at all when your on the field. The LCD screen doesn't light up that much so if you play in the woods it wont give you away. The lid is magnetized so don't worry about the lid flying open and paint balls going everywhere. You can basically customize everything about your hopper with the button. You can set the time, count your shots, set motor duration(how long the spin time is), sensitivity(sensitivity to sound to activate the motor), bolt style(open or closed), motor speed, and time outs.

The only bad thing about it is that you need two 9 volt batteries


Conclusion: Its light, quiet, stealthy, and unbelievable customization. I strongly recommend this loader especially if you have a silver bullet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media