paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock

Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Blackpoint Engineering

Buy Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock

Paintball Custom 98 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ONLY weighs about one pound and is precision machined from aircraft grade aluminum bar stock. Black Anodized.
Product Availability 
The Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
DeltaNu1142 Monday, October 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
CAR stock--it won't clear the tank without a drop-forward in a lot of cases; doesn't get out of the way like the Blackpoint, and doesn't look as cool
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C--cyclone feed, e-Grip, Apex barrel, JCS folding stock w/RVA, and a partridge in a pear tree
Strengths: Light, folds completely out of the way, can get an RVA on this model
Weaknesses: May not lock in the folded position with a cyclone feed
Review: I had problems getting this stock secured on my 98C at first. The locking nut at the mounting point actually required pliers to torque it down. Once it's torqued, though, it doesn't move. I also torqued down the knurled knob that locks the length. The only problem I encountered was that when everything is nice & tight, the stock hits my cyclone feed when folded; that's OK, but requires that I really squeeze it against the marker to get it to lock in that position.
Conclusion: Great stock, I love it & it looks awesome.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

urbanswat12 Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: vs1 w/qlock, Reloader II Empire, smart parts 16 inch all amarican barrel

tippman 98 w/ gravity fed hopper, Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock, laser dot sight, and 16 inch Linear barrel
Strengths: Strong
Light
Folds
And has length adjustment
Weaknesses: It wiggles left to right ( I fixed that with a socket wrench)
Review: For christmas i got a JCS Folding Stock. i would not expect it to be a folding stock because its was light in the package.

After i installed it to my gun i went to my home field and tryed it out, it was really good it was light fast and foldable which is a really good advantage.

The only problum was it was giving my low fps but then i found out theres a back ajustment on the stock that lets me increase or decrease volocity.

so its pritty much a stock but it folds and you get a back volocity ajustment
Conclusion: Its a stock but it folds and you get a back volocity ajustment .

Buy it, its only $50 and its great for woodsball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannCCI Monday, November 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
6 point stocks
mr series
Marker Setup: Tippmann 20th Anniversary Limited Edition
JCS Combat folding stock
Ricochet Apache
J&J Edge

CCI Phantom VSC
Strengths: Foldable
Adjustable
Light
Convenient
Steadies shots
Weaknesses: Adjustment screw comes loose sometimes?
Review: Well i wanted to play with this stock for a few months before i wrote a review on it and let me just say this thing is awsome. It can bee run without a remote since the stock s adjustable and a tank wont get in the way.
In a tight spot? just fld it to the side mabe an inch and a hlf- 2 inches sticks out not very much at all.
he stock is made out of a solid block of aluminum so it is very sturdy but also very light. It fits very nicely onto my shoulder.
Conclusion: id say buy it, its adjustable to whatever length you need it and its can fold of to the side so that its not in the way.
What have u got to loose?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

purelycanadian Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No Other Stocks
Marker Setup: -- Tippmann 98 Custom

-- BE Folding Stock
-- BT Adjustable Rail
-- BSA 30mm Red-Dot
-- PMI Remote Coil
-- Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
-- Tippmann Double Trigger
-- Tippmann Camouflage Graphic Kit (98 Custom)
-- Pure Energy Co2 Tanks x3
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: First off, I bought this in order to add more stability when aiming my marker, why else would you buy it? Yes I've used it for a year, and I just never got around to reviewing it. Anyways...


Strenths

1. The stock is metal. It is not going to break on you.
2. It folds in completely, unlike some stocks that only compact or fold in slightly.
3. It is very versitile in the amount of extension you want, you can leave it compacted when it's out or you can extend it quite far.
4. It does what it's supposed to do, it helps stabalize your aim.
5. Weight, it's pretty light considering it's metal.

Weaknesses

1. It's still (as are most stocks) pretty expensive.
2. It tends to come loose and flip around sometimes.
3. There is a slight wobble left and right, but not enough to be of a major bother.
4. You NEED a sight rail and a red-dot or other aiming system in order to aim when you've got a mask on.
5. If the stock is folded up to the gun, it's difficult to switch hands.
Conclusion: It's a good stock, it looks pretty cool, and it does its job. I'm not sure it was worth the $90.00 CDN I paid for it though. The loosening is kind of annoying, and it really bother me that it has to be unfolded in order to switch hands. I'm giving it an 8, because it could be approved upon.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ross4964 Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TAPCO SAW
Marker Setup: 98c pro w/ egrip,16 in smart parts progessive, remote, expansion chamber,copper red dot sight
Strengths: Folding and it extends
Weaknesses: Wobbles and cant aim down sights
Review: well when i was a noob i wanted to get alot of up grades for my gun so i got this stock at my local pb store installed it. it was a little wobbly so i tried to add tape to the inside to tighten it up..... it helped a little but not much so i delt with it for a while until my sister broke it (i dont know how because it made form metal).

After that i decied to get a different stock and i went with the tapco SAW and it was the best thing i did for my gun
Conclusion: If u want some wobble in your stock then go ahead and buy it bc its only 55$ but i wouldn't recommend it bc of it wobble
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006 at 6:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bushman Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a gas through stock, and a six position stock. the six positing still requires a raised sight rail, and is a little big on the shoulder weld. the gas through just makes your gun look ugly but is still a little less effective as a stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom Pro E, W.A.S. Board, Thunder Pig Barrel, Folding Stock, Evlution II Hopper, Z-Board, Double Trigger, Drop Forward
Strengths: Gives you steady and more consistent shots
Weaknesses: Wiggles at folding point, raised sight required
Review: it has a good conection at the gun as long as you tighten the screws enough, wiggling doesn't cause a real problem, good weld into the shoulder, like most other stocks you still need to purchase a raised sight rail, I would recommend the Lapco sight rail, they have fixed the screw problem. It is fully adjustable and gets outa the way when you need to get Close and Personel.
Conclusion: Its there when you need it and isn't when you don't. Great for snipers when your taking the shot and then gets short so you can make a fast get away
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slimz Sunday, August 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CAR 3-position stock
Grip mounted T-stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 (Old-School)
Starfire bolt, Palmer Stab, AA Barrel.

Raider hand guard + Raised Weaver Rail
Opsgear Mag kit, vertical front handle.
Strengths: Versatility
Strength
Style
Simplicity
Weaknesses: The button is slightly hard to find with your thumb when the stock is closed.
Review: Simplicity: I liked this stock as soon as I heard about it, mainly for this reason: It's simple. It's either open or it's closed. One of the things I hated about the old CAR stocks (especially the 6-position models) was that you had to find your favorite length every time you "collapsed" it - an annoying design flaw in my humble opinion.

Strength: For those die-hard plastic fans out there - this is going to be a real disappointment. This is no chew toy - solid construction using only high strength aluminum, brass, and stainless steel. I could seriously beat someone to death with this thing (if I was so compelled) without leaving a scratch on it. I use only the toughest materials on my marker - not a piece of plastic on it (unless you count the hopper) because frankly - I like to be able to abuse my gun without worrying about something breaking.

Versatility: When I bought the stock, it came with a drop saddle already installed (drops the stock about an inch lower than the origional, comes standard on all newer versions ot this stock), and also bought a grip mount for a measly $7.01. What this means is that I can now adjust the height, length, and mounting point of this stock to my hearts content. I can also mount it on a spyder or any other marker with a standard bottom line (Two linear holes or two offset holes on the bottom of the grip frame).

Style: I have to admit, when I first heard about this stock, I was skeptical. Nothing this versital could possibly look good. Well I got news for you: It's not only good, it is without question, the meanest looking stock I have ever seen. The look in your enemy's eyes is priceless when you click this thing into place and take aim.
Conclusion: A must-have for anyone considering a stock - forget the CAR stock, forget the fixed stock.
Bottom line: THIS THING OWNS - if you're getting a stock, get a JCS.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 10th, 2005 at 6:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntballguy877 Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy
apache loader
16" all american
superfly bolt
Strengths: Foldable
Adjustable
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I got this product when I used to play woodsball. One of the pros of this is that it is very light. I got this put on my gun and went out to play with it. The first thing I noticed was that now I couldn't look down the gun which really sucked. I was used to shooting this way and trying to adjust to it was really hard. A couple of good things are that you can fold it and adjust it during a game and not get bunkered.
Conclusion: I would get this if it applies to your type of play.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

=CUS-|-OM= Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tank stocks and Ariakon stocks
Marker Setup: -Tippman Model 98 Custom
-GTA Double Trigger
-14" CP Barrel
-Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop-Forward
-JCS Folding Stock
Strengths: -It folds
-Extends
Weaknesses: -Doesn't help you see the sights AT ALL
-Bulky
Review: This is a good stock. I've used it in a few scnearios and its held up everything ive thrown at it. Although, since this stock does not indent or dip inwards like a rifle stock or M4 stock, you cannot position your cheek with the stock. Basically, you still can't look through your sights on the 98 Custom. Also when it is folded on the side of the gun, it is very bulky and you have to be careful. But this stock was made for a steadier shot and thats what it does.
Conclusion: Durable stock, but a few downers...
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crazy_Sam Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 black w/BT-Fixed sight rail, BT-Combat folding stock, PMI Razzor 14" silver barrel and Tasco 3-7x20mm hunting sight.
Strengths: Solid, metal, very light.
Weaknesses: Maybe a little hard to install, or is it my inexperience at that time?
Review: Thank God Almighty for metal. I mean, really ! There's nothing like the feeling of cold black iron gun in your hands. Well, as much as I'm concerned, a paintball marker is the closest of a real gun I will ever get to. So, to add to the realism of my Tippmann C98, I bought this Ben Tippmann Combat folding stock which is, IMO, a very good and useful addition to anyone's marker.
First of all, it helps stabilize your position when firing still. I think that running with the stock unfold isn't a good tactical choice, but there are people in my paintball team that think otherwise. I do like to use tips that my brother (which had military training) gave me about how to breath while picking your target, then at the peak of inhalation you squeeze a shot then let go and start again (a hint : if you missed your target and it spotted you, run instead :P).
I found the stock somewhat hard to install on first try, but then it did stay right where it was after I installed it (not like a friend of mine whose stock did came loose and dropped on the side at time).
Conclusion: Well, a good stock made of light metal (much better than plastic ones), solid enough to last long and, face it, it surely adds to the realism of your marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media