paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock

Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Blackpoint Engineering

Buy Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock

Paintball Custom 98 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ONLY weighs about one pound and is precision machined from aircraft grade aluminum bar stock. Black Anodized.
Product Availability 
The Blackpoint Engineering 98 Combat Folding Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
PolarMonkey Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
CAR Stock - worse, even when fully collapsed it still protrudes way out there
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
Smart Parts 12" Teardrop Barrel
JCS Combat Folding Stock
Strengths: Adjustable for length
Quick to fold and unfold
Looks awesome
Weaknesses: Can rotate if lockring comes loose (easy fix)
Cannot use stock sights with face mask
Review: After playing a few times using a 20 oz tank as a stock I decided that I wanted to get a remote line since I didn't like how much bulk and weight the 20 oz was adding to my gun. I like having a stock there to help stabilize the gun so I started looking for a stock to replace my tank with. A bunch of my friends who I play with have CAR stocks on their guns. I tried them out but didn't like them at all. They look cool, but make very little sense since they still stick out a good amount even when fully collapsed (this is necessary on real M16's and AR15's because they have a spring in the stock tube but is totally unneeded on a paintball gun unless you're going for the milsim look). I then found the Combat 98 folding stock on xpaintball and decided to look it up here. After reading the good reviews I ordered it and I am not disappointed. It was easy to install, looks great and is comfortable and easy to adjust. The only minor gripes I have are that if the lock ring comes loose at all, then the stock can rotate on you. Also you can't see the stock Tippmann sights while you have a mask on and the stock unfolded. You will need some sort of raised sight with this stock.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a folding stock, this is the one to get. It's functional, high quality, and looks and works awesome. I'd buy it again in an instant.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 15th, 2004 at 9:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrmystic Friday, September 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/:
14" CP 1 Piece Barrel
Black Point Voodo style folding stock
"replacement" springs
GTA Vertical Adapter
GTA Expansion Chamber
remote line.
Strengths: It's short! Like me! I love it.
Weaknesses: May come loose if you don't get it tightened right. Easy to fix.
Review: Umm... 50 words? Must be my english teacher running this place. Hope she forgives my spelling. I love this thing, it's one of the best things I've ever purchesed for my marker. I use it all the time, and most people who borrow my marker say they like it. WELL, they can't have it! Ok, ok, sorry. But yes, if you run a remote, this thing is a must have! keep it down, crawl through the scrub and the woods, till you have those newbies dead in your sites, flip it out to steady yourself as you pop em in the head! Then flip it in when you're pinned in those little bunkers, and gotta stick just your marker over your head to cover yourself
Conclusion: Buy one, if you're the sneaky MOBILE sniper kind. It never makes noise, matches your marker, and gets some sweet looks. I would only suggest this if you run a remote though, cuz it doesn't really help to have a tank sticking out the back right undereath it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

firestorm666 Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Car Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Tear Drop 14" barrel
Extended front grip
HyperStar Bolt
After market Grip w/ game timer
Rocket Cock 2
Folding stock
Ricochet AK hopper
Strengths: Adjustable.
fold out of the way in close quarters
Steardy and solid
Weaknesses: Losened up and had to be tighened, before use.
Adds to weight.
Review: I found that I liked the folding stocks ability to fold out of the way when I found myself behind a wall, or in a small bunker. When in a more open area or when advancing keep the butt firm to my shoulder. Also I found it made shots more consistent with making the gun more sturdy well firing. After a long day of paintball and your trying to catch your breath or starting to get a little tied it helps when you can pull it firmly into your shoulder. I find that the using Co2 tank to do this is to high an puts un-needed pressure on it.
Also adds to the over all look of the marker and feel.

Also if you play woods-ball and speed-ball every once in a while the stock folds out of the way , it does off a little more of a target to hit.. but i only play speed-ball once in a while anyways.
Conclusion: This is not something that is going to "in-prove" your game, this is an item that is more of a personally preference then anything if you want your marker to have a more of a "rifle" look, or are like me and like the feel of it then you will be impressed with the stock.
If you are going to get any stock this one is the one to get because of the 100% arm length adaptability and the simple fact you can fold it out of the way.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kornkid1661 Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 custom
j&j two piece
folding stock
GTA expansion chamber
double trigger
empire reloader
proteam powerfeed
hyperstar bolt
Strengths: accuracy, stability, it can fold, light weight
Weaknesses: makes gun a little longer can t have e bolt, or rear cocking with stock
Review: i bought my gun used from my friend and he had the stock on it already. i love the stock i play on a speed ball team and i am a front man. the stock really helps with accuracy and stability. if you have to make a mad dash behind a bunker it folds up and right out of the way. it really doesnt wheigh much and only makes the gun 2-3 inches longer when folded. its good quality and is adjustable.
Conclusion: if you want to add stability to your 98 buy this if you dont then dont buy it. idc what you do i just know that i love my stock.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bassimastprime Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Friend's Sniper F/X Stock on a 98
Another Kid's Collapsible Stock on a 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Teardrop Barrel
Vertical ASA
PMI Combat Folding Stock
Sometimes a Tasco Laser Sight
Strengths: Helps stabalize accuracy
Folds if you don't need it
Weaknesses: Screws may loosen over time
Review: This is a nice upgrade for anybody that needs to stabalize their hands. When your on the rush, just fold it up and run like crazy, when your stationary or sniping just fold it back out. Watch the screws, I had the main screw come out in the middle of a game when it was folded and the stock fell out, never found it so when I got some more $$$ I bought another, it is worth it. DO NOT use this stock with a bottomline setup, this makes your gun look funny and hinders your aiming badly
Conclusion: Buy it, you'll love it, if you don't then your on something. Buy it for $48 on xpaintball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rsyn Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Strengths: GOOD stock! It is sturdy, well made, can easily be folded and unfolded.
Weaknesses: Slight wobble and can break the back of the gun's reciever!
Review: Now this is where I have to go by only what I saw when I used it. I purchased this stock after I read a few reports that it was a good stock, and I liked the idea. I bought it and installed it in my gun and started playing the next week. I didn't notice this at first, but when I came home I discovered that the stock had begun to crack the back of my gun! Now this damage was purely a damage to the gun's looks, even though it took a large chunk off of butt of the gun, and I didn't like the idea of having to replace the $ 60 dollar body halves, so I took it off.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product if I knew that the breakage was an isolated thing, but if not I do not recommend this product, or any stock of any type. I could be wrong, some could work, but I am simply writing this to help this kind of this to not happen to others.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

CanadianSamurai Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a butt plate on a CO2 tank
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, Flatline, Remote, JCS Folding Stock, Spee-T M98 bolt, 4x scope
Strengths: -Distributes weight
-Adjusts to all human sizes
-Quickly folds to side for carbine speedball
-Metal
Weaknesses: -A little heavy when folded
Review: I bought this to replace my tank which was now on my belt thanks to my remote. When I first got to using it I had it out and extended for long range shooting. My tippy felt like a rifle. When I closed into my enemy I hit a button and folded the stock to the side and held the foregrip instead of the shroud. Now I had a Carbine for close quaters combat.
Conclusion: Ih you are gong to get a remote and want a stock for your tippy, get this one. The others are overpriced and ineffective. Another thing is that this stock is made of metal. All of the other stocks avaliableare cheap feeling plastic.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

balazs Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
well the CAR stock and the FX stock, and a buttplate...but that doesnt really compare does it?
Marker Setup: I now have a stock Stroker ....im sorry but i dont even know what its base gun was, i got it from the markers on hand section of the PPS website for 441. I sold my tippmann for it.
Oh yeah it has a spiral vented barrel and a Rico AK.

So I have :
Palmer Stroker p1484
Spiral Vent
Rico AK

*Soon to come*
QEVs
UMB
Gas thru grip
Female Stab
Strengths: Very well manufactured, Good looking, Metal, Sturdy, Durable
Weaknesses: I personally wouldnt use a stock, but it doesnt have weaknesses
Review: When my friend Austin got this for his 98 custom(Hes trying to create a Mil/Sniper gun), i sat down and took a long hard look at it. Though I would never put a stock on my gun, I had to appreciate this one. It was black and good looking, except for this fruity little Voodoo head symbol on it, but it was very small and not noticiable...not a problem im just saying.

This thing does everything a stock should do....steadies aim. Its also very light, you dont really notice the wieght. Also IT FOLDS....its badass, you can fold it out of the way. Before getting one of those POS tippmann CAR stocks, think about this( Im sorry tippmann but you really went wrong with that CAR stock, its just crap quality).
So the three main points:

It steadys aim(duh)
Its really light
It folds

and thats about it....theres not much else i can tell you about this thing.

Now for the field......
Well i didnt actually get to play with it, but i did get to pick it up and shoot it. I held it against my shoulder, (I felt like a big man) and shot. I felt absolutely zilch kick, pretty much what i expected. I would normall complain about it lengthening your gun but it folds, so no complaints here.

You should really just use your CO2 tank to shoulder, but if your getting a stock get this
Conclusion: As I said before, you should use your tank, but if you have your heart set on getting a stock...this is the best. Blackpoint engineering is a very professional company.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Menohl Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Car Stock
Sniper F/X Solid Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 3" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
NcStar 4X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock
32* Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Folds along-side marker
Adjustable Length
ZERO Wobble
Weaknesses: You must get a raised sight rail with this stock
Review: For quite some time i've been looking for a good stock for my 98 Custom. I'm a woodsball sniper, and i wanted something that didn't wobble, but yet could be moved out of the way for speedball, of when i bunker in for a tight spot.

I have friends that have both the Car Stock and the Sniper F/X Solid Stock so i check them both out. I didn't like the Car Stock because it wobbles from side to side and makes noise. Also when you retract it, its still 8-9 inches long (not much of a retraction) When i looked at the Sniper F/X Solid Stock, there was no wobble and noise, but it was stuck at one length, and it cannot be removed without field stripping your marker.

That's when i decided to give the BP Combat Folding stock a try, and it was the best decision i had ever made. Many people say that it comes loose and rotates in play, that's not true, unless you are a three year old, its quite easy to hand tighten the lock ring down, and it does not move. Also when you fold this stock alongside the right side of the marker, only 2 inches of the mount remain behind the marker, much better than 8-9 with the car stock. The telescoping range of this marker is amazing, it can be extended much longer than you would ever need, and the stock does not wobble or rattle at all when its locked either out, or in.

For sighting you will need to get a raised sight rail, but you'd have to do that with any stock you get for the M98. I have a 4X30 Scope, so i simply purchased the BP 3" offset rail, and I can see through my scope with no problems.
Conclusion: Don't waste $75 of a Car stock or the Solid Stock. Get a stock that you can completely adjust to your length, and can completely fold out of the way when you don't need it.

10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media