paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount / Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount / Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount / Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount

Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The top rail fits 3/8ths scopes. The lower rail is a Weaver mount with Picatinny rails. Fits the A-5 only.
Product Availability 
The Lapco A-5 Offset Sight Mount is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Ilford Rule Monday, December 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
14" Lapco Bigshot (14" Teardrop as backup)
BT Sealed Bolt System (rocket cock)
Lapco Offset Sight Rail
Tippmann/SO Flat-top rail (attached to the offset)
NCStar D4B Red Dot (4 reticles)
68/45 HP
Strengths: -Well built.
-Relocates your sight to what I think is an ideal position.
-Looks great.
Weaknesses: -Not really a weakness, but the secondary rail has no weaver.
Review: This is a great little rail. A bit pricey, but for Lapco build quality I'm willing to pay for it. I got the rail because I needed somewhere to attach my red-dot. I have it set up on the left of the marker. Because my sight (NcSTAR D4B) mounts to picatinny, I picked up the Tippmann/SO flat top rail and attached that to the 3/8" dovetail on the Lapco. Now it's absolutely perfect. It holds the sight in a perfect position, and while this is irrelevant, it looks awesome.

Other rails I tried invariably held the sight in a location that resulted in very akward sighting, especially because I have no stock (or intention of getting one).
Conclusion: Great product, highly recommended for its strength, sight positioning, and looks. It would be nice if they offered a version with picatinny replacing the 3/8" dovetail, but because so many sights use the 3/8" dovetail (and thats what's on the marker to begin with) I can understand why they make it that way.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 13th, 2008 at 10:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CQB.Wardog Tuesday, September 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Special Ops air thru stock setup with remote, Centerflag air tank with sliding valve
Strengths: Form follows function and it does what it says it does
Weaknesses: None
Review: There's an elegance to simplicity, and this product proves that. Easy to install, and re-install for teardown. Solidly constructed, and it does everything that it says it will do. Better than our government, I'll tell you that. It's also built very solid, it's taken shots already and hasn't slipped or chipped. Quality construction that LAPCO is already known for.
Conclusion: If you want to use a sight / scope, and you have an A-5, this is an essential product to have. I hate rating these things "10", but in this case, it's a simple solution to solve a simple problem with the A-5.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Friday, September 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS 3/8 offset rail - not even close
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
PPS Brass barrel w/ Apex tip
X7 hopper
APE E-grip
Response Trigger
Vortex mod
QEPH
Palmer's Male Stabilizer
Armson Prodot sight w/ Lapco offset rail
OPSGEAR G36 folding stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Looks cool
Solid construction / mount
Two rails
Made of metal
Weaknesses: Not cheap
Makes "zeroing in" interesting
Review: This is actually two rails in one. There's one 3/8 dovetail mount and one is a weaver mount with picatinny rails. The dovetail mount is set just to the left of the marker body and tilted to 45 degrees, creating the offset to whatever you mount to it. The weaver rail is attached to the dovetail mount, directly below it. This is a vertical mount, meaning anything that you put on here will be sideways as if it were mounted directly too the "Tippmann" logo on an A-5, which this rail actually covers.

The whole assembly is three pieces: the two mounts as one piece, plus to clamps. It mounts to the body of the marker via both the 3/8 and 7/8 dovetail mounts. The aluminum clamps are held in place by two 1/8 head allen screws, and the rail comes with the needed allen key.

Now for the opinion section, starting with the negative. It's not cheap. It'll cost you $35 for a new one, and I don't think it's the kind of thing that you'll be able to find used. The only other possible downside that I found, however, is that if you mount a sight to the 3/8 dovetail, it makes adjusting the sight a little weird. Since the mount is at 45* to the horizontal, adjustment is no longer going to be up / down or side / side. Now it's going to be up and to the right / down and to the left or up and to the left / down to the right. Instead of moving in a "+" configuration, it causes it to move at an angle, like an "X". That being said, it's not too hard to get used to.

Now, yes, it is expensive for a mount, but you're getting what you pay for. The whole thing is made of aluminum. There's no plastic at all. Because of this, plus the fact that it holds onto both the 3/8 and the 7/8 mounts on the marker, there's almost no way you're going to get this thing to fall off once it's bolted on; it's solid. I used to have a plastic slide-style offset that I couldn't keep calibrated because the plastic kept allowing a little bit of movement during storage, or even when hit with a paintball. You're not going to have that problem with this thing. If it moves, it's because you either didn't have it bolted down, or you hit it with something BIG, like an oil tanker.

The 3/8 rail does provide an offset, but if you're going to mount a sight or red dot to it, a short one would not be advisable. The key to this mount is that it uses the height of whatever you're mounting to provide most of the offset. The taller whatever you stick on there is, the more room you'll have to stick your face back there with a stock.
Conclusion: I'll recommend this to anyone who has the money for it. It's a good solid mount that looks good, does what it's supposed to, and isn't going to break or degrade over time.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 15th, 2007 at 11:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigTom21 Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Duct Tape
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C (black), Flatline Barrell, red dot site
Tippmann 98C (silver), RT, big drop forward, double trigger, rocket cock I, 12" barrell
Tippmann98C (black), RT, empire barrel kit, AK folding stock, Trinty AK mag and expantion chamber kit, DOP proseal, Rocket Cock II, Remote line, off set mount rail, red dot sight, cyclone feed, custom black to olive fade paint job, custome made rifle rag
*NEWLY ADDED* Tippmann A-5 hammer, 2 A-5's dually mounted and on a crank system, flatelines on each, i can walk around like a mobile tank mowing down anything in my path.
Strengths: Tough, compact, low profile
Weaknesses: No o-ring to keep from shooting loose
Review: i bought this and put it on my a-5 Hammer so i could mount my tac. light. i love it. i had a problem with it only twice. i didn't want to over tighten the screws so i didn't and then after shooting about 3/4 of a case of paint i noticed the mount had cam loose. i just tighted it back up tighter than before and had no problems. but if it had a rubber pad between the mount and the bracet piece then it wouldn't have any problems at all. i just moved it over to my 98C and i am going to get another. they are great to have and work wonders for mounting things to your gun.
Conclusion: Buy the heack out of these. find them on sale somewhere and buy 2.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MFCT Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT Raise Rail
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5/A2 32* 12" Palmer Brass Barrel, Lapco Offset, BT raised rail, Lapco Suppressor and BSA red dot..
Strengths: Very durable
Weaknesses: Bolts may rust
Review: I actually got this as a gift. I have an A5A2, so I couldn't initially use this without the aid of a riser because of the A5A2's stock. The plastic of my mask wouldn't allow me to squeeze in enough to look through the red dot. However, the BT Raised rail allowed me to do so, but I had to constantly till my marker to the right. Combine them both? The marker is dead straight up and down and I'm sighting down the side of the marker easy enough. Excellent.

Of the unit itself, its very durable, easy to clean and easy to attach/unattach. Looks great, plays great. If you needed it, you'll be happy with it.

One downfall, the pedestals the bolts go through to attach the Lapco to the A5 don't touch the main unit. Which means the bolt threads are slightly exposed. If you don't do this already with the main marker during cleaning, you'll want to ensure you keep the bolt threads oiled to prevent rust.
Conclusion: Great unit! $30 is just a hair over on the steep side, but considering a raised rail is $30 and this guy supplies an extra set of tac rails, its not a bad deal at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

samurai2828 Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" OPSGEAR Tactical Barrel
6' OPSGEAR SR6 Shroud
OPSGEAR G36 Folding Stock
SIG MAG Kit
OPSGEAR Remote Coil with Slide Check Valve
Tippmann A5 Double Trigger
Universal Bipod with Quick Release
Palmers Female Stabalizer Kit
OPSGEAR Red-Dot Scope
E-grip WAS Board
Lapco Offset Sight Rail
Palmer High Flow QEV
OPSGEAR MP Supressor Kit
~~~~~~~~~~
Tiberius 8 Tactical Pistol
Extra clip
Strengths: Strong Material
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Height! To low.
Only 1 weaver rail.
Review: Well, I got this for Christmas, and I'll tell all of you right now that if you are planning on using a Red Dot Sight with it, DONT BOTHER!

1. This rail is only good for the use of a flashlight, or a laser sight. NOT A RED DOT SIGHT!!!!!

2. If you want to use a Red Dot sight, which for paintball is the best kind, then you MUST first grab yourself a RAISED SIGHT RAIL!!!

3. This http://www.opsgear.com/Scope-or-Sight-Mount?sc=22&c ategory=34 will be what you need to make the LAPCO work with sights.

4. The reason is this, if you have your helmet on, the LAPCO rail is too low for you to be able to see through your Red Dot as it has to be put on the side of the gun. With the sight raiser, that problem is gone.

5. Another thing I dont like is that there is only 1 weaver rail on this thing. Why not put two?

6. Good product, but only good for one thing unless you want to spend more money!
Conclusion: Good purchase for 1 thing. Good purchase for other things if you plan on spending more money!
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 9th, 2007 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, 3 pos. CAR stock, Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail
Strengths: Functionality
Durability
Weaknesses: Hard to find sights to fit the 3/8" rail, Price, No allen key, price
Review: I got this rail so i can use a red-dot sight with my mask on. So far, i like it alot. Its very durable and has taken many hits with a paintball and has not damaged. It was really easy to put on. Once its on, it doens't budge at all. It didn't come with an allen key of its own, so it took me an extra 5 sec to sift through my gear bag and find my allen key set. The sight is very well constructed and once tightened, will not budge. The only real weakness i fond for this sight is that it might not be high enough for some users. I for one could not see into my Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty gun sight with my Proto Switch EL and 3 P.O.S collapseable stock. my solution? i bought a Special Ops A5A2 Stock, that has a cutout in it to allow for better sighting. it worked and i also got a great new stock in the process. Some people complain that the rail configuration is not soo good. i.e: there only being one picitanny rail and one dovetail (i think that is what the other one is called). i however cant agree with them because my Armson sight was made specifically for that style and size of rail and if i should ever get a laser or flashlight, the picitanny rail is in a perfect postion to mount it.

Conclusion: Great product. Very versatile and functional. It was a little bit too low, so i fixed that by adding a the BT fixed sight rail in order to raise it. other than that, its great. it is a bit pricy though for just a hunk of metal.
-1 for it being too low
-1 for the price
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 4:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mongolsniper Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used any extra rails on my paintball guns before, I have used them only on real weapons or on airsoft guns.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-grip w/ APE board
12" Hammerhead BangStikxx
Lapco offset sight mount
Vortex Mod
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
SpecOps A5A2 Stock with the Air-thru Kit,
Crossfire 92/4500 high pressure tank
Some generic remote air line
Strengths: Durable (Aluminum)
Easy installation
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Well, first off, this is the only product that I have ever used that did exactly what it was advertised to do. No more, no less. It offsets the 3/8 inch dovetail rail by 45º and the 5/8 weaver rail at 90º. The second (5/8) is what most military and higher-end optics use, and so I don't know why they designed it to be on the side of your marker. Actually, I don't really know why they included two rails at all. When you attach a red dot or similar optic to the 3/8 OR the 5/8 you render the other basically completely useless. You can only use one of the rails with normal sized sights and accessories (tac-lights, lasers, etc.) I'd prefer if they sold a 45 º offset rail in 3/8 and 5/8 separately.

But that's not the point. The product does do what it is meant to, and it does it well. It looks like its made out of one solid piece of aluminum and is very sturdy when mounted to your gun. I ordered mine online and received it without the attachment screws. I really had enough of dealing with customer service reps that week, so I just ended up going to ACE Hardware and getting a pair. That's not Lapco's fault though, and I sincerely applaud them at using a generic screw instead of some impossible-to-find measurement.

I personally do not mind the fact that the 5/8 rail is in the number two position because I have a cheap $15 Barska 25mm Red Dot that accepts the 3/8 rail. Most cheap gun sights will accept the 3/8 and I don't know anyone who is crazy enough to run around with a $350 Eotech or some other expensive sight on a paintball field where you have a good chance of it getting paint splatter on the lenses, or even a direct hit into one of the fragile lenses. But that's just me.
Conclusion: All in all, the mount is a great product. I personally recommend it if your sights will accept a 3/8 dovetail. You can get this to work with a riser rail mount to accept 5/8 at the 45º angle, but it will be an expensive venture. But like almost everything from Lapco, this product does what it is designed to do, and you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 6:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryback Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ e-grip, lapco bigshot (8" and 12"), lapco fake suppressor, shocktech bolt, ebay manual side velocity adjustment knob, lapco offset adaptor, NcStar 1x red dot scope, NcStar laser sight, remote line w/ slidecheck, Pure Energy 72/3500 HPA, opsgear UMP shroud (sometimes)
Strengths: Excellent craftsmanship
Sturdy mounting points
Easy installation
Performs as expected
Weaknesses: Needs dual Weaver-style rails
A weaver-style base mount would be very useful
Review: Lapco has once again demonstrated their ability to produce a finely manufactured product with the offset sight mount. I cannot use this product when my UMP shroud is installed, which is unfortunate. As you know, mounting a sight directly on top of the gun allows for slight blockage of vision through the scope due to the hopper mounting location. However, when running my A-5 without a shroud, the offset sight mount fits perfectly and mounting a scope on the offest rail allows for a full field of vision through the scope reticle. My only complaint is that I had to buy separate scope rings to fit onto the 3/8" rail. The side mount weaver rail is handy to mount a flashlight or laser for low-light games. Installation was a breeze, mounting of both the rail and accessories is solid, and the product is bead blasted to match the look of the A-5.
Conclusion: If you want to run accessories (scope, light, laser, etc) on your A-5, the Lapco offset sight adaptor is a solid choice. Just make sure that the items you are mounting onto it have the proper dovetail attachments. I'd give it 7 thumbs up if it had dual weaver style rails and the ability to base mount to a weaver rail, but since it doesn't I'll have to give it the next best thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Commander Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS 3" Weaver Rail
Marker Setup: SpecOps Tippmann A-5A2, Flatline, E-Grip, JCS MP Folding Stock w/RVA, SpecOps Mag Kit w/Reg, SpecOps Shorty Grip, APP Monster Sight Feeder, DOP Double Trigger, Pro Team Flatline Shroud, Mil-Sim Muzzle Break, Lapco Offset Sight Mount, JCS 3" Weaver Rail, TruGlo 2x30mm Red-Dot Sight
Strengths: -Offset From Hopper
-Clear Sight Path
-Elevation For Mask
Weaknesses: -Priority Rail In Secondary Position (Weaver)
Review: This is practically the only decent sight mount for a scope on your A-5 that you can actually look through without the hopper obstructing half your view, so I got it. And I regret nothing. It's just what you expect it to be, a mount, a rail, or whatever else you could call it. It just does it's job and does it well, and that's why I like it. It's a stable base for any scope or sight, and offers the reassurance that it won't snap or come loose and drop your two-hundred dollar scope. The only thing that I could complain about would be it's rail placement/priority, the Weaver should be the main rail, even if it does require the sacrifice of the Dovetail. More scopes now are using Weaver mounts, ecspecially paintball sights. But an adapter is always available so no big deal here, just a great sight mount...
Conclusion: Overall, the only mount you should consider getting if you actually want to see through your scope. Otherwise your going to being seeing that half-moon-shape of the hopper blocking your sight line...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 26th, 2005 at 7:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media