paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer / Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer

Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dark Horizon

Buy Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
60% of the weight of the stock steel hammer, the Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer is almost as slick as the surface of a non-stick skillet. The hammer itself is so light and cylcles so fast, that markers with the response trigger installed can't react fast enough to latch the sear. For that reason, the standard Model 98 Titanium Hammer was put in to production to add more weight. There is a very limited supply of these hammers so when they're sold out there will be no more.
Product Availability 
The Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
shaasta Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock - Much heavier
Marker Setup: Custom 98
J&J 16" Full Tilt Ceramic *Black
Dark Horizons Lite Titanium Hammer
32 Degrees Star Fire Front Bolt
Dead On Paintball Proseal
Stilleto Drop Forward
32 Degrees 2003 Expansion Chamber *Black
Vertical Adapter
2k Hopper
Strengths: - Nice and Light
- Greatly Reduces Blowback
- A bit quieter than the stock
- Increased Firing rate
Weaknesses: - None
Review: It came in a nice padded envlope with a sticker. I put it in my gun and immediately noticed a difference in blowback even when i was dry firing. Slapped on my tank and hopper and could shoot much faster than before. The lighter weight dramatically redues the recoil of the gun, keeping it in place and sighted in.
Conclusion: Buy it - Love it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 27th, 2005 at 9:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Ark Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt-heavy, lotsa kickback
Marker Setup: 98C
14" Whisper
Lite titanium bolt
combat folding stock
eVLution II
20 oz co2
pure energy remote coil
rufus dawg center feed
maddmann spring kit
filed down rear site, tippmann, and dovetail
Soon to come:
Evil detonator
Pure energy CF HPA
double trigg
Strengths: Light, but not crazy light
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: Well i read a bunch of reviews on the lite bolt and asked a few experts, they all seemed to think it was a fairly good idea to get, so i saved up a bit and got it. Few days later it came in the mail with a nifty little sticker. I field stripped my marker and switched up my hammers, easy as pie. I went out with a hopper full of all star and a fresh tank of c02. i shot at a targer about 40 feet away and noticed a few things right off. One, the kickback was almost all gone-w00t. Two, it was a tiny bit quieter, but not that much of a diff. Three, i could shoot faster. Four, both my velocity and accuracy sucked, big time. So i took out my allen rench and twisted the velocity screw out veryious amounts, to check it out, and that fixed the range problem and the velocity. But the accuracy still was iffy, every few balls one would go way way off course, and the rest of the balls i shot still we'rnt very accurate, and i was using good paint, not some walmart junk. So at this point I really dont know whats going on, im gonna be getting the spring kit inna while, and that might do a bit, but im not sure. ill update this once and if i fix the problem.

Well, got the spring kit, it changed it all for me, on the feild this thing owned, i deff love this thing now
Conclusion: Got the kit, i used the green spring, and i roxxed on the field, up to a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 17th, 2005 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilentCreeper Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" 32* Whisper
GTA Double Trigger
X-Chamber
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Dark Horizon "Lite" Titanium Hammer
Shocktech Drop Forward
Strengths: Very light
Virtually eliminates recoil
Better accuracy
Weaknesses: Trigger pull seems a bit heavier
Blows back further and hits the buffer o-ring
Review: I got this item in the mail about a week after i ordered it. I installed it the next day when i had time and noticed a great difference. It felt like i was holding air compared to the stock hammer. It is insanely light. After i installed it i shot my gun. The accuracy improved by about 50%. I shot at a tree about 80 feet away from me and hit it about 95 out of 100 times. that was a great improvement over my stock bolt. The only little thing i noticed is that the trigger pull feels a bit squishy and heavier. i was actually able to pull my trigger about 3/4 of the way and let go, and then pull it just a bit more to shoot it. But my gun slightly did this when i shot it the first time. I think i just need to give it some time to break in. It also is so light that it blows back as far as it can, and hits the buffer o-ring. There is a ring where the buffer o-ring keeps hitting, but it just wipes off so no worries. Im getting a regulator soon to try and fix this, because i think my pressure is a little high with my co2.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great upgrade, buy this product. It will be one of the good things that you'll do in life.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 8th, 2005 at 2:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

valetudospang Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
the heavy stock bolt
Marker Setup: 98 custom, R/Trigger, dark horizons lite bolt, Pro seal internals, evil pipe system, rocket cock2, tippmann double trig, phat mini drop forward, dye stickie, polished internals, dye 2 reg, dead on rear adjuster, halo b, crossfire 70 stub highpressure high out.
Strengths: Its so light, its so fast, it really makes your aim alot better.
Weaknesses: Right now im not sure, titanium wears but after awhile its become hard.
Review: I bought the light bolt taking the chance, even though everyone says it wont work with the R/T. I talked the owner and he has a r/t and light bolt and says it works fine. So im taking the chance. Im pretty well with guns, so ill be able to make it works super fast. When i get my new tank i write back and update on how this thing rips.
Conclusion: Awsome Awsome lite Awsome Jesus is more Awsome
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 14th, 2004 at 9:12 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dead Monday, September 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom - Polished Internals, Milled Sight Rails (Dye Izon attached), Maddmann Spring Kit
Lapco Bigshot
Lapco T-Stock/Bottomline
Lapco Direct Feed
Q-Loader
BSI Stick Trigger/Guard
Sticky Grips
DOP Pro-Seal and Front Bolt
Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Rear Bolt
3k/207ci (yes, 207 I'm "fire extinguisher guy") on a remote line
Strengths: -Much lighter
-Reduces recoil
Weaknesses: -Too light for stock internals
-Expensive
Review: This thing really is quite a bit lighter. I wonder though, if using a drill and dremel you could make the stock bolt close to a similar weight. It's really expensive. It is so light that the stock valve barely opens properly! I'm ordering the low pressure kit valve spring and I'm doing a DIY LP kit using this hammer.
Conclusion: If you're planning on going crazy on your marker, and don't want to try lightening the rear bolt yourself, like me, then get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmatt98 Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock hammer
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
flatline barrel double trigger venturi bolt expansion chamber veiwloader revi 20ozC02 dark horizon lite titanium hammer
Strengths: reduces kick, correction totally eliminates kick. may make it quiter
Weaknesses: none
Review: This part is great. I have only used it a friends house at his "field" but it worked way better than I thought it would. It eliminated all kick maybe made it quiter I am not sure yet but the kick factor is gone. I only have experience with the 98 hammer but if it the other models work as good these people will be making a lot of money. For those of you who own one or are getting one for the model 98/custom when you dry fire dont be worried if it seems different the hammer is so light that it needs a force on it in ex. a paintball. do'nt be worried it will not mess if you dry fire it it has been tested it just seems wierd.
Conclusion: this is a great part buy it it is well worth the money. 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerme001 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hammer
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel System
Dead-On Products 8-stage expansion chamber
Macro-Hose kit w/ 3 90s and 1 straight fitting
20 oz. Pure Energy CO2 with Smart Parts On/Off
Psycho Ballistics 6" drop forward
Double Trigger and guard
Polished Internals
Dark Horizon Lite titanium hammer
Full Boar rear cocking system with RVA and beavertail
Custom trigger job
Custom paint
Strengths: Light
Quick Cycle
Reuces Recoil
Weaknesses: Limited supply
Review: First Thoughts

My Hammer came in the mail in a padded envelope as to not damege the product. It seemed well padded and secure. It came with an order invoice and a sticker that's supposed to go on your hopper. Installation was very easy. I simply lifted the old hammer out, took out the spring and the cocking knob, and replaced. I instantly noticed that the Titanium bolt was as smooth as a new window. After putting my gun back together, it seemed about a quarter pound lighter.

Testing

While dry firing, I noticed that my recoil was reduced by about 90 percent! In fact, the only movement causing the gun to move was me pulling the trigger. After dry firing about 10 times, I loaded 50 Draxxus Blaze and 50 RPS Marbs into my hopper and shook it up so that they would mix. I shot at a target at 60 feet.
I initially noticed that it was much more accurate with the reduced recoil. The cycle rate was also vastly improved. My results showed a 12 inch vertical spread and an 8 inch horizontal spread with 8 outliers. I had no ball breaks, typically I would have had about 2.

Test Conclusions

My vertical spread was 4 inches smaller and my horizontal spread is about 3 inches smaller, which is very good, especially with a Flatline. Even though I was shooting decent quality paint, no ball breaks was unusual. I'm glad that I can go onto the field with more confidence in my gun.
Conclusion: This is a wonderful product with great quality and design. It is smooth, fast, and worth the money. If you want to instantly improve your aim, cycle rate, and entire game, buy this product!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 23rd, 2004 at 1:29 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Shadowfang Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hammer
32 Degrees Star Fire Bolt
Star Fire Venturi Delrin Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
- Flatline Barrel System
- Flatline Barrel Extension
- A.C.I. Sub-Zero 6 Stage Expansion Chamber
- Harris Bi-Pod
- Double Trigger
- Dark Horizon Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer
- A.C.I. Deluxe Pro Remote Kit
- Ricochet G2K Loader
- Custom Trigger Job
- 20 oz. Anti-Siphoned Chrome Molly Co2 Tank
Strengths: - Light
- Fast
- Makes your gun more accurate
Weaknesses: Very limited supply of the "Lite" version
Review: The Model 98 Lite Titanium Hammer is a fantastic upgrade for any Tippmann marker. Since it's made of titanium, its about half the weight of the stock hammer, which, in turn, will reduce kick back and increase rate of fire. One of the neat things about the Lite hammer is that the response trigger can't keep up with it. For me, this is cool, since I don't have the RT, but for some, it prevents them from even buying it. So when someone brags about how fast their gun is with the response, you just tell them your hammer could outshoot the RT any day... literally

Dark Horizon made a fantastic product with this one. The speed of this bolt is quite amazing considering it is only 65 dollars. They have great customer service and it ships within roughly 3 - 7 days depending on where you live.

I was quite impressed the first time I played a game with my new bolt. It actually reduced chopping and the noise of my Flatline [FLATLINES ARE INCREDIBLY LOUD], which gave my gun a more sniper - like feel. I played about 7 games and shot about a 1000 balls and only chopped like... well... I can't remember exactly, but if I had to guess I'd say I chopped around 12 balls [which is really good compared to what I was doing with the stock hammer].

The great thing about titanium is that as you use it more and more, the bolt becomes tougher and tougher. It also has an incredibly slick surface which allows the hammer to move through the gun with less friction. If you want a FANTASTIC bolt, I would recommend that you purchase one from Dark Horizon. But if you want the Lite version, I suggest you hurry up and get one before they run out.
Conclusion: I love this product!!! Go buy it and I'm sure you'll be just as impressed as I was... I think... maybe... hopefully... well... on the other hand, you might just think its a piece of crap that should have been thrown in the dumpster along with 8 track tapes. Oh well...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 9th, 2004 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media