paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp

Evil Pimp Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Pimp

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Pimp
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $700

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pimp Specifications:
Electro-Pneumatic Open Bolt
Un-Capped Board for insane rate of fire
Break Beam ACE System
Impulse Barrel Threads
Adjustable Respirator LPR
Evil 300 PSI LPR Gauge
Blade Trigger
Adjustable Debounce
Twist Lock Delrin Bolt - no bolt pin
Dual Timmy Style Ball Detents
Tray-less Trigger Frame
Shortstack Feed Tube with o-rings to fit different hoppers
Adjustable ROF (eye off)
Aluminum Eye Covers
On/Off Bottomline
Macroline
Detonator Vertical Regulator
Pipe Barrel
Evil Punch 2
Barrel Centering O-ring
Evil Grips
1 oz Tube Pus
Product Availability 
The Evil Pimp is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
wcjones2 Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion, ICD B2K4
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp, WAS Equalizer, SP Q-lock, Hybrid Verdikt LPR, Hybrid on/off ASA w/ bleed, Hybrid grips, Empire Reloader B, Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball detents--kila detents or check out Boss Paintball Products for other options
On/off ASA with bleed
Strengths: Uncapped board
Dual breakbeam eyes
Quick-strip bolt
Weaknesses: Ball detents
ASA difficult to turn
LPR can't be adjusted gassed-up
Review: After the last tourney I played in I decided to go space-gun and get ready for the next speedball tourney with gear that can meet the ROF of the other teams. Gotta tell ya, getting blasted by some guy sweetspotting 20+ bps is sobering!

So I grabbed an Evil Pimp. I topped it off with an Empire Reloader B.

The Pimp is not an Impulse clone. It's like an Impulse plus. The front of the marker is set up like an Intimidator and the back is like an Impulse. Timpulse. There are no "essential" upgrades. The Pimp works well out of the box. It needs an HPA cylinder (HP or LP, works with either) and a loader (HALO B, Reloader B, or VLocity would be best as they can keep up witht he ROF). The stock barrel is a low-end Pipe, so if you want to upgrade barrel (probably not necessary) you can pick up a .689 Pipe back and roll from there. Also, some people have problems with the Pimp's trigger. You can pick up either a blade or double style trigger to replace the standard trigger. Also, some people find the trigger guard kind of small, so you can upgrade the entire grip assembly and get more room for your fingers. Finally, some people like to replace the Evil ASA since it can be difficult to turn off when gassed up, and it has no bleed.

So, the Pimp--quiet. Not as quiet as some other markers, but nothing loud, that's for sure. A different barrel would help quiet it down, but I like the Pipe. Maybe a Stiffi front would help.

That crazy slant-back trigger? I like it! Once you get used to it you can walk it so fast! I was shooting ropes out there. Also, since the grip/handguard are set up so nicely, you can switch easily and effortlessly between a two-finger and single-finger trigger hold. The trigger has a travel adjustment screw, a switch actuation screw, and trigger sensitivity setting on the board.

Consistant velocities. I was amazed that while it was still breaking in I was getting +/- 3 over the chrono. The Detonator is GREAT!

Weight--with the Reloader, full of paint and with a 68/4500 HPA cylinder fully filled weighs nearly the same as a Tippmann A-5. No significant difference there. Heavier than some markers, lighter than others. The Pimp is slightly larger than some markers, but also not as big as others. Seems to be a nice medium.

The eyes work! However, in order to get the max ROF from it while using the eyes, you need a force-feed loader like the Halo B or Empire Reloader. You'll lose performance by using an agitated hopper. Just wait for the mess if you try to shoot fast without the eyes!

The Evil Grip is fine. It's nothing special, just hard rubber with a couple of jewels on it. It works, but for those of you who really want a better grab, look at replacing it.

It breaks down very easily--I'm impressed! One half-turn on the back of the bolt and the bolt slides right out. The bolt is delrin with venturi style porting so no need for any upgrades.

This guy comes with an ENORMOUS bottle of lube (Evil Pus) and when I broke it down I discovered the factory had already pre-lubed it for me. Wow. Again, I was impressed.

In the box it also came with all tools needed, spare ball detents, a new LPR seal, and an Evil barrel condom. Everything you need except the air and loader.

The detents are too soft and need to be replaced too often. You can pick up stiffer Timmy detets, but they are shorter, so no improvement there. However, there are stiffer Pimp detents and various detent mods available. Easy fix.

The barrel is a sort of Pipe. It's the same style, but low-end. The front is a matte-black (unless you went with a color scheme) standard Pipe front end, but the back is not as polished as a standard Pipe kit. Good news though--Evil sells Pipe kits without the fronts in either 3 or 5 back sets. Good planing--I can save money on my barrel kit by buying only the backs I need. Good marketing too--keeps people with Pimps buying Pipe backs....

All-in-all, I'm very pleased with the Pimp. It does everything a good speedball marker should, but doesn't have all the bells and whistles of some other markers. It's a good, solid performer at a great price (picked up mine for $590!).
Conclusion: I think the Pimp is a great way to get into the high-end electro-market without spending an arm and leg. Just an arm. If you're on a budget, if you want an insane ROF, or you just like Evil products and you want a space-gun, give the Pimp a chance. It's well worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 4:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raging_Llamas Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann modle 98
WGP trilogy Pro
Tippmann Pro/Carbin
Autococker Karnavor (this gun is everything but stock)
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp, Apache LED hopper, 3000 n2 tank, WAS board, custom drop forward, shockteck reg, CCM feed neck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper ( a must)
feed neck
Strengths: Accurate.
FAST!!!
easily adjustible
Looks good.
on/ off bottem line.
Weaknesses: Feed neck sucks.
Review: This gun is awesome.I made a few adjustmints to it and and it works perfect now.I bought it used and it had a few problems that need to be fixed but i found out it was just the inline reg so i bought the shockteck reg for it and now it works like a charm.It shoots pretty much any paint easily and i never, ever chop with the eyes on.The ball detents are a bad design.they should just put a ball with a spring in there so you dont have to replace the little rubber ones but thats ok.

So over all,buy this gun!! it is an awesome gun and a new one will have no problems like mine so dont let that scare you.In my opinion it needs a new feed neck but some people like the one with the o-rings inside it, but i hate that so i got a new one.and the stock reg is one of the best made so you wont have my problems.If your looking for a new,good,fast,accurate,and cheaper gun, then deffinatley get the Evil PIMP.
Conclusion: An over view of this gun is AWESOME over all, accurate, fast,cheaper then other high end guns and just as good, but it needs a new feed neck.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 9:02 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

im_laughing Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Pimp
Scion reg and tank
Pipe kit
Halo B


2005 Pro-Stock AutoCocker
Max-flow reg and tank
Pipe Kit
12v Revvy
Strengths: Rate of fire, anti-chop eyes, easy to clean and maintain
Weaknesses: Weight and limited aftermarket parts.
Review: I have had no problems with the anodizing and very little trouble with the marker's performance. As with all markers, a barrel kit is a great upgrade. The pimp plus the scion reg make for a rather heavy set up. There are only two things that are rather annoying about the marker: (1) the on/off switch is just a little slide switch that isn't covered and a fair amount of dirt and paint gets into it rather easily (2) reinstalling the bolt properly is a bit tricky and harder than any other marker I've come across.
Conclusion: Great marker overall for the price.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

t2fine2betrue Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used IR3 Angels,Angel Speeds,Wraths, and a variety of autocockers.None of those guns compare to this one.
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp
Dye Hyper 2 Regulator
Custom Products on/off ASA
Ghetto Board 7.0
Halo hopper
Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend that you put a equalizer board. Its a great board for the price, which its selling for $30.00 at Wicked Air Sports.com. This gun doesnt have any flaws that I have noticed. But Im upgrading my Pimp to the fullest.
Strengths: The thing I love about this gun is the speed,the milling, and the trigger. .
Weaknesses: This gun doesnt really have any weaknesses that I have seen.
Review: Are you looking for a sweet gun thats reliable and wont let you down? Then stop searching you have found the Evil Pimp. The Evil Pimp is a super fast and extremely accurate marker that is simple to use. This gun has awesome eyes and milling. When I take this gun to the field, I get so many looks. I feel great walking toward the field holding a masterpiece in my arms. I am in love with this marker, I wouldnt choose any markers over it. Ive seen what this gun could do and Im stunned. Once you use this gun I doubt you'll want to buy another. I chose this gun by the looks, feedback I've heard about it and the speed. I made the right decision. This gun is my dream gun and I wouldnt have it any other way. Oh yeah and this gun is super rare, to tell you the truth Ive never seen another Evil Pimp on the field before. Believe me buy it and youll love it as much as I do.
Conclusion: I love this marker and for the price its perfect. This gun is super accurate,and extremely fast. This gun shoots ropes of paintballs and its really reliable. So what are you doing here go out there and buy it believe me its not perfect, but its hella close.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ecuadoreandude Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman, smart part , dye
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp Blue
Halo B (Blue)
Pure Energy 68ci 4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new trigger because it's kinda small and the angle its position.
Strengths: Accuracy
has a great regulator
pretty good stock barrel
-/+2 on the chrono
Weaknesses: Has a lil kick
its sort of big (but i like it like that)
Review: This gun is great! I loved that it came wit a big tube a lube. The barrel is a pro barrel pretty much stock on the gun. The thing that i didnt like was that the regulator wasnt a sandplast finish like the rest of the gun. the on off valve is awesome. It sort of a tight fit to use two finger to shoot. Dont even bother to try to use three probally get your figgers stuck in the gun. The milling on the gunn isn't that good. I really dont care if the milling is that great it just matters if the gun waorks and does what it's suppose to do.
Conclusion: The Evil Pimp is FEAKING AWESOME! The money i spent on this gun was worth it. This gun is great stock
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 12:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

potter33 Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse,and ion
Marker Setup: SE Evil pimp,ultra pipe kit,68/5000psi scion,vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger frame
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Weight
And a hole lot more
Weaknesses: None that i can think of.
Review: Well guys as soon as i opened up my box it was ready to shoot already crono'd at 280,also the board was pretty much set didn't really have to mess with the settings.
Main review
well first of i have to say evil really did good on this one awsome marker,also it has a lifetime warranty so if anything goes wrong with it evil will fix it for free you just have to pay shipping going up there.
I am able to achieve very hey bps with more than i could with my friends shocker,ion,or impy,or even timmys.
Acuracy-I love the accuracy it is as good if not better then any shocker that i ever seen.
Weight people think that the pimp is heavy but its really not the weight is distributed that i can't really tell the difference between an ion and a pimp,
well i have to leave but i will add on to this review.
Conclusion: I love Evil to Death i am Probably not going to buy a gun from anyone else now,evil is the only way to go.
Thanks
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mist-man Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel G7
Autococker w/ eBlade
Marker Setup: Evo 2
3500 psi N2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper
New Trigger would help out in speed
Drop Forward
Lower the Trigger sensitivity
Strengths: Fast
Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: Settings kinda suck
Tall
heavy
With out a drop forward, it can be awkward
Review: This is a great gun for the price I paid. I got it for $450, and I don't regret it at all.

By the time I broke this in, every shot was right on target. Once you get the feel for it, you can really get the paint flying. Taking it apart and putting it back together is very simple. So simple infact, that you can do it in the game. I shot some bad paint and it broke in the barrel and got all over the bolt and stuff. My squeegee couldn't get all of it out, so I just removed the bolt with a simple twist and cleaned it while people were shooting at me. Put it back in and I was fine. Some say that this gun is a gas hog, well those people I guess haven't really messed with it too much, because I tweaked the settings in my gun, and I never have to refill it throughout the day. The gun is heavy but its not an issue. I still run with this thing in my hand, and it doesn't slow me down a bit.

There are some things that I don't like about it, but that doesnt mean I don't still love it. Changing the settings can only be done by unscrewing the side of the grip, which is fine with me, but as a result there is no screen to tell you what your doing. The menu is different blinking lights, and there is no way of telling which way your changing the settings. It needs a new drop forward in my opinion. It was not easy for me to put this thing up with the n2 getting in the way. The gun is taller, so your hopper becomes more of a target that normal.
Conclusion: If you want a fast electronic marker (as fast as most of the guns out there) for little money, get this gun. As awkward as it may be at first, you can get used to the way it feels pretty quickly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaliSoulja Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Intimidator, Dye Matrix
Marker Setup: Silver Pimp
Ghetto 7.0 Board
Everything Else Is Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evil Pimp Blade Trigger
Ghetto 7.0 Board (If Not Already Installed)
Strengths: Rapid ROF
Sleek Milling
Very Reliable
Great Out Of The Box
Great Stock Parts
Weaknesses: The programming for the Ghetto 7.0 board is very difficult to adjust.
Review: I got this marker less than a month ago and I haven't had a problem with it yet. The only thing I had difficulty with was the Ghetto 7.0 board and adjusting the settings of the marker. The stock parts are great and the gun is very reliable. The design of the marker makes the gun more effiecent. I like the fact that it is a cross between a Intimidator and an Impulse. It has the look of the Intimidator, but the reliability of the Impulse. When put together, it makes a perfect combo. I am pleased to say that anyone that owns this marker is lucky and should continue to use the Pimp. Also, the lifetime warranty from Evil is a big plus to people who have had problems with other markers.
Conclusion: The Evil Pimp is fast, reliable, accurate, and has a sleek design. It is also covered by the Evil lifetime warranty.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 25th, 2006 at 4:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evil Boy Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned upgraded autococker, Ion, 98c, A5.
Marker Setup: Red Evil Pimp
Red trinity mini t clamping feedneck
trinity revolution grips
dye mini rail and on/off (just personal preference over stock on/off)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Duel shockteck detent mod from BPP.
Barrel if you truly need thatd extra accuracy over the stock one which is quite nice.
Strengths: Has the best trigger possible for my fingers
Weaknesses: Stock detents.
Might have to tune before use.
Review: Well I guess I will start with the bad.
First of all the stock detents are horrible. with my reloader b and my dads halo b we were just pushing balls right past them and even getting some triple feeds. So we sent them into Boss Paintball Products and got the duel shockteck detent mods done. This completely solved all our double feeding problems. Also my dad's pimp came with one of the o-ring broken in his Ram. but we easily replaced that and had it working. Also I would suggest that you turn your BIP up to atleast 3 since 2 was chopping for me but 3 works fine. And make sure your bolt is set correctly. If you do both of these things you will not chop paint but if you do not this would be the biggest cause for chopping paint.

Now onto the good.
This thing is just as fast as anything else out there so that is a good thing. I find it is the easier to maintain than my 98c was since you don't even have to unscrew anything for most of the internal checks and lubricating. It came with a wonderful manual in color and with pictures. It comes with the tools you need to work on it and some spare parts. All around the good things definitly out weight the bad. Evil lifetime warranty and customer service.

Now onto some of the specs.
I found that at first the consistency is not really bad at all I was getting +/- 5 but once I broke in the detonator reg I am now averaging if any change only +/- 1. It started out as quite a gas hog and still is a bit of one yet I can still get about 1000 shots out of my 45/68 tank. The barrel is a slightly less quality version of a stock pipe barrel with the 289 back. I find that this barrel is by far the best I have ever seen stock it is something that most people would probably use as an upgrade barrel for most mid to low end markers. The weight is a bit more than my Ion was but then again I am 6'3" and weigh 180 lbs so really caring 5lbs of marker all day is not a big deal. Also with that added weight I found the Pimp to be incredibly balance which leads to you not really noticing the weight. As well as I believe the kick is about the same as my Ion was with the lightening bolt yet with the pimps added weight it absorbs it alot more making you not notice it as much. Also with turning the Pimp on by a switch instead of a button is so much easier. The only way they could have made this better was if they put it up into the top of the trigger guard like in the new 06 cyborgs to protect it from getting hit off.
Conclusion: Overall I truly love my Pimp. I feel it is alot better than my Ion was which had about $400 worth of upgrades in it. And I also like it more than my cocker which performs about the same yet has over $800 in upgrades in it. Where as my pimp is stock and cost me $500. Which you can now find a pimp on ebay for about $300-$400 and trust me the pimp is incredibly greater than any other marker you could buy in that range. But yet the Pimp did have its one pretty serious draw back. The stock detents that caused me to not even be able to shoot without double feeding which lead to chops. Thankfully this can be easily fixed by BPP for $75 and it will not damage your lifetime warranty with Evil. Which I feel even if you add in the $75 to the base price it is still a great deal. Overall I say the Pimp is truly a great marker for the price even if it is now a couple years old. The reason I give it a 8 instead of a 9 is mainly because if you did not know about the detents you would almost be stopped completely from using this marker which is pretty bad. Also I never give out 10's because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigNiko Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Marker Setup: -CP lock neck
-CP Drop Forward
-Halo B with victory board
-Dye sticky grip
-68 ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
-WAS equilizer board (Wicked air sportz)
Strengths: -fast
-easy clean
-pipe
-rarely chops
-alows a Halo
-light
Weaknesses: -Air unnefficient
-where you screw in the tank comes loose
Review: The Pimp is an awesome marker!! I have shot other EVIL markers like the omen and found they suck and chop often and also break easy. But the PIMP is not like those. I have never had my pimp break other than having a few air leaks. This gun rips!!!!
Conclusion: If you want to buy a gun and you're considering gettig a PIMP...
...Get it!!! This gun will not disapoint you! Ihave never heard anyone complain about their PIMP breaking on them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media