paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp / Evil Pimp

Evil Pimp Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Pimp

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Pimp
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $700

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pimp Specifications:
Electro-Pneumatic Open Bolt
Un-Capped Board for insane rate of fire
Break Beam ACE System
Impulse Barrel Threads
Adjustable Respirator LPR
Evil 300 PSI LPR Gauge
Blade Trigger
Adjustable Debounce
Twist Lock Delrin Bolt - no bolt pin
Dual Timmy Style Ball Detents
Tray-less Trigger Frame
Shortstack Feed Tube with o-rings to fit different hoppers
Adjustable ROF (eye off)
Aluminum Eye Covers
On/Off Bottomline
Macroline
Detonator Vertical Regulator
Pipe Barrel
Evil Punch 2
Barrel Centering O-ring
Evil Grips
1 oz Tube Pus
Product Availability 
The Evil Pimp is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Zeoalex Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing ive touched has come close
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp- Blues crew marker (from Brian Reph)
88/5k hpa
HALO B
Recommended
Upgrades:
A locking feedneck ive heard
Strengths: Stock Barrel, Reg, Speed, Everything except for the feed neck
Weaknesses: break in period, alot of people hate the trigger- I love it
Review: This gun is amazing. out of the box its not too great, it takes a pretty long break in period, but after that.... the speed is amazing, uncapped ramping with the ghetto 7. it is limited to your hopper speed. the size is great, small and compact. I love the reverse angle trigger, i can rip it so hard. All of the modes on ghetto 7 are great. The reg is so great, it is one of the best, the Evil: Detanator. it is really great. The only problem is that the seat seal loves to tear giving people problems. alot of people complain about weight, but it is very balanced-worried about weight, go to gym and lift some weights-problem solved. otherwise it is great, that was the only real problem I have seen/heard of. The gun comes stock with a .689 (sorry Nick :P ) evil pipe, and is so accurate and nice.
Conclusion: All in all this is a great gun, new and used- it is fast, great stock components, all youd need as far as ups, is a clamping neck
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 7th, 2006 at 5:45 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Kruchko Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Ion
04 Impulse (no eyes, w/ anti chop bolt)
Omen 2.0
Autococker
Russian Legion Timmy
DM4
DM5
Piranah STX
A-5 (w/ response and w/ E trigger)
Spyder
Piranah Evo
Tippman Carbine and Model 98
Tippman 98 Pro E (great starter for the $$$)
Marker Setup: Pimp
Halo B
Pipe Kit
4" drop forward
68ci - 4500psi Tank w/ Guerilla Air Reg (thanks Dan)
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 piece barrel kit for anyone 1/2 way serious about acuracy
good tank and reg
Empire Halo B (dont bother with any other brand or type, they're all junk
Blade trigger if you dont like the flat stock (its all preference)
Strengths: Consistancy
Speed
Consistancy
simple design
easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Heavy
Trigger
Jury is still out on the Detonator Reg
Review: I have been paint balling sence 1998 and used a large variety of great and terrible markers. So far the best that I have found for the $$$ and least amount of BS has been the PIMP. I have used the PIMP as my exclusive high end marker for the past year and a half so I have seen its good and bad sides. . . you guys who own markers for a month and then write a review need to hold off for another 5 months.

As far as looks go its just as atractive as any other gun out there. Its not as extreme looking as a Timmy or DM4,5,6,C. So if you are buying a gun for looks this doesnt rate as a master piece. Milling is nice, the finish is fair, and the style is definatly 45 and not too far from the traditional old school.

Consistancy is where this work horse earns its money. With good paint this thing doesnt chop with the eyes on and a good hopper. I said good paint. . . spend the money and get the good stuff or great stuff. I have only had chopping issues with damaged and old or crappy paint. And once when the weather took a 30 degree swing in less than an hour (I live in Wisconsin, happens all the time). The eyes work just as good as any other. With a HaloB you can lay down a nice rope to keep guys bunkered down and tag guys on the break. I used an Apache the first week I owned it and found that it left my gun dry every once in a while.

Air consumption isnt bad at all once you break it in. The first 2000-3000 rounds drained a couple of 68-4500's, which was concerning. Now I can get through a case with about one tank, so there is no problem there. The Detonator reg hasnt given me any problems, though I am thinking of upgrading it to something better soon because its sometimes difficult to adjust when things get out of whack after a cleaning.

Here's the bad stuff:
-Its a heavy sow. With a full HaloB, drop forward, pipe, and a 68-4500 this thing feels about 50% heavier than a Timmy or DM# and 100% heavier than an Ion. I really only notice it before and after games. So maybe it isnt the greatest for small front players.
-The way that the gauge is situationed on the Detonator reg sucks. Its hard to clean around when you take a gun hit and its possitioned forward so that you cant see it unless you are staring down the front of the marker.
-The Detonator reg is rather long so that you cant put a huge drop forward on it.

Conclusion: There are a lot of high end markers out there now. Most are expensive pieces of artwork that people like to brag about owning primarily because of price or whatever is trendy at the time. The PIMP works and works well with the proper accesories that any high end marker NEEDS. For $1100 someone can purchase a PIMP, a Halo B, Pipe Kit, nice tank and Reg and get some pretty great results. Compared to purchasing an $1000 marker and having to spend even more on accesories or buying a high end $300 marker and then spending $700 getting new parts accesories for it so that it performs the way it should.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ImaEvilPimp Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autococker, Dye Matrix, Smart Parts Impulse, Shocker and Ion.
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp, Evlution II with z board, 68/3000 HPA tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The gun could really use a drop forward the tank sits kind of far back, it could also use a new trigger.
Strengths: High Rate of fire
Simple Velocity Adjustment
Reliable
Weaknesses: Bulky
Can have problems of LPR creeping
Review: The gun is very easy to use once you get use to it. It took me a little while to learn how to set and adjust the board for rate of fire but once I learned it was very simple. I haven't had very many probelms with it besides of a few intances of the LPR creeping thus lowering the ammount of shots I got of each fill of my tank. But I it took was a stripping of the reg and lubing and the LPR went back to normal. It operates at a pretty low pressure 120-140, and when working right can get a lot of shots off of each fill. It uis very easy to walk the trigger once you turn it off tournament lock and set it to its max (which is 25 BPS).
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to most Seriuous tournament because of its speed and reliability.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dillwack Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 05 Speed, Smartparts ION, Alias Timmy, Smartparts Shocker
Marker Setup: 2006 Evil Pimp w/ Ghetto Board - Black
Evil Detonator Reg - Black
Empire Reloader B - Black
Crossfire 70Cu-4500psi Stubby Air Sytem w/ Dye Rhino Cover - black n' blue
Full Freak System,, All-American Tip,, Aluminum Back - Black
Vforce Profiler - Black
Recommended
Upgrades:
- trigger if you dont like small ones
- new trigger frame if you want more walking room
Strengths: -GhettoBoard
-ComesStockWithPipe
-LowProfile
-EasyBoltAcsess
-EasyVelocity Adjustment, No Allen Wrench Nessicary
Weaknesses: -Weight,CouldBeLighter (3.45lbs)
-NewToMarker, CouldBeHardToAdjust

Review: Now what can i say?

The Evil Pimp this gun rips, i took it out of the box and i dry-fired it, this gun kills my old ion. But then i went through the operators manual and realised the board comes stock with Tournament Lock on. So i turned it off, put the ROF (Rate Of Fire) at MAX., Put the BIP (Ball In Place) MIN. seeing how i have a fast hopper, and ETS (Electronic Trigger Sensitivity) At Most Sensitive. So i started walking the gun now, and i think i have hit around 20+bps, i tested it at a crono and i was hitting 15bps, with the 15bps lock on. So i knew how it sounded and compared to what i was shooting at 15bps to what i was after i could easily tell i was hitting at least 20+bps. After that i had broken the detonator in, after about 3000shots. I set my gun to around 280fps, and then i took 10 shots and it read, 280,281,282,281,281,281,281,280,280,281, at least i can say its consistant. Now not for the speed of the gun or the consistancy, i didnt even use my freak on it yet. I had taken out the stock pipe that it comes with and there is a pole about 1ft in diameter, so i measured out about 75 feet away, and i lined up my shot and i took the shot, i hit the pole. I started walking it, only using 15 balls i hit 13 out of the 15, because i cannot stand perfectly still. But not its not only proof, i was playing and my friend was walking across the field after the game and i was like maybe i can hit him in the face, so what did i do? i lined up my shot and nailed him in the chin of his mask, of course he got pissed but at least i figure the gun is accurate. The One thing i found hard right at the begining, was the LPR settings after i knew what i was doing it was easy as a mofo, to adjust and set. after i had them set, i knew what my RAM was doing and how fast the bolt responded and how low the kick was, when i pull the trigger, i dont feel anything, the gun feels the same as im holding it for more accuarate shot. How ever the weight is a bit heavy comparing to an Ion. I had changed if you guys really think 1lb makes a difference i think you guys shouldnt even be playing paintball then. in my Opinion this gun is one of the best innovations that paintball has ever seen.
Conclusion: I think whoever questions buying this gun is nuts, i think that this gun is one of the best out there for the price being 700$US or 750CDN if you guys want to buy an Ion for the money and then up it and think its better then a gun like this, you have no idea what you guys are doing, you will be spending the same amount of moeny for nothing i recomend this marker 100%
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

madk9 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse Vision
ICD B2K
Evil Omen 2.0
Spyder TL-X

NONE OF THESE GUNS EVEN COMPARE!!!!!!!!
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp w/ Smokey Halo B rip drive. 72 ci tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
u need a fast hopper cause this is one fast gun.
Strengths: Fast
Accurate Stock Barrel
Light
Awesome looking
BreakBeam Eyes
Made Well
Its EVIL
Weaknesses: Hey if u can find one tell me.
Review: When I first got this gun i had nothing but problems with it, although u will learn that it was not the gun at all.
I got this marker used on ebay and that wasn't a good idea and when i first got it it sucked quite badly. So i sent it to PMI and got it a week later. WOW. This is the best gun i have ever held in my life. I never thought it would be better then i heard but it was. The trigger came fully adjusted and with almost no effort i ripped a sweet stream of green paint, none popped. The eyes work like a charm, and the trigger is really nice. I found that it has almost no maintenance what so ever. U grease 2 parts every i dunno, 5 cases.

TAKING IT TO A FIELD

My marker was still a virgin not shooting anyone so i took it to the local rebal field. It was so awesome. I had alot of kids ask me what kind of gun it was and a few even wanted to trade. hahahah. well here we go. It was dead strait and no jams. The pressure at 120 psi was more then enough to bring the paintballs across the field. Best day of my life.

A few more months have gone by and still no problems. The gun just seems to work better and better. I broke in my new evil detonator reg, and it is very nice. I shot a whole case 2day and no chops/breaks.
Conclusion: I would recoment this product to anyone who wants a reliable marker that has a great ROF. It was my first evil product bought, and probably going to be my main marker for years to come. Thanks for reading A++++++++++
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 19th, 2006 at 7:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyler89 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
little of everything
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 2006- Clear dust
Recommended
Upgrades:
new on/off
new feedneck
a bunch of spare eyes/ball detents
Strengths: It shoots fast when it works
Weaknesses: Chops a lot...works half of the time until it chops...then ur screwed
Review: two of my teammates have these markers...everytime i looked over at them they're banging there guns trying to get them to work. Its horrible, i have never seen a gun chop so much. Granted when they work they are just as fast as any gun out there, the trigger pull is extremely light. But it is always chopping. Always. we lost a tournament today cuz of these guns. Guess the prize at the tournament? Ironically it was 3 evil pimps for first place (it was a 3-man tourny).
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun. It went through three sets of ball detents today and on top of that the eyes are horrible. I am going to give it a 2 because when it does work its good, but it only works half of the time.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

chasonpuntng Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angles, timmies, various matrixs, etc.
Marker Setup: evil pimp
halo w/rip
hybrid grips
pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ramping board if you don't have it
Maybe a pipe kit, if you have the extra money
Strengths: FAST!!
Accurate
Sexy
Weaknesses: Not gas friendly
Review: Right when I got this gun, I went out in my yard and started ripping it. I was very happy at the speed of this gun. It is not the most accurate gun ever, but it gets the job done. The pipe kit helps the accuracy a lot. The first time I took it the the local field it chronod 291, 290, 284, but that got tighter by the end of the day once the reg. got broke in a little. I love the detonator now, it is amazing. Once I started playing I was popping people like crazy. This gun has made me a much better player, and it is very easy to maintain.
Conclusion: Great gun. I paid 440.00 for mine off ebay, new. This is the best gun for under 600 dollars period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamAcaCaptain Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy spyder..
Gen E-Matrix_only tested
05 Smart Parts Shocker_only tested
06 Angel_only tested/used 1 tourney
Aka Viking and Excalibur_tested
Marker Setup: Odessy Halo
Pure Energy 68ci/4500 psi
Evil driver barrel
Silver pimp
7.0 Ghetto Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe new on/off
Fast Hopper
*new* trigger, only if you want it
new smoke stack
Strengths: Fast
Accurate (only if velocity is turned down)
Sharp looking
Open bolt
Weaknesses: A little bit heavy
Velocity changer is on regulater
need softer paint
Review: Its insane. Fast accurate, i love it. Our team, TEAM ACA, loves it to. And they all have really fast guns such as gen ematrix and 05 shocker. But its i little heavy. Insane rates of fire. I love how the ghetto board lets you choose they rof and etc. its great! But i little bit on the cheap side tbut thats fine with me.
Conclusion: Its insane i the membrain!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

David R Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4 DM5 NME shocker
Marker Setup: Evil pipe
shocktec drop forward
eVLution 2
pure energy 4500 68 ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVIL pipe
dropforward
trigger (maybe)
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Fairly light
Rare
Weaknesses: Could be lighter
Could be a little more compact.
Air efficency
Review: I love my pimp kit. It works great for me. Right out of the box it shot ropes. it looks good shoots good and is really accurate. It has a pretty good manual also. I have so far had no problems with it. It comes stock with just about everything you need; Evil pipe, nice LPR, teflon bolt Evil respiratior and best of all the 7.0 ghetto board which has 3 different firing modes which are semi-auto, X3 ramping and X6 ramping. the only thing that is missing is a dropforward which is easily fixed. This a great marker. I would recomend it to all
Conclusion: In my opinion the pimp stands up there with some of the best guns. Its uncapped board alows it to shoot extremely fast and the stock evil pipe makes it nice and accurate. so my conclusion is, buy this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

FishyFrontMan Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Dragon Timmy, Alias Timmy and Impulse are probably the closest
Marker Setup: PIMP
Pipe kit
EVIL blade trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
The slanted trigger is either a "hit or miss" with people and a more functional on/off.
Strengths: Rate of fire, ease of maintanence, reliability
Weaknesses: Heavy, large profile, time consuming to change settings
Review: To begin, take note that I had my PIMP for a year. A gun might perform great the first day out, but two critical parts of its performance, maintainence and reliability, cannot be tested in such a short amount of time. I will address the five main things you should look for in a paintball gun and how they apply to the Pimp: accuracy, rate of fire, reliability, maintenance, and aesthetics. Note that range is determined entirely by velocity unless a force other than gravity and momentum is put on the ball (as with the flatline) so it makes no difference in this review.

Accuracy: Though my Pimp had a pipe kit almost from the get-go, I played with the stock barrel many times as a substitute for the .689 pipe back(the stock back is also .689). The accuracy wasn't incredible with the stock, but in comparison with other stock barrels, it was among the best. It outperformed an angel and a cyborg, but was outperformed by an autococker all with their stock barrels. When all three had barrel kits on them(a pipe kit, edge kit, and freak kit respectively) they had a little enough difference from the Pimp with its pipe kit to make any practical paintball player overlook this comparison, although only the angel seemed more accurate.

Rate of fire: This is where the pimp really came through for me. The pimp with the stock trigger can compete with any gun on the market. With the blade trigger upgrade, it can beat any gun on the market. With two points of andjustment on the stock trigger as well as electronic trigger sensitivity and trigger pull resistance, you can customize the trigger to capitalize on your fingers' strengths. This coincides this the very valid point that a person's fingers decide rate of fire on all high end guns, not the gun itself. The rate of fire only increased with the addition of the more adjustable evil blade trigger.

Reliability: I had only one problem with my Pimp during my time with it and that was because my detonator regulator had been accidentally unscrewed by a friend. The result was serious shootdown. Because this was a user error, the pimp is proven to be an extremely reliable gun when taken care of correctly.

Maintainence: The upkeep of the pimp is very simple, quick, and far-between. The manual says to relube the ram after every 50,000 shots, an already impressive number, but I found I could do it with even less frequency. I never had the dubious honor of taking apart the LPR, but that seemed a little more involved. Because I never had to though, I am led to believe this is not necesarily a critical part of maintainence. Electronically, both trying to change settings and modes of fire, the pimp is more time consuming. It is very easy to do, and well spelled-out in the manual, but takes time due to the lack of an LCD screen. I would expect that you would run into this on any gun without an LCD screen, so I do not consider it inconvenient.

Aesthetics: This is probably where the Pimp is lacking most. It is, in my opinion, a good looking gun, but it gets little respect as it is not of the mainstream. It is also very heavy and tall. The milling is nothing spectacular, but it looks good in a simple way.
Conclusion: The pimp is a gun that is a little rough around the edges, but when it comes to performance and reliability, it runs with the best of them. The incredibly low price for such a gun also greatly weighs in its favor.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 25th, 2006 at 7:20 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media