paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board / Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board

Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Wicked Air Sportz

Buy Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board

Paintball Impulse Boards

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Equalizer is a tournament legal, semi-only board for Smart Parts' Impulse series markers. The Equalizer upgrade includes a completely new eye system specifically designed for paintball. This upgrade board increases the rate of fire and offers numerous other features. The new boards come with PSP ramping and NXL full auto modes.
Product Availability 
The Wicked Air Sportz Equalizer Board is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
smasters_45 Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Cricket Board
Marker Setup: 2003 Vert Reg Impulse - Red
Wicked Air Sports Equalizer Board
ND Equalizer Bolt
ND Ti Pull Pin
ND Clamping Low Rise
Tapeworm
Eclipse Blade Trigger
Progressive Barrel
68/3000 Tank
Strengths: Very Fast shooting
Eye never lets paint chop
Many features that you can customize
Weaknesses: Price
Eye Cover required some work
Review: This board truely lives up to all the hype. When I got it, I quickly noticed how well it was packaged in a couple layers of protection. Instructions are very well written (online on the WAS website) and installation was very easy. If you have a dremel tool, the grinding down of the small part takes about 30 seconds. Everything went smoothly until I had to put the eye cover on. The screw that holds it in place isnt long enough, or the eye cover is too thick. Whatever the case, I had to make the screw hole a deeper in the eye cover so that the screw that was included would fit. After installation, everything worked perfectly. I had to readjust my trigger, but that was very painless.
When I went outside and shot it... all I could say was WOW! This board really rips! You can shoot really fast strings of paint, but the best part was that there were no chops! The eye works flawlessly.
There are a lot of things you can tweak on the board to give it the best performance for your marker. You can change the dwell, Rate of Fire, ball in place (lets the ball get fully into the chamber before letting you fire again), debounce, firing mode... all done without any tools at all!
Conclusion: This is a very excellent board for the Impulse. The only downside is that it costs a lot, and you might have to mess around with the eye cover a bit to get it to fit well. I would recommend that you save up 150 bucks though, and buy one of these boards, especially if you do not already have vision. You WILL notice a HUGE difference.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SupAirman Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Non-vision Cricket board- Capped at 13.7, no eye
Vision board- Capped at 20, pitiful eye logic
KM2 Genesis Board- no eye system, comparable speed, no debounce settings, etc.
Marker Setup: '03 Impulse
-WAS Board
-Dynamix Paintball PTI frame
-Various internal upgrades
-Reloader B
-Crossfire low output 68/4500 HPA
Strengths: -Absurd ROF
-ACE system
-Solution to shoot-down and FSDO
-Debounce, etc. settings
Weaknesses: -Trigger Programming (Takes some getting used to, but easy to memorize)
Review: I will begin by thanking Wicked Air Sportz. This board is the savior of Impulses. Without this board, I would have sold mine and upgraded to a Timmy. This board can take the bare-bones non-vision Impulse, and convert it into a paint-slinging monster.

Some people may complain about the price, but then again, look at what you compare it to. The Vision sister board for the Cricket sells for $150. All you get there is a very finicky and limited eye. For the same cost, the WAS board gives you a FSDO solution, maximum ROF capabilities, as well as other settings for fine-tuning your marker.

The WAS board has settings for Dwell, Debounce (never before available to Impulse users), 4 different eye modes, Ball In Place Delay, ROF cap (for eye mode 1), and eye sensitivity levels.

Dwell: Nothing special, except that it is adjustable in 1ms as well as 1/4ms increments

Debounce: Helps keep your marker tournament legal, no matter the trigger setup

Eye Modes: Bypass- Eye off mode, yet capped at 13 bps so that if the eye malfunctions, you won't just chew up paint and spit out soup. Eye Mode 1- ACE is set up with a ROF cap (20-30 bps adjustable) for non-reflective bolts. Eye Mode 2- for reflective bolts, the bolt positioning is monitored to maximize cycle rate. Simulate- mode that allows maximum ROF while no paint is in the marker, allowing high-speed test/dry firing.

BIP Delay: adjustable delay time so the user can set it according to the speed of their hopper

ROF Cap: For eye mode 1, allows adjustable speed settings to maximize ROF for non-reflective bolts

Eye Sensitivity: Allows user to adjust sensitivity to motion, textures, and colors. Reduces eye confusion of light with paintballs, and vice versa.


**Newer players may find the installation a bit involved, and may want to have a local airsmith do the filing on the eye slot.
Conclusion: My marker is 100% better now that I have the WAS board. I am hitting higher speeds, with greater shot consistency than ever. That and the fact that I haven't chopped a ball in the 2 cases I've used so far, convince me that this board is as good as everyone is hyping it up to be.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 17th, 2004 at 7:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

luap119 Friday, May 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
cricket board and ECS
Marker Setup: 2k3 EQUALIZED impy BLACK, all ndz internals, ndz no rise, ndz detents, ndz blade trigger, JackHammer II lpr, freak system, clear halo b, EQ board
Strengths: FAST, SIMPLE TO USE, FAST, FAST, and uhh FAST......OH YEA NO FSDO
Weaknesses: uummmmmm NOTHING. maybe installation
Review: WOW EQ ROX THE BOAT.

I got it yesterday and what can i say im shooting so much faster. The strings of paint are so consistant. NO FIRST SHOT DROPOFF.. installation took about 20 minutes and was fairly easy because i actually knew what i was doing. once i had it installed i put some almost black shelled paintin the camber and it read it with ease..
Conclusion: GO OUT AND BUY IT. FAST, NO FSDO, BETTER EYE SYSTEM, MANY DIFFERENT EYE MODES, ETC....i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

htownpb Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Old Cricket Non Vision Board(13.7 cap)
Marker Setup: Impulse, OTB Frame, Equalizer board, CCM Lo Rise, New Designs Hammer, Slik Shot, Mac Dev 04 Gladiator, Halo B, AGD Flatline 68/3000
Strengths: Much faster then either stock boards, more adjustable, more precise dwell settings, fixes fsdo
Weaknesses: Problem with Eye Mode 2 Switching to bypass mode after a few shots
Review: The Wicked Air Sportz equalizer is one of the best upgrades that I have ever purchased for any gun that I have owned in my experience of playing paintball. It is very fast, Eye Mode 1 has an adjustable rate of fire up to 30 bps if you dont have a reflective bolt and eye mode 2 has an unlimited bps cap if you do have a reflective bolt. The eye is programmed to not shoot foreign objects other then paintballs as the eye can not only detect the color but the texture of the surface as well. You can adjust everything that you would need to adjust to get your stuff working properly the way that you want it. It also provides more juice to the solenoid to get rid of first shot drop off. I would go as far as to say that even if you have the stock SP vision to sell it and get an Equalizer.
Conclusion: I think that this is one of the best products out to increase the rate of fire on the impulse. If you are satisfied with the rate of fire of your gun then you probably dont need this but it also has other useful features that you would be able to use even if you were happy with your rate of fire like the eye and getting rid of fsdo.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwitchyTrigger Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Cricket Board
Smart Partrs Vision Cricket Board
Smart Parts ECS Vision Cricket Board
Strengths: High ROF
No FSDO
Extremely Reliable
Much Better Eye
Weaknesses: None
Review: Simply put, this board is the best upgrade available for the impulse to date. It is not only incredibly fast, but has the best reflective eye system available! The FSDO fix, the great eye logic, the trigger programming with no external buttons, the tournament lock, and many other features all add up to one great product!

It has many features that can be adjusted, of course many people like to tinker, but half of the settings do not need to be changed! Out of the box it will work just great!

There seems to be a very large misconception about how difficult it is to install the equalizer board. It is NOT hard to install at all, it only takes about 10 minutes!

People complaining about the eye cover have to realize, it DOES fit perfectly, the eye board snaps into place and both the eye cover and eye board were designed to have a very tight fit!

Filing the eyehole is also easy to do, it requires a small file, a paper towel and a sharpie and only takes about 10 minutes to do aswell.

Conclusion: Simply just the best product for the impulse. If you don't have one, get one. Don't bother waiting for the Tadao board or the Loki board, they simply will not be able to top this!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pandemonium Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys (WAS, and Frenzy boards) Angels, Bushmasters (blow never get one!!!!), matrix's, shockers ( new and old), and cockers.
Marker Setup: 03 impulse w/ equalizer
68/4500 nitro
z-board egg
ND blade trigger
Strengths: INCREDIBLY FAST!!!!!
doesn't chop
Weaknesses: installing it is a challenge.
Review: The gun is amazingly fast with this board. and you NEVER chop. i had the gun on debounce 2, and my friend was doing 20 bps. my egg broke after i played a game, and i was forced to use a 12v revvy for the rest of the day. I ripped 16 bps without choping, and without skipping any shots. all the refs asked me how i fould shoot so fast with the hopper ( i really had no idea, revvy = 13bps, and im shooting 16 WTF??!!!). This board absolutely rips, and everyone should get one.

Conclusion: im giving this board a 7 just because of the hassle you have to go through in order to install. ( the eye cover doesnt fit well, filing out the blockage for the eye.)it. but once its installed its the best thing you could ever do to you gun. GET IT!!!!!!!!! if it was easier to install i would give it a 10, but the best things arent always gonna be easy to do.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 10th, 2004 at 5:49 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

LTJRocks77 Saturday, May 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock non vision board
ECS non vision board
Sp vision board
Marker Setup: stock body Impulse
JackHammer II lpr
New Designz stubby eq bolt
New Designz rip valve
New Designz rat hole ss hammer
New Designz slik shot ram
New Designz talon grip
Check-It no rise
WAS EQ Board
P.E. 45/45
Evo II
Strengths: Fast
NO fsdo
incredible adjustablility
no chops
Weaknesses: eye cover isnt perfect fit
filling nub is annoying
Use alot more paint
Review: Initial impressions: When i first found out i got it i ripped it out of the box and stared at it. It was so beautiful. After waiting a year i thought it was just a dream so i stubbed my toe on purpose and it was real. I was happy as anyting.
It comes with a board (really it does? didnt know that captain obvious!) a bunch of shims (for long detents) an eye cover, 3 screws (1 to screw on the eye 2 for the dwell covers.) and the eye.


Installing: I started to file down the eye nub first. I put paper towls in the top tube to catch the shavings. Well It took a little bit to finally file it down but once i got it down all the way i filled it in with a black sharpie. It wasnt a perfect job but it works. It took a total of 15 mins to get it down perfectly. I used some keyboard dusters (can with air basiclly) to clean it up. I then started to get to work on the board
I took my frame off and took out the board and swapped it with the eq. It Fit perfectly. I routed the eye and tryed to attach the cover but found out it was pretty tight. It took atleast 10 mins before i finally got the eye in the cover. When i put it on i noticed that a little bit of the eye showed from the back of the gun but i dont think that will be a problem. Anyway i got it all hooked up fine and installed. I then grabbed some air and paint and went outside.

Shooting: When i got outside i started to set it up. I put the dwell at 8.4 and the debounce at 2. I put the eye mode on 4 (simulate) and started to rip. It shot so fast that my jaw dropped to the ground. I put the eye mode back to 2 (non reflective bolt) and turned my gun off and got all the air out. After about 15 mins i aired up my gun put in paint and turned it on. I fired and noticed that there was 0 fsdo even after i had my dwell lower then normal. I pulled the trigger again and it started to bounce alot. I pulled it and held it in the sweet spot and emptied a full hopper with just bounce.
I finally upped the debounce to 5 or 6 and put in some more paint. It wouldn't bounce at all so it was good. With my old non vision board i would still chop with my evo2. I fired a string of about 15-16 off and got no chopps at all. I finished off the hopper as fast as i could and no chops.
I put in another hopper full and started to try to make it chop. I turned the gun from 90 degrees left to 90 degrees right while ripping and didnt get any chops. It would be slow but it still wouldnt chop. I love it.

Comparison to other boards: Well the stock non vision board is crap so thats out. The ecs non vision wasn't as fast (without vision it was hard to tell if it was as fast or not) and the stock vision board is good but it has fsdo, no debounce, and still chops a few times. I have gotten the stock board to chop a few times with a revy but not nearly as many as without it. The was board doesnt chop from what ive seen and it is easier to rip with.
Conclusion: This board rocks and i recommend it for EVERYONE. If you have a non vision imp this should be your next upgrade. This board is also FAST! Ive shot so many guns out there and i would take this over almost all guns.
What could be better then?
no chops
no fsdo
an extremely fast board
did i mention no chopping?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 8th, 2004 at 5:13 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1220 Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 14" full freak barrel kit
Blue tapeworm
EvoII loader
45k Crossfire HPA tank.
Strengths: Better eye system
Lets you shoot alot faster
Weaknesses: Kind of a pain to install
Adjusting the settings is kind of annoying too.
Review: The Smart Parts vision uses a reflective eye that sometimes has trouble detecting certain dark colors of paint. When this happens it ends up doing more harm then good. The WAS board is much better. The WAS eye system has no trouble detecting paint and you can adjust the eye sensitivity level so you can use any type of paint with no trouble at all. Also the WAS board lets you shoot much faster then the Smart Parts vision. In black bolt mode the WAS board is capped at whatever you set it at. In white bolt mode the ROF (Rate Of Fire) is unlimited. Both the WAS board and the Smart Parts vision cost the same price but the WAS board is a million times better then the Smart Parts vision will ever be. It is a little bit of a pain in the butt to install and adjust the settings BUT once you do get it set the board is AWSOME and it worth every cent. I give it a 9/10 because it would be nice if it were a little easier to install.
Conclusion: If your looking for a new board for you Impy definitly get the WAS board. The WAS board inccreases your ROF and has a better eye system. The WAS board blows away the stock Impy board and vision.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

wipeout454 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
non-vision and vision cricket board
Marker Setup: 2k3 Impulse
Evil Bolt
Evil Respirator
Eclipse SS hammer
OTB frame
Empire barrel kit
Halo B
Strengths: completely customizable electronics
eye is easy to turn off if it malfunctions
Weaknesses: eye cover is hard to get on
have to void warrantee
Review: This is an awesome board. Once you get used to how the menus work adjusting this board is easy. You have to file the vision hole in the body flush, voiding your warrantee, but this is no big deal and takes like 5 min if you are careful. You can completely customize the different delays for debounce, ball in place to your shooting style and type of loader, plus eye sensitivity can be adjusted if needed for different textures of paint. Overall a great product now that is finally out. I was shooting 18 bps out of the box with only adjusting my trigger and none of the board settings.
Conclusion: Get this board you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media