paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip / Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip / Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip / Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip

Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 91
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Viewloader introduces the VL Prodigy™ E-Grip semi-automatic paintball marker for 2003. The Prodigy E-Grip™ is designed for high performance and durability. It sets the standard for value priced, metal, semi-automatic markers with features that include: a field strippable pin for ease of cleaning and maintenance on and off the field, a lightweight aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver, a self-locking velocity adjustment, welded vertical feed port, two panel electronic grip, double finger trigger, laser engraving and newly redesigned top cocking bolt.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
hobbes287 Sunday, September 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Strengths: Light trigger; aluminum construction; fairly accurate;
Weaknesses: Somewhat loud; cheap decor on the grip;
Review: Well, I'm a noob to this sport and this is my first gun. So far it hasn't given me any problems yet. It's light and I can crank out 11 rounds per second with this sucker. It's kinda loud and sometimes the balls tend to go to the left a little. But replace the stock barrel and it'll be fine. The trigger is very light and sensitive. Hell, I got this gun at Sport Chalet for only $60, so I can't complain. I adjusted the velocity to 295 fps and hasn't broken any balls yet. The only problem is the cheap decor on the handIe. I take good care of it and so far it hasn't failed me on the fields yet. So, I'll keep this thing for a while until I'm better at this game. But I already got my sight on the Ariakon Sim-4 Elite. Hehehehehe.
Conclusion: It's a decent gun for beginners like me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShagMeElmoPB Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees Icon E, very nice for noobs, good reliability, reccommend getting Icon LED for faster shooting.
Marker Setup: ViewLoader Prodigy E-Grip with 14 inch progressive smart parts barrel and Evo 2 egg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel, the stock sucks unbelievably
Strengths: Pretty ****ing fast for a VL. EXTREMELY easy trigger pull, Pretty light.
Weaknesses: unreliable, sucky consistency, Hop-ups are a necessity, gas waster, paint crushing bolt.
Review: This gun is perfectly balanced between worth getting, and not. The pros are: its fast, its cheap, it light (everything you would want from a gun, right? You forgot reliability!) Reliability is a key factor in paintball guns, tippmanns are legendary for their reliability, even though their performance isn't worth standing. This gun for me has created so many problems, days sitting out, weekends fixing, and hours considering my options, that i wish i could use something else instead. This gun's accuracy isn't the best with a stock barrel, but with a smooth barrel, like one from smart parts, that problem is quickly eliminated. Then we move onto another problem. The bolt on this thing could power 5 cannons. The time I have spent cleaning out my barrel is equal to time spent in game play(i play a lot!!). Due to it's gas wasting, its put much more power to the bolt. So what do you do to discourage the bolt/gun from behaving this badly, you turn down velocity, dont you? But what do you sacrifice doing that? ACCURACY, ive been proclaimed as a noob for not hitting kids with their legs hanging out, and I tried, i really did, but the accuracy and range is so low, you have to lob balls, i dont hate anything more then having to lob balls to hit someone, so this gun is really only good for bunkering, or close range combat. I haven't bought a new bolt for it, but I wont tolerate paying much more for this gun that is worth 1$. Unless you wanna buy $100 paint, you aren't gunna have much fun playing with the bolt, maybe if you bought a superfly bolt, then you forget about that, but as I said before, im not paying another dime. That brings me to another complaint, the consistency. The consistency is so horrible that without a regulator you wont be shooting too far if you crank the velocity down to 220 like me :'(. So with the bolt acting like its hacking down a tree, and the consistency asking me for more, your not gunna have to much fun with this gun.

So now onto the good things about this gun. First off, when you walk this gun's trigger, you feel as if you can take out a whole army of paintballers, but then you remember your low velocity and consistency and feel a little depressed. But If you buy a bunch of upgrades to fix the consistency and bolt problem on this gun, then you could try that, but if you dont wanna spend $500 dollars on your $120 dollar gun, then keep it the way it is, plus there is always the reliability issue too. But back onto the bright side of this gun. Its trigger pull is light, its fast as 16 balls per second can take you, and its veeerrrry light, 1 pound i think.

But if you are considering hop-ups to make this gun more accurate, more consistent, and less ball breakage, then here is a list of what you will need

-Evo 2 Hopper (for fast loading speed)
-Progressive smart parts barrel(very smooth, better accuracy then the stock barrel)
-superfly bolt(to lessen the lives of paint taken by your bolt)
-some kinda regulator(for extra consistency)
-nitro (for extra consistency)

Conclusion: Good for someone who wants to demolish there friends with little money, but beware of the other issues I mentioned above, like the consistency being very low, and the bolt punching like a brother before a nap, and the key issue RELIABILITY without it, you aren't going anywhere.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 15th, 2004 at 3:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eldugo Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty similar to most blowbacks, with the exception of the electronic trigger it functions about the same.
Marker Setup: Rainmaker (In work)
Mad Marty mods 1-5
palmer stabilizer and mini rock
Angel 90 degree space frame with Galeforce board and custom switch
x-board revy
More to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
If you want to add an expansion chamber or regulator you must buy an adapter to fit the reverse/awkward sized threads of this gun. Lapco and dropzone both make one and at the time of this review you can get one at www.vlproseries.com
Strengths: Bang for the buck
Trigger
Build Quality
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is pretty bad
Requires an adapter for expansion chambers/reg
Review: I got tired of using rental guns while I built my Rainmaker, so I jumped on the opportunity to pick one up for $60. The build quality is outstanding, unheard of in this price range. The rate of fire is decent, I think the board is capped at 8 or so bps, which is fine seeing how thats about the mechanical limit of this gun. I play in a sandy envirenment so I COMPLETLY dissasemle this gun after every time I play, the whole process takes only about 10 minutes to have it cleaned and oiled. The gun runs pretty well on co2, I did notice some shootdown under rapid fire. A good gun for beginners and recreational players.
Conclusion: I picked one up at walmart for $60. If you can find one at that price JUMP ON IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt. Davenport Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year27 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders (galour)
Typman procarbin, 98's
Marker Setup: VL Prodigy / E-Grip
VL Revolution 12 Volt / X Board
Pure Energy 20oz.
32 Degrees / spyder spring up grade the gold
Smart Parts 14" teardrop barrel
JT 14" barrel for back up
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (The nine inch stock is not that bad but it would make a big difference.)
New springs
Strengths: 1) great gun for the money
2) shots accurate
3) Dependable
Weaknesses: Water ; donot take it out to play in the rain.
Review: Plain and simple this marker goes the distance . I ' ve gone out to play with some serious weekend warriors . Some of them thought it was funny that I would even bring a VL Prodigy on their field . Others even lectured on the inferior marker , and how I was as good as gone . I had 6 kills that day and left the field without a drop of paint on me . I left that field that day with my head held high and my inferior marker in hand........lol
Conclusion: Buy it great marker
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 27th, 2005 at 2:17 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Patrick_breakal Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 (rental)
Viewloader triad (Own)
Timmys
Protos
Immpys
Trixes
Marker Setup: -2005Viewloader Prodigy body, 2003 Egrip (Uncapped)
-12volt black Revvi
-12 Ounce Co2 Tank W/ Butt Plate
-JT Aplha 2000 Mask
-3A 16inch 2 Piece Fade Red Knock out Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel. But the one it comes with isent bad
-regulator
-Nitrogen
-Revvi
Strengths: -Very Fast 13 (That i have gotten) shots per second (E-Grip)
-Acurite
-Looks Awsome

Weaknesses: Sorta Luad
Not good in cold unless with Nitro or Xchamber (Same with all guns)
Review: This Gun is Great for ALL Beginers!It was at Wal-mart for $150.00 and went on sale for $59.00, Great deal! anyone That says dont get this, I highly Recommend getting it, Ive used a tippmann 98 Custum, and this is way better then it.It will kill any tippmann and even autococker player easily.
Conclusion: I reccomend it for any beginer looking for a Cheap,And Great beginner tourny Gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 12th, 2005 at 4:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt. Davenport Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year25 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders (galour)
Tippmanns
Marker Setup: VL Prodigy e grip
Smart Parts 14" Teardrop (Spyder)
VL Revolution 12 volt with X-board
VL 200 backup
Pure Energy 20 oz.
32 Degrees Spring Upgrade (Spyder)
The Gold is Truley Golden
Recommended
Upgrades:
1)Barrel......Teardrop
2)Springs....Any Spyder Set
3)Electronic Hopper .....Dramatically increases ROF
Strengths: Shoots Great
Accurate
E-Grip is awesome
Field strip is easy for anyone
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: There is a down fall to this other wise great marker , Rain
Review: I recently Got to play with some serious weekend warriors . On average their guns cost $300 and up.(Mine on the other hand cost $59 at Walmart) they thought it was funny that I would even walk on to their field with my VL Prodigy. Some of them Began to lecture on the inferior weapon . But when it all was said and done . I walked off the field without a drop of paint on me and my victims wished they could have done the same . I left that field with my head held high......


Conclusion: This is one of the best guns out there for the money....
buy it. Yes I got on clearance ,but it is still a great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Riot Squad Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna G2, STS G3, Spyder Victor II, Viewloader Triad
Marker Setup: Prodigy E-Grip, 20oz Co2 tank, PMI standard hopper, JT Elite Headshield, Freak Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replacing the stock barrel is pretty standard with ANY marker. Most Piranha and Spyder barrels fit. Get a two piece or sleeved to adjust for ball size. Accuracy depends alot on paintball quality and FIT. A drop forward for weight dispersement could help alot. An electronic hopper for faster feeds.
Strengths: Reliability, performance, value, electronic grip performs great
Weaknesses: Over-sized grip, could be a problem. 7 bps limit can be annoying.
Review: This gun has performed incredibly well. I'm at a disadvantage against REC players running full auto with Halos, but they're just wasting paint any way. On reputable courses that require 1pull, one paintball semi-auto this marker has out performed most other markers I've used. The piranha G series are complete crap compared to this marker. I've used Piranha and Spyder almost exclusively. I quit playing for awhile. When I decided to start again I had to get a marker under $100.00 or keep renting. I picked this marker up for $59.00 NEW. I have no complaints..... Even with the stock barrel , this gun has been acuurate. I can keep my shots within 1 square foot at 135 feet. Relibility is a key factor here. I have yet to chop a ball with this marker during play. I have shooting targets. (I was also trying to drastically outshoot the performance that the 7 bps limiter allows) This marker is excellent for players more interested in hitting their target accurately, than painting their target with an entire hopper in 3 seconds.

The honeymoon is over. Here's the probs... The grip is BIG. I have big hands so it's not a problem for me. But for those with small hands, it might be uncomfortable. The 7 bps limit is ANNOYING if you can shoot faster than that. (Although if you can't hit what you're aiming at, no amount of speed can help you.) For woodlands players, this marker is Shiny... There will be some glint... That's the long and short. Pros outweight Cons!!!!!
Conclusion: This marker is great for park players competing with other SEMI Auto players. I have yet to find a marker under $250.00 that outperforms this one enough to justify the extra money. For beginners and intermediate playersthis is a great start. Spend the big bucks on things that actually help you. (A good mask, a great barrel system, quality paint......)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Metallica4ever Wednesday, July 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, Blade, Done compare
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Very Accurate
Air Effiecient
Fast ROF
Never Chops balls
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Only chops balls over 8 bps
Review: i like this gun because its very accurate. i can shoot a squirrel 30 feet away and never miss. some times the balls curve to the left but that can be corrected by a new barrel. and its very easy to clean, i had every part out of it and oil and put back together in 5-10 minutes. When your shooting and you start to go around 7 bps it kinda shifts into another gear and goes ballistic. sounds like a machine gun.

Conclusion: This a very good gun. good for beginners. not very expensive either.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Metallica4ever Wednesday, July 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, Blade, Dont compare though
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
umm maybe better hopper.
Strengths: Very accurate
only chops balls over 8 bps
easy to clean
air effiecient
Weaknesses: None really.
maybe if it gets wet.
Review: i like this gun because its very accurate. i can shoot a squirrel 30 feet away and never miss. some times the balls curve to the left but that can be corrected by a new barrel. and its very easy to clean, i had every part out of it and oil and put back together in 5-10 minutes. When your shooting and you start to go around 7 bps it kinda shifts into another gear and goes ballistic. sounds like a machine gun.
Conclusion: This a very good gun. good for beginners. not very expensive either.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mattdieter Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmy, real nice autocockers, angel, bushmaster
Marker Setup: 1996 autococker
- shocktech pnuematics
- ans bolt
- orr-acle valve
VL Prodigy
- dye slide frame
- cp one piece barrel

automag classic
- dye xcel barrel
- aci foregrip
- quick disconnect hoses

68/3000 aci tank
black and clear evolution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing, it works totally fine
Strengths: Very light trigger, with a nice board in it.
Good stock barrel
light weight
Weaknesses: Plastic grip frame
Glue holds on grip texture
Battery compartment has a tight fit
Review: I am really impressed by this gun. I expected it to be a total piece of crap when I bought it, but I was wrong. I easily can out shoot my xboard revi, and it is reliable and has decent accuracy. No matter what people think about this gun, I can confidently play in any tournement with it. If you ask me, it shoots just like a timmy. And I am not just saying that. I have owned a ton of guns, and this easily betters or equalls them. I don't know, maybe i just got the magical 1/1000000, that actually works great.
Conclusion: Next time I play a tourney, I am pulling out this gun. And to all the people who think this gun isn't good enough to play with, you are all just scared that youll get made fun of. I think this gun deserves a ten. It costs a 10th of the price of a gun that works just like it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media