paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Strange Shocker / Smart Parts Strange Shocker / Smart Parts Strange Shocker / Smart Parts Strange Shocker

Smart Parts Strange Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Strange Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Strange Shocker
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1050

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
- Custom Milled Body
- Custom Vertical Regulator
- Matching Freak Barrel
- Matching Twister Top
- Strange Double Trigger
- Changeable Fin / Sight Rail
- Smart Grips
- Drop Forward / Bottle Adapter
- Vision Eye Board
- Color Variety Comong Soon.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Strange Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Massempirepb Saturday, October 1st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, autococker, bob long , ego, dp fusion
Marker Setup: Dp fusion Fx and a closer virtued
Vitrue board
Sly carbon fiber barrel/ ultralite
Ninja tank
Custom pro flaline e double trigger and folding stock
Dye rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trinity clamping feed neck 25$
Strengths: Lite
Fast
Freak barrel
Tight
Weaknesses: So far so good. No complaints
Review: I grabbed my strange shocker used for 200$ from a local paintball store. It has a aftermarket cp trigger. The gun shoots so smooth and quick, I love the feel of it, very tight and comfortable. Easy to maintain and it looks pretty good as well. I have always liked smart parts and still to this day shoot a non vision 2k2 impulse from time to time and it's great. The strange shocker has an a plus in my book.
Conclusion: Great gun. If you can find one cheap like I did don't pass it up, all around good gun good deal and it's a good time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hacksawed Saturday, January 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock sp ion - cheaper, smaller, slower
Marker Setup: sp ion w/ UFD clamping feed neck and cp sling triger
Recommended
Upgrades:
no upgrades needed thats the beauty of the shocker
Strengths: Fast!
Light
Fully upgraded
usually comes with 3 triggers
Weaknesses: Grips too far apart
$$$$$$
Trigger uncomfortable to reach for people without long fingers
Review: Nice light gun. Fast. I would not recommend this product over the other shockers but it is still one of the better guns on the market. Has a great stock board but it is really sick with a virtue or a blackheart. One thing that bothered me about this product though was the fore grip. instead of a typical 90 degree angle it sits at about 100 degrees which i found to be distracting.
Conclusion: If you have the money go for it but i would recommend firing it first and comparing it with the other shockers. Personally i perfer the sp ion because it is smaller in general and i have shorter fingers. It is also cheaper but remember a shocker needs no upgrades to compete at tournament levels. All in all its a good product but i would recommend the Nxt of shocktech shockers
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionhotshot Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock SFT Shocker - Didn't like it at all, but I had a dud...
PMs and DMs - Similar in function I suppose, liked them a little less than my Strange.
Marker Setup: 05 Strange Shocker - Dynasty M3 board, HE bolt, Slik trigger, Hybrid clamping feedneck
Apache loader
Pure Energy 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm not a fan of the twisting feedneck, so a clamping feedneck.
Barrel kit - anything to get you some more bore sizes.
Strengths: Looks, Balance, Smoothness, Minimal kick, and ability to lay a stream of paint quicly.
Weaknesses: Gas hog.
Maintainance...Shockers are like Paris Hilton, only doesn't abuse substances.
Review: I recently traded my 05 Ego for this Shocker and cash. I planned on just trading it right away for a lower end gun and more cash almost as soon as the deal was done.
However, I got home, loaded about 100 paintballs into it, shot it in my back yard, and instantly fell in love.

This thing has almost no discernable kick to it. I was amazed at how accurately (as accurately as a paintball can be shot) I could get this thing to go. Literally from about 40 feet I was able to get about a 3 inch spread, even when firing a stream of 15-20 shots. When I ran out of paint, I quickly ran inside to get more, as I was having a ton of fun writing explicit words on my neighbor's wall (he's a real turd, yells at me for standing in front of his house, etc.)

I continued to shoot until I finally ran out of air, which was a little sooner than I expected, having had an Ego as my last gun. However, after looking at how much paint I had shot, I was quite surprised.
I was using my DXS 48/4500 tank at the time, and had about 4000 PSI in the tank when I started shooting.
By the time I had run out of air, I had shot almost 800 balls. Granted I had not chonoed, but I know I was shooting at least 250+ fps.

I was also impressed with the balance and ease of control I had while shooting with this gun. Naturally when testing it out, I pretended to snap shoot, etc. The gun was not at all sluggish, top heavy, back heavy, nothing. It was an absolute dream to shoot.
Conclusion: Although I have not actually played a game with my Strange Shocker yet, I can tell that we are going to have a fun time together. This gun is light, sexy, and fast. I would recommend it to anyone who knows about maintainance or doesn't shoot a ton of paint, as I can tell that it will need quite a bit of TLC and is a bit of a gas hog.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 6th, 2007 at 5:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

donovan9425 Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker SFT
Shocker NXT
Dynasty Shocker SFT
Nasty Shocker SFT
Marker Setup: Pewter Strange Shocker SFT
-- Virtue Board
-- Smart Parts High Efficiency Bolt
Viewloader Vlocity
DXS 68 ci 4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
High Efficiency Bolt
Aftermarket Board
Strengths: Closed Body
Strange Trigger
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: This Shocker is sexy. Moving on...it shoots great. From what I've experienced, the Private Label Shockers shoot much better than the basic ones. The accuracy on mine is amazing. Like all regulators it needs a little breaking in, but after that it is pretty consistent. The closed body is an advantage for cleaning purposes. I haven't broken paint inside of it unless the hopper batteries were low ( I go through about a case every weekend at practice shooting PSP). It seems to have less wear on the internals than on the regular shockers. The Strange trigger is a huge upgrade. You pretty much just massage it and it shoots.
Conclusion: If it works, don't mess with it. Lots of people complain about the Shockers going down and messing up. Mine shoots great, looks sexy, and is pretty efficient for a Shocker. Private Labels are definitely better than the regulars.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_ramones Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Shockers, Pm6, Angels.
Marker Setup: Black Strange Shocker- Just ordered new parts for it, HE Bolt,Clamping Low Rise, Hybrid Contract Killer Grips, Check It-unimount.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-MUST HAVE AN HE-BOLT!
-A New feedneck and Drop/unimount if you dont like it.
Strengths: -FAST!
-Light
-Small
-Sexy Milling
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -Its an air hog-but the HE-Bolt will help with that
Review: -Well first lets say that gun shopping that I either had the choice to buy a Dark Timmy or the Strange Shocker and after trying them out I immediatly went for this marker.
~Looks&Feel~
When I first Opend the box to test shoot the gun i was amazed- This gun is pure sex. The milling is awesome, with all those swirls mileld out and the V cut in front of the feedneck looks awesome. They really designed and milled this gun perfectly and out-looks any other private label shocker out there.This gun deffinitly feels right when you are holding it, its small and light.
Shooting
I air'd the gun up put my hopper on and tossed in the only paint I had- 7 month old paint I had found in an old gear bag. It was brittle-and most of the balls were oddly shapped. Needles to say, I was a worried about chopping, and barrel breaks but this gun had NO problem with the paint. I shot three hoppers with only one barrel break. While shooting I realized- THIS GUN IS F-----G FAST! It shot ropes. This trigger is perfect for me i was easily hitting 17 BPS and I normally am not a fast shooter. It was accurate as well. I was shooting straihgt fast ropes and I cant wait until my next tournament. This is a very easy to maintain gun I The nerve Board is easy to change- its a very simple gun That can be tweaked to perfection. The only thing I had trouble with was that this gun usses air like white people use Myspace. It couldnt get enough of it. An HE Bolt is a must have fo this gun.
Conclusion: If you can afford this gun, I HIGHLY reccomend this gun as long as you can put an HE Bolt on it. This gun is Fast Light and it is accurate. This gun deserves the Ten I am giving it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Exterminex Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Shockers, Up'd Shockers, Matrixes, Egos, ect.
Marker Setup: Strange Shocker (#0002)
Halo B
Crossfire 68/4500 HP tank
Nerve Reg
NXL Board
CP On/Off
HE Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, maybe a lower rise feedneck.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, amazing milling, light.
Weaknesses: Ehh, maybe a bit to be desired on air efficiency.
Review: This gun is amazing! I bought BJ's 04 Team used gun(Later used by LP during 05 as a backup). I picked up the gun, aired it up, and began my testing in the backyard. My initial impression, this gun is FAST. Being used by Team Strange, it came with NXL mode on. I changed the mode to Semi-auto and gave it another go. Needless to say, the gun remained FAST. I put the gun over the chrono, and it shot very consistently (+/- 5).My first time actually playing with this gun was at a local 5-man, and the gun shot flawlessly all day. I saw many people tinkering with their guns inbetween games, but I was satisfied to learn that my gun was very reliable. I was able to continue to test my gun at SEVERAL team practices, and I am happy to report that my gun has yet to chop any paint. The only downside to this gun is the efficiency, it is good...but I have seen far better. Regardless, this gun is very reliable, very fast, very good with paint, very light, and very good looking.
Conclusion: This product is amazing! If you have the cash to spend on it, then you must. You will not be unhappy with you decision, this is the BEST shocker I have ever shot, and believe me when I say I have shot my fair share of shockers. This gun gets a 10, hands down one of the nicest guns I have ever shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

killzone911 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus, Spyder Rodeo, Black Dragun, Autococker, Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: 05 Strange Shocker
Low Rise feed neck
HE Bolt
Dye Ultralite Barrel
NDZ Trigger
Drop Forward
DYE 68CI 4500 Tank
Empire Reloader B w/ Rip Drive
(Predator 5.0 Board)
DYE Sticky Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
(Predator 5.0 Board)
Strengths: Very very fast.
Very accurate,
Not loud.
Very small/ compact
Light marker
Weaknesses: Dont use original screws for aftermarket grip!
Make sure trigger/screw spring is in tight
Review: I like the way it so simply designed and easy to take apart. The first day I received my marker my dad and I took it apart and changed the battery, well, when we screwed in the screws to where the grips go my marker stopped working so we took it apart and we looked at the top circuit board and the screws went into the runs on the board and broke them because I had after market grips(DYE). Anyways, luckily my dad is NASA certified at soldering and was able to solder new runs onto the board.(which would cost 125.00 to replace). He saved me on that one. So, if you buy after market grips make sure you get shorter screws also! Other than that slightly major problem my marker is awesome. Everyone either knows it is a Strange Shocker or if they see it and dont know they will ask you. Amazing marker. I am going to compare it to my dad's new Angel G7 today and see who wins. You can take on multiple people at one time especially if you buy that Predator Board.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who thinks they can handle it.
If Dynasty can win with Shockers, then we should at least be able to dominate the kids (and your friends and family) at the local paintball fields. Just make sure you dont show your friends how fast it is or they might not want to play
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chrismrgn Sunday, July 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most other shockers, ion, timmys, E2s, E1s, angels, Egos
Marker Setup: Strange shocker, Nerve board, FBM feed, HE bolt kit, eclipse asa, full freak kit, halo with V35, PMI HP preset (3000psi 1.1L)
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE bolt kit, lower clamping feed, possibly a new trigger, Advantage PB board, full freak kit. POssibly the new tyler missiagan bolt guide
Strengths: Fasy as FOOK!! Awsome accuracy, real light an small...
Weaknesses: Not really field stripable unless you have the new Hybrid bolt giode.
Review: Having used vertually every gat there is, this one truly blew me away!! Ive always liked the feel of shockers but found the normal non PL shockers a little boring, the strange looks awsome, it is however a little higher than most other shockers bit it looks awsome!!

Having played many tourneys and training sessions with this for about a year it has never let me down, i bought it off a SP teckie here in the UK and he set it up really sweet, there is no real kick, with the high rates of fire you can achive easily it only really slightly shudders but is really east to keep level and accurate. Especially with the freak kit, i use a 10inch barrel and it is more accurate than most markers with 16inchers!!

The only real aspect the shocker falls at is the efficiency, i use a PMI preset 3000psi 1.1L bottle and i can last about a game with a few pods extra left, so it probably is good for about 6 pods and a hopper, however that is again off a 3kpsi fill when most people will be using a 4k5psi bottle.
Conclusion: All in all this shocker is awsome!! Best marker is have ever owned an looks the BOMB!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 3rd, 2005 at 5:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Strange_Shocker Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All the guns I owned before this one couldnt even stand up to it.

I have shot other e-bladed cockers, angels, timmys, and a DM4. I like the feel of the shocker better than then. Much tighter for play.
Marker Setup: 2K4 Strange Shocker
NDZ Talon Grip
SP S-Rail
Dynasty Board
Halo B
Freak barrel system (14" AA and 16" Freak fronts)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend the following for this gun
-Dynasty Board- For better feel and faster firing ability
-A High efficency botl- The gun is an air hog just like other shockers
-A new feedneck- The twister is good, but a lower feedneck is what I like
-A rail or drop- I personaly didnt like the angled drop so I got a rail
Strengths: -Shoots great
-Good feel to it
-light in weight
-Accuracy
Weaknesses: -An air hog but that is it
Review: Great gun right out of the box. Looks amazing. The miling is awesome. I waited to post this and use the product to see how it really faired in the long run. I love the gun and I think I will be shooting shockers for along time now. The only other gun I might switch to would be an EGO, but I would still own a shocker as a backup gun. The gun has many strengths and only one weakness that I could find which was the air usage. All in all I would give the gun a ten. The air usage is the only thing that hurts this gun.
Conclusion: Try this gun out. I would recomend any shocker out there. They are great guns for any postion you want to play. Light as any alias and shoots a lot better (better accuracy).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

b2kshooter4life Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
b2k w/ pds, e bladed cockers, impulses with many ups
Marker Setup: 2004 b2k w/ pds
egg II w/ z-board
68 4500 centerflag tank(low pressure)
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast, light, small
Weaknesses: None that i know of, i only shot my friends
Review: The miling is awesome, so is the red color but my friend has to send his back to smart parts because somethings wrong with the milling, its just chipping off,but thats might just be a bad egg, come on team strange uses these things, they gotta be sweet for them to use them.
Conclusion: Nice, fast, small, light, the perfect combo for any position
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media