paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt

APM Products Tigershark Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount APM Products

Buy APM Products Tigershark Bolt

Paintball Spyder Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


APM Products Tigershark Bolt
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $15

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
CNC machined bolt made from Nylatron.
Self lubricating material.
Maintenance free (no '0' rings to oil).
Smoother action (no scuffing in the chamber).
Lighter in weight than stock bolt.
Open face giving maximum airflow.
Better fit in chamber creating more air efficiency.
Reduced ball breakage.
Reduced noise.
The cheapest effective upgrade for you marker.
Product Availability 
The APM Products Tigershark Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
pbman555 Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt with ottercustoms mod:
no venturi
polished
Marker Setup: spyder imagine black
madman springs
polished internals
DOPP drop forward
14" j+j ceramic barrel
custom paintjob on xchamber, lpchamber and sightrail
20oz co2
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Doesnt fit
Swells
Plastic (think about it)
Review: well i dont really have that much to say about this bolt because when i got it, it ended up not even fitting my gun. i sanded it down alot and then it SORTA fit. i tried it in my gun and it was no better than my modded stock bolt...it chopped and then swelled
Conclusion: basically just wrote this reveiw to say that it didnt fit my spyder imagine...
really not much better than my stock bolt...i wouldnt reccomend it just because it really doesnt do anything for ur gun...trust me just go to ottersccustoms.com and do the stock bolt mod.

well i am giving this a neutral review becuase i really didnt get to use it

im gonna go buy an ACS bolt
peaceout
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mcshane89 Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: Spimmy E-99 Avant
Smart Parts Teardrop 14"
APM tigershark
Lapco feedneck
CIP Sweet spot (0.3mm pull)
50 gram micro switch
no trigger spring
ESP frame
T-board w/breakbeam eyes
XSF eye cover
Archon spring kit (using lightest)
Apocalypse striker
High flow valve
DOP bullet drop
metric to english adapter
KAPP macroline
20oz anti siphon
Ricochet Apache....
Strengths: Lighter than stock bolt
No oil/o-rings needed
Quieter
Price
Weaknesses: could be lighter
shipping took awile although there in south mid west Canada
Review: I bought this bolt after reading the good reviews and seeing the good price of twenty bucks shipped. I asked APM what the e-99 bolt weighed and they said 62.5 grams. I think thats what the stock bolt weighs. This bolt quiets your gun and enables you to run at a lower pressure. It also looks pretty cool.
Conclusion: If you want to be able to run a spyder as low as possible, you could get this bolt for $20 shipped, and cut the rear cocking part off up until the pin which would make it almost as light as the AKA lightning and perform as good, or spend like 50 bucks for the lightning.
I'd reccomend the tigershark
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 9th, 2005 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

FATAlogPTWgjDEP Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
supafly- quite similar in overall performance.
32 degrees venturi- very cheap. did not notice any difference over stock bolt
Marker Setup: FBM teardrop body
APM tigershark bolt
DH Ti hammer
Maddman Rocket Valve
ESP frame
T board with breakbeam eyes and 50/g switch
SP s rail
SP on/off
CiP assault block
32 Degrees guage
Palmers stabilizer
CiP sweet spot
Freak Jr. kit
Empire reloader b
Strengths: This was a cheap and effective upgrade.
Weaknesses: None that i saw.
Review: this bolt is great for increasing your airflow. also helps improve CPS because of the reduced weight. it was a great alternative to the supafly which i feel are overpriced. it is made of nylatron so it doesn't require oil. if you are looking for an upgrade bolt this is the best bang for the buck. or if you need to replace your bolt for whatever reason you can't go wrong for 20 bucks.
Conclusion: i'd say this bolt is well worth the money whether you are going for an LP setup or not. one of few bolts on the market that actually increase performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 at 4:57 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

andy_1586 Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Icon e
14" J&J ceramic
32* 6-stage expansion chamber
32* drop forward
32* angled duckbill
tigershark bolt
Strengths: Price
weight
no o-rings
great fit in gun
no chops

Weaknesses: Kind of ugly
Review: This bolt is great and for $18 w/ s&h you can't lose. I spent most of the Spring paintballing with my stock bolt. I had so many problems with chops it was unbelievable every game I went out I would chop a ball. My friends have the same gun and they were having the same problem. My friends bought halos to feed the balls in faster but they still chopped some. I got this bolt and all of my problems went away. I haven't chopped a single ball with this bolt and I've gone through at least 4 cases of paint with it.
With this bolt I was able to turn my gun up to 8 bps with just a regular hopper. With my stock bolt I couldn't even shoot 4 bps without chopping a ball. This bolt would definitely help someone trying to go low pressure. It's almost an ounce less than my stock bolt. The only thing is I didn't really notice any improvement in accuracy, but my gun was pretty accurate to start with so I don't have any complaints there. All around this is a good bolt and well worth the money.
Conclusion: Buy this bolt it is definitely worth it. Any other decent bolt will cost twice as much and may not be as good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cool_Clay1 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt (without vetura)
Marker Setup: Stock Victor2 with 20oz tank and J&J ceramic barrel 14" and apm tigershark bolt
Strengths: Lite weight
Cool lookin
No O-rings
No lube
Good price
quiet
Co2 efficent
Weaknesses: Seems to be plastic but manufactuer says its Nylatron.
Shipping
Review: This bolt is very light weight and really good priced it also reduces the kick back of your gun becuz the bolt is so light, and there is NO O-rings (YAY) also I like the fact it doesnt need to be lubed becuz Materal that its made outa is called nylatron which is self lubing. my stock bolt i had in my victor if i didnt keep that thing lubed it ripped the heck outa the insides of my gun it also has a very nice fit very little wobble i havent chopped a ball yet either no extra parts required for it.the only down side i found on this thing is its hard to find it in stock because of the price $17 plus 3 dollar shipping and it takes a long time to get to you. and overall ive heard its just as good as the superfly bolt so dont waste your money on a superfly thats $30+ dollars unless you want to spend the money becuz of the shocktech name, And nylatron is less prone to swelling then derlin. Good for upgrade if your turning your gun LP and it isnt as loud as that old junk aluminum bolt, Great customer support service.
Conclusion: All in all the bolt has been great in my victor and i havent had any problems with it yet but if i do ill make sure to update but this is a really great bolt for the spyders and i give it a 10 because im not going to degrade it becuz of the long shipping( it is in canada after all)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 21st, 2004 at 1:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkMike Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra Factory Bolt- Tiger Shark Bolt is much better, shoots quieter, faster, uses less CO2, and chops less balls.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Xtra
Bottom Line removed
Beaver tail removed
12oz CO2 tank
Tiger Shark Bolt
Strengths: It shoots quieter, faster, uses less CO2, and chops less balls.
Weaknesses: Scratches inside of receiver. Self lubrication is not very good.
Review: I got the tiger shark bolt and immediately put it in my marker. It fit perfectly and when i used it out in the field it performed beautifully. When I stripped my gun down later to clean it i noticed the chamber was scratched beyond belief. I figured that the self-lubrication wasn't working so I oiled it with Break Free CLP. For a month or two it performed spectacularly. One day after a game I cleaned my gun nd was putting it back together and the bolt wouldn't fit in the chamber! I had to force it in with great strength. The bolt must have swelled up somehow. It might have been the Break-Free lubricant but i used that for a while with no problems. Well now i can't use the bolt and i have to switch back to the factory one. I'm somewhat disappointed but hey, you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: I only got to use it half the time I owned it so I gave it 5 out of 5.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

benz0rs Sunday, October 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Venturi Bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra:
14" Boomstick
Empire Reloader
20 oz SP on/off co2
Tigershark bolt
Fenix E-frame [modded]
50g switch
Strengths: -Very light
-Looks pretty cool
-Quiet
-No o-rings
-Nylatron
-No scratch
-Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I haven't tried it long enough, but I don't think it scratches your insides. If it does, just use some sandpaper, then polish.

It only cost 18 dollars. Shipped from Canada, so it took about a week or two.

The material is good too. It's easy to clean and it feels nice.

I guess the only weakness for me was that I had to take out my beavertail on my Xtra, but I guess it's ok. I don't really need that thing anyways. It looks really cool on my gun, the bolt... I'm just trying to accomplish the 50 word minumum over here. lol.
Conclusion: All I can say is, get this bolt. It's really good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ArisugawaSorata Saturday, September 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt w/ venturi removed and front dremeled down to cup ball
Strengths: Tight fit
Less blowback
Minimized kick
High flow
Weaknesses: Swells
Doesn't handle chops well
Review: For $18 and f2f4's thread on suction, this bolt sounded like a good deal. Took about 8 days to get here (Virginia) and the package showed up with a hole in it (though I don't blame APM for this) but the bolt in perfect condition. I immediately put it in my gun and was impressed at the good fit. It was light and even dryfiring without CO2, the kick on the gun was drastically minimized. The day I sweetspotted my new reg, I noticed that my blowback had decreased decently compared to my friend's still stock bolt TL Plus. However the first day I played with it, on my first chop it jammed so badly that I had to stop the game (3-man woods and one guy was out so it was just me on one guy). I spent a good 2 or 3 full minutes hauling on the bolt before it let go. Though I didn't lose hope yet. Then I was at a dry practice at my team captain's house before a tourney and it was fairly hot and humid out. The bolt swelled very badly and when I tried to shoot some of my teammate's paint for practice, the bolt recocked and then was so tight from swelling it wouldn't fire. However, the bolt did go from being nice and cool all day to sudden hot, humid conditions. I took it home and popped it in the freezer for a while and it fit perfectly again. My hope is that after a few times through this process, the nylatron will adjust to the conditions and fit well consistently.
Conclusion: Don't rule this bolt out. It doesn't commonly swell and for the $18 I paid ($15, shipping +$3) it was worth it. It's higher flow and has reduced my blowback. If some swelling does occur, just put it in the freezer for an hour or 2 and it should be fine.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stormbringer Wednesday, September 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder bolts, bob long cylone 3 bolt
poor man lightning bolt mods for both
Marker Setup: coustom spider (built from scrach)- bob long millenium body w/
cip ault block
madman rocket valve
BL torpedo reg
16' SP AA ( barel borwed from TL+ for now )
dye stikes ( for e-frame)
e-frame off an imagine
cip sweet spot triger
BL cyclone 3 top cocking bolt ( polished to a mirror )
ricko apachie hoper
psyco balistics bullet drop w/ on/of
48ci 3K pure energy tank
(and more im shure im forgeting)

Havester---spyder tl+ w/
smart parts AA 2k3 barrel- 16inch
adco sure shot dot sight
ricochet AK hoper
Strengths: Cheep- efective for price
Weaknesses: Sweeling, cycle rate( friction)
Review: I bought this bolt because I was having some choping isues, and someone sugested a plastic ( derlin or whatever ) could help. so I decided to try this bolt because of the low cost.
Instalation-
when I went to instal the bolt I noticed that the tolarances are very tight. Geting the pull pin to fit (it's a top cocking spyder) reqired a lot of efort, but was not imposible once the bolt was "broken in". the fit with the bodywas also tight, again not an imposible fit, but it was somtimes dificult to get a hold of and pry out (figuretivly speaking that is)
Perormance-
initaly i was impresed, my choping problem was significantly reduced ( later I would discover that it was not a bolt related isue ) but my cycle rate seemed ( it was hard to be shure ) slightly slower, wich I was ok with because of the leser cycle mass, but eficeny was down compared to my cyclone bolt with the poor man lightning bolt mod. The real deciding factor for me was how this bolt handels chops. After about 150 shots, the bolt caught a ball just right, and jamed. the tight fit of the bolt realy works aginst it here- the paint shell got weged between the bolt and the body, and the marker jamed with the stiker holding the main valve open ( LP setup- it was uggly )
later testing showed the bolt wasn't responsible for the choping, but having a jam like that would take me out of the game for a day ( no words can describe how hard that jam was to get out) so I swiched back to my origanl bolt setup.
Conclusion: This bolt is good for the price- but a little mothers mag polish, some elbow greace, and a pair of plyers will get you a lot further if your willing to put the time and effort into a little self moding.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 8th, 2004 at 6:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkWombat Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well, the Stock Spyder Xtra bolt, with and without venturi removed. Removing the venturi can improve performance by increasing air flow.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra with a 14" J&J Ceramic, 14" Dye Xcel, Empire Reloader 12V, Crossfire 47/3000 tank, Dead-on Drop forward, Bob Long Torpedo (set to 400psi), Maddmann Spring Kit with heavy spring, stock Valve spring and a 32° Magnaport valve with sanded pin, drilled VA and LPC holes for better airflow, and an APM Tigershark Bolt
Strengths: Price!!!!!
Unique finish looks cool.
Fits perfectly.
Nice, solid cocking rod.
Quiets gun.
Weaknesses: Hmm...APM's website has a few English typos, but that's about it.
Review: Wow, this is a very impressive bolt. I ordered it over the Spudnuk'l due to the unanimously great reviews of this product, and because of the price. This bolt does everything I want from a bolt, and more! It fits great in the marker receiver, a perfect fit with no light shining around the bolt--which means that no air will be wasted flying back around the bolt and out the back of the marker, it all goes forward into the ball. It's very quiet too, just cocking and firing without any air sounded much better, without a metallic "ping" sound that I (and other Xtra users) experienced with the stock bolt. Screwing in my crossfire and dry firing was amazing, it's noticebly quieter. I haven't chronoed the gun and compared it to that of the stock bolt with venturi removed, but I'm sure it'll be around the same, if not slightly higher, velocity.
The bolt was ordered on Sunday, August 29th, and came to my house--from Canada to CA--on the Friday of the same week! Now THAT'S impressive. This bolt comes at half the price of the Spudnuk'l, comes with the cocking rod and steel connecting pin, and has a great finish and feel to it. I'm scrapping my old beavertail and buying a new one without the "tail" end so I can get a better grip on the cocking rod. Hey, with the $15 I saved from buying a Spud, I can get a new beavertail!
Conclusion: All in all, a very impressive product. Its excellent price tag and size make it truly a big bang for the small buck. The only advice I have to APM is to look over their website and fix those spelling and grammar errors, make alot "a lot", check your to's to make sure they shouldn't be too's, and a couple more fixes, just for a more "professional" feel. But that's unrelated to the bolt itself. Since no product is perfect (maybe if it had a built-in lasersight and motion tracking systems impregnated into the bolt....) I proudly give this a 9/10. I'm a believer in Canada now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media