paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt

APM Products Tigershark Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount APM Products

Buy APM Products Tigershark Bolt

Paintball Spyder Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


APM Products Tigershark Bolt
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $15

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
CNC machined bolt made from Nylatron.
Self lubricating material.
Maintenance free (no '0' rings to oil).
Smoother action (no scuffing in the chamber).
Lighter in weight than stock bolt.
Open face giving maximum airflow.
Better fit in chamber creating more air efficiency.
Reduced ball breakage.
Reduced noise.
The cheapest effective upgrade for you marker.
Product Availability 
The APM Products Tigershark Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
lakeranger_stev Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt with and without venturi
bandit bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix, 14" J&J ceramic barrel, APM TigerShark bolt
Strengths: Almost no blow-back
Greater FPS
Great looking bolt
Weaknesses: None except shipping time. 5 days from Canada is not bad.
Review: This bolt is amazing. I had a average of 5 fps increase on a chrono with the TigerShark (without o-rings) over the stock bolt (no venturi!!!). With the J&J ceramic barrel and the almost 0 blow-back of the TigerShark bolt my Fenix became a quiet killing machine. The bolt is a very snug fit so don't let the lack of o-rings fool you. I've burned around 1200 balls through my Fenix since the upgrade and have not had a ball break. Before the upgrade I broke about 1 ball per 400 with the stock bolt at rapid fire. I bought one for my imagine also but sold the imagine before I could test it out.
Conclusion: Order a TigerShark bolt. For $20.00 (includes shipping) you can't beat this bolt. When compared to a Bandit bolt the TigerShark wins hands down, not to mention the difference in price!!!!!! Best upgrade I've bought for my paintball guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

warpedzx2paint Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every other bolt
Marker Setup: e-99 Avant
375 PSI@281 FPS
Teardrop barrel
Custom trigger
25g switch
AIM shocker inline reg
Elite drop forward
Tigershark Bolt
Modified VA
Empire Reloader
Strengths: Weighs almost nothing
Severly reduced kickback
CHEAP
Quiets the gun down

Weaknesses: If your looking for weakneses buy another bolt for twice the price
NONE HERE!
Review: Ok, I got the bolt in a small vanilla envalope with bubble wrap in the inside. When I first picked it up I thought I got ripped off and got sent an empty package. Then I felt something inside and low and behold my tigershark! So I ran and got my gun and assembled it and oiled it up and shot off about 200 rounds. All I have to say is WHOA! It has almost NO blowback now and it has almost NO kickback. It also decreased the noise my gun made when I shot by quite abit also.
Conclusion: Ok its $18.....SHIPPED!.....FROM CANANDA!!!! Id bay $30-$40 not including shipping and still think is freakin awsome. If your looking to buy a aftermarket bolt and you dont buy this one, I promis you'll be sorry. Buy it now for $18 shipped before they figure out they can sell them for $30 or more!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spitlebug Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Delrin Bolt (Impulse)
Marker Setup: 2K1 Imp, ECS Blue Light Cricket Board (Multi Mode, 30bps), Eclipse Blade Trigger, Evil Delrin Bolt, 2K2 Progressive Barrel, KAPP Micro Drop, 12v Revvy, Maxflo.
Strengths: -Inexpensive
-Light weight
-No lubrication required
-Doesn't scuff your markers breach
-Very tough
Weaknesses: -Will swell (but only under extreme conditions)
-Not as nicely milled as more expensive bolts
Review: What can I say about the Tigershark bolt from APM Products? Well for starters a lot. While this bolt certainly isn't the nicest looking, or milled to the highest quality it does however give you quite the bang for your buck.

Let start with the asking price. Depending on the marker you use, particularly Spyders, there are lots of makes to choose from. The price ranges from $15 to $17 US (With $3 US for air mail shipping) this bolt has most competitors sucking wind.

The quality of the materials used is of a high standard. However I found the milling to be on par with or slightly better than a stock bolt. Tigershark bolts don't have any fancy gimmicks like Venturi or Cupped faces, but they are certainly high flowing.

The Nylatron that the bolt is made of is very robust and very light weight. In comparison to a stock Spyder bolt, the Tigershark is nearly half the weight. What does that mean you ask? Well for starters with a spring kit you will get a bit more air (or CO2 efficiency). The weight of the the Tigershark and the open free flowing face makes it ideal for going LP.

Self lubricating. The Nylatron is composed of hard lubricants that don't require you to lubricate the bolt at all. The co-efficient of friction of this bolt is really low. Super low I would say.

Looks? Not so hot. But hey, at least it's a dark colour instead of fluorescent orange.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Tigershark bolt is probably one of the best contenders for the Bolt of the Year award. Of all the competitors in it's price range, the only bolt that might compete with it is a Spudnuk'l. I highly recommend this bolt. I have bought three myself. If I could, I would rate this bolt a 9.8 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slikna99 Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: E99, Dye xcel barrel, Ricochet ak, CIP sure fit, Black magic reg, 47ci 3000psi tank, CP flame drop, Drilled v/a, Polished internals, Tiger shark bolt, AVI gauge, Spring kit, Dye Stickies, Rocket valve, 50g IS switch, Dished hammer, ACP polished slasher.
Strengths: High flowing. Lighter than stock. No o-rings, self lubing.
Weaknesses: Swelling like a mofo!!!
Review: When I first received the bolt I was spastic about it. It fit perfectly, slid smoothly and shot perfect. It actually allowed me to get less blow-back, and lower my psi. I was extremely impressed with it when I took it to the field for a day of play. Such a fool was I to assume it would last.

It performed flawlessly all day long. No problems at all. I got home, wiped it down with a towel, did normal upkeep on my gun and put it away. I took a trip camping for 6 days. I really have no idea if it was hot or cold here so I don't know why it was swelling. I came home only to realize my marker would burp horribly at the settings I had it at the other day. It no longer moved smoothly in the marker, and had terrible drag. After another day it was hard to pull out, and almost impossible to put back in. I was told by Paul to wash it with warm soapy water and put it in the freezer overnight, but I see nothing stopping it from swelling up again. I am tempted to ask for a new version as they have supposedly fixed the problem.
Conclusion: Supposedly they have fixed the problem in this bolt. If this is true, than I do recommend it for you. My rating is based solely on my experience with the bolt. It did rock when working though.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

johnnyphaze Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech bolt
Marker Setup: Dragun The One
Cp regulator
Halo B
Tigershark bolt
Nitro Mod
Strengths: Cheap
Reliable
CHEAP!!!!!
Fits perfect
Weaknesses: None
Review: The bolt is great and for the price it is unbeatable. Why would you even get any other bolt unless they don't make it for your marker. It recycles so fast and I lit everyone up on the field with my spyder on steroids....even the timmy owners couldn't believe it. Go get yours today at www.apmproducts.com
Conclusion: Need i say more?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

APACHEGOD Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Stock with home mod
all the others
Marker Setup: Xtra
Revvy
Tiger shark
Turbo valve
Air
Freak
T-Board W/Eye
Air Reg
man everything possible!!!!!!
Strengths: Light weight
Looks cool
Weaknesses: WHAT?!?!?!?!?! There Are none!!!
Review: O.k. let me start off by saying that I am like all of you when it comes to buying something for my gun. One of the first places I look is here to see how everything rates among the players. When I read the reviews on this bolt I was like alright it sounds pretty good. Then I look at the years of play the person writing the review has. Lets be honest I could care less what some kid who has played weeks thinks. Sorry new guys. Any ways this bolt does do everything it says it should. My bro shoots a gun at about 200psi... My spyder is rigged up to but I like to test things. So I took off my reg slapped on an expansion chamber and shot some good ol Co2. When doing the test on blow back I dropped a ball in the chamber and left the one in the breach. Did the same to my bro's and his second ball popped up to the top of the feed neck then back down. On my gun didn't move at all.........I was like your gun sucks!!!!! Besides the fact that its not a spyder. This bolt rocks. My gun is not as loud and yes it did help with kick back as well.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN!!!!!!!! It is great and will improve your gun in all aspects.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

skyjump136 Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt - doesn't compare.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Polished Internals
Tigershark Bolt
ESP 3.0 IPI Trigger Frame
Empire Reloader Hopper
MacDev MatchStik Barrel Kit
Strengths: Price
Quality
Efficiency
Weight
Not supposed to swell
Weaknesses: I've read they can swell...
Review: Well, I was tired of my old bolt rattling around inside the body of my marker. I did not have any performance problems with it, but it just annoyed me. I couldn't really find a good excuse to buy a "high end" bolt, until I found the Tigershark. It basically provides all of the positives that the more expensive bolts do, but at a quarter of the price!

This bolt is manufactured so well that it doesn't require o-rings. It fit the inside of my marker BETTER than the stock bolt. Because of that there is less air escaping around the bolt and more propelling your ball out of the marker. Thus, this bolt is more efficient than the stock one. Plus it is "venturi-less" so it is higher flowing to begin with. My FPS shot up the first time I used this bolt. I can now run a light main spring /heavy valve combo at 290+ FPS.

Because this is a lighter bolt and I was able to switch to a lighter spring I now have very little kick. This helps to steady the marker when I need pin point accuracy. Another unexpected advantage of using this bolt is less blowback (air escaping into my hopper). There used to be so much force when I fired a ball that my ball stack would move upward in the feed neck. Not anymore! This helps provide a smoother feed and thus less chops and higher rate of fire.

What more could you ask for? Did I mention you don't need to oil it because there aren't any o-rings?

I have read were a few people have had swelling with this bolt and had to switch back to their stock one. It seems to take place in very hot (100+ degrees) or very humid conditions though. Plus, if you have any problems with the bolt they are only $15 to begin with. You really don't have much to loose here.
Conclusion: Buy it. It is cheap and competes with the highest flowing bolts on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Idenity Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
14 inch CP 1 Piece Barrel
AMP TigerShark Bolt
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Cool looking
Weaknesses: None
Review: Very good bolt. Very light and cheap. Only thing is that it takes 5-10 days to get it because its only sold in canada. Nice that you dont have to lube it and it has no O-Rings. Fit nice and snug into my rodeo. Nicely machined. VEry good i highly recomed it if you r looking to upgrade ur marker.
Conclusion: I highly recomend it. You will be greatly satisifeied.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kill.will Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, Tigershark Bolt, 14" J & J Ceramic
Strengths: Light weight
Good looks
Self lubricating
Super cheap
Weaknesses: None so far
Didn't get here fast enough
Review: Its $15 (+ $3 shipping)! Do you need another reason? How about it weighs practically nothing. It looks great. No more lube. Never broke a ball with the stock bolt, still haven't with the Tigershark. I wish it would have got here sooner, but its well worth the wait. I couldn't be more satisfied unless it did my laundry.
Conclusion: Great bolt. Buy it and you'll love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 4:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snailbutter Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra stock bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder xtra
16 inch night stick barrel
Strengths: Quiet
Light
Simple design
Weaknesses: Swells
Review: many people say you don't really need to upgrade your gun with a bolt.
well, with a price of 18 $ including s+h, you should DEFINITELY buy this one.
it made my marker very quiet, and lighter.
i didn't hear the metallic "clang" after each shot

EDIT: This is about a month later, and i'm afraid the bolt has swollen. I now can't fit it properly in my marker. I've asked for a refund or another one, but i'm not sure if they'll do that. Brought my 9 down to a 7.
Conclusion: Good bolt, great price, i'm just not sure if everyone's swells like mine; i know there have been other cases of this.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 at 1:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media