paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Syn Shockpods / Syn Shockpods / Syn Shockpods / Syn Shockpods

Syn Shockpods Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Syn

Buy Syn Shockpods

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Syn Shockpods
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $6

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It is a basic pod, except that it has padding on the inside of the lid to prevent paint from moving and breaking in the pod.
Product Availability 
The Syn Shockpods are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
mxmtl Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Velocity, Draxxus, Dye Loc-Lid, WGP
Marker Setup: Eclipse ETek EGO
+ Myth Regulator on CP 68/4500 Tank
+ Viewloader VLocity
+ 14" .690 Proto One Piece Barrel
Strengths: Shock Pads
Easy to Load
Well Made
Durable
Weaknesses: Shock Pads Absorb Water
Holds Less than Standard Pods
Heavier than Standard Pods
Review: I bought these pods because I was getting tired of the time it took to properly pack pods. In standard pods, if there aren't enough balls, you can get pods breaks. If there are too many, you might break one when you close the lid.

These pods were exactly what I was looking for. You fill it close to the top, close the lid, and insert into harness. Done. No shaking to check for loose balls, and no guessing if you should take one out before you try to close the lid on a tight stack.

The plastic on these pods feel a lot more durable than the standard pods. The fit of the lids on the pods also feels like a perfect fit. The way it snaps closed and when it's popped open makes you feel like it's only going to open when you want it to. The hinge feels solid too. Of the 5 pods I ordered, they all look and feel exactly alike. The fit and feel of the lid action is consistent among all 5. This is quality.

The pods worked beautifully during actual play. The lids opened with no problems. The pads did not get in the way of reloading into my VLocity Jr. I also noticed that the lids kept paint out of the inside of the pods when they took hits to the edges.

After six months of use, I discovered the Shockpads need to be kept dry. If they get wet, they will absorb water. This is bad, because the next time you load the pod, moisture will seep out of the pad onto the paintballs, causing them to stick, swell, or lose shape. KEEP THE SHOCK PADS DRY and you won't have any problems.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to people who fill their own pods and want to save time. The pads make it faster to get your pods loaded and ready for the next game. They are very durable and well made. All these qualities make it better for practice so you can maximize your time on the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 6th, 2007 at 10:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

D@n!X Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Plain Jane 140 round podz
Marker Setup: I have an Ion and a loaded Custom Pro.
Strengths: Keeps paint quiet and keeps them from breaking.
Weaknesses: The pods hold less volume. Maybe 120. Price.

Review: I got these at the from the Syn tent during the San Diego super 7 last year. Unlike the other crappy products I got from Syn (forhead cover and camo aquapak 4+2 pod pack) these did not fall apart. They actually did thier job and performed quite well. With the padding the pods hold much less paint but this is not a factor as I try to be more conservative. The price could be a little bit better but If I lost another one I'd definitely consider buying a replacement.
Conclusion: I think these pods would be great for the conservative woods baller but not the paint hungry speed types.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irishpirate Saturday, February 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT, 32, Dye, phat boys, etc...
Marker Setup: Smart Parts 05 Shocker w/:
-NDZ Stinger v3 Bolt & Firing Can
-SP HE Bolt & Firing Can
-NDZ Roller Blade Trigger
-NDZ SS Solenoid Manifold
-SP Q-Lock Feedneck
-Tag Sportz Predator Board w/ 5.0 software
-Self-installed Break-Beam eye system & stock reflective eye
-AKA 2-Litre + Regulator

Strengths: See review...
Weaknesses: See review...
Review: I bought a few of these from a friend of mine who was trying to start a business and Syn was his "top-of-the-line" gear he was carrying. He cut me a great deal on 16 pods so I couldn't pass it up. After using them for 6 months of rigorous play, (I bought more of course) this is what I've concluded.

Weaknesses:
I actually had a lot of problems with the lid snapping off of the pod itself. This fault never caused me to lose a game or not replenish my hopper with paint. But it is a bit of a hassle because these pods cost a little more than your standard pod, so replacing them can become costly. Also, the padding on the lid would also detach itself from time to time, though not without some precursor or forewarning. This is a simple fix that can be resolved with super glue, so it never really plagued my mind too much. Something else I will note is the pod's ball capacity. Because of the padding and possibly the density of the pod, they do not carry as much as your standard pod. I shoot a lot (as any tournament paintballer does), but because I'm a front mostly, I don't like to carry more than four pods a game because of weight issues. So to some this might come as a disadvantage. When I actually compared the capacity of a standard pod to that of the Syn pod, I found that the standard pod will actually hold 15-25 more rounds of paint, depending on how you fill your pod. So, to me, it was the largest disadvantage that the Syn Pods had.

Strengths:
The pod (minus the lid) is built like Gov. Schwarzenegger. They'll take abuse far beyond what any other pod can take. I'm extremely hard on my gear, and my pods are certainly no exception. Even with the lids breaking off, they out-lasted any other type of pod I have ever used. Second, they're quiet. This strength may not apply to tourney ballers, but I've seen most woodsballers at my local field eat the pods up. Thirdly, since there is padding on the top and bottom of the lid, you never have to worry too much about breaking brittle paint. Another nice feature about the padding is that you can toss a pod to a fellow team-mate and not have to worry about paint breaking as it slams on the ground. That alone has saved my team and myself several times in a game. Try that with your standard pod, and you'll have just given your friend a pod of soup. One last strength is (in all irony) the lid. Even though it breaks off sometimes, the pod will stay closed until YOU want it open.
Conclusion: I recommend this anybody who is as hard on their gear as I am. It will be what saves you from spending wasted time cleaning out your hopper from the muck of broken paint that you got when you took a dive and didn't quite land the way you wanted to. To me, the strengths far outweigh the weaknesses. So unless I get sponsored by someone who makes pods, I'll continue to use these for as long as they are made.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

g murder Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular cheap pods
Dye Lock pods
Marker Setup: P.E. Ego
Stiffi barrel
Hybrid trigger
Hybrid adjustable RAM cap
Empire Reloader B
Empire Fuel 46/4500


SP Ion w/ Blackheart board
Halo B
CP: HP reg, rail drop & 2k5 on/off
Dye UL barrel & St!ffi Switch Kit
BT APEX barrel
Strengths: Inside padding
Weaknesses: Decreased paintball load
Review: Good pods, they have a bit of padding on the lid and in the very bottom of the pod so when you're running there is no noise of the paintballs moving around in the pod.

The top securely close and I've had one yet to pop open accidentally on me.

The hold a bit less than the regular pods. so I estimate that the SYN pods hold about 130 shots while a regular pod can hold about 140 shots and the DYE lock pod holds about 150.

While the pods do help in speedball when there's not to many shots being fired it really helps in woodsball or scenario type games where stealth is an helpful aid.

I've been buying them on eBay for around $22 shipped for 6 pods, I have like 16 of these pods.
Conclusion: Enables you to possibly move more stealthy so you can sneak up on your opponent
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 25th, 2005 at 8:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DrewDodson89 Thursday, September 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Lock Lids, ANS Crappy pods
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun, E grip (not ESP),Tboard, CO2 still, 8 inch barell and 12 inch Barell
Strengths: Helps prevent breaks, keeps paint quiet for bunkering
Weaknesses: cant fit as much paint, Price sorta
Review: I first felt these at the Syn Booth when we were working on our sponships and we wanted to see the gear they had to offer. We were amazed how well these kept the paint quiet when it was filled. One problem is that you cant fit as much paint but that is a sacrafise for being quiet.
Conclusion: good product, Not too expensive
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

texanwitharake Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
most pods ie fatboy,dye,jt ect....
Marker Setup: 04 ninja shocker
predator 2 wiht breakbeam eyes
2nd milled eye covor
custom trigger
ndz on/off
FBM feedneck
torpido reg
free flow spool
free flow bolt
Strengths: Hard plastic
Shock absorber's
Easy to open
Weaknesses: None
Review: i love these pods my team just recived a sponsership from SYN and they sent us these pods we have tried to break these things as much as we can but we just cant we filled one up half way wiht pant and threw it out of a 3rd story window on cement and on grass and they didnt break we have shot them at high rates of fire (18-20 bps) none broke nethier did the paint. we have thrown these againt brick walls no paint broke.

simply these pods do there job. we have used them in multipl tournaments and they hold up great
Conclusion: I love them i have bought more i suggest buy them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Team Chokepoint Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All kinds...I like anything that doesn't break in particular.
Marker Setup: Black SP Impulse
W.A.S. Equalizer Board
NDZ Bolt
NDZ Blade Trigger (no magnet, I like my personal trigger job better)
NDZ Detents
NDZ Clamping No-Rize
Dye Sticky 3's
Trinity Unimount (same thing as Check It but sexier)
14" Pipe Kit
Dye 70 ci Throttle with 03 Rhino cover
Empire Reloader B
Strengths: Padding is a good idea
Looks cool
Open easily, only when you want them too
Weaknesses: Padding falls off
Lids break off
Lack of color options
Review: These are horrible pods. I bought seven when I ordered my new pack. The first thing I noticed was the the blue ones don't look like they do on the website. They must have lit them up with a bright light, or something, because in real life they're more of a dark blue/purple. They look cool, but they didn't match my jersey, which bugs me.

More importantly, they are very poorly designed. I bought them because I liked the shock absorber idea. I've broken paint inside of pods before, and it SUCKS. Especially when you don't realize it and you pour a smoothie into your hard-to-clean Halo. The shock absorbers on these pods do their job.

Alas, the shock absorbers are cheap. Of my 7 pods, two of them had their shock absorbers hanging from a thread of glue when I received them. One of them didn't have any padding on the bottom of the pod at all. Since then, 4 of them have completely lost their lid padding and are now just regular pods.

Or one would hope. Actually, they are much worse than regular pods. One of them was shipped to me with a broken lip. The plastic that holds the lid down was completely stripped away when I first opened it, rendering it useless. Yesterday, when I carefully dropped an empty pod onto the ground (very soft astroturf), the lid completely snapped off. I've never had this happen before under normal use.

I do have to mention that they open very easily, and as long as they're not broken they stay shut during the game.
Conclusion: Do not buy these pods. They cost more than others, and don't last long at all. At least nobody will steal them though...I give it a 3 purely for ingenuity, and I feel charitable today.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

agentdaffy007 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Lock-Lid Pods. Syn Shockpods own them allllllllllllllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!
Marker Setup: Rat Impulse, 14" UltraLite, 6 Syn pods, Redz Comfort 3.3, Profiler Mask, Empire Reloader B, Raven Gloves, Dye Condom barrel.
Strengths: Don't break your balls. LoL
Weaknesses: None that i can think of!
Review: Alright, i purchased these pods because i saw an ad in a paintball magazine. They truly rock. I've never gotten a broken paintball in it.

My friend uses the Dye Locklid Pods and he broke 2 paintballs in it and he didn't noticed. That means, when you load, all the paint goes inside your hopper and you can't shoot straight for the rest of the day unless you clean your hopper "which is a pain".

The plastic is like almost unbendable. Trully a good product.

Buy it Now!
Conclusion: Just buy it. I bought mine on eBay and the pods served me well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 22nd, 2004 at 12:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

howiele Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dye, jt, phat boys, lava, ogi pods
Marker Setup: 03 shocker with 68/4500 max flo
he bolt
nasty trigger
SS back w/ freak tip
SS inserts
halo b
Strengths: Shock absorbing pads
Strong plastics
Weaknesses: More color selection
Review: I started out with 4 shockpods and found myself picking up 16 of them because the rest of the pods that I have used and owned were just too weak, the plastic on the shockpods are far more supperior to those on the market. I also kept having paint break in the other pods due to the fact that they do not have any way to absorb the constant running and movement that I make from bunker to bunker. Shockpods are great for those of us that utilize tournament grade paint that is super brittle and sensitive to running. they are great for wood ball player also in that they reduce the noise that is causes by having lose balls in the pod.
Conclusion: A must buy for any serious paint ball player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skipper Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
fat boys, dye pods, jt pods
Marker Setup: 2k3 half mill viking
was & ace
bp no rider
jmj razor trigger
Strengths: Hard plastic
One piece has no collar
Shock absorbers
Weaknesses: There is a need for more color options
Review: These pods are very nice. When you hold these you can tell that they were made to take a beating. I like the soft cusion inside. The absorbers holds the paintballs firmly. I can throw pods to friends during games and it is okay. You can't go wrong with these pods.
Conclusion: I recommend these pods to players who either break alot of pods or who would like to minimze noise from paintballs in your pods.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media