paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04

PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 99
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye
Powered by CO2 or N2

Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting

Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts

Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver Electro mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye Powered by one 9v battery.

Custom vertical bottle adapter, DSR inline adjustable regulator with micro gague

12 + shots per second
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
pmipunisher Wednesday, July 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder aggressor~alright for a starter gun
Marker Setup: 04 evo
20 oz c02
16" 3A KO barrel
EGG 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
none so far
Strengths: Price
Speed
Accuracy
Looks
Weaknesses: Could be a lil heavy
Feed too fast??
Review: i heard that this gun was fast but i didnt know i could shoot that fast with it i mean wowza haha i have shot quite a few rounds through it and i love that ACE but me just being me i never turned it on so i chopped quite a few balls i was even using the egg that is suppose to feed 17 bps and i had it on the fastest it would go id feel sorry for whoever is at the end of this barrel im just not used to having to cock it back before putting the air in ive ran out of plenty precious co2 doing that but over great gun
Conclusion: Great price for what should be a high end marker but pmi is for the people since they know not everyone can afford $1000 gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ccsskater13 Saturday, July 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6 eforce: much cheaper, and it shows
Angel Speed: similar features, much more expensive, slightly higher bps- not worth the extra cost over the EVO
Piranha SRT Eforce: not a whole lot cheaper, but less accuracy, chops paint more frequently
Various rental guns- you already know what im gonna say about this
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO
Viewloader X-board Loader w/neoprene cover
12" spiral ported stock barrel
20 oz pure energy CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new reg
Strengths: stock barrel
anti-chop eyes
dependable
high BPS
cheap
customer service
Weaknesses: CO2 output varies, can be fixed with new reg and/or high pressure system
Review: When I first bought this gun, I had a problem with the trigger- it would get stuck occasionally when i pulled the trigger. After two games, the problem was fixed. This gun is extremely accurate and shoots very fast. I sometimes find myself outshooting my 12v revy w/ X board upgrade. This loader says that it can load 10-12 BPS, but when i tested it, it loaded about 12-15. The best part abuot this gun is that even when i start to outshoot the hopper, it doest chop. The ACE's are amazing. I often pick up paint at the arena, take it home, wipe it clean, and shoot it later. This balls are usually dimpled severly, but they never chop, and the EVO shoots them fairly accurately. The LCD screen is functional. The trigger has a nice safety function-you dont have to turn the whole frame off to put it in safety mode. The reg is the only downfall- the fps usually varies by about 10 fps when using CO2- which isnt too bad, but isn't great either. This gun does not perform like your traditional piranha, tippman, or spyder- it is much more like a high performance gun such as a dye, cocker, or angel. The difference is the lack of de bounce settings and other often overrated features that will double, triple, or even quadruple the price of the gun. This gun is amazing right out of the box.
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN!!! You won't be sorry. It is fast, cheap (under $300, no matter where you buy it), dependable, and easy to service. Piranha has excellent customer service and warranty. My feelings about this gun can be summed up in 4 words: I LOVE MY EVO!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DGremlin Thursday, June 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months29 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Classic
Spyder Imagine
WGP AutoCocker
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO Stock with WGP 14" 2 Piece Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recommended Upgrades ?
Barrel - while the stock barrel is very good, I find that I like my WGP 2 piece, it feels better and it is a better fir with the paint I use.
Perhaps the regulator, it in itself is a good inline regulator, putting through a fairly consistent air flow, but should you require a more controlled flow then you are going to want a more expensive reg.
Strengths: ANTI-CHOP
Air Ram Chamber
LCD
Can run LP or HP
Regulator
Weaknesses: The regulator could be marginally better
Perhaps a little bit weighty
Review: I have been putting the EVO through its paces over the while and now feel I have a good overall picture.

Packaging - The box is attractive ( yay ), inside is the marker, barrel, barrel plug, car charger, wall charger, user manual and maintenance parts ( 2 allan keys, 1 medium spring, 1 hard spring and a few extra service bits ) ie the soft spring is delivered as stock in the marker.

First Impression - Well to look at you can see it is no ordinary PMI marker, its got that substantial look about it. Now holding it, the grip is comfortable and buttons at your thumb, but dont worry you wont touch the buttons when you play. The one thing that is nice is that once the airtank is on the marker is well balanced and rests nicely in the curve of your hand. Overall the Marker felt solid and well put together.

The Trigger Frame - As I have already mentioned the frame is comfortable. The On button the left and on the right all the other 2 buttons. The LCD is overall nothing special, with the only information display is numbers. When the marker is on safety you can see how many balls you have shot and set the timer. The timer will only start the countdown from the moment you take your first shot, nice since you dont have to worry about pressing any buttons and will give you warnings as you get close to the end of you game. The Battery is easy to reach, with only 2 screws to be removed. The anti shop eye can be activated or de-activated only while safety is off.
The trigger is soft and is a nice pull, but is nothing exceptional.
Overall Trigger Conclusion - Basic, comfortable.

Marker Review
The marker is a really nice presentation by PMI, I have my EVO running at 300 PSI, and find myself getting roughly 1000 shots out of a 68/3000.
The regulator at HP is very good, I had a variance of around 5 bps at 290fps with the regulator at 750PSI.
The regulator at LP is fairly good, witha variance of around 7 - 10 Bps at 290 with the regulator at 300 PSI.
One factor I have had people ask me about is the kick, and compared to some full electro markers or an autococker, it does have a kick/recoil, but not a hard kick/recoil, its more a subtle twitch, I did not find it adversly affected my aim or groupings.
I could not say for sure if the Air Ram chamber had any real effect, since it is supposed to reduce the recoil/kick, I have not had the chance to play with a stock expansion chamber instead.

Gameplay
Well I have now put around 10000 balls through this marker, and it is rock solid reliable.
The ANTI-chop eye has saved me any number of chops, especially when I have forgoten to change my hopper battery. I would not play without the ANTI-chop eye ever again, it has saved my game playing butt a number of times.
In terms of ACCURACY, I am sure a lot of people will be interested in this,
All averages are taken while attempting to hit a target the size of a CD.
1 - 10 metres I am hitting the disc 9 out 10 ( and the 10th is usually my bad aim )
10 -15 metres - I hit the disc 3 out of 4
15 - 20 metres - I hit the disc 2/3 the time
beyond 20 metres I it varies I have not put much attention to this range, but on average 1/2 the time.
Overall in terms of accuracy it is quite good, and clean, the grouping fairly tight and well within expectations. SIDENOTE: I borrowed a fellow players autococker for a comparison and found little to no difference in accuracy, or grouping.

On the question of range, its always a relative question, but I would say I have reached on a constant run, a rough distance of about 50 metres, but since it is not really an effective gaming range, I do not consider this a imperritive. It is however nice to know that I will be reaching well into my opponents half.

I will say that it has and is truly a pleasure playing with this marker and it makes it all the more fun. It is responsive and a clear shooter. Off the field I have not had to fix one thing, I have oiled the marker every 2000 balls and checked it when it needed, but on the field it has worked and worked well, and left me with nothing to do off the field except maybe test paint.

Comparison -
Compared to the Spyder range I have played with, it absolutely kills on almost every level, but the spyder stock range is perhaps not aimed at the same market as this marker. The Spyder range, does not have the finish or overall complete feel. The Spyder has a harder trigger, less reliable regulator( in my opinion ) and support is perhaps not as good.

Spyder Fenix - it beats it in so many ways, better end product should sum it all up, originally this was what I was considering getting, I am 110% happier and relieved I did not, the EVO has a better look and feel.

JT Protium/tetra - well on one side I think the Protium/Tetra has a slicker look about it. But as a marker again the EVO has the edge, with the anti-chop, and better field strip setup, the tetra is really an entry level marker and Protium while really nice looking and performance wise maybe on par, I still feel the Anti-chop eye it a HUGE plus, but otherwise perhaps Protium and EVO are close to par on performance while the EVO in my opinion still wins.

Compared to the autococker - well this is where it all comes down to opinion,
The EVO is a far easier marker to maintain and generally work on, and should it break down, you will be up and running in a few minutes, an autococker is another matter.
On the field, the playing field itself becomes a little more even, the autococker does not have the suggestive recoil/kick of the EVO, but if you can get used to the small twitch of the EVO you should find yourself with a similar accuarcy and spped of play. The only time the autococker starts to take a noticable lead is when you add the E-blade into the equation, noticeable but for that money you spend on the E-blade it should.



Conclusion: The EVO is a well made, well designed and assembled marker, good enough to play casual and to carry into a tournament.
I can find very little obvious fault with the EVO and any fault I did find could easily be corrected by spending a little more cash on those bits lacking.
Bang for buck the EVO really is running tops.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 1:30 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

erod Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i have used many other guns including smart parts aka and dye
Marker Setup: evo with crossfire 68/45, egg 2,boss bolt and trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg, bolt, trigger (maybe)
Strengths: fast
eyes
lcd
ram
pretty light
Weaknesses: kick
reg
high pressure
Review: well in all the marker is great there was a few down falls but it was good i liek how quick it is eyes actually work well never have broke a ball shot about 2 cases through it. it is easy to take apart and upgrade. you can get rid of the kick by adding a delrin bolt it will help reduce it and you can get a new trigger that a a blade style easier to shoot with two way adjustment also the game timer is nice but i really have no use for the odometer but it is a nice quality
Conclusion: i recomend getting this if you are a begginer or moving up from a different gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

recplayer2k1 Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT exellerator 6.0 (crap), spyder imagine (slower lesser quality),
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO, Empire reloader,CP one piece barrel,72/3000 pure energy HPA tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric hopper, barrel (not really because the stock one on this gun his very good),HPA (gives better accuracy,consistancy,etc.)
Strengths: Anti-chop eye,very light trigger, rechargable battery, ready to run out of the box.
Weaknesses: none
Review: One day I walked into the paintball store and was in there to purchase a dragun TES. The guy working behind the counter brought it out and put a battery into it. Then he got ready to test it so he screwed in a co2 tank and the thing started leaking from everywhere. So I said that I dont think I will buy that one let me look at that EVO. He put the battery in it and put a tank on it and with the first pull of the trigger I instantly knew I was buying this gun. So I bought threw my HPA tank on it and it is the best marker I have owned yet.
Conclusion: I recomend this product to everyone noobs,medium level players, and pros looking for a good backup to their cocker,timmy,bushy,angel,impulse,etc. Buy this gun you will not be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

BallsOnYourFace Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Cockers, Automags, etc. etc.
Marker Setup: 2k4 Piranha Evo
Boss bolt, blade trigger, and valve pin
Evil Detonator reg
Crossfire 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg.
barrel (stock is actually pretty good)
trigger
Strengths: Eyes, FAST (20bps stock), well built, cheap
Weaknesses: ....umm.... I'll let you know when I find one.
Review: Well lets start by saying I am not a PMI fanboy nor do I have any real attachment to any company. I have been playing pb for over 7 years now, and this is by far the best bang for you buck I have even seen. With the eyes turned on, it will shoot 20bps, with them off it goes 15bps. It is semi-only so no worries about tourny legal. There is actually very minimal kick even though it is a blowback. With the boss blade trigger, my pull is so light and so short I can walk this thing very easily. Some people don't like the stock reg, but its really not very bad. With the detonator, I have gotten +/- 2fps at the chrono with a series of 10 shots many times. As for the break-beam eyes, not a single chop yet. This is now my main gun.

It is accurate, fast, well made, reliable, and chop free. Not to mention it only costs $250.

Also PMI has the best customer service dept. of any pb company I've dealt with, which includes pretty much all of them.
Conclusion: Buy it, I can't think of any marker under $600 that I would rather have...seriously. I guess to be fair I should mention something thats bad about it....hmm....oh yeah, the grips aren't universal so dye stickies wont fit...thats really it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 17th, 2004 at 3:41 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tp_evil Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: evo
20oz co2
14inch barrel kit 3a knock out
Recommended
Upgrades:
sell it....
Strengths: accuracy
looks
price
Weaknesses: falty electronics and reg
Review: alright at first i said this was a great marker but i was wrong...after the first time using it the reg went out. i didn't think it was that bad i just replaced the o-ring in the poppet valve. it worked fin for about one mach and then i started leaking even worse than be for. at first i thought it was my mistake then i took the reg apart again and saw that there was nothing wrong with the o-ring or any internals. the trigger was a different story...it worked great until the third day it was used(one week and one day after purchase) and it just wouldn't turn on. at first i thought it was just a dead battery so i charged it out with a standard 9vt(which stated in the manual was perfectly fine) and it still wouldn't turn on. the field tech then came over and did the old "tongue test" and the rechargeable put his tongue to sleep. h tried putting in a new battery then he took off the grip completely and couldn't find any lose wirings or anything...
Conclusion: in all if you can get this to work its great if not just take it back and get your money back...now lets see if the store will give me my money back or just give me "store credit"...
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 21st, 2004 at 10:26 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

SekundoKid Friday, June 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c - I must've had a melon with this gun, and was totally dissatisfied with it's performance.
Kingman Spyder TL - Not on par with the EVO in any areas, but very durable and balanced.
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha EVO 2004
Smart Parts Teardrop 12"
VL Evlution II
Extreme Rage Grip Feed
20 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a better Regulator, as the stock DSR is nothing special.
Aftermarket Barrel
Loader
Clamp or Gripping Feed
Possibly a bolt upgrade to Evil or Shocktech.
Strengths: Accuracy
Balance
E-Force
Beambreak Eye
RAM Air
MANUAL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE
Weaknesses: A Noticeable Kick
Review: Wow, the EVO...i was utterly impressed upon shooting this marker. The Black/Blue fade is defintiely eye-catching, although the blue doesn't line up perfectly with the smart parts blue. Right now, I've shot about 1500 rounds through this marker, and played with it twice. Of course, no chops or barrel breaks, and the accuracy is phenomenal.

First off, DraXXus Blaze, PMI Premiums, and the new VEIN paint all shoot excellently through the marker and the Teardrop. Surprisingly, the shot grouping is even better when shooting over 5bps, and the RAM Air chamber boasts a great advantage over the comparable GTI's. So go buy this paint and you will have consistent performance.

The "bells and whistles" of the gun are stunning as well, and the internals are very straightforward. The LCD is perfect and easy to understand, and the eye has worked great so far. Don't be fooled when you try to walk the E-Force trigger when the gun is not gassed-up, believe me, you can definitely rip when air is applied.

Finally, customer service (they give you a sheet telling you to call if you have any questions) is absolutely superb. The staff is kind, and treat you as somewhat educated when you ask stupid questions (as i did). The manual is completely thorough and disassembly is a breeze, whether it is full or just field-stripping.
Conclusion: please, if you're money range is not in "high-end status" ,and you want a good-looking, great performing gun, purchase the EVO.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

cali141 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha STS 2k3 - Slower, less reliable, cheaper. In the price vs. performance ratio, the Evo beats it by miles.

WGP 2k3 Vert Feed Autococker - More expensive, more upgradeable, and has all the advantages of a cocker. Stock, this loses to an Evo, but if the cocker were to be fully upgraded, it would beat the **** out of the Evo. But, thats at least $700.
Marker Setup: 2k4 Piranha Evo with Freak Jr, and more to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New inline reg, like a CP Grip Reg or Palmer Stabilizer
- Lighter hammer. The kick is huge compared to a cocker.
- A better rechargeable 9V battery like a Java or Powerex
Lots of good upgrades can be found at rjskateworks.com
Strengths: - PRICE
- Speed
- Breakbeam eyes
- Looks
- LCD screen
- Simplicity of internal design
- Stock barrel
Weaknesses: - Stock inline reg
- Stock rechargeable battery
- Kick
Review: Let me start by saying that this is, by far, the best gun PMI has ever produced. In my humble opinion, it is the best blowback to have ever been produced, which applies to any blowback on the market. Now on to the pros.

-PROS-
Price: You have to be stupid to not see this as an incredible deal. $250 for a gun that comes with dual breakbeam eyes (like the kind on higher-end matrices), a 20 bps board, LCD, and more. All backed by a company that has some of the best customer service anywhere. What else can $250 buy you? A higher-end Spyder? Yes, but those have no eyes. Black Draguns? Yes, but ive heard of plenty of reliability problems from BDs, and those also dont have an adequately sized line of upgrades to choose from. For the price, the Evo is almost unbeatable.

Speed: If you think 20 bps isnt enough, youre wrong, no matter how you put it. Think of it this way: Imagine 20 paintballs fired in one second. Imagine that, in the same second, you try to run through that line of paintballs, like in a game of speedball. You will NOT be able to make it through untouched. Besides, there arent a lot of people who can even go 15 bps, myself included. Is it easy to achieve a high speed on the Evo? If you simply practice walking the trigger for a while, you will end up with a speed that should be more than satisfactory.

Breakbeam eyes: These things work flawlessly. Ive heard numerous reports of people going through 6 cases (thats 12000 paintballs) or more without a single chop. I myself was using a 6-week-old bag of RPS Big Balls. Seriously, every single ball had at least a small dimple. Im not joking. I even grabbed a large handful and went through them, looking for one with no defects. There wasnt a single ball that was perfectly round. Well, i shot the entire bag through my Evo, and there wasnt one chop. There wasnt even a break. These breakbeam eyes really do work just as well as the ones found in higher-end matrixes.

Looks: In one day on the field, 4 people asked me something like, "Is that an Angel??" The Evo really does look pretty good. Sure, its all a matter of preference, but most people like the way an Angel looks.

LCD screen: Very easy to navigate, and is done by three buttons. There is a game timer, ball odometer, and eye sensor (to tell whether the eye is on or off). It all works very well. The screen itself is a bit small though, but that just minimizes the likelihood of taking a hit to the LCD. You do not have to program dwell or anything like that like in other electros. Its all very simple.

Simplicity of internal design: 75% of the internals can be accessed by pulling a pin out of the gun. Like most other blowbacks, this is extremely simple, and easy to maintain. In total, there are only 3 parts in the gun you should oil. Two are easily accessed by pulling that pin. The third is a bit more tricky: the valve. You have to take off the grip frame and eyes, and unscrew a small screw thats right below the valve. Then, the valve can be taken out for oiling. It may sound a little daunting, but it is, again, extremely simple.

Stock barrel: When i bought the Evo, I already had a Spyder-threaded Smart Parts Freak Junior from a previous gun. Just for the heck of it, I did a comparison of the two barrels. The stock barrel is about on par with the freak. I was pretty amazed by this. Oh, and by the way, a freak jr is exactly the same as a normal freak in accuracy. So, the stock barrel saves you the trouble of buying a $200 Freak kit.

-CONS-

Stock inline reg: This is comparable to the stock reg on a 2k3 WGP vert cocker. Its nothing to brag about. Its okay, but it should be pretty high up on the list of parts to replace. I have yet to do a test run on consistancy, but its pretty telltale that the reg needs to be replaced through looking at the accuracy of the Evo.

Stock rechargeable battery: This requires 22 hours to recharge. Isnt that a bit much? Also, the trigger frame will start to ignore a pull here and there when the battery starts to get low on power. I strongly recommend that this be replaced, as the battery can cause more problems than just the trigger-skipping.

Kick: It isnt that bad compared to other blowbacks, but my last gun was an autococker. The autococker had zero kick. The Evo has a good amount, and I find this to be a bit annoying. Its still fairly easy to keep all your shots on target, but you have to put in a little extra effort to keep the kick under control. Anybody who buys this, and is coming from another blowback will probably not even notice.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Evo has the best bang-for-the-buck ive seen in a long time. 20 bps, dual breakbeam eyes, LCD, and lots of other goodies for $250. The pros of this gun make the cons almost non-existant. In my opinion, it is better than a stock WGP autococker, which is $100 more. The Evo fully deserves a rating of 10 out of 10. Go buy one now. You wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cali141 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months90 of 93 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha STS 2k3 - Slower, less reliable, cheaper. In the price vs. performance ratio, the Evo beats it by miles.

WGP 2k3 Vert Feed Autococker - More expensive, more upgradeable, and has all the advantages of a cocker. Stock, this loses to an Evo, but if the cocker were to be fully upgraded, it would beat the **** out of the Evo. But, thats at least $700.

LED Matrix - Obviously very fast, low kick, quiet, etc, but the evo isnt actually that far behind the trix in speed, and also posesses the trixes magical no-chop abilities.
Marker Setup: 2k4 Piranha Evo, Evil Detonator, Extreme Rage clamping feedneck, IWFEU Scythe 2 trigger (custom made by jdubau55 on pbnation), Freak Jr.
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New inline reg, like a CP, Evil Detonator or Palmer Stabilizer
- New (timmy) detents. The stock detents will wear out after a few cases.
- New trigger. Speed can be increased dramtically with an adjustable trigger.
Lots of good upgrades can be found
Strengths: - PRICE
- Speed
- Breakbeam eyes
- Looks
- LCD screen
- Simplicity of internal design
- Stock barrel
- Customer service
Weaknesses: - Stock inline reg
- Stock trigger
- Kick
Review: Let me start by saying that this is, by far, the best gun PMI has ever produced. In my humble opinion, it is the best blowback to have ever been produced, which applies to any blowback on the market. Now on to the pros.

-PROS-
Price: You have to be stupid to not see this as an incredible deal. $250 for a gun that comes with dual breakbeam eyes (like the kind on higher-end matrices), a 20 bps board, LCD, and more. All backed by a company that has some of the best customer service anywhere. What else can $250 buy you? A higher-end Spyder? Yes, but those have no eyes. Black Draguns? Yes, but ive heard of plenty of reliability problems from BDs, and those also dont have an adequately sized line of upgrades to choose from. For the price, the Evo is almost unbeatable.

Speed: If you think 20 bps isnt enough, youre wrong, no matter how you put it. Think of it this way: Imagine 20 paintballs fired in one second. Imagine that, in the same second, you try to run through that line of paintballs, like in a game of speedball. You will NOT be able to make it through untouched. Besides, there arent a lot of people who can even go 15 bps, myself included. Is it easy to achieve a high speed on the Evo? If you simply practice walking the trigger for a while, you will end up with a speed that should be more than satisfactory.

Breakbeam eyes: These things work flawlessly. Ive heard numerous reports of people going through 6 cases (thats 12000 paintballs) or more without a single chop. I myself was using a 6-week-old bag of RPS Big Balls. Seriously, every single ball had at least a small dimple. Im not joking. I even grabbed a large handful and carefully examined each ball, looking for one with no defects. There wasnt a single ball that was perfectly round. Well, i shot the entire bag through my Evo, and there wasnt one chop. There wasnt even a break. These breakbeam eyes really do work just as well as the ones found in higher-end matrixes.

Looks: In one day on the field, 4 people asked me something like, "Is that an Angel??" The Evo really does look pretty good. Sure, its all a matter of preference, but most people like the way an Angel looks.

LCD screen: Very easy to navigate, and is done by three buttons. There is a game timer, ball odometer, and eye sensor (to tell whether the eye is on or off). It all works very well. The screen itself is a bit small though, but that just minimizes the likelihood of taking a hit to the LCD. You do not have to program dwell or anything like that like in other electros. Its all very simple.

Simplicity of internal design: 75% of the internals can be accessed by pulling a pin out of the gun. Like most other blowbacks, this is extremely simple, and easy to maintain. In total, there are only 3 parts in the gun you should oil. Two are easily accessed by pulling that pin. The third is a bit more tricky: the valve. You have to take off the grip frame and eyes, and unscrew a small screw thats right below the valve. Then, the valve can be taken out for oiling. It may sound a little daunting, but it is, again, extremely simple.

Stock barrel: When i bought the Evo, I already had a Spyder-threaded Smart Parts Freak Junior from a previous gun. Just for the heck of it, I did a comparison of the two barrels. The stock barrel is about on par with the freak. I was pretty amazed by this. Oh, and by the way, a freak jr is exactly the same as a normal freak in accuracy. So, the stock barrel saves you the trouble of buying a $200 Freak kit.

Stock trigger switch: The switch determines how light or heavy the pull of an electro trigger will be. The stock switch is pretty light (lighter = faster), unlike all of the other stock electro frames i have used in this price range. You need pretty strong fingers to walk the Spyder ESP frame, but the E-Force frame is extremely easy to get a fast, consistent line of shots out of.

Customer service: I had a problem with my board (It was my fault, not PMI's. Playing in the rain with an electro isnt very smart...). I knew that i couldnt fix it on my own, so i called up PMI. There was a 10-second wait time (thats VERY good compared to other companies), then a very friendly person asked me what was wrong. I explained, and he went through a few things that couldve been the cause. I said all the things he listed were fine and not at fault for the malfunction. He then gave me a number to put on the box that i was sending my evo to PMI in. From the day i sent it to the day i got it back, it took a week. Thats phenomonal, considering it takes a couple days to to get to PMI and vice-versa. Also, there was no charge for the new board they replaced my old one with. Thats VERY good customer service.

-CONS-

Stock inline reg: This is comparable to the stock reg on a 2k3 WGP vert cocker. Its nothing to brag about. Its okay, but it should be pretty high up on the list of parts to replace. I have yet to do a test run on consistancy, but its pretty telltale that the reg needs to be replaced through looking at the accuracy of the Evo.

Stock rechargeable battery: This requires 22 hours to recharge. Isnt that a bit much? Also, the trigger frame will start to ignore a pull here and there when the battery starts to get low on power. But, this is stereotypical of any rechargeable battery.

Kick: It isnt that bad compared to other blowbacks, but my last gun was an autococker. The autococker had zero kick. The Evo has a good amount, and I find this to be a bit annoying. Its still fairly easy to keep all your shots on target, but you have to put in a little extra effort to keep the kick under control. Anybody who buys this, and is coming from another blowback will probably not even notice.

Stock trigger: The thing is not very comfy to walk, and the pull is fairly long for an electro. Excellent for fanning, but not for much else.

Stock detents: These will wear out after a few cases. When this happens, the eyes may not perform as well, and the gun will start to randomly uncock during firing. A pair of harder detents should come stock.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Evo has the best bang-for-the-buck ive seen in a long time. 20 bps, dual breakbeam eyes, LCD, and lots of other goodies for $250. The pros of this gun make the cons almost non-existant. In my opinion, it is better than a stock WGP autococker, which is $100 more. The Evo fully deserves a rating of 10 out of 10. Go buy one now. You wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:40 am PST
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media