paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Flurry Industries Emissary Vest / Flurry Industries Emissary Vest / Flurry Industries Emissary Vest / Flurry Industries Emissary Vest

Flurry Industries Emissary Vest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Flurry Industries

Buy Flurry Industries Emissary Vest

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Flurry Industries Emissary Vest
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New Ultraback Tactical Paintball Vest - Code named: Emissary

The new Ultraback Emissary Vest has features that will help you become a self contained one man army on the paintball field. The Ultraback Emissary Vest has all of the same core design features of the original Ultraback Vest: Comfort, Utility, Versitility and Kickass Style, but now they are even better than before.

New Upgrades:

Hydration Unit Sleeve - Zippered sleeve to place a hydration bladder. Sleeve can be partitioned off to fit up to 70oz bladders. (Bladder not included.)

Removable Contouring Foam - The foam can now be easily removed and replaced back when needed.

Flip Down ID & Card Holder - Chest pocket now has an extra panel which flips down to easily display ID and view maps & info.

Movable Radio Pouch - A separate pouch made for FRS type radios. Can be placed on the front or back of the shoulder straps.

Redesigned Shoulder Straps - Shoulder straps now have nylon loops and D-rings for attaching and routing gear.

Longer Side Straps - Side straps are now longer to fit larger players more comfortably.

Front Belt Keepers - Now they are there if you need them.

Larger Tank Holder Attachment - Tank holder is now wider and taller than before. Can easily fit stubby style tanks & tanks with neoprene covers.

Extended Attachment Area - Easier to reach your tubes and more surface area for tube and tank setups.

Optional Custom Callsign and Team Names - Add a custom callsign and/or team name strips to your Ultraback Vest.

Standard Features:

-- Original design made specifically for paintball and not modified from some other application. The contouring design wraps around your body for a snug fit which promotes increased mobility, distributes the weight and helps keep a low profile.

-- Modular design lets you configure your setup how you want. Whether you want to wear the packs horizontal or vertical it's very easy to switch the setup. You can also add or take away the tank holder attachment if you want to run a remote setup!

--Interchangeable and Rearrangeable tube holders.
--Removable Tank Holder for Remote Setup.
--Clip to Carry Your Mask When Not Playing.
--Side Zipper on Chest Pouch for Radio Headset Wires.
--Pockets and Pouches For: Keys, Tools, Money, Etc.
--Padded Design Helps Eliminate the Sting of Getting Hit.

The Ultraback Emissary Vest comes with:

--(2) Tube holder attachments w/ ripcords which can hold (3) 140 round tubes each. (One tube fits in the flip out elastic sleeve.)
--(1) Tank holder pouch to run a remote setup.
--(1) Moveable Radio Pouch

The Ultraback Emissary Vest has the features that serious rec, big game, and scenario players demand. Do what other elite paintballers have done, and Get Yourself A Flurry!

*One Size Fits Most. Tubes are Not Included.
Product Availability 
The Flurry Industries Emissary Vest is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
braden051087 Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've seen a new one out that is a basic clone of this vest, but i forget who makes it. (and it's about half the price)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT
Tippmann X chamber
Rufus Dawg venturi bolt
Double Trigger Kit
Special Ops A-5 A2 stock
Special Ops Shorty foregrip
14" Stiffi
Strengths: Modular Back panel
Plenty of pockets
Good Load Distribution
Camel-back bladder pouch
Weaknesses: Pods and tank can fall off
Overpriced (most vests are)
Gear wobbles
Hot
Review: I was really excited when I got this vest about a year ago. After a year of use I now have mixed feelings. It is a fairly good vest for scenario games and woodsball. Here's the break down:

-PROS-

MODULAR: The whole back of the vest is a velcro panel, allowing you to position your tank and pods any way you want. This is one of the strongest points about the vest. If you only need to carry 2 pods, you can take the other stuff off. It also allows you to position your air tank horizontally so your remote hose doesn't have to go such a long way.

WEIGHT DISTRIBUTION: The Emissary distributes the weight of your gear better than a standard harness, making a full load feel less awkward. This is true of most vests though.

STORAGE: There's plenty of room in the front pockets of this vest to store whatever you need. Tools, radios, grenades, 12 grams, extra pistol mags, whatever you can think of. If you do pack grenades though, i would recommend you don't try to belly crawl. The main pouches are directly front and center and you could bust them. There is also a pouch in the back to store a Camel-back water pouch. Very handy for long summer scenario games. Prevents heat-stroke and such.

-CONS-

SPEAKING OF HEAT STROKE: Even with the foam removed, this thing really cooks in the summer. Wish they'd made some of it out of mesh so it would breath more.

VELCRO: I've found that every once and awhile the tank holder can come off when you're moving at a faster clip. Doesn't happen all that often, but it shouldn't happen at all.

POD POUCHES: The pod pouches on this vest have open backs. There is nothing there to keep your pods from sliding out the backside of the pouches. This isn't a problem when you have them positioned vertically, but if you turn them horizontally, the pods will eventually work their way out of the holders. Very annoying when you're in an intense fire-fight and realize you're missing a pod when you go to reload.

WOBBLE: At a dead run, your gear wobbles like crazy. I don't know how they can fix that though...

OVERPRICED: Like I said before, there is a clone product (a shameless rip-off may be more accurate) out there for about half the price. I've seen it at a few of the bigger online paintball stores. You might check that one out before you buy this one.
Conclusion: Good concept, but there are a few kinks. Awfully pricey for what you get. It's not sub-standard by any means, but it still isn't anything sensational I give a 6.5, which rounds up to 7......barely......
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Doc Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pod packs of various sorts
Marker Setup: PPS Hound's Tooth / AKA Viking
Strengths: -Durable
-Cheap (relatively)
-Well built
Weaknesses: Retains heat, keeps you warmer
Not modular
Review: Updated Review (2/19/2008):

PCS has released new vests since this review, and I managed to try one (see the review on PCS Encounter vest).

The PCS vest is modular and keeps you cooler than the Flurry, both weaknesses of the Flurry design I was not aware of without something to compare against.


Original Review:

I began my search for vests a few months ago, when I started taking a serious interest in scenario paintball. I wanted a vest for as cheap as I could get that still was quality material and could be of some use.

After poking around forums, I decided to try the Flurry Emissary.

I love the thing. I don't think I will ever play woodsball or scenarioball without it again. The only time I'll put it away for paintball is a game of speedball.

This thing is very well built. I doubt it could be destroyed or damaged in a woodsgame (just get dirty, which isn't always a bad thing).
Conclusion: In my opinion, this is the vest with the best bang for the buck. You can get better, but it will cost you much more.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 19th, 2008 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

babybear Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have use the waist harnesses and they bounced aound too much.
Marker Setup: A5, RT, 12" tippmann werks barrel, remote line
Strengths: This is a vest that is made for paintballers.
Weaknesses: If you are reading this you probly don't have one.
Review: As stated before this vest is made for a paintballer. First the vest comes with a padded lining on the inside that you can take out if you want which can damper the impact of the ball. When i put this vest on and adjusted it to my size and all I found that it was comfortable. There wasn't any restiction in my movement of my arms or any way that i moved. The vest fits snug to the body which I like because that means nothing bounces around when you run which it didn't. I noticed when I was on the field that every thing moved with me in sync with my body which made me forget half the time that I even had it on. All the harnessed that I have had before that I use have been jsu snap around the waist and they bounced around and kinda got distracting at time. I have even used a vest that did the same thing with everything bouncing around. But not with this vest everything moves with your body and stops with your body.

I am primarily a woodsballer and I reccomend this to any woods baller becuase it has alot of storage that you can use. I use the front chest pouch to keep my allen wrenches and my gerber. It also has a pouch to put your squeege in. Also the Mask clip was a great ideal. When you are out in the woods there isn't too many places that you can put yor mask down that you won't get dirt and debri in it.

The vest comes with 2 set of tude holder that can hold 3 pods each. That is true to a certin extent. 2 of the pods have quick release rip cords and the third is suppose to fit in the elsastic inbetween the othe 2. I don't use hte 3rd one becuse it would be too much of a hassle to try and get the pod bak inthe elastic. So I jsut carry 4 pods which is enough for me. It also comes with a tank holder. This thing is awesome beceause it actually covers basically he the whole taknk up to the almost the neck and when the tank is in there it dosen't move. It stays glues to your back .

The way the vest is set up is perfect. There is nothing in your way that can conflict witht he movement of your body. I also like that nothing is hanging down and bouncing around to distract you from the game. While playing I have even forgotten that I have it on. I can duck, crawl, slide, dive and the vest stays put and dosen't move around. It can also hold up to an 70oz bladder if you wnat to intergrade it as a camel bak fort he long games.
Conclusion: This is a must for a woodsball, senario, or player. Especially if you have a remote. It can hold all the gear that you need. This is a relly good vest for the money. They wern't lying when they said this is made for a paintballer. As for the speed ball aspect of it. Well since you aren't on the field long enough to get uncomfortable in your gear and when you leave the field you have tables to keep all your gear. I wouldn't reccomend spending the money on it. This vest is for the people who go into woods and get down dirty and grimy. Where games can last for extended peroids of time. For the people who have to crawl through the under brush undetected to try and get a clear shot. Where the games primary objective is concealment.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mastersgtzeus Friday, February 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various packs and misc tac vests.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5E with M-43 Saw kit.. 16 inch barrel, HP QEV kit, was equalizer board and PMI 88/4500 Hp tank w/remote line.
Strengths: Tank pouch included
Balanced
Extender straps
High quality
Weaknesses: Could use more slots
Review: This one of the top 3 vest u can find on the market. This vest was made for paintball. it's perfectly balanced, comes with a tank pouch standard and can carry plenty of pods.

it is also customizable with name tape tags that can be bought that have your name or call sign on front.. and your team name or team nickname on the rear which looks very kool.

I am 6'7" 330 lbs and I bought this vest with the extender straps and it fits like a gem. Small guys sometimes have trouble because this vest was really made for your more average to bigger paintball players I believe.

If your a bigger guy or gal.. and your worried about how a vest will fit or adjust to you.. This is the vest to get.. you will have no problems size wise.
Conclusion: This is the top 1 or 2nd choices in a vest to buy that's available out there period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flnighthawk Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Plain Jane 4+1 belt
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline Barrel
R 5 richochet hopper
E-grip
Tippmann double trigger
Flurry Emesary Vest
Strengths: Flexability
Slim Profile
Fits us big guys
Pockets for non paintball stuff
Weaknesses: water camel bladder not included, hey I had to put something
Review: I just got my Emessary vest before christmas. I have to admit I was a little nervous ordering this on line with out trying it on. I'm 6'5", and about 280#. Sure enough, after letting out some of the velcro straps the vest fit like a taylored suit.
I've only played with it on once.The temperture outside was about 70 and I didn't feel too hot wearing it., but living in southwest florida I'm sure I'll put the pull out liner to a test this summer.
I've always had a sneeky fear of loosing my car keys when playing woodsball. Now with this vest such worries are no more. The small zippered side pocket is perfect for carrying such things.
All tactical vest are on the pricey side. but for all the features the Emassary has. I definatly has the most bang for the buck.
Conclusion: If you're looking in to a tac vest. This should be on the top of your list. This vest was designed to play paintball. Not some Swat team vest that has been "modified" to play paint ball. I'm looking forward to many years of use to my new vest
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. b10nDe Monday, August 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, response trigger, GTA x chamber, flatline barrel, DOP double trigger, shocktech supa fly front bolt, DOP front grip, Shocktech relocator bar, Ricochet R5 hopper, crossfire 68ci 4500 psi Hp
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This vest is one the best cheaper alteratives to getting a custom vest. This thing is fully customizable. You can remove the pod holders on the pack and put them any dam way you want. You can also buy additional pod holders to expand the capacity of the vest. The vest already comes 2 pod holders giving you a pod capacity of 6. And it comes with a tank pouch so the you can use your remote if you please. It also comes with a fold out map/role card pouch to keep the mess of the papers out of the way (middle of the chest) Then the vest has two utility pockets at the waist level to hold tools, squeeges, 12 grams, etc. Then to make it better the vest has a place to hold a hydration bladder that can hold up to a seventy ounce bladder.(no more lugging around water bottles!!!!) This vest is not discriminatory either it fits most sizes, with the exception of the really thin and the really fat. But if you are really fat you can buy waistline extenders for this vest. This vest also has a really handy mask holder, so you no longer have to set you mask down then wonder where the heck it is. And the best part of this vest is that it looks totally awesome and gives you intimidation factor a boost.

There are no weaknesses this vest is awesome!!!!! Good Job Flurry Industries, I bow to you
Conclusion: Buy it and fast!!!!!!! You wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daddy dann123 Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rhino battle pack.
Marker Setup: tippmann A5, e-grip, red hot power tube, 18"intercepter ops gear barrel, raider handgaurd, raider raised rail, red dot sight, mag kit, 330 rond hopper, raider remote line, tactical car stock with raised cheek pad and padded butplate, front flipdomn weaver handle, 1.5L 5000psi air/nitro tank and 20oz co2.
Strengths: Comfortable, handy pockets, heavy duty velcro, padded for protection.
Weaknesses: Just dont get sand or any crap into the velcro.
Review: I have been using this for a few weeks now and it is so handy. You can carry all the tools you want, it has 4 140 pot hollders moere than ample, has a bottle holder for a bottle any size air and co2 and the velcro meens you can move the back bits around to your likeing.
The extra padding isnt needed, part of the fun of paintballing is getting hurt, but i supose its still a plus.
Conclusion: Only get this if your a woods ball or scenario player, it will be to heafty on a tourny player.
but if you do you will be best pleased.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gammawolf Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spectre with m3 grip and a t-board, halo with v-board , guerilla air 68 4500 ,acs bolt(they really do work!) spyder reg. freak barrel kit
Strengths: Quality and ease of use
Weaknesses: Haven't found any yet
Review: This vest is amazing. Everything a woodsballer could want. very well constructed and very sturdy. Will hold 6 pods plus your air tank with ease. the elastics that fit in between the regular pod holders hold very tight , cant see them pods fallin out. every thing on this vest is adjustable from waist size to length , where the radio holder goes how u want your pods and tank set up and even how big your hydration pack is. Foam inserts can be removed but might be difficult to put back in. very comfortable to wear. Chest pouch is great -ya got your map pocket , I.D pocket plus room for a larger radio behind all that incase the radio holder is to small (i have a garmin rino 120 and it is way to big for the radio holder) but would be good for a flip cell phone sized radio. The pocket has a small zipper in the side so u can feed your wires through and not get them tangled. Comes in 4 different patterns -woodland camo, digi camo, black and olive Hmm what else, oh its got loops and metal d rings all over to attach things even a mask holder for those breaks inbetween games. 2 nice large pockets in front to put keys, spare batteries a couple of grenades you get the idea.
Conclusion: buy It you will wonder what u did without it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BASSRAIDER Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Military Harness
Dye Pod Pack
Marker Setup: A5
Flatline barrel
Response trigger
Pure energy HPA
Remot Setup
Ricochet hopper

Pro-Lite
J&J Ceramic Barrel
Truflight Rifled Barrel
Teardrop Barrel
Red-dot scope
Strengths: - Durable
- BOUNCES!!!!!!!
- Carries everything you need for long play in the woods
Weaknesses: - Larger Profile
- Snags on Tree's
Review: Wonderful product, if you play woods this is a must have if you can find it. It carries everything you need to play for long periods of time in the field, water, tools, paint, grenades radio etc. I routinely play woods in florida during the heigt of summer temps running into 98 wiht 80% humidity. The first thing I did when I got this vest was rip out the foam, even stripped down the vest is a little hotter than no vest at all, but if you chill your camelback and insert it into your vest before you play it will actually keep you cool for a little while. The ability to carry a camelback on the field however more than makes up for the added heat, when you play hour and a half games in this heat it is a must.

The best part of it however are the bounces you can get when using it. I was defending a base during practice and a guy snuck up behind be and from 15 yards away shot me 7 times in the upper back. Not a single shot broke and I managed to swing around and shoot him... mine broke however. This was WITHOUT the padding inserted in it. (though to be fair I was wearing a camel back and I'm sure that had something to do with it. But I routinely get mulitple bounces off of this thing in the front and back every game its insane. For this reason alone I would get this vest.

There are some downsides to this vest, when I first started playing with this vest, I felt more bulky, now that I have gotten used to it its fine, but thats proboby because I was used to carrying only 3 small pods on a web belt with harness.

It also has a tendancy to snag on brush. Please note I play in THICK brush which snags on everything, what i'm saying is this vest just gives you more places to snag on.
This is also a streagth of this harness, I have played almost every other weekend with this vest since I have gotten it, and have abused the crap out of it, I've played in mud, rain, thick brush etc. Anytime it gets too dirty I just hose it off and it looks brand new, no rips tears etc.

On another note I play on a scenerio team in Kissimmee called the Osceola Raiders, we have just ordered about 20 of these vests to outfit our team.
Conclusion: Wonderful product, I would recomend buying it, in fact I have just bought a 2nd one to give to my brother. Here are the reasons

- carries everything
- tough, durable
- BOUNCES!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 24th, 2005 at 1:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fridaddy Tuesday, June 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Military LBE/782 gear
Various speedball setups


Marker Setup: AIM Customcocker "Eagle 21" Freak Barrel system, 3A 68/45K tank.
'99 Sniper II w/ a Gen2 NVG scope
PT Extreme pistol in a Copps911 drop down holster
Another PT Extreme w/ tank adapter new barrel and hopper adapter
(when I general a scenario)
ACI F-4 setup as a M-4 for LE training.
Strengths: See review for information
Weaknesses: None, well maybe more cammo colors.
Review: OK my background first. Been playing for 17 years. Capt of Teamlockdown.com. Full time Deputy Sheriff, prior Narc Task Force Medic.

Fluury too a already great vest and made it better.

The foam padding can be removed and replaced without problems.

The front has some small but important changes. The front pockets are great for ten round stock class tubes for my pistol and will fit grenades nicely. The upper I can fit a notebook and pen, maps, small tools whatever. The front of the upper pouch folds down (Velcro) to show two ID holders, perfect for scenario players. The top for your ID card and the bottom for your player information card. When not at a scenario think map holder. They include a radio holder that mounts either on a shoulder strap or on a belt. The pouch fits a Motorola FRS radio just right (someone was thinking). There are two Velcro belt loops in the front but none in the back (more in a moment). There is a Velcro tab for a nameplate.

On the back there is a Velcro tab for team name or personal name. The hydration pouch zips from both sides so the tube can feed out the correct side. Also the pouch has a Velcro separation so different sizes of pouch can be used. The Velcro area for the pods is the same size as on the old vest, but the length down has been changed, the vest is longer so a Velcro belt (not included) can be used.

The wraparound straps are longer for us larger players. They added D rings to the shoulder straps, nice touch.


I forgot to add this. I ordered nametapes from Flurry on a Monday, they were here by Thurday. These guys are numer one in the shipping department!
Conclusion: It seems like they went to scenario players and asked what they wanted in a vest and made it. All in all this is the best vest out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 14th, 2005 at 10:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media