paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / APM Products TigerShark Bolt / APM Products TigerShark Bolt / APM Products TigerShark Bolt / APM Products TigerShark Bolt / APM Products TigerShark Bolt

APM Products TigerShark Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount APM Products

Buy APM Products TigerShark Bolt

Paintball Piranha Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


APM Products TigerShark Bolt
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $15

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
CNC machined bolt made from Nylatron.
Self lubricating material.
Maintenance free (no '0' rings to oil).
Smoother action (no scuffing in the chamber).
Lighter in weight than stock bolt.
Open face giving maximum airflow.
Better fit in chamber creating more air efficiency.
Reduced ball breakage.
Reduced noise.
The cheapest effective upgrade for you marker.
Product Availability 
The APM Products TigerShark Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
nocpan Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Green Bolt, PMI stock bolt
Marker Setup: PMI BL VF E-Force Frame, Evil Driver 14 inch barrel, 32deg spring kit, ACI drop forward, HT Stage 2 Regulator, custom low pressure chamber, running on 350 PSI with PMI Pure Energy Nitro Tank 3000/48
Strengths: It is lighter, does not require lubrication, price
Weaknesses: Just one thing, it expands
Review: This had a potential of being a great product, I got it, put in, the springs needed adjustment because of feather weight of this bolt compared to the stock ones. But after 4 - 5 long days of games it just jammed in my marker. The bolt swelled up and now I can jam it into the marker half way and hold just the part that is sticking out and the marker will not fall down. While playing it I notice slight reduced ball breakcage and the marker did cycle very smoothly. But in the end I'm unsing it as a door stopper now. Also looks like the company either changed website or abandoned production.
Conclusion: When the bolt expanded the tech at Skirmish where I was playing gave me an old piranha stock bolt, its lighter than the red and green ones put out now and works just as well as the tigershark. Get that.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mgregg85 Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Green bolt, stock old style bolt, boss bolt.
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Vert Feed
-DYE Ultralite Barrel
-Tigershark Bolt
-Palmer Stabilizer
-Remote Line

2 x Zeus G1's

Piranha USP
Strengths: Tight fit, cool look, less ball breaks, no more lubrication, no swelling, light weight
Weaknesses: Easily scuffed because of the tight fit, no real velocity effects.
Review: I got this bolt after reading many reviews on all kinds of different composite material bolts. This one seemed to give the best bang for the buck and so far that has proved correct. It does make my gun minorly lighter and slightly, slightly quieter. Accuracy did seem to improve a little. All my friends love the crazy color pattern on it from the nylatron. I might just get one and see if I can put it on my USP along with an eforce grip.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want a cheap, quality bolt. I'm giving it an 8 in the hopes that more people like me will pick it over spending so much on a BOSS or Evil or Spudnkl bolt
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gilman Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several different bolts for the Piranha, stock, venturi, green bolt.
Marker Setup: Piranha G3 BL VF, with high flow valve & valve pin, NW slider for flush cocking, Shocktech volume chamber, PMI regulator.
Strengths: Very smooth finish
Very good fit in tube
Cut out for detent
PRICE
Weaknesses: None noted
Review: My initial impression was that it is a well made bolt. I liked how the connecting pin between the bolt and hammer fit so the pin would not rub to top of the upper tube. Could not see light around the bolt when installed so it seems to seal the chamber well. Very light as compared to the 3 bolts listed above. As it is non-metallic there will be no wear to your upper tube. Works for either flush or non-flush cocking.

When I tested it I found a big drop in velocity as well as efficiency. My gun usually runs 280 fps with this setup; lowest tension spring, black, from a 32 degrees spider spring kit , & and the green PMI bolt that uses bottle o-rings. When I installed the Tigershark my velocity dropped by 30 fps. In order to get back to 280 fps I had to go to the next higher tension spring and increase the output of my regulator by by 1/4 more of it's normal output setting, sorry no guage so I can't give the exact pressure.

Conclusion: Nicely made bolt better than most I've seen. Doesn' t help velocity or efficiency but I noticed no blowback. If bolt had o-rings around the inlet port it could possibly maintain or improve efficiency. The rating reflects the loss of velocity and efficiency.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 3rd, 2004 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ryan_Page Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt (Green one)
Marker Setup: Fishy, shocktech long drop, tigershark bolt, pmi sticky's, sp progressive.
Strengths: Light, Less kickback, No O-rings, Nice open face, Cheap.
Weaknesses: Uses a bit more air.
Review: A good bolt, open face allows for less un-needed chopping, uses a bit more air than i'd like, but either way, gives you about an extra 15 fps in velocity. Nice and light, and nylatron makes it so you dont have to lube it, but even if you do, it wont expand. Fits in great. And only $18 shipping in!
Conclusion: Buy this bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ROCK-it! Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Red Bolt
Marker Setup: Piranha 2k3 eForce EXT
SmartParts Progressive 14" barrel
VL Evolution Hopper
Strengths: Very Cheap
Very Effective
Very Impressed
Weaknesses: Minor modification on closed bolts, but could use documentation
Review: I'm extremely impressed with such an inexpensive mod to my setup. I was skeptical because of the price, but I figured at $15, I couldn't go wrong. After installing the bolt, I was able to dial my pressure down to around 300 psi...about 100 psi less than I could get with the Red Bolt. It also shoots much smoother and quieter.

Previously I couldn't shoot 25 paintballs in my EXT eForce at full auto without breaking a ball. Today I went out and shot approximately 200 balls in full auto with no breakage. I'm a believer.

I did have to remove the white plastic ring that fit inside my Red Bolt to make this work, however after I removed it, the fit was perfect. I really would have liked some documentation to instruct me on this, though.

I will report after I've used it in play, but these preliminary tests make me extremely happy.
Conclusion: Can't go wrong on this upgrade. It's one of the most inexpensive accessories you can buy in paintball, and it really improved my gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattyp151 Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The big ugly PMI green bolt, Boss Bolt
Marker Setup: Eforce, bunch of ups
Strengths: - Quiet
- Less Blowback
- Oil free
- Price
Weaknesses: - Sometimes gets lock on ball
- Out of Business
Review: I was looking for better products for my EForce, and I found this bolt online. Did some research and found this was possibly one of the better bolts. Also the price was very tempting. So I got to fire it the first time on the 15th, and once I got readjusted to havin a gasthrough on my gun, I was good to go. The bolt was much quieter and gave me much less blowback. However, you do need to turn the pressure down on these since they are extremely light.

However, this company is now out of business. The bolt they produced was probably far too inexpensive to buy and really have some issues. It would get lokced on a paintball at times and not fire or chop. Also, it wouldn't recock when that happened.
Conclusion: If you need a new bolt and are willing to spend little cash on a good improvement...who isn't?...check this bolt out. However, let it be known they are gone and customer service won't happen.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 6th, 2005 at 8:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RollingThunder Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Spudnukl nylatron (for VM-68)
Delrin by Blair's Bolts (part of Spudnukl)
Marker Setup: Piranha EXT Pro G3,
Palmer Stabilizer
Maddman Rocket Valve
TigerShark Bolt
Lapco AutoSpirit
12V Revy
Strengths: Inexpensvie
Fits perfectly
Flows well
Weaknesses: None as of yet
Review: I needed a good flowing bolt and had problems with a delrin bolt swelling, I purchased this bolt because it was made of nylatron (far superior to delrin) and it only cost $17.00 half that of other nylatron bolts. To install the bolt with my flush cocking setup, I had to remove the small o-ring at the end of the cocking knob. Everything fit together very well, quite impressive.

At first glance the bolt is o-ring less which some people believe is not good, but IMO it is quite the opposite. The bolt fits quite snuggly in the bolt tube, but there is no binding. Just to see where the bolt failed to recock I ran my reg down to 210 psi and that is where it finally failed, this was about 40-50 psi difference from the Blair's bolts delrin and stock bolts.

Dialed my reg back up to where the gun was shooting 280 fps (290-300 psi) and began to play. I ran 1500+ paintballs through the gun with no breaks and no bolt malfunctions. This has not been the norm with the other 2 bolt.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good inexpensive upgrade for you gun this would be it. The overall workmanship of the bolt is quite impressive. I would suggest this bolt to all as an option.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

k00kypballer Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock green bolt - heavier and more kick and a bigger hassle
Marker Setup: G3 Piranha BL powerfeed, Dye Ultralight barrel 2 piece, Tigershark bolt, Crossfire 92/4500 planning on getting a check it 15* assault block and an AIM68 inline regulator...later on a maddman rocket valve and an electronic trig, or just a new gun all together (impy, shocker, or nerve)
Strengths: Light
no o-rings
good fit
open face
price ($18 - $20 w/ shipping)
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great bolt really lightens up your gun and reduces kick. Helps with consistency too. It fits well into the gun and hugs the inside nicely. It also seemed to help quiet the gun somewhat. Instead of a metal slap it was more a plastic click. I didn't break a single ball during a rough day of play. I shot about 3 or 4 thousand balls too. It was amazing. Usually i break a ball during the first or second games and it's all down hill from there, but with this bolt I lasted the whole day without a single break. It scratched a little at the end that pushes the ball into the breech but i guess that was inevitable.
Conclusion: Awesome bolt. Get this bolt over the spud (arguably the best bolt out there) ASAP. They are practically the same except the TigerShark has a much better price tag. With the price it cud be an easy and cheap first upgrade, but whereever u put the bolt in ur list of upgrades, you will not go wrong with the tigershark.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media