paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Gear Bag / Proto Gear Bag / Proto Gear Bag / Proto Gear Bag

Proto Gear Bag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Gear Bag

Paintball Gear Bags

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Gear Bag
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Now when you threaten the little guy on your team that you'll stuff him in your gear bag, he'll know you can do it. It's big. It's got space for everything you could ever need on the field and off.

* Foam padded paneling - Sectioned panels keep markers scratch free and easy to store
* Giant access pocketing - Huge pockets to hold your precious pea-shooters
* Heavy duty ballistic nylon - For added protection and style
* 4mm polyurethane wheels - Big wheels make for some smooth sailing in the airport or at the field
* Contrast stitching - Added abrasion resistance and styling
* Ergonomically correct shoulder strap
* Telescopic handle pull - Glide through the airport with the greatest of ease, it's the daring young man with the proto bag!
Product Availability 
The Proto Gear Bag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
skotsio Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have been using 2 luggages with compartments
Marker Setup: DM6
Strengths: Looks and is manageable in size while it holds everything
Weaknesses: It does not stand vertical on its wheels.
The bottom does not have a cushion.

Review: Huge main compartment that easily fits your pants - jersey - mask extra clothes to change after your practice.
1 huge pocket to one side that fits (elbow pads - 2 sets of knee pads - back pack + straight squeegie
2 large pockets that fit (medium tool box) (first aid kit)
4 Small pockets (squeegies) (gloves-hats-headbands) (empty) (empty)
2 Inner pockets (2 air bottles ) (2 loaders)
2 Outside large pockets (cleats and extra clothes) (7 even more pods)
1 small pocket for ID and car keys
1 pocket on main flap for training programs & manuals
2 inside pockets that each can hold 2 guns
9 loops for barrels and inserts
Conclusion: GET ONE know and travel without hustle
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G-lant Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2k4 Lasoya Timmy
Strengths: Wheels, Handle, Big
Weaknesses: Isn't big enough for someone that has acquired a lot of gear.
Review: When I first bought this gear bag I was amazed at what I had just gotten for $80(used), it was big. and ALL of my gear fit into it. But now It seems that my gear is starting to over flow over the top.

I find that it has enough space for everything that a newer or rec player may need. But it doesn't have a specific place for certain things, barrels, mask, things of that nature.

I have 2 pairs of pants, 2 jerseys, 4 barrels, 2 masks, 9 pods,2 packs, cleats, gun, hopper, tank, tool box, batteries, Allen keys, towels, few other things. As I am about to leave from a long day of ball, it seems like I'm just stuffing stuff in because it doesn't have a space...

Another plus is the wheels and pull handle, That's a life saver!

Mine is the 05 not the 06 just FYI.
Conclusion: But Over all I have been pleased with this product and the abuse that I have given it and it has taken it all, and I think I will just sell it for when I buy my new, bigger gearbag.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 20th, 2006 at 7:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PNK ARMY #21 Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
mega bodybag
jt suv
Marker Setup: GREY W/ RED PARTS WARPED SPORTZ EGO, XSV BOARD AND INTERNALS, BLACK VLOCITY, & SPEEDFEED

THOMAS TAYLOR'S PERSONAL 05 XSV EGO, BLACK VLOCITY & SPEEDFEED

waffle blue & silver dynasty shockers, silver & blue ions, & halos pending
Strengths: -Big

-Durable
Weaknesses: -None
Review: okay... due to a sponsorship pickup/drop we got these gear bags. they are amazing!! they hold all of your gear and more. there is romm for everything and the kitchen sink. these bags are also very durable they wont rip at all. to give u an idea of what i got in mine here is my bag:

guns- 2 egos & space for 2 more guns
hoppers- 2 vlocity & proabaly 1 halo
tanks- 68/45 and 45/45
barrels- 2 shafts & maybe 2 freaks
masks- flex 7 and profiler
packs and pods- sprint pack 4+3 and NXe pack 3+2+2 total of 14 pods
clothes- team jersey, practice jersey, xsv pants, ego sandana, pink headband, flipflops,
and cleats
big parts kit
gunstand
swabs, squeeges, lanyard, and various barrel bags

yes i have a lot of space in my bag and i may have room for more. my bag is packed to the limit. this can carry enough stuff for 2 players at 1 tourny.

after i buy a car w/ a boat load of stuff i will edit

*edits*
Conclusion: This bag is perfect. I love how big its and that it is made by a well known company.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RolandOG Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintball Bodybags Super Bag, Contico storage box
Marker Setup: Blue Fade Proto Matrix 05 w/S.I.T.H. board
Halo B
FBM Hooker Feedneck
System X ASA
7 bore Scepter Kit
Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: When I was looking into getting a new bag I was pretty disappointed with the lack of reviews and pictures on the various PB websites so I figured that I would try to write one up for other people to use in the future. Hopefully this will be of some use to you.

When I first took the Proto Gear Bag 06 out of its shipping box I was really impressed with its quality but concerned with its size. Its overall dimensions, when empty, didn't seem to be much larger than my Paintball BodyBags Superbag. I was afraid that it wasn't going to be a big improvement over my Superbag but fortunately I was wrong. The secret is the inclusion of 7 pouches on the two long sides of the bag. The pockets hold a LOT of stuff and having this Ďoutsideí storage allows you to get a number of other things into the main compartment.

In addition to the 7 side pouches there is a large pouch at either end of the main compartment. These end pouches can hold a lot of stuff. I have 5 pods and my HPA tank in one end and my Halo B, a roll of paper towels, rags, and a towel in the other. I could fit some more in if I want to.

The top flap for the main compartment also has a pouch in it and is accessed via a zipper at one end. Itís perfect for storing your battle swabs and other long items. I have a notebook in there as well (containing info on my teamís drills/tactics).

The main compartment can hold a lot of stuff. There are three layers of stuff: the top layer has my vest and harness (hidden), the next layer is my mask, barrel kit and spray bottle and the bottom layer has my tool kit and slick honey container. My Matrix is in the back gun pouch and my stock Proto barrel is in one of the barrel loops attached to the front gun pouch. I could fit a lot more stuff in the main compartment, as long as it isnít too big (radios, pocket chrony, stuff like that).

The Proto 06 gear bag isnít as big as the DYE Navigator 06, which is the other bag I was considering, but it holds everything I have and I can still fit in more. The thing is heavy so it's a good think it has wheels. I don't think I could haul this thing very far without the wheels. The bag is really wide with the side pouches filled so using the shoulder strap doesn't make much sense. Using it will mean you're carrying this heavy bag at a bad angle for your back. Take it from someone with a bad lower back this is a big issue so the wheels are a huge plus. The loop handles on either end of the bag allow you to carry the bag in front of you with two hands when you canít use the wheels. Itís easily carried this way.

No product is perfect so here are the weaknesses that I feel the bag has:

-The padding on the ends of the internal compartment are in nylon sleeves but not glued/sewed within the sleeves. The padding warped and doesn't lie flat, leaving some areas of the panel with no padding at all. If the padding was somehow tacked down within the sleeve itself the problem will go away. NOTE: This is different from the velcro strips that hold it in place on the top and sides. These are meant to be adjustable, but for the entire panel, not the padding.
-The padding in the gun pouches should be thicker
-The openings into the end pouches are could be a little bigger
-Some fraying at a couple of the seams (very, very minor)

Here are the strengths:

-High quality construction (materials, stitching and zippers)
-On wheels with extendable handle
-Multiple ways to carry (wheels; matching carrying handles on ends; shoulder strap; padded carrying handles that become shoulder straps)
-Compartments allow for good organization
-Large internal compartment
-Adjustable internal end panels allow for expansion of main internal compartment
-I can still fit in another gun and tank with room to spare


Whatís currently in the bag:
Proto Matrix
Scepter 7 bore barrel kit
Proto barrel
Crossfire 70/4500 stubby HPA
DYE tank cover
Halo B
(9) 140rd pods
Cops911 vest
Redz Dimension 5.5 harness
Vforce Morph
(3) barrel condoms
(2) arm bands
(2) head wraps
DYE C4 gloves
Neck protector
(6) battle swabs
11x15x3 tool kit
Small Proto parts kit
Roll of paper towels
Roll of toilet paper (lens cleaning)
Spray bottle
Fog tech wipes
Bunch of rags
Layout towel
Slick Honey
Plastic bags (for playing in rain)
Small first aid kit
PB manuals/field maps
Hydration bladder
Motorola Radios
Iasus NT2 and Firefox throat mics

Unfortunately I can't link over to pbownersgroup to my posted equipment review with photos.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I highly recommend this bag to anyone who wants a large, well-made bag. The DYE Navigator 06 is bigger with a few nicer features but itís also $200 vs +/- $140 for the Proto Gear Bag 06. If you travel cross-country a lot with your gear then Iíd probably recommend the Navigator instead. The removable clothing storage on the bottom would be really useful. If you donít travel via airplane a lot and want a bag for all other situations then the Proto is an excellent choice. I donít regret choosing the Proto over the Navigator.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sleepykat Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular back packs.
Marker Setup: Dm4
-stock except Tadao Chip

Tippmann A-5
-Xpansion Chamber
-JCS Trigger
-Rufus Dawg Front Bolt/Power Tube
-E-Grip
-Proto 12" and 14" barrels
Strengths: -Big
-Rollers
-Sectionalized
Weaknesses: -None for me yet
Review: This bag is great... Let me tell you what I have in it and this is for 2 people. Me and my roomate share this bag...
DM4
TWO A5's
5 Barrels
2 Proto Mask's
5 CO2 bottles
2 N2 bottles
2 Hoppers for a5's
1 Halo Hopper
1 Dye 4+3 Attack Pack - 4 pods
1 Proto 4+3 Pack - 4 pods
2 PB pants
2 PB shirts
2 Adidas Cleats
5 Barrel Swabs
2 Quick Swabs
2 Thermal Lenses
2 Plano Organizers with tools and spare parts
2 Dye C5 Gloves
1 Proto 05 Gloves
2 Beanies
2 Head bands
1 Pod Swab
1 Hopper Swab
4 Extra Pods
and on the outside I strap a 5+4+2 Extreme Rage Pack full with fat boy pods.
And sometimes I put my friends A5 with Hopper, and his crappy JT mask
Conclusion: AWSOME bag for 1 player
Great for 2 players
Ok for 3 if you dont put packs in it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dsm Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: kaner barrel kit
nexus ram with qev's
e2(badass)
cp on/off
st bolt

05 ion
cp trigger(red)
cp reg(black)
asa on/off

pe 4500 68ci tank
halo b
Strengths: Big, durable, looks.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: WOW, this bag is great, Nice and big, durable, everything i was looking. You open up the main compartment and you have two slots for two guns with a big space in the middle. Straps for loose barrels. Then you have front pockets which dont look like they hold much but they'll hold just about anything you throw in there. Hell i put my sidearm with holster in there with 10rd pods and there's still room in there. There's also 2 big side pockets, that will hold alot, and another in the back, thats like the front. With everything in the bag it rolled very nicely, rolls just about anywhere. The lock is a little cheapy, but it works. I really have no complaints about this bag. Let me just go over what all i have in there:
2 guns (ion and autococker)
freak jr kit
kaner kit
profile mask
4500 68ci tank
c5 pants
c5 jersey
shorts
shirt
3 barrel socks
halo b
squeegy
side arm with holster
9 140rd pods
nxe pack
10,10rd pods
2 big zip lock bags with spare parts
wrench, screw driver etc
manuals for all the guns etc
and there's still room for more.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend this bag, forget the price it's worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TyphoonX Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nexed Blue Driven
Marker Setup: Primary Gun - Gold to Blue TCP Xtreme Autococker - Freak barrel (stainless back - blue 16' tip), Shocktech Ball Detent, Worr Blade, Nexus Kit, Samuri Trigger, CP Reg, Planet Eclipse LPR, Planet Eclipse OOPS, Shocktech Angled Beavertail, JT Stainless 2 Piece (tip is blue to gold), and a Clamping Feed Neck

Secondary - Red Blast Adrenalin Impulse
Strengths: Wheels
Can hold everything
Weaknesses: Lock is junk
Review: I bought this replace my old backpack style gear bag. I can easily fit all of my gear in this back just like I could my old one. I can't however fit all of my clothes for the weekend in this bag like my other one. I do like the fact that my markers have their own little pockets and won't get ruffed up by straps. Also all of the pockets on this bag make it great for little things like manuals and such. The wheels easily roll anywhere I want to drag my bag. This bag is able to stand on end without tipping over. Also there are barrel holders inside the main compartment which will hold 3 barrels. This bag does come with a little combination lock so you can lock up the main area of the bag. I changed the combo 2 or 3 times then I was unable to change the last number. One day I went to get into my bag and the lock wouldn't open. All I had to do was get a pair of pliers and bend the top half of the lock and I was in.
Conclusion: If you want a good rolling duffle bag with lots of storage area look no further.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwiZtid_Eh Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Hockey Bags
Marker Setup: DM4, Empire Re:Loader B, 68/4500
Strengths: -Large
-Durable
-Spacious
Weaknesses: -None that I can see
Review: I purchased this bag after being tired of hauling my gear around in the boxes they came in in a hockey bag. It has 5 pockets total. 2 on either end, 2 on either side and 1 main large pocket. The main pocket has a removable 3 slot pouch for 3 guns. I only have 2 guns so I put some 'loose' barrels in the third pouch. Other then the 3 slot pouch there was enough room for a pipe kit, 68/4500 tank, empire reloader b, cleets, goggles, and my pod pack. One side pocket houses 140 round pods, the other holds my pants and 2 jerseys. The front pocket holds spare parts, lube tools, manuals and the like and the back pocket has my gloves, squeegee, neck guard, hand towels to clean paint etc. with room to spare. Large rolling wheels with a retractable handle
Conclusion: I would definatley recommend this bag to anyone. Its hard plastic ends and soft extra padde sides keep all your gear safe while traveling.

9/10 because nothing is ever perfect there is always room for improvement.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint Mob Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none, but I had a look at the Dye 4-day roller (I like this bag better)
Marker Setup: Marker-Limited Edition Outkast
Hopper-eVLution 2
Tank-Pure Energy 3000 PSI / 68 cu Fibre wrapped
Strengths: Lots of room
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This bag has a main pocket in the middle. The main pocket has padded pages and you could hold up to 3 markers. Then there is room beside the padded pages where on one side I can fit my hopper (eVLution ll) and on the other side my mask (V-force Profiler). Then there is 2 velcro pockets on the other 2 sides of the padded pages where on one side I fit my tank and the other side is empty. I could probably fit 2 68 cu tanks in each side. Thats it for the main compartment, now to the outside. There are 4 zippered pouches on all sides of the bag. On 1 of them I fit my 16" combo squeegee and my swab. The other side holds a cloth for cleaning my marker, instruction manuals for all of my equipment, and allen keys. I could fit all of that in the one pocket if I wanted to, but I have them separated so I can find things easier. The other 2 pockets are unused, but you could fit your harness and barrels in either one. Pipe kits would fit perfectly. So as you can see, this is a HUGE bag. I have 3 unsused pockets and still have tons of extra room in my used pockets. All of my equipment is separated so it won't scratch each other and there is still tons of room. Another strength is it comes with a 4 digit combanation lock to lock 2 zippers together so no one can open your bag and take something. It is easy to program.


The only weakness is the cost, but if you can afford it, it makes taking your gear to the field a whole lot easier. All you need is one bag for all your gear, and it makes it easy to take to the field, especially with the wheels.
Conclusion: In conclusion, this bag has tons of room for your equipment....unless you have like 6 markers, 4 tanks,hundreds of squeeges, dozens of hoppers, and like 5 pipe kits!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 13th, 2004 at 8:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media