paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Shocker SFT / Smart Parts Shocker SFT / Smart Parts Shocker SFT / Smart Parts Shocker SFT

Smart Parts Shocker SFT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Shocker SFT

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Shocker SFT
[ View Photos (136) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 222
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Shocker SFT is the sport of paintball's first marriage of technologies. The Shocker SFT provides the high rate of fire and simplicity of design found in most open bolt markers yet has the incredible accuracy and razor flat trajectory heralded in closed bolt markers. With rates of fire far capable of surpassing 20 balls per second, the SFT is more than able to excel in any environment without ever letting its user feel outgunned. Its weight and size make it the smallest and lightest tournament dominance package made. Already a proven winner by the Philadelphia Americans, this marker is appearing in the hands of more and more top level teams every day.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Shocker SFT is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
gant12000 Tuesday, October 4th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Rail
Shocker NXT
Dye DM8
Dye DM11
Marker Setup: Shocker SFT 68/4500 tank, smart parts HE bolt. Stock Board. Halo w rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
any bolt to help with the air efficiency. this marker is a air hog. you will probably get a shocker with this upgrade already, though, as it is next to impossible to find new.
Strengths: Accuracy
ball speed consistency
balanced
durability
Weaknesses: Heavy (but balanced)
upgrades are hard to find
high maintenance gun
reflective eye
Review: this is my favorite electric marker for reasons i really cannot explain in words. i have used a few other markers in my days that are more expensive, which most people translate to being better, but this marker stands out in my mind.
however, the weight of the marker is a bit more than newer markers on the market. this is simply because the frame is made of a heavier material than is available today.
this marker IS NOT FOR a player that does not want to take the time to clean it and lube it before and after every day of play, though i do not mind it personally as i like taking things apart and putting them back together.
the reflective eye, as all reflective eyes when compared to break beams, is bad with dark shelled paint.
but this marker is worth all these problems. the accuracy and consistency of the shots overcome the fact that you cannot shoot black shelled paints and throw the gun four miles when you get mad. i have bounced the marker off of rather hard surfaces too, and it still works with no noticeable damage. this marker, while old, is in my opinion one of the better marks produced for the game of paintball.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone that doesnt feel the need to have the newest and most expensive marker on the market. it's performance seems to be more related to how familiar with user is with its nuances and such.
however, i must give it an 8 as this is all my opinion, and i remember at first i had many problems figuring the marker out.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

millerkillersft Sunday, October 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 04 shocker sft
2 piece freak barrel
empire asa
new dwsign bolt system
halo too hopperand stock board
Recommended
Upgrades:
oled virtue board
aa barrel tip
Strengths: Shoots great, light, cheap, accurate as hell
Weaknesses: Nnnnnnnnnnnnooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnneeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Review: The shocker sft is great probly the best gun Iv ever used. also the gun is light, cheap, accurate, and is as the paintball marker version of megan fox:-)!!! so why wouldnt you want it. another reason is because it is about the same as an angel but way cheaper.
Conclusion: Best gun ever, because i said so and because its so sexy!!!!!!!!!!! Why else??????
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jiffyp0p02 Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 03 Smart Parts RASTA Shocker SFT, max flo air, carbon fiber bottle, high efficiency bolt, q lock feed neck, freak barrel system, nerve board, Empire B loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gotta have the freak barrell, new board.
Strengths: Light and tight. Easy maintenance. Shooots ropes!
Weaknesses: Stock bolt not very effecient. Kind of spendy.
Review: I have loved this gun since the second I bought it. I got lucky and bought it used fully built for a good deal. The only problem I've ever had was occasianal drop off, but that was my stupid fault (hidden o-ring) I get tons of compliments on the paint. This gun rips and is super accurate. I just needs to improve my game. Ha. Love it Love it Love it.
Conclusion: Buy one!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shocker323 Friday, August 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: 05 sft shocker
48/3000 tank
empire magna
dye ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
new efficency bolt
Strengths: Speed
Price
Look
Weight
Weaknesses: efficency is terrible in less thean like a minute I was down by 1000psi
Review: This is a great gun because it's small and light. when I fisrt used it I thought was fast but I ran out of air too fast then I would of liked I shoot alot in a game and it would barely be able to make it through with the efficency but if youre looking to buy still get it but buy a new efficency bolt because this ones terrible.
Conclusion: Get a new efficency bolt
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nerdcore Monday, January 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen E Matrix - the brick! Shot smooth as butter but weighed a ton.
DM5 - had a ul frame, shot real nice, but that ul frame felt too thin for me.
Ion - ok, so it's not exactly comparable to the shocker but i like Ions. Budgets ftw!

Shot other guns but those are the only spoolies (or spoolie-ish) guns i've had.
Marker Setup: 06 Shocker SFT
Evil Pipe (soon!)
Vlo Jr
Crossy 72/45 stubby
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, this is only available used now so chances are if you get one, it's gonna be upped already. But if not, it should at least have a clamping feedneck & on/off asa, maybe a board with an ABS setting. Maybe an HE bolt for better efficiency. But whatever, I'm running all stock internals with no problems.
Strengths: Smooth shooting.
Regular maintenance is simple.
Feels well balanced.
Weaknesses: SFT threads.
Reflective eye = just one eye.
Stock board has no ABS setting.
Review: Traded my UL'd DM5 for an 06 SFT Shocker, Vlocity & cash (good trade, imo).

First thing i noticed is the Shocker is lighter than the DM5, despite the UL frame (all the weight was on top, really). Also has a lower profile, as the DM5 was a pretty tall gun. Aside from their size/weight difference, they both shoot really well. And i still love DM's.

Enough about that. On to the review of the Shocker itself.

PROS
Smooth Shooting - it's got a CP trigger (according to the previous owner, haven't verified and doesn't matter much to me either way) that feels pretty nice. No noticable kick.

Simple Maintenance - Got used to bolt kits dealing with Matrixes, but i like the SFT bolt a little more, as the bolt itself is one uniform size, no skinny bolt tail. Not that i had a problem with it, just a preference thing.

Well-balanced - the SFT feels more balanced, like all the weight is evenly distributed throughout the gun.

CONS
SFT threads - Smart Parts is just now using uniform threads for the barrel & feedneck, although it's still THEIR OWN thread and not cocker-threaded. So i can't just use my cocker-threaded barrels, which sucks because i love my Un1tech.

Reflective Eye - it seems to work just fine but i'm assuming break-beam is more reliable, just not sure to what extent.

No ABS (stock) - all spoolies kinda need this setting but the stock SFT board doesn't have it. Upping the dwell helps but then there's the drawbacks of a higher dwell. Oh well.
Conclusion: Better off investing in an NXT as it's worth the improvements over the SFT. But if you don't have $500+, the SFT isn't a bad choice.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blacklegionpb Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion (similiar but cheap, and pain to disassemble)
-blackheart
-NDZ roller trigger


Marker Setup: 03 vision shocker (red)
-HE bolt
-Max/flo- 68/4500
-cp reg
-hybrid bolt guide
-clamping feedneck
-full freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
new asa, it strips tanks horribly with the stalk one
other than that a clamping feedneck of any kind. oh and an He bolt it your a backman, or you play long games.
Strengths: Small
Fast
Accurate
Easy to maintain if done correctly
Weaknesses: Replacing soleniod is expensive
Review: The first high end paintball marker I ever saw was a shocker, and from that point on that was the only marker I really realy wanted to get. So I saved up and in 06 I got an 03 shocker for 400$ used with a full freak kit. Now the previous owner took bad care of it so it needed an new solenoid, and the internals needed work, after that got done, Istarted to get to use it and havent put it down since. I dont use ramping but I can stil get between 15-17 bps with just my fingers (stock trigger also) its easy to walk, and super fast.

The freak kit is great for accuracy, but usually i can put so much paint in a general area that it doesnt matter anyway lol.

Maintinence is easy, gun isnt that complicated at all.

This gun has given me a few problems but after being serviced proffesionally (after preious owners mistreatment of it) it hasnt let me down.

I would recomend doing a little research on how they work before purchasing though, b/c if you now how to maintain it it will never let you down. Usually all your problems can be fixed with more lube.

If ball detents are screwd in too much the bolt destroys them. But just find a smally o-ring and put it around the detent and you set.

I'd take my shocker over an ego any day
Conclusion: I recently sold my upd ion in search of a better back up, and I find myself on the verge of just buying another shocker, haha. If you are new to the sport, or are looking for a great marker for a low cost, go for a shocker. It keeps up with all the new guns like egos, angels, and luxes. I wouldnt trade this gun for any other gun on the market. Oh and if you check ebay you can probably get on for like 240-290$.

Although i wont trade mine, it still isnt perfect, nothing is i will i could give it a 9 and 8/10s but that option was not given to me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 4th, 2009 at 7:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ppj9857 Sunday, November 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Old School Shocker, Autocockers new and old
Marker Setup: 2006 SFT, hybrid grips, E Pipe barrel kit, ANS Xtreme drop, vision, 70CI 4500psi Pure Energy peanut tank,HE bolt, blackheart board blah blah blah
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE turbocharger bolt kit, the rest is preference
Strengths: consistant accuracy,
fast 20BPS+
best stock guns
easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Horrible on gas
Review: great gun, have been around and seen guns come and go, the shocker has maintained a presence in the world of amateur and tournament players alike.
razor flat trajectory + consistancy in shots really gives this weapon an edge.stronger built than ion, and the board / solenoid is easier to maintain and more protected inside the weapon. ive seen many ion's have boards ruined due to their poor exposed location behind cheap open trigger assembly

have only had one problem, my ball detents were screwed in too tight and was causing the bolt to seize, not sure if this is a common problem? bolt would seize and air would leak down the barrel, a small oring over the thread will prevent the detent from choking down too far FYI,
Conclusion: Strong gun, holds its own, for the value is a great buy, you can find these cheap on ebay due to the NXT (which is similar) i would strongly reccommend this weapon, it is sleak and light and everything you want in a gun. Its a toss up between the shocker and the new trilogy 'cockers for the value, but im deeply satisfied with my shocker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CHARLIE 003 Sunday, July 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Alias,98 Custom,WGP Autococker,Spyder
Marker Setup: CP Reg
CP Trigger
CP ASA
High Efficiency Bolt
Virtue
Hybrid Grips

68/4500 Pure Energy

Empire Magna Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
High Efficiency Bolt Kit
Grips(I dont like the stock ones personally)
Barrel(if you prefer ultralites or something)
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Light
Looks Awsome
Weaknesses: Air Efficiency
Review: Well I got this gun for $400 at the local paintball store. I couldnt wait to shoot it. The stock trigger is nice. Good stock regulater from what ive heard. Amazing accuracy. I could pinpoint my shots at over 75 ft away.STYLISH. Also im sure some people have seen the Smart Parts video by TechPB. Well I personally like how you have to upgrade your gun. It allows you to make a unique piece of equipment just for you.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a decent gun for a decent price. If you have $1500 go get a DM8. I mean honestly. All around a great gun. Plus it is a tournament gun.

TIP:If you do get a Shocker SFT do not tighten the bolt guide tight. When it stops turning with your fingers your good. You will destroy you threads and the gun will be useless.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ho88e5 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts ION
Spyder VS2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts 05 Shocker STF, QLock, Snatch Grip, Empire reloader with Rip, DXS 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
QLock Feed Neck
HE Bolt Kit
Strengths: FAST!!!
Looks
VERY FAST!!!
Light weight
FREAKN FAST!!!
Stock Barrel
Cool Chirp noise!!!!
Weaknesses: It is a gas hog
Trigger guard is a bit small
Review: This was my first favorite and dream marker, I could never find one anywhere for some reason, but I entered my favorite proshop one day and it was there. Like an angel sent from heaven to sit on a wall... except it didnt have a Halo or wings for that matter. I instantly bought it! (with money I didnt even knew I had! lol) Its such a great marker, its very fast and it looks great! the only problems I have with it is its such a hassel to keep having to clean it every case of paint or two. (or maybe Im just lazy) Its simple to maintain but its kinda hard to clean if you get a hit in the trigger... the hours of cleaning the mess that may still be there... the horror... the hooorrror. Its also a gas hog, I dont have a HE Bolt kit yet but I get 5 pods and a hopper on one 68/4500 fill so its fine with me for now. It comes stock with an All American barrel, its a great barrel, and very accurate too! Oh another problem Ive been getting lately is the sudden drop in air pressure. It only happens to me by the end of the day but I can never tell whats going on. (I know I sound like a major noob to some of you right now) Otherwise I love this marker, a bit of a gas hog but Everything on it makes up for it. It looks great and feels good in your hands, The trigger is great, it is a bit hard to really rip on it but once you find that sweet spot than it FLYS!
Conclusion: As long as you take care of this marker, the marker will love you and you will love it. If your marker does try to love you too much... well your on your own there. If your looking for a great marker at a professional level for somewhat cheap (now a days, I got mine for $450 New)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

borderpatrol219 Thursday, January 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 vicous ego- better
08 ego- even better
07-08 fusion- not as great
Marker Setup: 07 LE silver/blue fusion
68/45 Hp crossfire
velocity w/ gansta chip
16in stiffi joystick
minor mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
q-lock feedneck, cp reg, new asa (stock strips tank threads), new bolt, whole new grip
Strengths: Light, compact
Weaknesses: Does not live up to its reputation
Review: well this gun isnt all that great like people think it is...
first of all it comes with the same regulator as an ion, kinda a joke if u ask me. Secondly the pivot is in front of the trigger so that means the trigger is hard to walk b/c they made thinking ppl walk it at a 90 degree angle when most walk at a 45 degree angle so u have to replace the whole grip. The stock feedneck doesnt fit most hoppers and the asa needs to b replaced b/c it strips ur tanks threads. The stock bolt also blows kuz the air efficiency is horrible.

I dont have nething against shockers im buulding a custom 1 myself just letting ppl kno they kinda suck stock
Conclusion: Dont buy unless u wanna put at least 300$ into it to make a decent gun
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media